DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0422310) in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0258065, relying on the provisional applications 63/019,885 and 63/062,305) and Ko et al. (US 2022/0104153).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store a program executable by the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the program comprising instructions to perform operations for:
detecting a first common signal ([0100] a scheme for a base station to transmit a frequency division multiplexed (FDM-multiplexed) signal between SSBs on the downlink, and a scheme for a UE to detect the SSBs. ... a scheme for a UE to detect the corresponding information; [0107] With reference to FIG. 9B, the UE may receive one of the SSBs transmitted from the base station through blind detection. Further, the UE may perform synchronization based on the detected SSB (905); [0110] With reference to FIG. 10B, the UE may receive one of the SSBs transmitted from the base station through blind detection. Further, the UE may perform synchronization based on the detected SSB (1006));
determining, from a plurality of sets in response to the detected first common signal, a first set corresponding to the first common signal, wherein at least one of the plurality of sets includes a plurality of common signals, the first set includes the first common signal, the first common signal includes a synchronization signal, and the resource multiplexing manners of the plurality of common signals include time division multiplexing or frequency division multiplexing ([0101] LF SSBs may be Frequency Domain Multiplexed and transmitted, and each of the SSBs may be mapped onto one of group 1 to group LF, and may be mapped onto a resource to match the corresponding group corresponding to a center frequency (602). Further, all L SSBs may be continuously mapped from the OFDM symbol starting at time t1 (603) to the OFDM symbol ending at time tL (604); [0102] L SSBs may be transmitted from a base station through one panel in different analog beam directions. Further, LF Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs may be simultaneously transmitted from the base station through panels corresponding to respective groups in the different analog beam directions. Accordingly, total L SSBs may be transmitted from the base station as the corresponding beams; [0106] the base station may group L SSBs into LF groups (901). For example, the base station may identify the respective groups to which the L SSBs belong. The respective groups are related to different frequency domains for the FDM. Thereafter, the base station may include the group indexes in the L SSBs, respectively (902); The base station may perform the resource mapping so that the LF SSBs are Frequency Domain Multiplexed based on the corresponding frequency domains in accordance with the determined grouping (903). The base station may transmit the L SSBs in different analog beam directions by using LF panels (904); [0107] The UE may identify the group index of the detected SSB, and identify frequency domains of the SSBs belonging to LF −1 different groups (906). For example, the frequency domain corresponding to the group index may be preconfigured between the base station and the UE. ... The UE may receive the SSBs belonging to the LF −1 groups based on the identified frequency domain; [0109] the base station may identify the groups to which the L SSBs belong. The respective groups are related to different frequency domains for the FDM. Thereafter, the base station may include the group indexes and LF value information in the L SSBs, respectively; [0110] The UE may identify the number LF of the Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs, for example, the number of SSB groups, through the detected SSBs (1007). Further, the UE may identify the group index included in the detected SSB, and identify the frequency domains of the SSBs belonging to the LF −1 different groups (1008). For example, the frequency domain corresponding to the group index may be preconfigured between the base station and the UE. ... The UE may receive the SSBs belonging to the LF−1 groups based on the identified frequency domain; [0113] FIGS. 12A to 12C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits group indexes of SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is fixed according to an embodiment of the disclosure).
However, Kim does not teach each of the plurality of common signals corresponds to common signal transmission manners, the common signal transmission manners are usable to indicate resource multiplexing manners corresponding to the common signal transmission manners, determining a first index of the first common signal in the first set, wherein the first index corresponds to a resource of the first common signal, and the resource includes a time domain resource or a frequency domain resource.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches each of the plurality of common signals corresponds to common signal transmission manners, the common signal transmission manners are usable to indicate resource multiplexing manners corresponding to the common signal transmission manners ([0031] This disclosure describes SSB-based beam management allowing FDM multiplexing of SSB in the same OFDM symbols; [0047] In cases when multiple SSBs are multiplexed in an FDM manner in a same symbol, ssb-PositionInFrequency may also be configured in SIB1 and/or ServingCellConfigCommon, and can be used to indicate the frequency locations of multiple SSB transmission in a same symbol; [0137] the configuration information includes an indication that a plurality of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) are frequency division multiplexed (FDMed) over a common set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wang’s method with Kim’s method so that this can allow UE to perform rate-matching of PDSCH around the SSB in time and frequency domain (Wang [0047]).
The combination of Kim and Wang does not teach determining a first index of the first common signal in the first set, wherein the first index corresponds to a resource of the first common signal, and the resource includes a time domain resource or a frequency domain resource.
In an analogous art, Ko teaches determining a first index of the first common signal in the first set, wherein the first index corresponds to a resource of the first common signal, and the resource includes a time domain resource or a frequency domain resource ([0111] The UE receives a CSI-ResourceConfig IE including CSI-SSB-ResourceSetList for SSB resources used for BM from the BS (S1110). The RRC parameter csi-SSB-ResourceSetList indicates a list of SSB resources used for beam management and reporting in one resource set. In this case, the SSB resource set may be set to {SSBx1, SSBx2, SSBx3, SSBx4, . . . }, and SSB indices may be defined from 0 to 63; [0112] The UE receives signals on the SSB resources from the BS based on the CSI-SSB-ResourceSetList (S1120); [0189] The PBCH may be used in detecting an SSB (time) index and a half-frame; [0196] The time positions of SSB candidates are indexed as (SSB indexes) 0 to L−1 in temporal order within the SSB burst set; [0206] the UE may acquire an SSB index based on the DMRS sequence and the PBCH payload; [0254] The NR system supports transmission of one or more SS/PBCH blocks, and each SS/PBCH block has a specific index. The index of an SS/PBCH block may be obtained from sequence information in the corresponding SS/PBCH block and/or PBCH payload including a scrambling sequence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ko’s method with Kim’s method so that when the UE obtains the index of the corresponding SS/PBCH block from the information in the SS/PBCH block during initial access, the UE may recognize the time-domain boundaries of frames/subframes/slots and SS/PBCH block indices from a predetermined relationship (Ko [0254]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Kim, Wang and Ko, specifically Kim teaches determine, from a plurality of sets, a first set corresponding to the first common signal by: determining the first set from the plurality of sets based on a first channel corresponding to the first common signal (([0101] FIG. 6 illustrates resource mapping of L FDM-multiplexed SSBs according to an embodiment of the disclosure. One SSB is composed of a primary synchronization sequence (PSS), a secondary synchronization sequence (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), and may be transmitted through three OFDM symbols; [0106] the base station may group L SSBs into LF groups (901); [0107] The UE may identify the group index of the detected SSB, and identify frequency domains of the SSBs belonging to LF −1 different groups (906). For example, the frequency domain corresponding to the group index may be preconfigured between the base station and the UE. ... The UE may receive the SSBs belonging to the LF −1 groups based on the identified frequency domain; [0110] The UE may identify the number LF of the Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs, for example, the number of SSB groups, through the detected SSBs (1007). Further, the UE may identify the group index included in the detected SSB, and identify the frequency domains of the SSBs belonging to the LF −1 different groups (1008). For example, the frequency domain corresponding to the group index may be preconfigured between the base station and the UE. ... The UE may receive the SSBs belonging to the LF−1 groups based on the identified frequency domain).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Kim, Wang and Ko, specifically Kim teaches determine the first set from the plurality of sets based on the first channel corresponding to the first common signal by: determining the first set from the plurality of sets based on one or more pieces of information corresponding to the first channel, wherein the one or more pieces of information includes: information indicating the first set, a scrambling code of the first channel, or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence of the first channel ([0106] the base station may group L SSBs into LF groups (901). For example, the base station may identify the respective groups to which the L SSBs belong. The respective groups are related to different frequency domains for the FDM. Thereafter, the base station may include the group indexes in the L SSBs, respectively (902); [0109] the base station may identify the groups to which the L SSBs belong. The respective groups are related to different frequency domains for the FDM. Thereafter, the base station may include the group indexes and LF value information in the L SSBs, respectively (1003); [0113] FIGS. 12A to 12C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits group indexes of SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is fixed according to an embodiment of the disclosure (i.e., the claimed information indicating the first set)).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Kim, Wang and Ko, specifically Kim teaches the first channel is a broadcast channel; or the first channel is a channel carrying system information; or the first channel is a control channel, and the control channel is useable to schedule the channel carrying the system information ([0101] FIG. 6 illustrates resource mapping of L FDM-multiplexed SSBs according to an embodiment of the disclosure. One SSB is composed of a primary synchronization sequence (PSS), a secondary synchronization sequence (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), and may be transmitted through three OFDM symbols).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Kim and Wang does not teach determine the first index by: determining the first index based on the first channel corresponding to the first common signal, wherein the first channel is a broadcast channel; or the first channel is a channel carrying system information; or the first channel is a control channel, and the control channel is useable to schedule the channel carrying system information.
In an analogous art, Ko teaches determine the first index by: determining the first index based on the first channel corresponding to the first common signal, wherein the first channel is a broadcast channel; or the first channel is a channel carrying system information; or the first channel is a control channel, and the control channel is useable to schedule the channel carrying system information ([0111] The UE receives a CSI-ResourceConfig IE including CSI-SSB-ResourceSetList for SSB resources used for BM from the BS (S1110). The RRC parameter csi-SSB-ResourceSetList indicates a list of SSB resources used for beam management and reporting in one resource set. In this case, the SSB resource set may be set to {SSBx1, SSBx2, SSBx3, SSBx4, . . . }, and SSB indices may be defined from 0 to 63; [0112] The UE receives signals on the SSB resources from the BS based on the CSI-SSB-ResourceSetList (S1120); [0189] The PBCH may be used in detecting an SSB (time) index and a half-frame; [0196] The time positions of SSB candidates are indexed as (SSB indexes) 0 to L−1 in temporal order within the SSB burst set; [0206] the UE may acquire an SSB index based on the DMRS sequence and the PBCH payload; [0254] The NR system supports transmission of one or more SS/PBCH blocks, and each SS/PBCH block has a specific index. The index of an SS/PBCH block may be obtained from sequence information in the corresponding SS/PBCH block and/or PBCH payload including a scrambling sequence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ko’s method with Kim’s method so that when the UE obtains the index of the corresponding SS/PBCH block from the information in the SS/PBCH block during initial access, the UE may recognize the time-domain boundaries of frames/subframes/slots and SS/PBCH block indices from a predetermined relationship (Ko [0254]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Kim, Wang and Ko, specifically Kim teaches the plurality of sets includes one or more of: a second set, wherein a resource multiplexing manner of two common signals in the second set is time division multiplexing ([0101] each of the SSBs may be mapped onto one of group 1 to group LF, and may be mapped onto a resource to match the corresponding group corresponding to a center frequency (602). Further, all L SSBs may be continuously mapped from the OFDM symbol starting at time t1 (603) to the OFDM symbol ending at time tL (604));
a third set, wherein resource multiplexing manners of two common signals in the third set are frequency division multiplexing, and a minimum frequency domain distance between the two common signals in the third set that use frequency division multiplexing is a first distance ([0111] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example in which a base station groups and transmits SSBs through a panel as illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7 in a situation that the number of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is LF=2 according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0112] As being specified in FIG. 11, the base station may group, for example, even-numbered SSBs into group 1 and odd-numbered SSBs into group2, respectively. For example, starting with fo that is a kind of synchronization raster, the base station may map the SSBs belonging to the group 1 onto f1−MΔf (M: the arbitrary number of subcarriers, and Δf: subcarrier spacing) frequency domain, and the SBSs belonging to the group 2 onto f0+MΔf frequency domain, respectively. Further, from the viewpoint of the panel operation, all SSBs SSB i (i=0, . . . , L−1) are transmitted through analog beams at an angle of ... and the SSBs corresponding to the group 1 may be transmitted through lower panels, and the SSBs corresponding to the group 2 may be transmitted through upper panels; [0113] FIGS. 12A to 12C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits group indexes of SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is fixed according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0121] FIGS. 13A to 13C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs and group indexes of the respective SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs can be variously configured according to an embodiment of the disclosure); and
a fourth set, wherein resource multiplexing manners of two common signals in the fourth set are frequency division multiplexing, a minimum frequency domain distance between the two common signals in the fourth set that use frequency division multiplexing is a second distance, and the second distance is different from the first distance ([0111] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example in which a base station groups and transmits SSBs through a panel as illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7 in a situation that the number of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is LF=2 according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0112] As being specified in FIG. 11, the base station may group, for example, even-numbered SSBs into group 1 and odd-numbered SSBs into group2, respectively. For example, starting with fo that is a kind of synchronization raster, the base station may map the SSBs belonging to the group 1 onto f1−MΔf (M: the arbitrary number of subcarriers, and Δf: subcarrier spacing) frequency domain, and the SBSs belonging to the group 2 onto f0+MΔf frequency domain, respectively. Further, from the viewpoint of the panel operation, all SSBs SSB i (i=0, . . . , L−1) are transmitted through analog beams at an angle of ... and the SSBs corresponding to the group 1 may be transmitted through lower panels, and the SSBs corresponding to the group 2 may be transmitted through upper panels; [0113] FIGS. 12A to 12C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits group indexes of SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is fixed according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0121] FIGS. 13A to 13C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs and group indexes of the respective SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs can be variously configured according to an embodiment of the disclosure).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Kim and Wang does not teach determining a resource of a second common signal based on the first index; and receiving the second common signal based on the resource of the second common signal, wherein the second common signal includes a control channel or a channel carrying system information, and the control channel is useable to schedule the channel carrying system information.
In an analogous art, Ko teaches determining a resource of a second common signal based on the first index; and receiving the second common signal based on the resource of the second common signal, wherein the second common signal includes a control channel or a channel carrying system information, and the control channel is useable to schedule the channel carrying system information ([0210] The MIB includes information/parameters related to reception of SIB1 and is transmitted on the PBCH of an SSB. The UE assumes that a half-frame including an SSB is repeated every 20 ms during initial cell selection. The UE may determine from the MIB whether there is any control resource set (CORESET) for a Type0-PDCCH common search space. The Type0-PDCCH common search space is a kind of PDCCH search space and used to transmit a PDCCH that schedules an SI message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ko’s method with Kim’s method so that when the UE obtains the index of the corresponding SS/PBCH block from the information in the SS/PBCH block during initial access, the UE may recognize the time-domain boundaries of frames/subframes/slots and SS/PBCH block indices from a predetermined relationship (Ko [0254]).
Claims 8-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Wang et al.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches a wireless communication method, comprising: determining a first set, wherein the first set is one of a plurality of sets, at least one of the plurality of sets includes a plurality of common signals, the resource multiplexing manners of the plurality of common signals include time division multiplexing or frequency division multiplexing ([0100] a scheme for a base station to transmit a frequency division multiplexed (FDM-multiplexed) signal between SSBs on the downlink, and a scheme for a UE to detect the SSBs. ... a scheme for a base station to transmit information about the number/size of the FDM-multiplexed SSBS when operating the several possible number of FDM-multiplexed SSBs, and a scheme for a UE to detect the corresponding information; [0101] LF SSBs may be Frequency Domain Multiplexed and transmitted, and each of the SSBs may be mapped onto one of group 1 to group LF, and may be mapped onto a resource to match the corresponding group corresponding to a center frequency (602). Further, all L SSBs may be continuously mapped from the OFDM symbol starting at time t1 (603) to the OFDM symbol ending at time tL (604); [0106] the base station may group L SSBs into LF groups (901). For example, the base station may identify the respective groups to which the L SSBs belong. The respective groups are related to different frequency domains for the FDM. Thereafter, the base station may include the group indexes in the L SSBs, respectively (902); [0109] With reference to FIG. 10A, the base station may determine the number LF of SSBs to be Frequency Domain Multiplexed (1001). By the determined LF value, the base station may group the L SSBs into LF groups (1002)); and
sending the plurality of common signals in the first set to a terminal, wherein the first set includes a first common signal, the first common signal is one of the plurality of common signals, and the first common signal includes a synchronization signal ([0100] a scheme for a base station to transmit a frequency division multiplexed (FDM-multiplexed) signal between SSBs on the downlink, and a scheme for a UE to detect the SSBs. ... a scheme for a base station to transmit information about the number/size of the FDM-multiplexed SSBS when operating the several possible number of FDM-multiplexed SSBs, and a scheme for a UE to detect the corresponding information; [0102] L SSBs may be transmitted from a base station through one panel in different analog beam directions. Further, LF Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs may be simultaneously transmitted from the base station through panels corresponding to respective groups in the different analog beam directions. Accordingly, total L SSBs may be transmitted from the base station as the corresponding beams; [0106] The base station may perform the resource mapping so that the LF SSBs are Frequency Domain Multiplexed based on the corresponding frequency domains in accordance with the determined grouping (903). The base station may transmit the L SSBs in different analog beam directions by using LF panels (904); [0109] The base station may perform the resource mapping so that the LF SSBs are Frequency Domain Multiplexed based on the corresponding frequency domains in accordance with the determined grouping (1004). The base station may transmit the L SSBs in different analog beam directions by using LF panels (1005)).
However, Kim does not teach each of the plurality of common signals corresponds to common signal transmission manners, the common signal transmission manners are usable to indicate resource multiplexing manners corresponding to the common signal transmission manners.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches each of the plurality of common signals corresponds to common signal transmission manners, the common signal transmission manners are usable to indicate resource multiplexing manners corresponding to the common signal transmission manners ([0031] This disclosure describes SSB-based beam management allowing FDM multiplexing of SSB in the same OFDM symbols; [0047] In cases when multiple SSBs are multiplexed in an FDM manner in a same symbol, ssb-PositionInFrequency may also be configured in SIB1 and/or ServingCellConfigCommon, and can be used to indicate the frequency locations of multiple SSB transmission in a same symbol; [0137] the configuration information includes an indication that a plurality of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) are frequency division multiplexed (FDMed) over a common set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wang’s method with Kim’s method so that this can allow UE to perform rate-matching of PDSCH around the SSB in time and frequency domain (Wang [0047]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Kim and Wang, specifically Kim teaches the sending the plurality of common signals including the first common signal includes sending the first common signal corresponding to the first set using a first channel ([0101] FIG. 6 illustrates resource mapping of L FDM-multiplexed SSBs according to an embodiment of the disclosure. One SSB is composed of a primary synchronization sequence (PSS), a secondary synchronization sequence (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), and may be transmitted through three OFDM symbols).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Kim and Wang, specifically Kim teaches the sending the first common signal corresponding to the first set using the first channel includes sending one or more pieces of information using the first channel corresponding to the first set, wherein the one or more pieces of information include: information indicating the first set, a scrambling code of the first channel, or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence of the first channel ([0106] the base station may group L SSBs into LF groups (901). For example, the base station may identify the respective groups to which the L SSBs belong. The respective groups are related to different frequency domains for the FDM. Thereafter, the base station may include the group indexes in the L SSBs, respectively (902); [0109] the base station may identify the groups to which the L SSBs belong. The respective groups are related to different frequency domains for the FDM. Thereafter, the base station may include the group indexes and LF value information in the L SSBs, respectively (1003); [0113] FIGS. 12A to 12C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits group indexes of SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is fixed according to an embodiment of the disclosure (i.e., the claimed information indicating the first set)).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Kim and Wang, specifically Kim teaches the sending the first common signal corresponding to the first set using the first channel includes sending the first common signal corresponding to the first set using: a broadcast channel; or a channel carrying system information; or a control channel, and the control channel is used to schedule the channel carrying system information ([0101] FIG. 6 illustrates resource mapping of L FDM-multiplexed SSBs according to an embodiment of the disclosure. One SSB is composed of a primary synchronization sequence (PSS), a secondary synchronization sequence (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), and may be transmitted through three OFDM symbols).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Kim and Wang, specifically Kim teaches sending the plurality of common signals including the first common signal includes sending a first index ([0106] the base station may include the group indexes in the L SSBs; [0109] the base station may identify the groups to which the L SSBs belong. The respective groups are related to different frequency domains for the FDM. Thereafter, the base station may include the group indexes and LF value information in the L SSBs, respectively; [0113] FIGS. 12A to 12C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits group indexes of SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is fixed according to an embodiment of the disclosure); and
wherein the first channel is a broadcast channel; or the first channel is a channel carrying system information; or the first channel is a control channel, and the control channel is used to schedule the channel carrying system information ([0101] FIG. 6 illustrates resource mapping of L FDM-multiplexed SSBs according to an embodiment of the disclosure. One SSB is composed of a primary synchronization sequence (PSS), a secondary synchronization sequence (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), and may be transmitted through three OFDM symbols).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Kim and Wang, specifically Kim teaches determining the plurality of sets include one or more of: a second set, wherein a resource multiplexing manner of two common signals in the second set is time division multiplexing ([0101] each of the SSBs may be mapped onto one of group 1 to group LF, and may be mapped onto a resource to match the corresponding group corresponding to a center frequency (602). Further, all L SSBs may be continuously mapped from the OFDM symbol starting at time t1 (603) to the OFDM symbol ending at time tL (604));
a third set, wherein resource multiplexing manners of two common signals in the third set are frequency division multiplexing, and a minimum frequency domain distance between the two common signals in the third set that use frequency division multiplexing is a first distance ([0111] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example in which a base station groups and transmits SSBs through a panel as illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7 in a situation that the number of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is LF=2 according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0112] As being specified in FIG. 11, the base station may group, for example, even-numbered SSBs into group 1 and odd-numbered SSBs into group2, respectively. For example, starting with fo that is a kind of synchronization raster, the base station may map the SSBs belonging to the group 1 onto f1−MΔf (M: the arbitrary number of subcarriers, and Δf: subcarrier spacing) frequency domain, and the SBSs belonging to the group 2 onto f0+MΔf frequency domain, respectively. Further, from the viewpoint of the panel operation, all SSBs SSB i (i=0, . . . , L−1) are transmitted through analog beams at an angle of ... and the SSBs corresponding to the group 1 may be transmitted through lower panels, and the SSBs corresponding to the group 2 may be transmitted through upper panels; [0113] FIGS. 12A to 12C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits group indexes of SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is fixed according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0121] FIGS. 13A to 13C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs and group indexes of the respective SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs can be variously configured according to an embodiment of the disclosure); and
a fourth set, wherein resource multiplexing manners of two common signals in the fourth set are frequency division multiplexing, a minimum frequency domain distance between the two common signals in the fourth set that use frequency division multiplexing is a second distance, and the second distance is different from the first distance ([0111] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example in which a base station groups and transmits SSBs through a panel as illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7 in a situation that the number of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is LF=2 according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0112] As being specified in FIG. 11, the base station may group, for example, even-numbered SSBs into group 1 and odd-numbered SSBs into group2, respectively. For example, starting with fo that is a kind of synchronization raster, the base station may map the SSBs belonging to the group 1 onto f1−MΔf (M: the arbitrary number of subcarriers, and Δf: subcarrier spacing) frequency domain, and the SBSs belonging to the group 2 onto f0+MΔf frequency domain, respectively. Further, from the viewpoint of the panel operation, all SSBs SSB i (i=0, . . . , L−1) are transmitted through analog beams at an angle of ... and the SSBs corresponding to the group 1 may be transmitted through lower panels, and the SSBs corresponding to the group 2 may be transmitted through upper panels; [0113] FIGS. 12A to 12C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits group indexes of SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is fixed according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0121] FIGS. 13A to 13C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs and group indexes of the respective SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs can be variously configured according to an embodiment of the disclosure).
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 8, in addition to the claimed at least one processor and a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program executable by the at least one processor ([0146] With reference to FIG. 15, the base station includes ... a storage unit 1530, and a controller 1540 ... the controller 1540 may include one or more processors; [0152] The storage unit 1530 stores therein a basic program for an operation of the base station, application programs).
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Kim and Wang, specifically Kim teaches one or more pieces of information include: information indicating the first set, a scrambling code of the first channel, or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence of the first channel ([0106] the base station may group L SSBs into LF groups (901). For example, the base station may identify the respective groups to which the L SSBs belong. The respective groups are related to different frequency domains for the FDM. Thereafter, the base station may include the group indexes in the L SSBs, respectively (902); [0109] the base station may identify the groups to which the L SSBs belong. The respective groups are related to different frequency domains for the FDM. Thereafter, the base station may include the group indexes and LF value information in the L SSBs, respectively (1003); [0113] FIGS. 12A to 12C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits group indexes of SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is fixed according to an embodiment of the disclosure (i.e., the claimed information indicating the first set)).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Kim and Wang, specifically Kim teaches the first channel is a broadcast channel; or the first channel is a channel carrying system information; or the first channel is a control channel, and the control channel is used to schedule the channel carrying system information ([0101] FIG. 6 illustrates resource mapping of L FDM-multiplexed SSBs according to an embodiment of the disclosure. One SSB is composed of a primary synchronization sequence (PSS), a secondary synchronization sequence (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), and may be transmitted through three OFDM symbols).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Kim and Wang, specifically Kim teaches the plurality of sets include one or more of the following sets: a second set, wherein a resource multiplexing manner of two common signals in the second set is time division multiplexing ([0101] each of the SSBs may be mapped onto one of group 1 to group LF, and may be mapped onto a resource to match the corresponding group corresponding to a center frequency (602). Further, all L SSBs may be continuously mapped from the OFDM symbol starting at time t1 (603) to the OFDM symbol ending at time tL (604));
a third set, wherein resource multiplexing manners of two common signals in the third set are frequency division multiplexing, and a minimum frequency domain distance between the two common signals in the third set that use frequency division multiplexing is a first distance ([0111] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example in which a base station groups and transmits SSBs through a panel as illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7 in a situation that the number of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is LF=2 according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0112] As being specified in FIG. 11, the base station may group, for example, even-numbered SSBs into group 1 and odd-numbered SSBs into group2, respectively. For example, starting with fo that is a kind of synchronization raster, the base station may map the SSBs belonging to the group 1 onto f1−MΔf (M: the arbitrary number of subcarriers, and Δf: subcarrier spacing) frequency domain, and the SBSs belonging to the group 2 onto f0+MΔf frequency domain, respectively. Further, from the viewpoint of the panel operation, all SSBs SSB i (i=0, . . . , L−1) are transmitted through analog beams at an angle of ... and the SSBs corresponding to the group 1 may be transmitted through lower panels, and the SSBs corresponding to the group 2 may be transmitted through upper panels; [0113] FIGS. 12A to 12C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits group indexes of SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is fixed according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0121] FIGS. 13A to 13C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs and group indexes of the respective SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs can be variously configured according to an embodiment of the disclosure); and
a fourth set, wherein resource multiplexing manners of two common signals in the fourth set are frequency division multiplexing, a minimum frequency domain distance between the two common signals in the fourth set that use frequency division multiplexing is a second distance, and the second distance is different from the first distance ([0111] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example in which a base station groups and transmits SSBs through a panel as illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7 in a situation that the number of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is LF=2 according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0112] As being specified in FIG. 11, the base station may group, for example, even-numbered SSBs into group 1 and odd-numbered SSBs into group2, respectively. For example, starting with fo that is a kind of synchronization raster, the base station may map the SSBs belonging to the group 1 onto f1−MΔf (M: the arbitrary number of subcarriers, and Δf: subcarrier spacing) frequency domain, and the SBSs belonging to the group 2 onto f0+MΔf frequency domain, respectively. Further, from the viewpoint of the panel operation, all SSBs SSB i (i=0, . . . , L−1) are transmitted through analog beams at an angle of ... and the SSBs corresponding to the group 1 may be transmitted through lower panels, and the SSBs corresponding to the group 2 may be transmitted through upper panels; [0113] FIGS. 12A to 12C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits group indexes of SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs is fixed according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0121] FIGS. 13A to 13C illustrate various examples in which a base station transmits the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs and group indexes of the respective SSBs in case that the number LF of Frequency Domain Multiplexed SSBs can be variously configured according to an embodiment of the disclosure).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Wang et al. and Ko et al.
Regarding Claim 18, Kim teaches the first channel is a broadcast channel; or the first channel is a channel carrying system information; or the first channel is a control channel, and the control channel is used to schedule the channel carrying system information ([0101] FIG. 6 illustrates resource mapping of L FDM-multiplexed SSBs according to an embodiment of the disclosure. One SSB is composed of a primary synchronization sequence (PSS), a secondary synchronization sequence (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), and may be transmitted through three OFDM symbols).
However, the combination of Kim and Wang does not teach the first channel corresponding to the first common signal corresponds to a first index of the first common signal in the first set.
In an analogous art, Ko teaches the first channel corresponding to the first common signal corresponds to a first index of the first common signal in the first set ([0111] The UE receives a CSI-ResourceConfig IE including CSI-SSB-ResourceSetList for SSB resources used for BM from the BS (S1110). The RRC parameter csi-SSB-ResourceSetList indicates a list of SSB resources used for beam management and reporting in one resource set. In this case, the SSB resource set may be set to {SSBx1, SSBx2, SSBx3, SSBx4, . . . }, and SSB indices may be defined from 0 to 63; [0112] The UE receives signals on the SSB resources from the BS based on the CSI-SSB-ResourceSetList (S1120); [0189] The PBCH may be used in detecting an SSB (time) index and a half-frame; [0196] The time positions of SSB candidates are indexed as (SSB indexes) 0 to L−1 in temporal order within the SSB burst set; [0206] the UE may acquire an SSB index based on the DMRS sequence and the PBCH payload; [0254] The NR system supports transmission of one or more SS/PBCH blocks, and each SS/PBCH block has a specific index. The index of an SS/PBCH block may be obtained from sequence information in the corresponding SS/PBCH block and/or PBCH payload including a scrambling sequence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ko’s method with Kim’s method so that when the UE obtains the index of the corresponding SS/PBCH block from the information in the SS/PBCH block during initial access, the UE may recognize the time-domain boundaries of frames/subframes/slots and SS/PBCH block indices from a predetermined relationship (Ko [0254]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sakhnini et al. (US 2022/0240309) teaches method of beam alignment for transmissions using different subcarrier spacings.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413