DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claims 10 & 11 all recite the term “substantially”. The specification does not provide some standard for measuring that degree. Claims 12 -19 are dependent upon claim 10 and are indefinite as well because of their dependencies.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 & 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “use” should be –user-- Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12 & 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hayes et al. (U.S. Publication Number 2021/0246586).
Referring to claim 1, Hayes et al. discloses a sewing simulator apparatus adapted for use with a sewing machine, the sewing simulator apparatus comprising: a tracing tool configured to be selectively coupled to a head of the sewing machine (Figures 1B-1D), the tracing tool comprising: a tracing instrument configured to mark a surface (paragraph 0022 & 23); a tracing-instrument holder configured to support the tracing instrument in a tracing position in which the tracing instrument extends at an angle relative to a needle bar axis of the sewing machine with a tip of the tracing instrument located adjacent to a sewing machine bed included in the sewing machine (Figures 1B-1D); and a holder mount that extends from the tracing-instrument holder and selectively couples to the head of the sewing machine to fix the tracing instrument for movement therewith so that when an operator maneuvers the sewing machine the tracing instrument follows the motion of the head of the sewing machine (Figs. 1B & 1D) and a practice template having practice lines configured to be traced by the operator with the tracing instrument of the tracing tool to allow the operator to practice sewing with the sewing machine (paragraph 0022).
Referring to claim 2, Hayes et al. discloses wherein the tracing-instrument holder comprises: a holder base shaped to include a tracing-instrument receiving aperture that extends therethrough (Figures 1B-1D); and a tracing-instrument lock coupled to holder base and configured to change between an unlocked position in which the tracing instrument is completely free to move relative to the tracing-instrument holder and a locked position in which the tracing-instrument lock engages the tracing instrument to partially block movement of the tracing instrument relative to the tracing-instrument holder while in the tracing instrument is in tracing-instrument receiving aperture (Figures 1B-1D).
Referring to claim 3, Hayes et al. discloses wherein the tracing-instrument holder comprises: a holder extension that extends from a first side surface of the holder base facing the sewing machine bed and forms a portion of the tracing-instrument receiving aperture to increase the support of the tracing instrument (Figures 1B-1D), and wherein the tracing-instrument lock is coupled a second side surface of the holder base facing away from the sewing machine bed (Figures 1B-1D).
Referring to claim 4, Hayes et al. discloses wherein the holder mount includes a mount flange that extends from the tracing-instrument holder to the head of the sewing machine and a fastener that extends through the tracing-instrument holder and the mount flange into the head of the sewing machine (Figures 1B-1D).
Referring to claim 5, Hayes et al. discloses wherein the practice lines of the practice template are a desired pattern to be sewn with the sewing machine (paragraphs 0019 & 0022-0024).
Referring to claim 6, Hayes et al. discloses wherein the practice template is transparent and configured to be reused (paragraph 0043 & base 110).
Referring to claim 7, Hayes et al. discloses and teaches wherein the tracing instrument is one of a marker, pen, and a pencil (50).
Referring to claim 8, Hayes et al. discloses wherein the holder mount includes a mount flange that extends from the tracing-instrument holder to the head of the sewing machine and a fastener that extends through the tracing-instrument holder and the mount flange into the head of the sewing machine (Figures 1B-1D).
Referring to claim 10, Hayes et al. discloses comprising: providing a tracing tool configured to be selectively coupled to a head of the sewing machine and a practice template having practice lines configured to be traced with the tracing tool, the tracing tool comprising a tracing instrument configured to mark a surface, a tracing-instrument holder configured to support the tracing instrument in a tracing position, and a holder mount that extends from the tracing-instrument holder (Figs. 1B-1D, paragraph 0022 & 23); coupling the holder mount of the tracing tool to the head of the sewing machine to fix the tracing instrument for movement therewith (Figs. 1B-1D); inserting the tracing instrument into a tracing-instrument receiving aperture formed in the tracing-instrument holder so that the tracing instrument is in the tracing position in which the tracing instrument extends at an angle relative to a needle bar axis of the sewing machine with a tip of the tracing instrument located adjacent to a sewing machine bed included in the sewing machine (Figs. 1B-1D), placing the practice template under the head of the sewing machine so that the tip of the tracing instrument overlies the practice template (Figs. 1B-1D), and moving the sewing machine so that the tip of the tracing instrument follows the practice lines on the practice template and makes a first tracing mark that substantially matches the practice lines on the practice template (Figs. 1B-1D).
Referring to claim 11, Hayes et al. discloses further comprising: erasing the first tracing mark from the practice template after completing the first tracing mark (paragraph 0042); and repeating the step of moving the sewing machine so that the tip of the tracing instrument follows the practice lines on the practice template and makes a second tracing mark that substantially matches the practice lines on the practice template (Figs. 1B & 1D).
Referring to claim 12, Hayes et al. discloses further comprising: removing the tracing instrument from the tracing-instrument receiving aperture (Figs. 1B-1D); removing the practice template out from under the head of the sewing machine (Figs. 1B-1D); coupling a needle to a needle bar included on the sewing machine (Figs. 1B-1D); moving the sewing machine in the same manner following the practice lines on the practice template (Figs. 1B-1D).
Referring to claim 16, Hayes et al. discloses wherein the holder mount comprises: a mount flange that extends from the tracing-instrument holder (Figs 1B-1D); and a fastener (Figs. 1B-1D), and wherein coupling the holder mount of the tracing tool to the head of the sewing machine includes inserting the fastener through the tracing-instrument holder and the mount flange into the head of the sewing machine (Figs. 1B-1D).
Referring to claim 17, Hayes et al. discloses wherein the practice lines of the practice template are a desired pattern to be sewn with the sewing machine (Figs. 1B-1D).
Referring to claim 18, Hayes et al. discloses wherein the practice template is transparent (paragraph 0043).
Referring to claim 19, Hayes et al. discloses wherein the tracing instrument is one of a marker, pen, and a pencil (50).
Claim(s) 9 & 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes et al. in view of Taizhou (CN 203569329 U).
Referring to claim 9, Hayes et al. discloses the sewing simulator apparatus of any one of claims 1-4. Hayes et al. does not disclose wherein tracing instrument is spring-biased toward the sewing machine bed so that the tip of the tracing instrument stays in contact with the practice template while the use moves the sewing machine (abstract). However, Taizhou teaches wherein tracing instrument is spring-biased toward the sewing machine bed so that the tip of the tracing instrument stays in contact with the practice template while the use moves the sewing machine (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein tracing instrument is spring-biased toward the sewing machine bed so that the tip of the tracing instrument stays in contact with the practice template while the use moves the sewing machine, as disclosed by Taizhou, incorporated into Hayes et al. in order to keep breaking do easily or to not cause damage.
Referring to claim 15, Hayes et al. discloses the method of claim 10. Hayes et al. does not disclose wherein tracing instrument is spring-biased toward the sewing machine bed so that the tip of the tracing instrument stays in contact with the practice template while the use moves the sewing machine. However, Taizhou teaches wherein tracing instrument is spring-biased toward the sewing machine bed so that the tip of the tracing instrument stays in contact with the practice template while the use moves the sewing machine (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein tracing instrument is spring-biased toward the sewing machine bed so that the tip of the tracing instrument stays in contact with the practice template while the use moves the sewing machine, as disclosed by Taizhou, incorporated into Hayes et al. in order for the instrument to move up and down easily.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 & 7-9 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taizhou (CN 203569329 U) in view of Makino et al. (U.S. Patent Number 7,836,838).
Referring to claim 1, Taizhou discloses a sewing simulator apparatus adapted for use with a sewing machine, the sewing simulator apparatus comprising: a tracing tool configured to be selectively coupled to a head of the sewing machine (Figure), the tracing tool comprising: a tracing instrument configured to mark a surface (Figure – 40); a tracing-instrument holder configured to support the tracing instrument in a tracing position in which the tracing instrument extends at an angle relative to a needle bar axis of the sewing machine with a tip of the tracing instrument located adjacent to a sewing machine bed included in the sewing machine (Figure); and a holder mount that extends from the tracing-instrument holder and selectively couples to the head of the sewing machine to fix the tracing instrument for movement therewith so that when an operator maneuvers the sewing machine the tracing instrument follows the motion of the head of the sewing machine (100 &/or 120). Taizhou does not disclose a practice template having practice lines configured to be traced by the operator with the tracing instrument of the tracing tool to allow the operator to practice sewing with the sewing machine. However, Makino et al. teaches a practice template having practice lines configured to be traced by the operator with the tracing instrument of the tracing tool to allow the operator to practice sewing with the sewing machine (Figs. 6, 7, 10, 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a practice template having practice lines configured to be traced by the operator with the tracing instrument of the tracing tool to allow the operator to practice sewing with the sewing machine, as disclosed by Makino et al., incorporated into Taizhou in order to have a practice mode on the sewing machine.
Referring to claim 2, Taizhou discloses wherein the tracing-instrument holder comprises: a holder base shaped to include a tracing-instrument receiving aperture that extends therethrough (Figure); and a tracing-instrument lock coupled to holder base and configured to change between an unlocked position in which the tracing instrument is completely free to move relative to the tracing-instrument holder and a locked position in which the tracing-instrument lock engages the tracing instrument to partially block movement of the tracing instrument relative to the tracing-instrument holder while in the tracing instrument is in tracing-instrument receiving aperture (Figure).
Referring to claim 3, Taizhou discloses wherein the tracing-instrument holder comprises: a holder extension that extends from a first side surface of the holder base facing the sewing machine bed and forms a portion of the tracing-instrument receiving aperture to increase the support of the tracing instrument (Figure), and wherein the tracing-instrument lock is coupled a second side surface of the holder base facing away from the sewing machine bed (Figure).
Referring to claim 4, Taizhou discloses wherein the holder mount includes a mount flange that extends from the tracing-instrument holder to the head of the sewing machine and a fastener that extends through the tracing-instrument holder and the mount flange into the head of the sewing machine (Figure & 120).
Referring to claim 5, Taizhou, as modified by Makino et al., teaches wherein the practice lines of the practice template are a desired pattern to be sewn with the sewing machine (Figs. 6, 7, 10 & 12 of Makino et al.).
Referring to claim 7, Taizhou, as modified by Makino et al., discloses and teaches wherein the tracing instrument is one of a marker, pen, and a pencil (pen and/or marker is disclosed in both references).
Referring to claim 8, Taizhou discloses wherein the holder mount includes a mount flange that extends from the tracing-instrument holder to the head of the sewing machine and a fastener that extends through the tracing-instrument holder and the mount flange into the head of the sewing machine (Figure).
Referring to claim 9, Taizhou discloses wherein tracing instrument is spring-biased toward the sewing machine bed so that the tip of the tracing instrument stays in contact with the practice template while the use moves the sewing machine (abstract).
Claim(s) 13 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes et al. in view of Brunner et al. (U.S. Patent Number 8,281,726).
Referring to claim 13, Hayes et al. discloses the method of claim 10. Hayes et al. does not disclose further comprising: locking the tracing instrument to the tracing-instrument holder after inserting the tracing instrument into the tracing-instrument receiving aperture so that the tracing-instrument is partially blocked for movement relative to the tracing-instrument holder. Brunner et al. teaches further comprising: locking the tracing instrument to the tracing-instrument holder after inserting the tracing instrument into the tracing-instrument receiving aperture so that the tracing-instrument is partially blocked for movement relative to the tracing-instrument holder (column 4 line 51-column 5 line 62 and Locking ring 37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed further comprising: locking the tracing instrument to the tracing-instrument holder after inserting the tracing instrument into the tracing-instrument receiving aperture so that the tracing-instrument is partially blocked for movement relative to the tracing-instrument holder, as disclosed by Brunner et al., incorporated into Hayes et al. in order to keep things in place.
Referring to claim 14, Hayes et al., as modified by Brunner et al., teaches wherein the tracing-instrument holder comprises: a holder base shaped to include the tracing-instrument receiving aperture (Figs. 1B-1D of Hayes et al.); and a tracing-instrument lock coupled to holder base and configured to change between an unlocked position in which the tracing-instrument is free to move relative to the tracing-instrument holder and a locked position in which the tracing-instrument lock engages the tracing instrument to partially block movement of the tracing instrument relative to the tracing-instrument holder while in the tracing instrument is in tracing-instrument receiving aperture ((column 4 line 51-column 5 line 62 and Locking ring 37 of Brunner et al.) and wherein locking the tracing instrument to the tracing-instrument holder includes changing the tracing-instrument lock from the unlocked position to the locked position (column 4 line 51-column 5 line 62 and Locking ring 37 of Brunner et al.).
Conclusion
/KESHA FRISBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715