DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Kang (US 9864352 B2).
Regarding claim 1: Kang (Figures 6 and 8) teaches a device comprising:
a housing (i.e. 72) including a front (i.e. exposed in figure 8), a back (i.e. opposite the exposed end in figure 8) and at least a first side (i.e. having 82) and an opposing second side (i.e. having 46) extending between the front and the back;
a first spring contact (i.e. 82) extending outside and away from the first side of the housing; and
a first terminal pin (i.e. 46) extending outside and away from the second side of the housing, wherein the first terminal pin is electrically coupled to the first spring contact.
Regarding claim 2: Kang (Figure 8) teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the second side of the housing defines a first terminal port (i.e. port for 46) about the first terminal pin for receiving a first terminal connector, wherein the first terminal connector is configured to electrically connect to the first terminal pin when the first terminal connector is received by the first terminal port.
Regarding claim 3: Kang (Figure 8) teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the first terminal connector includes a wire for connecting the first terminal pin to a corresponding terminal pin of another device.
Regarding claim 4: Kang (Figure 8) teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the first terminal port includes a first recess (i.e. recess holding 46 and forming the port) that is defined by the second side of the housing, wherein the first terminal pin extends into the first recess.
Regarding claim 10: Kang teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a second terminal pin (i.e. two 44 in figure 8) extending outside and away from the second side of the housing, wherein the second terminal pin is electrically coupled to the first spring contact and the first terminal pin (i.e. at least via 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang.
Regarding claim 5: Kang (Figure 8) teaches the device of claim 4, wherein the first terminal pin extends into the first recess to a first terminal pin end (i.e. end of 46),
but does not specifically teach wherein the first terminal pin end remains within the first recess of the first terminal port.
However, Kang (Figure 8) does teach the first spring contact end (i.e. end of 82) remains with the second recess of the second terminal port (i.e. recess forming the port for 82).
Because Kang teaches one set of contacts (i.e. 82 and 44) where one remains in the recess and one protrudes outward, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to swap the recesses of 46 and that which mates with 46 to have the first terminal pin end remain within the first recess of the first terminal port. Rearranging the recesses taught by Kang this way protects the desired contact.
Regarding claim 6: Kang (Figure 8) teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the first side of the housing has a mating face (i.e. face having 82) for mating with a mating face of an adjacent device, the mating face of the first side extends out to a maximum lateral extent in a first direction (i.e. as in figure 8), the second side of the housing extends out to a second maximum lateral extend in a second direction opposite to the first direction (i.e. as in figure 8);
but does not specifically teach,
the first spring contact extends out past the first maximum lateral extent of the mating face of the first side of the housing in the first direction; and
the first terminal pin does not extend out past the second maximum lateral extent of the second side of the housing in the second direction.
However, Kang (Figure 8) does teach,
the first spring contact does not extend out past the first maximum lateral extent of the mating face of the first side of the housing in the first direction; and
the first terminal pin extends out past the second maximum lateral extent of the second side of the housing in the second direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the mating faces of the first spring contact and the first terminal pin so as to cover/expose the desired one.
Regarding claim 7: Kang teaches the device of claim 6, wherein the second side of the housing defines a first terminal port (i.e. port about 46) about the first terminal pin, wherein the first terminal port includes a first recess (i.e. chamber holding 46 and forming the port) that is defined by the second side of the housing, wherein the first terminal pin extends into the first recess but does not extend out past the second maximum lateral extent of the second side of the housing in the second direction (i.e. per the modification of claim 6).
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang and Ko (US 2020/0266573 A1).
Regarding claim 8: Kang teaches the device of claim 6, but does not specifically teach further comprising an interconnect structure that extends out past the first maximum lateral extent of the mating face of the first side of the housing in the first direction, the interconnect structure configured to engage a complementary interconnect structure of the adjacent device.
However, Ko (Figure 3) teaches an interconnect structure (i.e. 12) that extends out past the first maximum lateral extent of the mating face (i.e. 11) of the first side of the housing in the first direction, the interconnect structure configured to engage a complementary interconnect structure of the adjacent device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device taught by Kang to have the interconnect structure taught by Ko so as to provide additional means of locking the device to the adjacent device.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang and Molnar (US 9077108 B2).
Regarding claim 9: Kang teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a second contact (i.e. 44) extending outside and away from the second side of the housing, wherein the second contact is electrically coupled to the first spring contact and the first terminal pin (i.e. at least via 26).
but does not specifically teach the second contact is a spring contact.
However, Molnar (Figure 6) teaches wherein the second contact (i.e. 204) is a spring contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device taught by Kang to have a second spring contact instead of a second contact since it would be obvious to secure the connection with the desired terminal type.
Claims 11-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molnar (US 9077108 B2) and Budde (US 11128111 B2).
Regarding claim 11: Molnar (Figures 1-3 and 6) teaches a method for installing a plurality of controllers (i.e. 22), wherein each of the plurality of controllers include a housing (i.e. 28), a plurality of first spring contacts (i.e. 202) extending outside and away from a first side (i.e. side having 202) of the housing, a plurality of first terminal pins (i.e. first row of 34) extending outside of the housing and accessible from the first side of the housing, a plurality of second spring contacts (i.e. 204) extending outside and away from a second side (i.e. side having 204) of the housing, and a plurality of second terminal pins (i.e. second row of 34) extending outside of the housing and accessible from the second side of the housing, the method comprising:
mounting a first one (i.e. a first 22) of the plurality of controllers adjacent to a second one (i.e. a second 22) of the plurality of controllers such that the plurality of second spring contacts of the first one of the plurality of controllers mechanically engage and electrically connect to respective ones of the plurality of first spring contacts of the second one of the plurality of controllers (i.e. as in figure 6);
mounting a third one (i.e. a third 22) of the plurality of controllers away from the second one of the plurality of controllers and away from the first one of the plurality of controllers;
but does not specifically teach
connecting a cable between one or more of the second terminal pins of the second one of the plurality of controllers and one or more of the first or second terminal pins of the third one of the plurality of controllers.
However, Budde (Figure 3) teaches
connecting a cable (i.e. 110) between one or more of the second terminal pins (i.e. 165) of the second one (i.e. 65) of the plurality of controllers and one or more of the first or second terminal pins (i.e. 90) of the third one (i.e. 70) of the plurality of controllers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method taught by Molnar by connecting a cable as taught by Budde since it is known to be desirable in the art to connect controllers with a cable (See background of instant specification).
Regarding claim 12: Molnar and Budde teach the method of claim 11, Budde further teaches wherein the cable includes a first terminal connector (i.e. 175) for connecting to one or more of the second terminal pins of the second one of the plurality of controllers and a second terminal connector (i.e. 105) for connecting to one or more of the first or second terminal pins of the third one of the plurality of controllers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the method taught by Molnar and Budde to have first and second terminal connectors for connecting the cable to respective controllers so as to connect the cable in the desired manner.
Regarding claim 13: Molnar and Budde teach the method of claim 11, Budde (Figure 3) further teaches wherein connecting the cable includes:
connecting a first cable (i.e. 110) between a first set of one or more of the second terminal pins (i.e. 165) of the second one of the plurality of controllers and a first set of one or more of the first or second terminal pins (i.e. 90) of the third one of the plurality of controllers;
but does not specifically teach,
connecting a second cable between a second set of one or more of the second terminal pins of the second one of the plurality of controllers and a second set of one or more of the first or second terminal pins of the third one of the plurality of controllers.
However, Budde does supply additional cables (i.e. 220) and cable ports (i.e. 200 and below 165), so it would be an obvious duplication of parts to,
connecting a second cable (i.e. duplicate of 110) between a second set of one or more of the second terminal pins of the second one of the plurality of controllers (i.e. below 165) and a second set of one or more of the first or second terminal pins of the third one of the plurality of controllers (i.e. 200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the method taught by Molnar and Budde to include a second cable so as to arrange and connect the plurality of controllers in the desired manner.
Regarding claim 14: Molnar and Budde teach the method of claim 11, Molnar (Figure 2) further comprising:
mounting a fourth one (i.e. a fourth 22) of the plurality of controllers adjacent to the first one of the plurality of controllers such that the plurality of second spring contacts of the fourth one of the plurality of controllers mechanically engage and electrically connect to respective ones of the plurality of first spring contacts of the first one of the plurality of controllers (i.e. as in figure 2).
Regarding claim 15: Molnar and Budde teach the method of claim 11, Molnar (Figure 2) further teaches wherein connecting the cable includes connecting the cable between one or more of the second terminal pins of the second one of the plurality of controllers and one or more of the second terminal pins of the third one of the plurality of controllers (i.e. as per the combination of claim 11), the method further comprising:
mounting a fourth one (i.e. a fourth 22) of the plurality of controllers adjacent to the third one of the plurality of controllers such that the plurality of second spring contacts of the fourth one of the plurality of controllers engage and electrically connect to respective ones of the plurality of first spring contacts of the third one of the plurality of controllers (i.e. as understood from figure 2).
Regarding claim 16: Molnar and Budde teach the method of claim 11, Molnar (Figure 2) further teaches wherein connecting the cable includes connecting the cable between one or more of the second terminal pins of the second one of the plurality of controllers and one or more of the first terminal pins of the third one of the plurality of controllers (i.e. as per the combination of claim 11), the method further comprising:
mounting a fourth one (i.e. a fourth 22) of the plurality of controllers adjacent to the third one of the plurality of controllers such that the plurality of first spring contacts of the fourth one of the plurality of controllers mechanically engage and electrically connect to respective ones of the plurality of second spring contacts of the third one of the plurality of controllers (i.e. as understood from figure 2).
Claims 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (US 2016/0204532 A1) and Ko (US 2020/0266573 A1).
Regarding claim 17: Ishida (Figures 13-15) teaches a controller comprising:
a housing (i.e. 52) including a front (i.e. receiving 13), a back (i.e. having 56) and at least a first side (i.e. left side) and an opposing second side (i.e. right side) extending between the front and the back;
a first spring contact (i.e. 62) extending outside and away from the first side of the housing; and
a second spring contact (i.e. 67) extending outside and away from the second side of the housing;
but does not specifically teach
a first interconnect structure adjacent the first side of the housing; and
a second interconnect structure adjacent the second side of the housing, wherein the first interconnect structure and the second interconnect structure are complementary such that the first interconnect structure is configured to engage with the second interconnect structure of an adjacent controller placed adjacent to the first side of the housing, and the second interconnect structure is configured to engage with the first interconnect structure of an adjacent controller placed adjacent to the second side of the housing,
However, Ko (Figure 3) teaches
a first interconnect structure (i.e. 16) adjacent the first side of the housing; and
a second interconnect structure (i.e. 15) adjacent the second side of the housing, wherein the first interconnect structure and the second interconnect structure are complementary such that the first interconnect structure is configured to engage with the second interconnect structure of an adjacent controller placed adjacent to the first side of the housing, and the second interconnect structure is configured to engage with the first interconnect structure of an adjacent controller placed adjacent to the second side of the housing,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the controller taught by Ishida to have the first and second interconnect structures configured to engage with respective counterparts on an adjacent controller so as to provide a neater assembly when additional connections are required.
Regarding claim 18: Ishida and Ko teach the controller of claim 17, wherein the first interconnect structure and the second interconnect structure are integral with the housing (i.e. as per Ko’s modification).
Regarding claim 19: Ishida and Ko teach the controller of claim 17, Ishida (Figure 14) further comprising:
a first terminal pin (i.e. top arm of 62) extending outside and away from the first side of the housing, wherein the first terminal pin is electrically coupled to the first spring contact; and
a second terminal pin (i.e. bottom arm of 67) extending outside and away from the second side of the housing, wherein the second terminal pin is electrically coupled to the second spring contact.
Regarding claim 20: Ishida and Ko teach the controller of claim 19, Ishida (Figure 15) further teaches wherein the first terminal pin is part of a first terminal port (i.e. port receiving 13) accessible from the first side of the housing, and the second terminal pin is part of a second terminal port (i.e. receiving 65 and 56) accessible from the second side of the housing.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached at 571-272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GREGORY L MANGOT/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834