DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim for priority from U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/402,915, filed on August 31, 2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18 and 33) drawn to a personal care composition; inulin as a species of polysaccharide; butyloctanol as a species of fatty alcohol; and sodium pyruvate and lactic acid as a species of a post-biotic blend in the reply filed on January 30, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 19, 25 and 32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18 and 33 are being examined as they read on the elected species.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18 and 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,201,713 in view of Seidling et al. WO 2010/070501 A2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims of the instant application are rendered obvious over the cited claims of ‘713.
The cited claims of the instant application claim a personal care composition comprising from about 0.1 to about 5 wt.% of a polysaccharide; from about 0.01 to about 12 wt.% of a fatty alcohol; from about 0.5 to about 7 wt.% of a post-biotic blend; from about 0.1 to about 10 wt.% of calcium carbonate, wherein all weight percentages are based on the total weight of the personal care composition.
Claims 1-17 of ‘713 claim a personal care composition comprising: a polysaccharide comprising inulin present in an amount of from about 0.1 to about 1 wt. %; from about 0.01 to about 12 wt. % of a fatty alcohol; from about 0.5 to about 7 wt. % of a post-biotic blend; and optionally, from about 0.1 to about 2 wt. % of ethylhexylglycerin, wherein all weight percentages are based on the total weight of the personal care composition; wherein the post-biotic blend comprises lactic acid, or a salt thereof; and pyruvic acid, or a salt thereof; wherein the personal care composition has a weight ratio of lactic acid, or a salt thereof, to pyruvic acid, or a salt thereof, of from about 6:1 to about 2:1; wherein the personal care composition is a body wash, a body lotion, a deodorant, or an antiperspirant.
The claims of ‘713 do not claim the inclusion of from about 0.1 to about 10 wt.% of calcium carbonate.
However, prior to the effective filing date, calcium carbonate was a known filler component for personal care compositions as taught by Seidling et al.
Seidling et al. teaches that additional agents that impart a beneficial effect on skin or hair and/or further act to improve the aesthetic feel of the personal care compositions include examples having suitable skin benefit such as clays, starch, cellulose, particulates, and the like (page 10 lines 3-10). Examples of suitable particulates for personal care compositions include calcium carbonate (page 15 lines 14-21). The personal care composition may suitably include one or more particulate in an amount of from about 0.01 % (by weight of the composition) to about 20% (by weight of the composition) (page 15 lines 24-26).
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include components well-known in the art that impart a beneficial effect on skin or hair and/or further act to improve the aesthetic feel of the personal care compositions including examples having suitable skin benefit such as clays, starch, cellulose, particulates, and the like such as calcium carbonate in an amount of from about 0.01 % (by weight of the composition) to about 20% (by weight of the composition) as taught by Seidling et al., in the personal care composition of ‘713 with a reasonable expectation of predictable results. Thus, the addition of calcium carbonate to the formulation of ‘713 is rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
With respect to instant claim 33 which claims the form is a bar soap, although ‘713 does not specifically claim a bar soap form, since the prior art renders obvious a composition comprising the same components in overlapping amounts, the composition rendered obvious over the claims of ‘713 is necessarily capable of being in bar soap form. Thus claim 33 is rendered obvious over the cited claims of ‘713.
Claim 1-6, 8-11, 13-18 and 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13 and 14 of copending Application No. 18/977,205 (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0107993 A1) in view of Seidling et al. WO 2010/070501 A2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims of the instant application are rendered obvious over the cited claims of copending ‘205.
The cited claims of the instant application claim a personal care composition comprising from about 0.1 to about 5 wt.% of a polysaccharide; from about 0.01 to about 12 wt.% of a fatty alcohol; from about 0.5 to about 7 wt.% of a post-biotic blend; from about 0.1 to about 10 wt.% of calcium carbonate, wherein all weight percentages are based on the total weight of the personal care composition.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13 and 14 of copending ‘205 claim a personal care composition comprising from about 0.1 to about 5 wt.% of a polysaccharide; from about 0.01 to about 12 wt.% of a fatty alcohol; from about 0.5 to about 7 wt.% of a post-biotic blend; and optionally, from about 0.1 to about 2 wt.% of ethylhexylglycerin, wherein all weight percentages are based on the total weight of the personal care composition.
The claims of copending ‘205 do not claim the inclusion of from about 0.1 to about 10 wt.% of calcium carbonate.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, calcium carbonate was a known filler component for personal care compositions as taught by Seidling et al.
Seidling et al. teaches that additional agents that impart a beneficial effect on skin or hair and/or further act to improve the aesthetic feel of the personal care compositions include examples having suitable skin benefit such as clays, starch, cellulose, particulates, and the like (page 10 lines 3-10). Examples of suitable particulates for personal care compositions include calcium carbonate. The personal care composition may suitably include one or more particulate in an amount of from about 0.01 % (by weight of the composition) to about 20% (by weight of the composition) (page 15 lines 14-26).
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include components well-known in the art to the personal care composition of copending ‘205 that impart a beneficial effect on skin or hair and/or further act to improve the aesthetic feel of the personal care composition including examples having suitable skin benefit such as clays, starch, cellulose, particulates, and the like such as calcium carbonate in an amount of from about 0.01 % (by weight of the composition) to about 20% (by weight of the composition) as taught by Seidling et al., with a reasonable expectation of predictable results. Thus, the addition of calcium carbonate to the formulation of copending ‘205 is rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
With respect to instant claim 33 which claims the form is a bar soap, although copending ‘205 does not specifically claim a bar soap form, since the prior art renders obvious a composition comprising the same components in overlapping amounts, the composition rendered obvious over the copending application claims is necessarily capable of being in bar soap form. Thus claim 33 is rendered obvious over the cited claims of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18 and 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18 and 23 of copending Application No. 18/240,795 (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0065954 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims of the instant application are rendered obvious over the cited claims of copending ‘795.
The cited claims of the instant application claim a personal care composition comprising from about 0.1 to about 5 wt.% of a polysaccharide; from about 0.01 to about 12 wt.% of a fatty alcohol; from about 0.5 to about 7 wt.% of a post-biotic blend; from about 0.1 to about 10 wt.% of calcium carbonate, wherein all weight percentages are based on the total weight of the personal care composition.
The cited claims of copending ‘795 claim an intimate care composition comprising from about 0.5 to about 7 wt.% of a post-biotic blend, and further comprising a polysaccharide such as inulin, a fatty alcohol, wherein the fatty alcohol comprises butyloctanol.
The claims of copending ‘795 do not claim the inclusion of from about 0.1 to about 10 wt.% of calcium carbonate.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, calcium carbonate was a known filler component for personal care compositions as taught by Seidling et al.
Seidling et al. teaches that additional agents that impart a beneficial effect on skin or hair and/or further act to improve the aesthetic feel of the personal care compositions include examples having suitable skin benefit such as clays, starch, cellulose, particulates, and the like (page 10 lines 3-10). Examples of suitable particulates for personal care compositions include calcium carbonate. The personal care composition may suitably include one or more particulate in an amount of from about 0.01 % (by weight of the composition) to about 20% (by weight of the composition) (page 15 lines 14-26).
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further include components well-known in the art to the personal care composition of copending ‘795 that impart a beneficial effect on skin or hair and/or further act to improve the aesthetic feel of the personal care composition including examples having suitable skin benefit such as clays, starch, cellulose, particulates, and the like such as calcium carbonate in an amount of from about 0.01 % (by weight of the composition) to about 20% (by weight of the composition) as taught by Seidling et al., with a reasonable expectation of predictable results. Thus, the addition of calcium carbonate to the formulation of copending ‘795 is rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
With respect to instant claim 33 which claims the form is a bar soap, although copending ‘795 does not specifically claim a bar soap form, since the prior art renders obvious a composition comprising the same components in overlapping amounts, the composition rendered obvious over the copending application claims is necessarily capable of being in bar soap form. Thus claim 33 is rendered obvious over the cited claims of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruz et al. U.S. Publication No. 2021/0299020 A1 (Provided on IDS dated 09/16/2023) in view of Li et al. U.S. Publication No. 2021/0275419 A1 and Kosturko WO 2016/024090 A1.
The cited claims of the instant application claim a personal care composition comprising from about 0.1 to about 5 wt.% of a polysaccharide such as inulin; from about 0.01 to about 12 wt.% of a fatty alcohol such as butyloctanol; from about 0.5 to about 7 wt.% of a post-biotic blend such as lactic acid and sodium pyruvate; from about 0.1 to about 10 wt.% of calcium carbonate, wherein all weight percentages are based on the total weight of the personal care composition.
Cruz et al. teaches personal care compositions comprising a sulfate-free surfactant system and a preservative system comprising an organic acid (abstract). Cruz et al. teaches a personal care composition comprising: a cosmetically acceptable carrier; a preservative system comprising an organic acid; and a sulfate-free surfactant system comprising an anionic surfactant and an amphoteric surfactant [0008]. Cruz et al. teaches the organic acid is selected from: citric acid; lactic acid; acetic acid; formic acid; oxalic acid; uric acid; malic acid; and a combination of two or more thereof, and preferably the organic acid comprises lactic acid [0011].
Cruz et al. further teaches the personal care composition further comprises a humectant selected from: glycerin; butyloctanol; hyaluronic acid; urea; sodium lactate; propylene glycol; glycolic acid; sorbitol; and a combination of two or more thereof [0017]. Preferably the humectant is butyloctanol present in an amount of from about 0.005 wt. % to about 0.5 wt. %, optionally from about 0.01 wt. % to about 0.1 wt. %, further optionally 0.01 wt. % or 0.05 wt. % ([0017] and [0062]).
Cruz et al. further teaches the personal care composition further comprises a prebiotic polysaccharide such as inulin ([0023] and [0068). In certain embodiments, the prebiotic polysaccharide is present in an amount of from about 0.1 wt. % to about 5 wt. %, optionally from about 0.5 wt. % to about 3 wt. %, further optionally about 2 wt. % ([0023] and [0068]).
Cruz et al. teaches the personal care composition is in a form selected from: a hand soap, a body wash, a face wash, a shower gel, a shampoo, a conditioner, a cleanser, an exfoliating scrub, and a facial scrub [0025]. Cruz et al. further teaches the personal care compositions include hair care, skin care, sun care, facial care, and nail care compositions and examples of personal care compositions include an antiperspirant, a deodorant, a body wash, face wash, a shower gel, a lotion, a bar soap, a soft soap, a shampoo, a hair conditioner, a sunscreen, a facial cleanser, a facial toner, an exfoliant, a mask, a serum, a moisturizer, and a cosmetic (e.g. lipstick, concealer, blush, eye shadow, etc.) [0039].
Cruz et al. teaches that in certain embodiments, the personal care compositions comprise a preservative system comprising an organic acid [0047]. The organic acid may be selected from lactic acid, tartaric acid, adipic acid, succinic acid, ascorbic acid, malonic acid, oxalic acid, pyruvic acid, picolinic acid, dipicolinic acid, citric acid, formic acid, acetic acid, propionic acid, other aliphatic or aromatic mono- or poly-carboxylic acids, and combinations thereof, the organic acid is preferably lactic acid [0048]. In certain embodiments, the active organic acid is present in an amount of from about 0.3 to about 2 wt. %, from about 0.3 to about 1 wt. %, or from about 0.3 to about 0.8 wt. % [0058]-[0059].
Cruz et al. does not specifically teach the combination of lactic acid and sodium pyruvate. Cruz et al. does not teach the addition of calcium carbonate. Cruz et al. does not specifically exemplify a bar soap.
Although Cruz et al. does not specifically teach the combination of lactic acid and sodium pyruvate, Cruz et al. teaches in certain embodiments, the personal care compositions comprise a preservative system comprising an organic acid preferably lactic acid and another organic acid which may be selected as pyruvic acid [0047]-[0048].
In addition, Li et al. teaches personal care compositions comprising a complex comprising a plurality of short chain fatty acids (abstract). Li et al. specifically teaches the combination of lactic acid and pyruvic acid or sodium pyruvate for personal care compositions ([0032], [0034], [0039]-[0040], [0050], [0066]) These personal care compositions include hair care, skin care, sun care, nail care, and oral care compositions and examples of personal care compositions include an antiperspirant, a deodorant, a body wash, a shower gel, a lotion, a bar soap, a soft soap, a shampoo, a hair conditioner, a sunscreen, a peel (e.g., a chemical peel), and a cosmetic [0033]. Li et al. teaches that the composition comprises about 0.1 wt. % to about 2.0 wt. % of the short chain fatty acid (SCFA) blend [0059]-[0065].
Li et al. teaches that when applied to the skin the SCFA blend reduces the amount of harmful bacteria and increases the amount of beneficial bacteria [0084]-[0085]. Li et al. teaches a personal care composition wherein the weight ratio of the first short chain fatty acid (e.g., lactic acid) to the second short chain fatty acid (e.g. succinic acid or pyruvic acid) is about 15:1, or about 4:1 [0089]. In other embodiments, the weight ratio of the first short chain fatty acid (e.g. lactic acid) to the second short chain fatty acid (e.g., mandelic acid or pyruvic acid) is about 4:1 [0089]. In some embodiments, the weight ratio of the first short chain fatty acid (e.g., lactic acid) to the second short chain fatty acid (e.g. mandelic acid or pyruvic acid) is about 2:1 [0089].
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cruz et al. which teaches in certain embodiments, the personal care compositions comprise a preservative system comprising an organic acid preferably lactic acid and another organic acid which may be selected as pyruvic acid, with the teachings of Li et al. which specifically teaches the combination of lactic acid and pyruvic acid or sodium pyruvate for personal care compositions in an amount of about 0.1 wt. % to about 2.0 wt. % wherein when applied to the skin the SCFA blend reduces the amount of harmful bacteria and increases the amount of beneficial bacteria and wherein the weight ratio of the first short chain fatty acid (e.g., lactic acid) to the second short chain fatty acid (e.g. succinic acid or pyruvic acid) is about 15:1, or about 4:1 or about 2:1. Thus an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to add the short chain fatty acid blend of Li et al. to the formulation of Cruz et al. in order to obtain the added benefit of reducing the amount of harmful bacteria and increasing the amount of beneficial bacteria of the skin and further improving the properties of the personal care composition.
Although Cruz et al. does not specifically exemplify a bar soap, Cruz et al. specifically teaches that a bar soap is a suitable form for the personal care composition. Thus an ordinary skilled artisan following the teachings of Cruz et al. would have been motivated to prepare a bar soap with a reasonable expectation of predictable results. It would have been within the skill of an ordinary artisan to formulate a bar soap based on procedures routine in the art.
Kosturko teaches the preparation of bar soap compositions (abstract). Kosturko teaches that one or more insoluble filler materials are typically present in bar soap compositions (page 18 line 8). These filler materials may be inorganic or organic or a combination as long as it is insoluble in water (page 18 lines 11-12). Non-limiting examples of inorganic particulate materials includes talc and calcium carbonate (page 18 line 18). Calcium carbonate or as it is interchangeable referred to as "chalk" exists in three crystal forms: calcite, aragonite and vaterite (page 18 lines 21-22). Kosturko teaches the one or more insoluble filler material may comprise up to about 20%wt. of the bar soap of which it forms a part, but advantageously, when present in included in an amount of from about 0.01%wt. to about 10%wt. (page 19 lines 10-12).
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a bar soap composition according to the teachings of Cruz et al. and Li et al. and further include from about 0.01%wt. to about 10%wt. of calcium carbonate as a filler component known in the art to be useful in bar soap formulations to arrive at the instant invention.
Thus since the prior art renders obvious a personal care composition comprising the same components as claimed in the same or overlapping amounts as claimed, the properties of the composition as claimed in claims 13 and 15-18 of the instant application are also rendered obvious. Thus since the prior art specifically teaches the use of the same post-biotic blend in the same amount and ratio as claimed, the composition rendered over the prior art is necessarily adapted to mimic lactobacillus ferment as claimed in claim 13 of the instant application. For the same reasons, the composition rendered over the prior art is necessarily formulated to inhibit the growth of the bacteria and increase the growth of the bacteria as claimed in claims 15-18 of the instant application. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705,709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Claims 15-18 are further rendered obvious since Li et al. specifically teaches that when applied to the skin the SCFA blend (post-biotic blend) reduces the amount of harmful bacteria and increases the amount of beneficial bacteria on the skin [0084]-[0085].
Thus the cited claims of the instant application are rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
Conclusion
Claims 19, 25 and 32 are withdrawn. Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18 and 33 are rejected. Claims 7, 12, 20-24 and 26-31 are canceled. No claims are allowed.
/KARA R. MCMILLIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623
KRM