DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed 10/24/2025, Examiner issued a Restriction requiring Applicant to elect Group I (Claims 1-8) or Group II (Claims 9-18), for further examination.
This office action is in response to communication filed 11/19/2025, in which Applicant elected to have Group I (Claims 1-8), without traverse to be examined.
Claims 1-8 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2022-0109430 filed 08/30/2022, KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2022-0113748 filed 09/07/2022 and KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2023-0114508 filed 08/30/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 8/30/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “information about a maximum number of eAxC_IDs that can be included in one eAxC_ID group" in lines 4-5 3. For clarification it is recommended to change to “information about a maximum number of eAxC_IDs that is included in one eAxC_ID group”.
Claim 6 is also objected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuppuswamy et al. (US Patent No.: 11,516,721), and further in view of Bachu et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0067997).
As per claim 1, Kuppuswamy disclose A method performed by a middle node (see Fig.1, para. 30, an open fronthaul (FH) interface / a middleware/node between the DU 180A and the RU 180B, combination of RU and FH) in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a request message for capability information from a controller (see Fig.1, Fig.8, para. 121, the DU requesting capability information from RU 802 and open fronthaul (FH) interface);
transmitting capability information of the middle node in response to the request message (see para. 122, the RU 802 transmits capability information 810 of the open fronthaul (FH) interface that is received by the DU 804); and
receiving configuration information for an extended antenna carrier (eAxC)_identifier (ID) group supporting Section Extension 10 based on the capability information of the middle node from the controller (see Fig.8, steps, 820, 830, 834, 850, para. 124, 129-136, the DU 804 transmits an eAxC allocation configuration 830 that is received by the RU 802 / receiving configuration information for an extended antenna carrier (eAxC)_identifier (ID) group, the eAxC allocation configuration 830 indicate whether the DU 804 is applying the first encoding technique or the second encoding technique to the RU port identifiers of an eAxC message. The eAxC allocation configuration 830 additionally or alternatively indicate a mapping between endpoint groups and endpoints. For example, the eAxC allocation configuration 830 may indicate that a first group index (“00”) corresponds to the first group, a second group index (“01”) corresponds to the second group, and a third group index (“10”) corresponds to the third group and At 840, the RU 802 configure endpoint groups based on the eAxC allocation configuration 830. The RU 802 use the group index to determine where (e.g., to which hardware component) to route the eAxC message for processing, see also Figs.9-Figs.13, para.146, At 908, the RU uses a second portion of the RU port identifier to index the eAxC message to an RU endpoint of the endpoint group, as described in connection with 864 of FIG. 8. For example, 908 is performed by a second portion component 1346 of the apparatus 1302 of FIG. 13. See also para. 0149-0153).
Although Kuppuswamy disclose A method performed by a middle node (see Fig.1, para. 30, an open fronthaul (FH) interface / a middleware/node between the DU 180A and the RU 180B, combination of RU and FH) in a communication system).
Kuppuswamy however disclose “a middle node”;
Buchu however disclose a fronthaul multiplexer (FHM) as “a middle node” (see Fig.2, an FHM 220, see para. 0084-0085, FHM 220 / a middle node serve as an interface between the RU 225 and DU 215 and multiplex information received from RUs 225 before providing the information to DU 215 and/or demultiplex information received from DU 215 before providing the information to the RUs 225, see also para. 0085-0087).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of “a middle node”, as taught by Bachu, in the system of Kuppuswamy, so as to improve wireless communications within a CU/DU split configuration within a base station in an open radio access network (O-RAN) architecture, see Bachu, paragraphs 38-39.
As per claim 2, the combination of Kuppuswamy and Bachu disclose the method of claim 1.
Kuppuswamy further disclose wherein the capability information of the middle node comprises: information about a maximum number of eAxC_ID groups by the middle node being able to process and information about a maximum number of eAxC_IDs that can be included in one eAx D group (see Fig.11, para. 99, 164-165, the DU allocates eAxCIDs to each of the endpoints received in the capability information. For example, the DU allocates the 85 endpoints to 85 group layers/streams within the first three blocks 620, 622, 624. In some examples, the DU may determine to allocate a subset of the endpoints. For example, the DU may determine to allocate eAxCIDs to half of the endpoints of the first group 602. In such an example, the DU may allocate five bits to represent half of the endpoints (e.g., 25 endpoints) of the first group 602, may allocate five bits to represent the 25 endpoints of the second group 604, and may allocate four bits to represent the 10 endpoints of the third group 606, see also Fig.6, para. 95).
As per claim 3, the combination of Kuppuswamy and Bachu disclose the method of claim 1.
Kuppuswamy further disclose wherein the configuration information for the eAxD group comprises: information about a representative eAxC_ID of the eAxCID group and information about at least one member eAxC_ID included in the eAxC_ID group (see para. 99, 165, the DU determines to allocate eAxCIDs to half of the endpoints of the first group 602. In such an example, the DU may allocate five bits to represent half of the endpoints (e.g., 25 endpoints) of the first group 602, may allocate five bits to represent the 25 endpoints of the second group 604, and may allocate four bits to represent the 10 endpoints of the third group 606).
As per claim 4, the combination of Kuppuswamy and Bachu disclose the method of claim 1.
Kuppuswamy further disclose receiving a control plane message from an O-RAN distributed unit (0-DU) (see Fig.1, para. 30, 71-72, the O-RAN may include an open fronthaul (FH) interface between the DU and the RU, see also Fig.8, para. 121, Fig.16, para. 203-231, the DU facilitates communication in an O-RAN. At 1602, the DU receives capability information indicating support of endpoint groups from an RU, as described in connection with the capability information 810 of FIG. 8); and extending a control plane message of a representative eAxC_ID to a control plane message of at least one member eAxC_ID corresponding to the representative eAxC_ID based on the configuration information for the eAxCID group (see Claim1, para. 89, 168, the RU receives an eAxC message from the DU, as described in connection with the eAxC message 850 of FIG. 8. For example, 1104 may be performed by a message component 1342 of the apparatus 1302 of FIG. 13. The eAxC message may include an M-plane message, a C-plane message, see also para. 248, The eAxC message may include an M-plane message, a C-plane message, or an S-plane message including an eAxC. For example, the eAxC may include a DU port identifier, a band sector identifier, a CC identifier, and an RU port identifier, as described in connection with the eAxC identifier 400 of FIG. 4. The RU port identifier may be encoded to include a group index and a per-group layer/stream index, as described in connection with the RU port identifier 610 of FIG. 6 and/or the RU port identifier 710 of FIG. 7. The group index and the per-group layer/stream index may be based on the capability information).
As per claim 5, claim 5 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Bachu further disclose A middle node (see Fig.2, Fig.6, FHM 220, a device 605) in a communication system, the middle node comprising: a transceiver (see Fig.6, a receiver 610 and a transmitter 615); a memory (see Fig.6, communications manager 620 with a CPU for storing / a memory); and at least one processor (see Fig.6, communications manager 620).
As per claim 6, claim 6 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As per claim 7, claim 7 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 8, claim 8 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Claims 1, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0112049), and further in view of Bachu et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0067997).
As per claim 1, Hu disclose A method performed by fronthaul interface (see Fig.1, O-RAN Open Fronthaul interface (OFH I/F) 103) in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a request message for capability information from a controller (see Fig.1, Fig.6, before the operation 601, the method further includes receiving a request message and reporting information related to second endpoints to an O-DU, the information related to second endpoints being used by the O-DU to determine the first endpoint);
transmitting capability information of the fronthaul interface the middle node in response to the request message (see para. 0118, the information transmitted related to second endpoints includes a first capability and a second capability possessed by the second endpoints, wherein the first capability indicates that the second endpoints support a first information section extension, and the second capability indicates a maximum value of a number of pieces of the first information supported by the second endpoints); and
receiving configuration information for an extended antenna carrier (eAxC)_identifier (ID) group supporting Section Extension 10 based on the capability information of the fronthaul interface from the controller (see Fig.6, para. 0110, when the first control-plane message includes a section extension whose extension type is 10, it indicates that the first information will be applied to a group of endpoints. That is, one eAxCid is used to indicate the section description of a group of eAxCids, and then the first information will be applied to the endpoints corresponding to all eAxCids in the group, see also 0127-0132, if the first control-plane message further includes a section extension for indicating a group of extended antenna-carrier identifiers, operation 602 includes performing the operation related to the first information in endpoints corresponding to the group of extended antenna-carrier identifiers, according to the first control-plane message, see also para. 0286-0293).
Hu however disclose “a middle node”;
Buchu however disclose a fronthaul multiplexer (FHM) as “a middle node” (see Fig.2, an FHM 220, see para. 0084-0085, FHM 220 / a middle node serve as an interface between the RU 225 and DU 215 and multiplex information received from RUs 225 before providing the information to DU 215 and/or demultiplex information received from DU 215 before providing the information to the RUs 225).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of “a middle node”, as taught by Bachu, in the system of Hu, so as to improve wireless communications within a CU/DU split configuration within a base station in an open radio access network (O-RAN) architecture, see Bachu, paragraphs 38-39.
As per claim 5, claim 5 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeon (US Pub. No.:2023/0231686) – see para. 0137-0138, “The RU of various embodiments may transmit capability information of the RU to the DU. The capability information may be transmitted through fronthaul. The DU may receive the capability information of the RU. The capability information of the RU may include information indicating an SRS transmission scheme supported by the RU. According to an embodiment, the capability information of the RU may include information indicating whether the RU supports the antenna number based SRS transmission scheme. Also, according to an embodiment, the capability information of the RU may include information indicating whether the RU is possible to support the uplink IQ data buffer based SRS transmission scheme when the TDD system is configured”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469