DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUING DATA
This application has PRO 63/374,137 08/31/2022
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
PCTIB2022060652 11/04/2022
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment submitted March 30, 2026.
Claims 1-21 are pending.
The objection to the drawings is withdrawn.
The rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 112(d) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to include “prior to the start of the method.”
The following rejections of record are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-11, 15, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NCT05403450, June 22, cited on IDS.
NCT05403450 teaches administration of oral decitabine/cedazuridine in combination with tolinapant (as the only compounds administered in the study) for relapsed/refractory peripheral T-cell lymphoma. See title. Tolinapant is administered orally once daily on days 1-7 and 15-21 of each 28 day cycle. Decitabine/cedazuridine is administered orally. Pages 2-3, Arms. Patients to be treated include the following on page 4:
The combination of decitabine, cedazuridine, and tolinapant meets the limitation of a pharmaceutical composition comprising the three because the claim does not require that all three are contained within one dosage form or as a single agent. The specification describes decitabine/cedazuridine as a single agent in paragraph [0083], but all three of decitabine, cedazuridine, and tolinapant are never described as a single dosage form and are used in different dosing schedules, so claim 21 in view of the specification is interpreted to include combinations which are not present in a single dosage form.
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-11, 15, 17, 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poligone (“Trial in Progress…” poster, cited on IDS).
Poligone teaches treatment of relapsed/refractory T-cell lymphoma using the combination of tolinapant with oral decitabine/cedazuridine (as the only compounds given in the study). See title and background. Subtypes are as follows:
Oral decitabine/cedazuridine is given on days 1-5. Tolinapant 120 mg/day is given on days 1-7 and 15-21. See Study Schema.
The combination of decitabine, cedazuridine, and tolinapant meets the limitation of a pharmaceutical composition comprising the three because the claim does not require that all three are contained within one dosage form or as a single agent. The specification describes decitabine/cedazuridine as a single agent in paragraph [0083], but all three of decitabine, cedazuridine, and tolinapant are never described as a single dosage form and are used in different dosing schedules, so claim 21 in view of the specification is interpreted to include combinations which are not present in a single dosage form.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the above references do not provide sufficient supporting disclosure regarding the results in an effective therapeutic outcome. This argument is not persuasive because the cited references teach treatment of T-cell lymphoma using the same agents recited in the claims. MPEP 2121 states that the prior art is presumed to be operable/enabling. A prior art reference provides an enabling disclosure and thus anticipates a claimed invention if the reference describes the claimed invention in sufficient detail to enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to carry out the claimed invention; “proof of efficacy is not required for a prior art reference to be enabling for purposes of anticipation.” The cited references describe treatment of T-cell lymphoma using the same agents recited in the claims. The cited references teach everything required by the rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 12, 15-18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Organesian (WO 2021173598A1, September 2, 2021, cited on IDS) in view of Ternyila (FDA Grants Orphan Drug Designation to Tolinapant for Treatment of T-Cell Lymphomas, internet article https://www.targetedonc.com/view/fda-grants-orphan-drug-designation-to-tolinapant-for-treatment-of-t-cell-lymphomas, September 1, 2020), Samaniego (“Preliminary Results of ASTX660…” cited on IDS) and Ward (“Combining the IAP Antagonist Tolinapant…”, November 5, 2021, cited on IDS).
Organesian teaches the combination of decitabine and cedazuridine in a solid oral dosage form. See title. The composition comprises 100 mg cedazuridine and 35 mg decitabine (claims 9-10). T-cell lymphoma is treated (claim 27). The composition is administered MTWThF (5 days). See claim 31. Decitabine is used to treat MDS [0004]. Pretreatment with an additional therapeutic agent is optional [0090], which includes a subject which has been previously treated or a subject which has not been previously treated.
Organesian does not teach administration of tolinapant along with the decitabine and cedazuridine.
Ternyila teaches that oral tolinapant is used to treat T-cell lymphoma such as peripheral T-cell lymphoma and cutaneous T-cell lymphoma. Phase 1 includes a dose-escalation stage and administration was every other week. See page 1. Patients received between 15 and 270 mg/day. See page 2.
Samaniego teaches that ASTX660 (tolinapant) shows activity against relapsed/refractory peripheral T-cell lymphoma and cutaneous T-cell lymphoma. See Conclusion and Title.
Ward teaches that decitabine enhances the activity of tolinapant in the context of T-cell lymphoma (Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to treat T-cell lymphoma using the combination of decitabine, cedazuridine, and tolinapant because all three are known for treating T-cell lymphoma. See MPEP 2144.06: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” The combination of decitabine and cedazuridine is used to treat T-cell lymphoma, tolinapant shows activity against T-cell lymphoma, and decitabine enhances the activity of tolinapant, so the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation that a combination of all three would be useful for treating T-cell lymphoma. The skilled artisan would have optimized the dose of tolinapant starting at 15 mg/day as taught by Ternyila and escalating the dose until the best results were observed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to treat a subject who was previously treated with decitabine because decitabine is used to treat MDS.
The combination of decitabine, cedazuridine, and tolinapant meets the limitation of a pharmaceutical composition comprising the three because the claim does not require that all three are contained within one dosage form or as a single agent. The specification describes decitabine/cedazuridine as a single agent in paragraph [0083], but all three of decitabine, cedazuridine, and tolinapant are never described as a single dosage form and are used in different dosing schedules, so claim 21 in view of the specification is interpreted to include combinations which are not present in a single dosage form.
Claim(s) 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Organesian in view of Samaniego and Ward as applied to claim 1-2, 5-6, 12, 17-18, and 20-21 above, and further in view of Pule (US 20170066827A1).
Organesian, Samaniego, Ward, and Ternyila teach as set forth above, but do not teach specifically the types of T-cell lymphomas recited in claims 5-14.
Pule teaches that T-cell lymphomas include peripheral T-cell lymphoma [0249] including not otherwise specified (PTCL-NOS) or angioimmunoblastic T-cell lymphoma {AITL) [0254]; anaplastic large cell lymphoma [0266]; enteropathy-associated T-cell lymphoma [0276]; hepatosplenic T-cell lymphoma [0284]; cutaneous T-cell lymphoma [0290] including mycosis fungoides and Sezary syndrome [02929]; or acute lymphoblastic leukemias [0081].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use the combination of decitabine, cedazuridine, and tolinapant for treatment of T-cell lymphomas recited in the current claims because the individual elements or pairs of elements of the combination are used for treating T-cell lymphomas generally and peripheral T-cell lymphoma and cutaneous T-cell lymphoma particularly, and Pule teaches the types of T-cell lymphomas. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the members of the combination are known for treating T-cell lymphomas generally individually or in pairs, and certain types of T-cell lymphomas particularly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the claimed combination has a newly identified resistance mechanism and its targeted reversal, which was not suggested by the cited references. This argument is not persuasive because Ward teaches that decitabine enhances the activity of tolinapant in the context of T-cell lymphoma (Conclusions). The skilled artisan would have added tolinapant because it is known for treating T-cell lymphoma and because it synergizes with decitabine. MPEP 2145 states that prima facie obviousness is not rebutted by merely recognizing additional advantages as latent properties present but not recognized in the prior art. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. “The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.” In this instance, the differences (that being the addition of tolinapant to the combination of cedazuridine and decitabine) are obvious because tolinapant synergizes with decitabine. The additional advantage which flows naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art is overcoming resistance mediated by RIPK3 methylation. Ward also teaches that the combination of decitabine and tolinapant overcomes resistance (see Background). Thus, overcoming resistance and increased efficacy are not unexpected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 12, 15-18, and 20-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,224,610 in view of Organesian, Ternyila, Samaniego, and Ward.
The ‘610 patent claims a method of treating lymphoma using a combination of decitabine at 5-15 mg and cedazuridine at 40-1000 mg. Claims 1-7.
The ‘610 patent does not claim addition of tolinapant.
Organesian teaches the combination of decitabine and cedazuridine in a solid oral dosage form. See title. The composition comprises 100 mg cedazuridine and 35 mg decitabine (claims 9-10). T-cell lymphoma is treated (claim 27). The composition is administered MTWThF (5 days). See claim 31. Decitabine is used to treat MDS [0004]. Pretreatment with an additional therapeutic agent is optional [0090], which includes a subject which has been previously treated or a subject which has not been previously treated.
Ternyila teaches that oral tolinapant is used to treat T-cell lymphoma such as peripheral T-cell lymphoma and cutaneous T-cell lymphoma. Phase 1 includes a dose-escalation stage and administration was every other week. See page 1. Patients received between 15 and 270 mg/day. See page 2.
Samaniego teaches that ASTX660 (tolinapant) shows activity against relapsed/refractory peripheral T-cell lymphoma and cutaneous T-cell lymphoma. See Conclusion and Title.
Ward teaches that decitabine enhances the activity of tolinapant in the context of T-cell lymphoma (Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to carry out the ‘610 method with the addition of tolinapant because the combination of decitabine and cedazuridine is used to treat lymphoma, particularly T-cell lymphoma, and tolinapant is used to treat T-cell lymphoma. See MPEP 2144.06: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.”
The combination of decitabine, cedazuridine, and tolinapant meets the limitation of a pharmaceutical composition comprising the three because the claim does not require that all three are contained within one dosage form or as a single agent. The specification describes decitabine/cedazuridine as a single agent in paragraph [0083], but all three of decitabine, cedazuridine, and tolinapant are never described as a single dosage form and are used in different dosing schedules, so claim 21 in view of the specification is interpreted to include combinations which are not present in a single dosage form.
Claims 5-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,224,610 in view of Organesian, Ternyila, Samaniego, and Ward; and further in view of Pule.
The ‘610 patent claims as set forth above, and Organesian, Ternyila, Samaniego, and Ward teach as set forth above, but do not teach all the different types of T-cell lymphomas recited in the current claims.
Pule teaches that T-cell lymphomas include peripheral T-cell lymphoma [0249] including not otherwise specified (PTCL-NOS) or angioimmunoblastic T-cell lymphoma {AITL) [0254]; anaplastic large cell lymphoma [0266]; enteropathy-associated T-cell lymphoma [0276]; hepatosplenic T-cell lymphoma [0284]; cutaneous T-cell lymphoma [0290] including mycosis fungoides and Sezary syndrome [02929]; or acute lymphoblastic leukemias [0081].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to carry out the proposed combination of decitabine, cedazuridine, and tolinapant for treatment of T-cell lymphomas recited in the current claims because the individual elements or pairs of elements of the combination are used for treating T-cell lymphomas generally and peripheral T-cell lymphoma and cutaneous T-cell lymphoma particularly, and Pule teaches the types of T-cell lymphomas. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the members of the combination are known for treating T-cell lymphomas generally individually or in pairs, and certain types of T-cell lymphomas particularly.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAYLA D BERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693