DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment filed 7/30/2026, for which the corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1-10, 16-22 and 31-43 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 16, 31, 41 being independent. Claims 1, 6, 16, 18, 19, 31, 36, 41, 43 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or added. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection of claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 19-21, 31, 33, 34, 36, applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are moot, because the new ground of rejection was caused by the amendment and does not rely on any reference applied in the aforementioned rejection for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the rejection of claims 16-18 and 41-43, applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
On pages 19 and 20 of the arguments, the applicant argues that Deenoo does not teach “information associated with a conditional handover configuration for each conditional primary secondary cell change configuration of the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations, an indication of one or more conditional handover execution conditions and one or more primary secondary cell change execution conditions”, as recited in claim 16 and similarly recited in claim 41.
The reasons by the applicant for making this argument are stated on pg. 20 of the arguments.
Applicant argues that “The Office Action alleges that DEENOO discloses the subject matter of previously-presented claim 18. Office Action, p. 40. The cited section of DEENOO, at most, teaches that a WTRU may transmit an indication of CPAC execution in a failure message after a failed CHO. See DEENOO, T 157. However, DEENOO's teaching is a generic execution indication, but it does not disclose the per-configuration reporting information of the type now recited in claim 16”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Previously, claim 18 required for the reference to teach a UE transmitting information associated with a conditional handover configuration with the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations or the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell addition configurations. Whereas, amended claim 16 now requires the reference to teach an information associated with a conditional handover configuration for each conditional primary secondary cell change configuration of the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations. This change caused a new ground of rejection to be made, and as such, the new rejection using Deenoo has been made below.
As indicated in the cited [0003], the WTRU receives a conditional reconfiguration associated with a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, etc., indicating information associated with a conditional handover configuration for each conditional primary secondary cell change configuration of a plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations, namely those of the primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, PSCell addition, secondary cell group (SCG) change, SCG addition. These conditional reconfigurations are associated with a conditional handover, because, as indicated in the cited [0073], the conditional handover (CHO) is applicable to a conditional reconfiguration. An indication of the aforementioned information is transmitted by the WTRU, because, as indicated in the cited [0003], when the WTRU determines that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied, it transmits a second message to the network entity, and when the WTRU determines that the application of the conditional reconfiguration has resulted in a failure, the WTRU transmits a third message to the network entity to indicate the failure.
Therefore, Deenoo teaches this limitation.
Claim Objections
Claim 41 is objected to for minor informalities and requires the following or other appropriate correction:
In claim 41, line 15, “for each conditional primary secondary cell change” should be amended, as follows: “for each conditional primary secondary cell change”, to correct an apparent typographical error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 19-21, 31, 33, 34, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, et al (US PG Publication 2025/0113267), hereafter Li, in view of Xu, et al (US PG Publication 2024/0214839), hereafter Xu.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches
a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising
([0048] terminal device):
one or more memories
([0005] At least one memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to
([0048] Terminal device include a processor. The ROM 502 is a read-only memory that stores programs, information such as various parameters, and the like pertaining to the processing executed by the terminal device):
obtain an indication to perform a selective secondary cell group activation or a subsequent conditional handover associated with a subsequent conditional primary cell change, the subsequent conditional handover associated with the subsequent conditional primary cell change being performed after a previous successful conditional handover associated with a previous conditional primary cell change.
([0008] A base station device according to one aspect of the present invention comprises a notification unit configured to notify a terminal device currently connected to the base station device of reconfiguration information for the terminal device to autonomously select and switch a cell serving as a connection destination, wherein the reconfiguration information includes first information indicating combinations of a first cell that is a candidate for a primary cell serving as a handover destination and a second cell that is a candidate for a secondary cell, a condition for connecting to the cell and a communication parameter to be used when connecting to the cell
[0042] When the CHO to the primary cell and the CPAC to the secondary cell are configured at the same time, if the radio quality of any of the primary cell candidates meets the connection conditions, and if the connection conditions for any of the secondary cell candidates are met, the terminal device 141 connects to the primary cell candidate that meets the connection conditions, and to the secondary cell candidate that is associated with that primary cell and meets the connection conditions
[0047] In the example in FIG. 1, when terminal device 141 connecting to the cell 111, when performing a CHO (conditional handover) to a given primary cell candidate, the cell 131 and the cell 132 can be used in combination with the cell 112. If the connection to the other primary cell candidate is successful, there is no need to re-configure the secondary cell
(Based on the pre-configuration information received from the base station, the terminal device performs handover to any primary cell successfully, based on a condition associated with conditional handover being met, and subsequently performs a handover to other primary cell successfully, based on a condition associated with conditional handover being met));
initiate the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover
([0047] In the example in FIG. 1, when terminal device 141 connecting to the cell 111, when performing a CHO (conditional handover) to a given primary cell candidate, the cell 131 and the cell 132 can be used in combination with the cell 112. If the connection to the other primary cell candidate is successful, there is no need to re-configure the secondary cell
(The terminal device subsequently performs a handover to other primary cell associated with conditional handover being met)).
Li does not teach
detect a failure occurrence associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover; and
transmit, in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches
detect a failure occurrence associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover
([0091] For two consecutive failures, such as a CHO handover failure and an immediately following CHO recovery failure or a CHO handover failure and an immediately following HOF, the UE may also save two RLF reports); and
transmit, in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover
([0091] For two consecutive failures, if a CHO execution to a cell A fails, and the UE fails to perform CHO recovery in a cell B, then the failed primary cell identifier included in a first RLF report is an identifier of the cell A, and the failed primary cell identifier included in the second RLF report is the identifier of the cell B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of the failure, for the benefit of supporting robustness of a handover in an enhanced mobility process, correctly identifying a reason for an occurrence of a failure, performing optimization in appropriate way, reducing the occurrence of the failure and reducing operators' labor cost (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 3, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the UE of claim 1.
Xu further teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, are configured to cause the UE to:
transmit a previous primary secondary cell identifier associated with a subsequent conditional primary secondary cell change configuration or a subsequent conditional primary secondary cell addition configuration in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence associated with the selective secondary cell group activation; or
transmit a previous primary cell identifier associated with a subsequent conditional handover configuration in accordance with detecting a radio link failure
([0091] If a CHO execution to a cell A fails, and the UE fails to perform CHO recovery in a cell B, then the failed primary cell identifier included in a first RLF report is an identifier of the cell A, and the failed primary cell identifier included in the second RLF report is the identifier of the cell B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of the failure, for the benefit of supporting robustness of a handover in an enhanced mobility process, correctly identifying a reason for an occurrence of a failure, performing optimization in appropriate way, reducing the occurrence of the failure and reducing operators' labor cost (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 4, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the UE of claim 1.
Xu further teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, are configured to cause the UE to transmit timing information that indicates at least one of:
a time between detecting at least one of a master cell group indicator that indicates a handover failure or a secondary cell group radio link failure that indicates a primary secondary cell change failure or a primary secondary cell addition failure and at least one of a previous conditional handover, a previous conditional primary secondary cell change, or a previous conditional primary secondary cell addition
([0063] At step 302, the target base station receives a radio link failure (RLF) report of the UE from a third base station or the source base station. The radio link failure report at least includes one or more of the followings: [0081] A time from a CHO execution to an occurrence of a failure
[0092] For a time from the CHO execution to failure, the first RLF report includes the time from the CHO execution to the performing failure, and the second the RLF report includes the time from the CHO execution to the CHO recovery failure);
a time between receiving a previous selective secondary cell group activation or a subsequent conditional handover configuration and a delta configuration associated with a candidate cell; or
a time between the delta configuration and a failure occurrence associated with a target primary cell or a target primary secondary cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of the failure, for the benefit of supporting robustness of a handover in an enhanced mobility process, correctly identifying a reason for an occurrence of a failure, performing optimization in appropriate way, reducing the occurrence of the failure and reducing operators' labor cost (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the UE of claim 1.
Xu further teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, are configured to cause the UE to transmit a measurement associated with one or more stored measurements in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence
([0063] At step 302, the target base station receives a radio link failure (RLF) report of the UE from a third base station or the source base station. The radio link failure report at least includes: [0090] A measurement result at a CHO execution, a measurement result when a handover is performed, a measurement result when a failure occurs
[0091] For two consecutive failures, if a CHO execution to a cell A fails, and the UE fails to perform CHO recovery in a cell B, then the failed primary cell identifier included in a first RLF report is an identifier of the cell A, and the failed primary cell identifier included in the second RLF report is the identifier of the cell B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of the failure, for the benefit of supporting robustness of a handover in an enhanced mobility process, correctly identifying a reason for an occurrence of a failure, performing optimization in appropriate way, reducing the occurrence of the failure and reducing operators' labor cost (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 19, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the UE of claim 17.
Xu further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the conditional handover configuration, are configured to cause the UE to transmit timing information that indicates at least one of:
a time between a radio link failure and a trigger condition associated with at least one of a condition handover, a conditional primary secondary cell change, or a conditional primary secondary cell addition being satisfied
([0063] At step 302, the target base station receives a radio link failure (RLF) report of the UE from a third base station or the source base station. The radio link failure report at least includes one or more of the followings: [0081] A time from a CHO execution to an occurrence of a failure
[0092] For a time from the CHO execution to failure, the first RLF report includes the time from the CHO execution to the performing failure, and the second the RLF report includes the time from the CHO execution to the CHO recovery failure); or
a time between a conditional handover execution condition being satisfied and a conditional primary secondary cell change or conditional primary secondary cell addition execution condition being satisfied.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of the failure, for the benefit of supporting robustness of a handover in an enhanced mobility process, correctly identifying a reason for an occurrence of a failure, performing optimization in appropriate way, reducing the occurrence of the failure and reducing operators' labor cost (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 20, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the UE of claim 1.
Xu further teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the conditional handover configuration, are configured to cause the UE to transmit measurement information that indicates one or more primary cell measurements and one or more primary secondary cell measurements
([0063] At step 302, the target base station receives a radio link failure (RLF) report of the UE from a third base station or the source base station. The radio link failure report at least includes: [0090] A measurement result at a CHO execution, a measurement result when a handover is performed, a measurement result when a failure occurs
[0091] For two consecutive failures, if a CHO execution to a cell A fails, and the UE fails to perform CHO recovery in a cell B, then the failed primary cell identifier included in a first RLF report is an identifier of the cell A, and the failed primary cell identifier included in the second RLF report is the identifier of the cell B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of the failure, for the benefit of supporting robustness of a handover in an enhanced mobility process, correctly identifying a reason for an occurrence of a failure, performing optimization in appropriate way, reducing the occurrence of the failure and reducing operators' labor cost (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 21, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the UE of claim 17.
Xu further teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the conditional handover configuration, are configured to cause the UE to transmit an indication of whether a legacy conditional handover only is configured or whether a legacy conditional handover with secondary cell group is configured
([0063] At step 302, the target base station receives a radio link failure (RLF) report of the UE from a third base station or the source base station. The radio link failure report at least includes one or more of the followings:
[0073] A time from receiving a RRC re-configuration message including a CHO configuration to receiving a legacy handover command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of the failure, for the benefit of supporting robustness of a handover in an enhanced mobility process, correctly identifying a reason for an occurrence of a failure, performing optimization in appropriate way, reducing the occurrence of the failure and reducing operators' labor cost (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 31, Li teaches
a method for wireless communication, comprising:
obtaining an indication to perform a selective secondary cell group activation or a subsequent conditional handover associated with a subsequent conditional primary cell change, the subsequent conditional handover associated with the subsequent conditional primary cell change being performed after a previous successful conditional handover associated with a previous conditional primary cell change
([0008] A base station device according to one aspect of the present invention comprises a notification unit configured to notify a terminal device currently connected to the base station device of reconfiguration information for the terminal device to autonomously select and switch a cell serving as a connection destination, wherein the reconfiguration information includes first information indicating combinations of a first cell that is a candidate for a primary cell serving as a handover destination and a second cell that is a candidate for a secondary cell, a condition for connecting to the cell and a communication parameter to be used when connecting to the cell
[0042] When the CHO to the primary cell and the CPAC to the secondary cell are configured at the same time, if the radio quality of any of the primary cell candidates meets the connection conditions, and if the connection conditions for any of the secondary cell candidates are met, the terminal device 141 connects to the primary cell candidate that meets the connection conditions, and to the secondary cell candidate that is associated with that primary cell and meets the connection conditions
[0047] In the example in FIG. 1, when terminal device 141 connecting to the cell 111, when performing a CHO (conditional handover) to a given primary cell candidate, the cell 131 and the cell 132 can be used in combination with the cell 112. If the connection to the other primary cell candidate is successful, there is no need to re-configure the secondary cell
(Based on the pre-configuration information received from the base station, the terminal device performs handover to any primary cell successfully, based on a condition associated with conditional handover being met, and subsequently performs a handover to other primary cell successfully, based on a condition associated with conditional handover being met));
initiating the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover
([0047] In the example in FIG. 1, when terminal device 141 connecting to the cell 111, when performing a CHO (conditional handover) to a given primary cell candidate, the cell 131 and the cell 132 can be used in combination with the cell 112. If the connection to the other primary cell candidate is successful, there is no need to re-configure the secondary cell
(The terminal device subsequently performs a handover to other primary cell associated with conditional handover being met)).
Li does not teach
detecting a failure occurrence associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover; and
transmitting, in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches
detecting a failure occurrence associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover
([0091] For two consecutive failures, such as a CHO handover failure and an immediately following CHO recovery failure or a CHO handover failure and an immediately following HOF, the UE may also save two RLF reports); and
transmitting, in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover
([0091] For two consecutive failures, if a CHO execution to a cell A fails, and the UE fails to perform CHO recovery in a cell B, then the failed primary cell identifier included in a first RLF report is an identifier of the cell A, and the failed primary cell identifier included in the second RLF report is the identifier of the cell B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of the failure, for the benefit of supporting robustness of a handover in an enhanced mobility process, correctly identifying a reason for an occurrence of a failure, performing optimization in appropriate way, reducing the occurrence of the failure and reducing operators' labor cost (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 33, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the method of claim 31.
Xu further teaches
wherein transmitting the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, further comprises:
transmitting a previous primary secondary cell identifier associated with a subsequent conditional primary secondary cell change configuration or a subsequent conditional primary secondary cell addition configuration in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence associated with the selective secondary cell group activation; or
transmitting a previous primary cell identifier associated with a subsequent conditional handover configuration in accordance with detecting a radio link failure
([0091] If a CHO execution to a cell A fails, and the UE fails to perform CHO recovery in a cell B, then the failed primary cell identifier included in a first RLF report is an identifier of the cell A, and the failed primary cell identifier included in the second RLF report is the identifier of the cell B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of the failure, for the benefit of supporting robustness of a handover in an enhanced mobility process, correctly identifying a reason for an occurrence of a failure, performing optimization in appropriate way, reducing the occurrence of the failure and reducing operators' labor cost (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 34, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the method of claim 31.
Xu further teaches wherein transmitting the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, further comprises transmitting timing information that indicates at least one of:
a time between detecting at least one of a master cell group indicator that indicates a handover failure or a secondary cell group radio link failure that indicates a primary secondary cell change failure or a primary secondary cell addition failure and at least one of a previous conditional handover, a previous conditional primary secondary cell change, or a previous conditional primary secondary cell addition
([0063] At step 302, the target base station receives a radio link failure (RLF) report of the UE from a third base station or the source base station. The radio link failure report at least includes one or more of the followings: [0081] A time from a CHO execution to an occurrence of a failure
[0092] For a time from the CHO execution to failure, the first RLF report includes the time from the CHO execution to the performing failure, and the second the RLF report includes the time from the CHO execution to the CHO recovery failure);
a time between receiving a previous selective secondary cell group activation or a subsequent conditional handover configuration and a delta configuration associated with a candidate cell; or
a time between the delta configuration and a failure occurrence associated with a target primary cell or a target primary secondary cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of the failure, for the benefit of supporting robustness of a handover in an enhanced mobility process, correctly identifying a reason for an occurrence of a failure, performing optimization in appropriate way, reducing the occurrence of the failure and reducing operators' labor cost (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 36, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the method of claim 31.
Xu further teaches
wherein transmitting the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, further comprises:
transmitting a measurement associated with one or more stored measurements in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence
([0063] At step 302, the target base station receives a radio link failure (RLF) report of the UE from a third base station or the source base station. The radio link failure report at least includes: [0090] A measurement result at a CHO execution, a measurement result when a handover is performed, a measurement result when a failure occurs
[0091] For two consecutive failures, if a CHO execution to a cell A fails, and the UE fails to perform CHO recovery in a cell B, then the failed primary cell identifier included in a first RLF report is an identifier of the cell A, and the failed primary cell identifier included in the second RLF report is the identifier of the cell B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Xu’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of the failure, for the benefit of supporting robustness of a handover in an enhanced mobility process, correctly identifying a reason for an occurrence of a failure, performing optimization in appropriate way, reducing the occurrence of the failure and reducing operators' labor cost (see [0009]).
Claims 2, 10, 32 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Xu, and further in view of Kumar, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0026279), hereafter Kumar.
Regarding claim 2, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the UE of claim 1.
Li, in view of Xu, does not teach
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, are configured to cause the UE to transmit a self-organizing network report or a minimization of drive test report that includes the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover.
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, are configured to cause the UE to transmit a self-organizing network report or a minimization of drive test report that includes the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover
([0081] The state of the SCG may include a deactivated state or an activated state
[0084] The UE 215 may enhance MDT reports to include SCG state related information. These one or more reports may be sent to the network in an effort to assess quality of service or in the event of a connection failure
[0086] As another example, the UE 215 may enhance MDT reports to include information related to the state of the SCG. The network may collect MDT reports from the UE 215 or the base stations 205. As described herein, the immediate MDT report may be enhanced to include an indicator of whether SCG is in a deactivated state when RRM measurements are reported for the primary secondary cell of the SCG or neighboring primary secondary cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including a mobile device transmitting associated information, for the benefit of having data collection enhancements for secondary cell groups (SCGs) (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 10, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the UE of claim 1.
Li, in view of Xu, does not teach
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit mobility history information that includes a flag that indicates at least one of whether a subsequent conditional handover was used for performing a handover or whether a conditional primary secondary cell change or conditional primary secondary cell addition was used for a primary secondary serving cell change or addition; or
receive mobility history information that includes a flag that indicates at least one of whether a subsequent conditional handover was used for performing a handover or whether a conditional primary secondary cell change or conditional primary secondary cell addition was used for a primary secondary cell change or addition.
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit mobility history information that includes a flag that indicates at least one of whether a subsequent conditional handover was used for performing a handover or whether a conditional primary secondary cell change or conditional primary secondary cell addition was used for a primary secondary serving cell change or addition
([0081] The network may configure the state of the SCG at primary secondary cell addition, primary cell change
[0084] The UE 215 may enhance mobility history report to include SCG state related information. These one or more reports may be sent to the network in an effort to assess quality of service or in the event of a connection failure
[0085] As described above, the UE 215 may enhance a mobility history report to include information related to the state of the SCG. The mobility history report may be enhanced to include a percentage of time spent in the primary secondary cell); or
receive mobility history information that includes a flag that indicates at least one of whether a subsequent conditional handover was used for performing a handover or whether a conditional primary secondary cell change or conditional primary secondary cell addition was used for a primary secondary cell change or addition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including a mobile device transmitting associated information, for the benefit of having data collection enhancements for secondary cell groups (SCGs) (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 32, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the method of claim 31.
Li, in view of Xu, does not teach
wherein transmitting the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, further comprises:
transmitting a self-organizing network report or a minimization of drive test report that includes the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover.
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
wherein transmitting the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, further comprises:
transmitting a self-organizing network report or a minimization of drive test report that includes the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover
([0081] The state of the SCG may include a deactivated state or an activated state
[0084] The UE 215 may enhance MDT reports to include SCG state related information. These one or more reports may be sent to the network in an effort to assess quality of service or in the event of a connection failure
[0086] As another example, the UE 215 may enhance MDT reports to include information related to the state of the SCG. The network may collect MDT reports from the UE 215 or the base stations 205. As described herein, the immediate MDT report may be enhanced to include an indicator of whether SCG is in a deactivated state when RRM measurements are reported for the primary secondary cell of the SCG or neighboring primary secondary cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including a mobile device transmitting associated information, for the benefit of having data collection enhancements for secondary cell groups (SCGs) (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 40, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the method of claim 31.
Li, in view of Xu, does not teach
further comprising:
transmitting mobility history information that includes a flag that indicates at least one of whether a subsequent conditional handover was used for performing a handover or whether a conditional primary secondary cell change or conditional primary secondary cell addition was used for a primary secondary serving cell change or addition; or
receiving mobility history information that includes a flag that indicates at least one of whether a subsequent conditional handover was used for performing a handover or whether a conditional primary secondary cell change or conditional primary secondary cell addition was used for a primary secondary cell change or addition.
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches
further comprising:
transmitting mobility history information that includes a flag that indicates at least one of whether a subsequent conditional handover was used for performing a handover or whether a conditional primary secondary cell change or conditional primary secondary cell addition was used for a primary secondary serving cell change or addition
([0081] The network may configure the state of the SCG at primary secondary cell addition, primary cell change
[0084] The UE 215 may enhance mobility history report to include SCG state related information. These one or more reports may be sent to the network in an effort to assess quality of service or in the event of a connection failure
[0085] As described above, the UE 215 may enhance a mobility history report to include information related to the state of the SCG. The mobility history report may be enhanced to include a percentage of time spent in the primary secondary cell); or
receiving mobility history information that includes a flag that indicates at least one of whether a subsequent conditional handover was used for performing a handover or whether a conditional primary secondary cell change or conditional primary secondary cell addition was used for a primary secondary cell change or addition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Kumar’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including a mobile device transmitting associated information, for the benefit of having data collection enhancements for secondary cell groups (SCGs) (see [0001]).
Claims 5, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Xu, and further in view of Zhang, et al (US PG Publication 2026/0019892), hereafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 5, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the UE of claim 1.
Li, in view of Xu, does not teach
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, are configured to cause the UE to transmit an indication that the UE failed to comply with a delta configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, are configured to cause the UE to transmit an indication that the UE failed to comply with a delta configuration
([0097] If the RRC configuration message configured for the target cell is the delta configuration message (delta config), the UE will configure the delta message based on the currently used radio resource control configuration message. This may possibly leads to failure for the UE when accessing to the target cell, resulting in the failure of accessing to the wireless link and thus affecting the user's service experience
[0125] If there is a delta configuration type along with at least one full configuration type among the configuration type saved by the UE, when the secondary cell group configuration on the source secondary node is changed, the UE may not evaluate the conditional handover condition corresponding to the delta configuration type, but only evaluate the conditional handover condition corresponding to the full configuration type and notify the network that the secondary cell group configuration has been changed and that the UE currently monitors only the conditional handover condition corresponding to the full configuration type
(Instead of using the delta configuration associated with secondary cell change, which might lead to failure, the UE evaluates a full configuration and notifies the network of the non-evaluation of the delta configuration)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Zhang’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of a UE transmitting an indication of non-compliance with a delta configuration, for the benefit of providing efficient communication methods in a wireless communication system (see [0010]).
Regarding claim 35, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the method of claim 31.
Li, in view of Xu, does not teach
wherein transmitting the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, further comprises:
transmitting an indication that the UE failed to comply with a delta configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches
wherein transmitting the information associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, further comprises:
transmitting an indication that the UE failed to comply with a delta configuration
([0097] If the RRC configuration message configured for the target cell is the delta configuration message (delta config), the UE will configure the delta message based on the currently used radio resource control configuration message. This may possibly leads to failure for the UE when accessing to the target cell, resulting in the failure of accessing to the wireless link and thus affecting the user's service experience
[0125] If there is a delta configuration type along with at least one full configuration type among the configuration type saved by the UE, when the secondary cell group configuration on the source secondary node is changed, the UE may not evaluate the conditional handover condition corresponding to the delta configuration type, but only evaluate the conditional handover condition corresponding to the full configuration type and notify the network that the secondary cell group configuration has been changed and that the UE currently monitors only the conditional handover condition corresponding to the full configuration type
(Instead of using the delta configuration associated with secondary cell change, which might lead to failure, the UE evaluates a full configuration and notifies the network of the non-evaluation of the delta configuration)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Zhang’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, including reporting of a UE transmitting an indication of non-compliance with a delta configuration, for the benefit of providing efficient communication methods in a wireless communication system (see [0010]).
Claims 7, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Xu, and further in view of Wu, et al (US PG Publication 2025/0338173), hereafter Wu.
Regarding claim 7, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the UE of claim 1.
Li, in view of Xu, does not teach
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to obtain an indication of a plurality of reference configurations, associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, for each candidate node of a plurality of candidate secondary nodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to obtain an indication of a plurality of reference configurations, associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, for each candidate node of a plurality of candidate secondary nodes
([0048] One candidate cell group whose cell type is MCG can be named as candidate MN, and the other candidate cell group whose cell type is SCG can be named as candidate SN
[0069] In the case of delta configuration, the terminal device adopts reference configuration of network configuration, or the terminal device adopts reference configuration agreed in a protocol
[0072] The updated candidate cell group configuration includes at least one of: reference configuration corresponding to delta configuration on a condition that the delta configuration is adopted for the candidate cell group configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Wu’s teaching of determining cell handover, based on a plurality of reference cell configurations, for the benefit of maintaining candidate cell configuration and receiving updated candidate cell configuration or candidate cell group configuration (see [0007]).
Regarding claim 37, Li, in view of Xu, teaches the method of claim 31.
Li, in view of Xu, does not teach
further comprising:
obtaining an indication of a plurality of reference configurations, associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, for each candidate node of a plurality of candidate secondary nodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches
obtaining an indication of a plurality of reference configurations, associated with the selective secondary cell group activation or the subsequent conditional handover, for each candidate node of a plurality of candidate secondary nodes
([0048] One candidate cell group whose cell type is MCG can be named as candidate MN, and the other candidate cell group whose cell type is SCG can be named as candidate SN
[0069] In the case of delta configuration, the terminal device adopts reference configuration of network configuration, or the terminal device adopts reference configuration agreed in a protocol
[0072] The updated candidate cell group configuration includes at least one of: reference configuration corresponding to delta configuration on a condition that the delta configuration is adopted for the candidate cell group configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, in view of Xu, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Wu’s teaching of determining cell handover, based on a plurality of reference cell configurations, for the benefit of maintaining candidate cell configuration and receiving updated candidate cell configuration or candidate cell group configuration (see [0007]).
Claims 16-18, 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karabulut, et al (US PG Publication 2026/0025718)¸hereafter Karabulut, in view of Deenoo, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0394583), hereafter Deenoo.
Regarding claim 16, Karabulut teaches
a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising
([0005] User equipment comprises):
one or more memories
([0005] At least one memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to
([0005] At least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code causing the user equipment, when executed with the at least one processor, to perform the processed described herein):
obtain an indication to perform a conditional handover in accordance with a conditional handover configuration with a plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations or a plurality of conditional primary secondary cell addition configurations
([0122] Starting at box 501, the UE receives a plurality of CHO configurations from the source master node. A CHO configuration relates to at least a primary cell of a target master node but may also comprise a primary secondary cell of the target master node
[0148] Number 4 depicts that the serving PCell-0 provides the assistance information to UE 801 for CHO recovery procedure as described with respect to the embodiments disclosed herein. In this example, the assistance information is considered to comprise an PSCell selection condition for CHO recovery procedure
[0151] In number 9, the UE 801 identifies that the PSCell-1 and PSCell-3 are the target SNs' PSCells that are configured along with the PCell-1's CHO configurations by using the assistance information
(UE receives assistance information that indicates for the UE to perform CHO recovery with a PCell after a previous conditional handover failure occurred for changing to a PCell, target PCell-2. In addition, the assistance information indicates to the UE to identify target PSCells that are configured along with the PCell-1's CHO configurations));
initiate the conditional handover and at least one of a conditional primary secondary cell change associated with the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations or a conditional primary secondary cell addition associated with the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell addition configurations
([0151] The UE 801 selects one of the CHO-DC configurations associated with PCell-1. The selection criterion is based on the PSCell selection condition. The PSCell-3 satisfies the selection condition during recovery and the UE 801 selects the Config 1c that is associated with PSCell-3).
Karabulut does not teach
detect a failure occurrence associated with the conditional handover, or at least one of the conditional primary secondary cell change or the conditional primary secondary cell addition; and
transmit, in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence associated with the conditional handover, or at least one of the conditional primary secondary cell change or the conditional primary secondary cell addition, information associated with a conditional handover configuration for each conditional primary secondary cell change configuration of the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations, an indication of one or more conditional handover execution conditions and one or more primary secondary cell change execution conditions.
In the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches
detect a failure occurrence associated with the conditional handover, or at least one of the conditional primary secondary cell change or the conditional primary secondary cell addition
([0003] WTRU as described herein may receive a radio resource control (RRC) message from a network entity that may indicate a conditional reconfiguration to be applied by the WTRU and a condition (e.g., a measurement condition) for application of the conditional reconfiguration. The conditional reconfiguration may be associated with a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, etc. The RRC message may indicate a plurality of candidate PSCells associated with the conditional reconfiguration. The WTRU may monitor for the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration and may determine that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied. The WTRU may (e.g., based on the determination that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied. In some scenarios, the WTRU may determine that the application of the conditional reconfiguration has resulted in a failure
[0073] The description provided herein relating to a conditional handover (CHO) may be at least partially applicable to a conditional reconfiguration
(Conditional reconfigurations, which conditional handover is applicable to, are associated with primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, for which the WTRU determines when configuration condition is satisfied or when conditional configuration failure occurs)); and
transmit, in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence associated with the conditional handover, or at least one of the conditional primary secondary cell change or the conditional primary secondary cell addition, information associated with a conditional handover configuration for each conditional primary secondary cell change configuration of the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations, an indication of one or more conditional handover execution conditions and one or more primary secondary cell change execution conditions
([0003] The conditional reconfiguration may be associated with a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, etc. The RRC message may indicate a plurality of candidate PSCells associated with the conditional reconfiguration. The WTRU may monitor for the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration and may determine that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied. The WTRU may (e.g., based on the determination that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied) transmit a second message to the network entity. The WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration. In some scenarios, the WTRU may determine that the application of the conditional reconfiguration has resulted in a failure. Responsive to such a failure, the WTRU may transmit a third message to the network entity, where the third message may indicate the failure to the network entity
[0073] The description provided herein relating to a conditional handover (CHO) may be at least partially applicable to a conditional reconfiguration
(Conditional reconfigurations, which conditional handover is applicable to, are associated with primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, for which the WTRU transmits message when configuration condition is satisfied or conditional configuration has failed)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Karabulut, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, for the benefit of performing an enhanced recovery action (see [0190]).
Regarding claim 17, Karabulut, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 16.
Deenoo further teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the conditional handover configuration, are configured to cause the UE to transmit, in accordance with detecting a radio link failure, information associated with the conditional handover configuration that includes the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations
([0003] The conditional reconfiguration may be associated with a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, etc. The RRC message may indicate a plurality of candidate PSCells associated with the conditional reconfiguration. The WTRU may monitor for the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration and may determine that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied. The WTRU may (e.g., based on the determination that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied) transmit a second message to the network entity. The WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration. In some scenarios, the WTRU may determine that the application of the conditional reconfiguration has resulted in a failure. Responsive to such a failure, the WTRU may transmit a third message to the network entity, where the third message may indicate the failure to the network entity
[0073] The description provided herein relating to a conditional handover (CHO) may be at least partially applicable to a conditional reconfiguration
(Conditional reconfigurations, which conditional handover is applicable to, are associated with primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, for which the WTRU transmits message when conditional configuration has failed)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Karabulut, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, for the benefit of performing an enhanced recovery action (see [0190]).
Regarding claim 18, Karabulut, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 16.
Denoo further teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the conditional handover configuration, are configured to cause the UE to transmit, for each conditional primary secondary cell change configuration of the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations, at least one of:
an indication of whether an execution condition for a primary cell identifier has been satisfied;
an indication of an execution event that has been satisfied for a primary cell identifier or a primary secondary cell identifier
([0162] The WTRU may transmit an indication to a SCG (e.g., to a network node associated with the SCG) if the WTRU completes a CHO successfully. The WTRU may include an identity of a new PCell in the indication);
an indication of a time gap between two or more configured events that have been satisfied for a primary cell identifier or a primary secondary cell identifier;
an indication of whether an execution condition for a primary secondary serving cell identifier has been satisfied; or
an indication of one or more conditional primary cell addition execution conditions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Karabulut, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, for the benefit of performing an enhanced recovery action (see [0190]).
Regarding claim 22, Karabulut, in view of Deenoo, teaches the UE of claim 17.
Deenoo further teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the information associated with the conditional handover configuration, are configured to cause the UE to transmit secondary cell group failure information to a target master node after a successful handover
([0185] If the WTRU is currently executing a CHO at the time the CPAC is triggered. The WTRU may initiate a SCG failure procedure (e.g., transmitting a SCG failure indication such as a SCGFailureInformation message) to a MN), and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit an indication of a most recent primary secondary cell change associated with the conditional handover
([0161] The WTRU may be configured to indicate (e.g., to a secondary node) the status of the CHO or HO procedure. Such an indication may be used (e.g., by the secondary node) to determine whether a CPAC configuration is valid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Karabulut, in view of Deenoo,, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, for the benefit of performing an enhanced recovery action (see [0190]).
Regarding claim 41, Karabulut teaches
a method for wireless communication, comprising:
obtaining an indication to perform a conditional handover in accordance with a conditional handover configuration with a plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations or a plurality of conditional primary secondary cell addition configurations
([0122] Starting at box 501, the UE receives a plurality of CHO configurations from the source master node. A CHO configuration relates to at least a primary cell of a target master node but may also comprise a primary secondary cell of the target master node
[0148] Number 4 depicts that the serving PCell-0 provides the assistance information to UE 801 for CHO recovery procedure as described with respect to the embodiments disclosed herein. In this example, the assistance information is considered to comprise an PSCell selection condition for CHO recovery procedure
[0151] In number 9, the UE 801 identifies that the PSCell-1 and PSCell-3 are the target SNs' PSCells that are configured along with the PCell-1's CHO configurations by using the assistance information
(UE receives assistance information that indicates for the UE to perform CHO recovery with a PCell after a previous conditional handover failure occurred for changing to a PCell, target PCell-2. In addition, the assistance information indicates to the UE to identify target PSCells that are configured along with the PCell-1's CHO configurations));
initiating the conditional handover and at least one of a conditional primary secondary cell change associated with the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations or a conditional primary secondary cell addition associated with the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell addition configurations
([0151] The UE 801 selects one of the CHO-DC configurations associated with PCell-1. The selection criterion is based on the PSCell selection condition. The PSCell-3 satisfies the selection condition during recovery and the UE 801 selects the Config 1c that is associated with PSCell-3).
Karabulut does not teach
detecting a failure occurrence associated with the conditional handover, or at least one of the conditional primary secondary cell change or the conditional primary secondary cell addition; and
transmitting, in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence associated with the conditional handover, or at least one of the conditional primary secondary cell change or the conditional primary secondary cell addition, information associated with a conditional handover configuration for each conditional primary secondary cell change configuration of the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations, an indication of one or more conditional handover execution conditions and one or more primary secondary cell change execution conditions.
In the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches
detecting a failure occurrence associated with the conditional handover, or at least one of the conditional primary secondary cell change or the conditional primary secondary cell addition
([0003] WTRU as described herein may receive a radio resource control (RRC) message from a network entity that may indicate a conditional reconfiguration to be applied by the WTRU and a condition (e.g., a measurement condition) for application of the conditional reconfiguration. The conditional reconfiguration may be associated with a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, etc. The RRC message may indicate a plurality of candidate PSCells associated with the conditional reconfiguration. The WTRU may monitor for the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration and may determine that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied. The WTRU may (e.g., based on the determination that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied. In some scenarios, the WTRU may determine that the application of the conditional reconfiguration has resulted in a failure
[0073] The description provided herein relating to a conditional handover (CHO) may be at least partially applicable to a conditional reconfiguration
(Conditional reconfigurations, which conditional handover is applicable to, are associated with primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, for which the WTRU determines when configuration condition is satisfied or when conditional configuration failure occurs)); and
transmitting, in accordance with detecting the failure occurrence associated with the conditional handover, or at least one of the conditional primary secondary cell change or the conditional primary secondary cell addition, information associated with a conditional handover configuration for each conditional primary secondary cell change configuration of the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations, an indication of one or more conditional handover execution conditions and one or more primary secondary cell change execution conditions
([0003] The conditional reconfiguration may be associated with a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, etc. The RRC message may indicate a plurality of candidate PSCells associated with the conditional reconfiguration. The WTRU may monitor for the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration and may determine that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied. The WTRU may (e.g., based on the determination that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied) transmit a second message to the network entity. The WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration. In some scenarios, the WTRU may determine that the application of the conditional reconfiguration has resulted in a failure. Responsive to such a failure, the WTRU may transmit a third message to the network entity, where the third message may indicate the failure to the network entity
[0073] The description provided herein relating to a conditional handover (CHO) may be at least partially applicable to a conditional reconfiguration
(Conditional reconfigurations, which conditional handover is applicable to, are associated with primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, for which the WTRU transmits message when configuration condition is satisfied or conditional configuration has failed)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Karabulut, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, for the benefit of performing an enhanced recovery action (see [0190]).
Regarding claim 42, Karabulut, in view of Deenoo, teaches the method of claim 41.
Deenoo further teaches
wherein transmitting the information associated with the conditional handover configuration, further comprises:
transmitting, in accordance with detecting a radio link failure, information associated with the conditional handover configuration that includes the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations
([0003] The conditional reconfiguration may be associated with a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, etc. The RRC message may indicate a plurality of candidate PSCells associated with the conditional reconfiguration. The WTRU may monitor for the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration and may determine that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied. The WTRU may (e.g., based on the determination that the condition for application of the conditional reconfiguration is satisfied) transmit a second message to the network entity. The WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration. In some scenarios, the WTRU may determine that the application of the conditional reconfiguration has resulted in a failure. Responsive to such a failure, the WTRU may transmit a third message to the network entity, where the third message may indicate the failure to the network entity
[0073] The description provided herein relating to a conditional handover (CHO) may be at least partially applicable to a conditional reconfiguration
(Conditional reconfigurations, which conditional handover is applicable to, are associated with primary secondary cell (PSCell) change, a PSCell addition, a secondary cell group (SCG) change, an SCG addition, for which the WTRU transmits message when conditional configuration has failed)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Karabulut, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, for the benefit of performing an enhanced recovery action (see [0190]).
Regarding claim 43, Karabulut, in view of Deenoo, teaches the method of claim 42.
Deenoo further teaches
wherein transmitting the information associated with the conditional handover configuration, further comprises transmitting, for each conditional primary secondary cell change configuration of the plurality of conditional primary secondary cell change configurations, at least one of:
an indication of whether an execution condition for a primary cell identifier has been satisfied;
an indication of an execution event that has been satisfied for a primary cell identifier or a primary secondary cell identifier
([0162] The WTRU may transmit an indication to a SCG (e.g., to a network node associated with the SCG) if the WTRU completes a CHO successfully. The WTRU may include an identity of a new PCell in the indication);
an indication of a time gap between two or more configured events that have been satisfied for a primary cell identifier or a primary secondary cell identifier;
an indication of whether an execution condition for a primary secondary serving cell identifier has been satisfied; or
an indication of one or more conditional primary cell addition execution conditions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Karabulut, in view of Deenoo, which includes performing conditional cell handover, to include Deenoo’s teaching of performing conditional cell handover, for the benefit of performing an enhanced recovery action (see [0190]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 38 and 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art Not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung, et al (US PG Publication 2024/0251320), hereafter Jung, teaches a UE determines or considers that a radio link failure has been detected in the PCell where handover has been successfully performed, where the UE stores radio link failure information.
.
RefD, et al (US PG Publication 2019/0180633), hereafter RefD, teaches ??.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641