DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/18/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-30 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Hassan et al. (US 20190319583 A1) in view of Gurumani et al. (US 12328132 B2).
Regarding claim 1, El-Hassan et al. teaches a first wireless device, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to (Paragraph 26, 28, These passages disclose a wireless electronic device with processors and memory storing executable code that the processors execute to perform device functions): transmit, to the second wireless device, a data signal based at least in part on the one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier (Paragraph 39, 40, 43, These passages teach transmitting a data signal via the power amplifier where the transmitted signal is directly based on configured power amplifier parameters).
El-Hassan et al. does not explicitly teach receive, from a second wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device; transmit, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report to the second wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier of the first wireless device.
However, Gurumani et al. teaches receive, from a second wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device (Paragraph 19, 21, 29, 30, These passages disclose that an external calibration system communicatively connected via wired interface sends commands and waveform-defining communications to the transmitter system that initiate PA-related waveform generation and characterization procedures); transmit, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report to the second wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier of the first wireless device (Paragraph 27, 34, 35, These passages disclose generating modeled PA statistical characteristics (AM-AM and AM-PM curves) and corresponding DPD coefficients across multiple operating conditions and transmitting that coefficient-related data between systems).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, from a second wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device; transmit, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report to the second wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier of the first wireless device as taught by Gurumani et al. in the system of El-Hassan et al., so that it would enable remote characterization, calibration, and adaptive optimization of the power amplifier performance based on exchanged coefficient-related statistical information while improving transmission accuracy and efficiency of the wireless device.
Regarding claim 2, El-Hassan et al. teaches receive, from the second wireless device, a capability report indicating that the second wireless device is capable of performing an enhanced non-linearity correction, the statistical attribute report is transmitted based at least in part on the capability report (Paragraph 39, 42, 43, 46, 62, teaches receiving signal data indicating distortion-correction capability and transmitting control information based on that data, thus showing receipt of a capability report and transmission of a statistical report based on it).
Regarding claim 3, El-Hassan et al. teaches transmit the statistical attribute report in accordance with a quantity of antennas at the first wireless device, wherein the one or more statistical attributes comprise a quantity of statistical attributes that is based at least in part on the quantity of antennas (Paragraph 31, 39, 43, 47, 62, 66, The transmitter sends signals via antennas with parameters (from LUTs) determined by signal characteristics, effectively adjusting transmission content and attributes based on antenna-related configurations).
Regarding claim 4, El-Hassan et al. teaches transmit, in the statistical attribute report, one or more second statistical attributes associated with one or more second power amplifier coefficients for a second power amplifier of the first wireless device (Paragraph 53, 59-62, describes that the transmitter transmits signals (reporting equivalent information) while using stored lookup tables containing optimal power amplifier coefficients (ICQ, bias level, RGI) corresponding to the second power amplifier’s settings).
Regarding claim 5, El-Hassan et al. teaches the power amplifier corresponds to a first transmit chain and the second power amplifier corresponds to a second transmit chain (Paragraph 38-43, 51-56, The passage teaches that the transmitter includes power amplifier 56 within transceiver 28, where different operational modes (normal and low power) each function as distinct transmission paths with their own control configurations).
Regarding claim 6, El-Hassan et al. teaches the power amplifier corresponds to a portion of a plurality of antennas of the first wireless device (Paragraph 31, 32, 38, 39, These passages collectively describe a transmitter that includes a power amplifier (56) connected to one or more antennas of a wireless device (10) that operates across multiple wireless technologies).
Regarding claim 7, El-Hassan et al. teaches the one or more statistical attributes comprise a mean associated with the one or more power amplifier coefficients and a variance associated with the one or more power amplifier coefficients (Paragraph 59-62, The passage teaches deriving statistical measures (mean and variance) of amplifier coefficients such as bias, ICQ, and RGI through evaluating multiple combinations, determining optimal values, and storing them in a LUT to represent averaged and distributed amplifier characteristics).
Regarding claim 8, El-Hassan et al. teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: establish a connection with the second wireless device, wherein transmitting the statistical attribute report is based at least in part on establishing the connection (Paragraph 26, 30, 31, 38, 53, The processors (12) execute code to control network interface (26) and transceiver (28) that enable wireless connections with other devices (e.g., a base station as the “second wireless device”), and the transmission behavior (e.g., power mode and signal reporting via transmitter 50) is explicitly adjusted based on whether or how the connection is established).
Regarding claim 9, El-Hassan et al. teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: determine the one or more statistical attributes associated with the one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier of the first wireless device (Paragraph 60-62, The processor executes code that evaluates and records operating characteristics (e.g., power consumption, ACLR margins) across combinations of amplifier input parameters, which represents determining statistical attributes (performance metrics) associated with amplifier coefficients and storing them for adaptive control of the power amplifier).
Regarding claim 10, El-Hassan et al. teaches to transmit the statistical attribute report, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: transmit the statistical attribute report via a medium access control- control element (MAC-CE), a radio resource control (RRC) message, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or a combination thereof (Paragraph 26, 31, 39, 42, 53, describe processors executing instructions to control a transceiver that wirelessly transmits data (signals) using LTE and OFDM channels, implying transmission of reports or data units (like a statistical attribute report) over standard control or shared channel structures (PDCCH/PDSCH) within the LTE framework).
Regarding claim 11, El-Hassan et al. teaches a second wireless device, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the second wireless device to (Paragraph 26, 28, These passages teach a wireless device including processors and memory storing executable instructions that are executed to perform device operations): receive, from the first wireless device, a data signal based at least in part on the one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier (Paragraph 31, 39-40, These passages teach receiving signals that are generated and shaped based on power amplifier operation characteristics); and perform, based at least in part on the statistical attribute report and the data signal, an enhanced non-linearity correction procedure on the data signal (Paragraph 40, 42, 43, These passages teach performing distortion correction (non-linearity correction) on signals using knowledge of power amplifier behavior and signal characteristics).
El-Hassan et al. does not explicitly teach transmit, to a first wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device; receive, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report from the first wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier.
However, Gurumani et al. teaches transmit, to a first wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device (Paragraph 19, 21, 29, These passages disclose the second device transmitting control commands over a communication interface to the first device to initiate PA-related signal capture and analysis that produces AM-AM and AM-PM characteristics, which are statistical attributes describing the PA behavior); receive, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report from the first wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier (Paragraph 22, 27, 34, These passages disclose generation and transmission of PA models including AM-AM and AM-PM statistical characteristics and associated DPD coefficients, constituting a statistical attribute report tied to power amplifier coefficients and received in response to initiated calibration operations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit, to a first wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device; receive, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report from the first wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier as taught by Gurumani et al. in the system of El-Hassan et al., so that the second wireless device would obtain power amplifier behavioral statistics and associated coefficients that enable more accurate and adaptive enhanced non-linearity correction processing on subsequently received data signals based on the actual operating characteristics of the first wireless device power amplifier.
Regarding claim 12, El-Hassan et al. teaches transmit, to the first wireless device, a capability report indicating that the second wireless device is capable of performing an enhanced non-linearity correction, the statistical attribute report is received based at least in part on the capability report (Paragraph 39, 42, 43, 46, 62, teaches receiving signal data indicating distortion-correction capability and transmitting control information based on that data, thus showing receipt of a capability report and transmission of a statistical report based on it).
Regarding claim 13, El-Hassan et al. teaches perform the enhanced non-linearity correction procedure according to a periodicity associated with a period (Paragraph 42, The passage teaches that the transmitter periodically performs digital pre-distortion correction (an enhanced non-linearity correction) by adjusting amplifier power and calibration settings using LUTs and control procedures that occur over defined time intervals or events such as mode switching, resulting in repetition according to a periodicity tied to a defined period of operation or recalibration).
Regarding claim 14, El-Hassan et al. teaches perform the enhanced non-linearity correction procedure for a first slot in the period (Paragraph 42-49, These paragraphs collectively teach that the transmitter dynamically applies digital pre-distortion and adaptive voltage control within discrete time intervals (e.g., periods or slots) to correct power amplifier non-linearity).
Regarding claim 15, El-Hassan et al. teaches apply a result of the enhanced non-linearity correction procedure for the first slot in the period to a set of remaining slots in the period (Paragraph 62, The passage teaches storing a result (e.g., optimal correction or calibration data such as bias level, ICQ, and RGI determined during a calibration procedure) in a LUT and reusing that result to configure and apply the same correction settings for subsequent signal periods or operation slots. This reflects applying the result of a prior correction (enhanced non-linearity correction) derived from a first instance to multiple later instances in a repetitive process).
Regarding claim 16, El-Hassan et al. teaches the enhanced non-linearity correction procedure is based at least in part on linear minimum mean square error (LMMSE) (Paragraph 42, 59, 60, 61, The DPD block provides non-linearity correction by pre-distorting signals to counteract amplifier distortion, while subsequent calibration steps construct and optimize a matrix of amplifier input parameters that minimize mean error between desired and actual linear output power).
Regarding claim 17, El-Hassan et al. teaches the enhanced non-linearity correction procedure is a digital post-distortion correction (Paragraph 42, The passage teaches that a digital pre-distortion block modifies (corrects) the signal in the digital domain to compensate for non-linearity in the power amplifier and that this distortion correction occurs before conversion to analog, which corresponds to a digital post-distortion (i.e., post-correction) procedure addressing non-linearity).
Regarding claim 18, El-Hassan et al. teaches receive the statistical attribute report in accordance with a quantity of antennas at the first wireless device, wherein the one or more statistical attributes comprise a quantity of statistical attributes that is based at least in part on the quantity of antennas (Paragraph 31, a wireless device equipped with one or more antennas via a transceiver capable of both receiving and transmitting signals. The transmitter receives input signals whose characteristics (such as amplitude or envelope) are analyzed and used to generate corresponding control signals or reports (through LUTs) stored in memory and used to control power parameters based on operating conditions).
Regarding claim 19, El-Hassan et al. teaches the one or more statistical attributes comprises a mean associated with the one or more power amplifier coefficients and a variance associated with the one or more power amplifier coefficients (Paragraph 59-62, The passage describes constructing a matrix of multiple combinations of power amplifier input settings (bias level, ICQ, RGI), measuring the corresponding operating characteristics, and selecting optimal combinations stored in a LUT; this process inherently involves computing statistical quantities like mean and variance of the amplifier’s performance coefficients (e.g., ICQ or gain behavior) across tested samples to derive stable and representative settings).
Regarding claim 20, El-Hassan et al. teaches establish a connection with the first wireless device, wherein receiving the statistical attribute report is based at least in part on establishing the connection (Paragraph 30-31, The passage describes an electronic device that establishes wireless network connections (e.g., Wi-Fi, LTE, Bluetooth) via a transceiver for bidirectional communication, and specifically notes that transmitter behavior (e.g., mode or data handling) depends on an established connection with a base station).
Regarding claim 21, El-Hassan et al. teaches receive the statistical attribute report via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), a radio resource control (RRC) message, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or a combination thereof (Paragraph 42, 53, The passage discloses that the electronic device communicates over LTE/LTE-A networks via a transceiver supporting OFDM-based channels, where the device wirelessly transmits and receives data signals (e.g., control or reporting data) through standard cellular interfaces such as PDCCH and PDSCH. These are the 3GPP-defined physical downlink channels that carry control and data information (e.g., RRC messages or MAC-CE reports)).
Regarding claim 22, El-Hassan et al. teaches a method for wireless communications at a first wireless device, comprising: transmitting, to the second wireless device, a data signal based at least in part on the one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier (Paragraph 39, 40, 43, These passages teach transmitting a data signal via the power amplifier where the transmitted signal is directly based on configured power amplifier parameters).
El-Hassan et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, from a second wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device; transmitting, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report to the second wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier of the first wireless device.
However, Gurumani et al. teaches receiving, from a second wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device (Paragraph 19, 21, 29, 30, These passages disclose that an external calibration system communicatively connected via wired interface sends commands and waveform-defining communications to the transmitter system that initiate PA-related waveform generation and characterization procedures); transmitting, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report to the second wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier of the first wireless device (Paragraph 27, 34, 35, These passages disclose generating modeled PA statistical characteristics (AM-AM and AM-PM curves) and corresponding DPD coefficients across multiple operating conditions and transmitting that coefficient-related data between systems).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, from a second wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device; transmitting, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report to the second wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier of the first wireless device as taught by Gurumani et al. in the system of El-Hassan et al., so that it would enable remote characterization, calibration, and adaptive optimization of the power amplifier performance based on exchanged coefficient-related statistical information while improving transmission accuracy and efficiency of the wireless device.
Regarding claim 23, El-Hassan et al. teaches a method for wireless communications at a second wireless device, comprising: receiving, from the first wireless device, a data signal based at least in part on the one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier (Paragraph 31, 39-40, These passages teach receiving signals that are generated and shaped based on power amplifier operation characteristics); and performing, based at least in part on the statistical attribute report and the data signal, an enhanced non-linearity correction procedure on the data signal (Paragraph 40, 42, 43, These passages teach performing distortion correction (non-linearity correction) on signals using knowledge of power amplifier behavior and signal characteristics).
El-Hassan et al. does not explicitly teach transmitting, to a first wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device; receiving, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report from the first wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier.
However, Gurumani et al. teaches transmitting, to a first wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device (Paragraph 19, 21, 29, These passages disclose the second device transmitting control commands over a communication interface to the first device to initiate PA-related signal capture and analysis that produces AM-AM and AM-PM characteristics, which are statistical attributes describing the PA behavior); receiving, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report from the first wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier (Paragraph 22, 27, 34, These passages disclose generation and transmission of PA models including AM-AM and AM-PM statistical characteristics and associated DPD coefficients, constituting a statistical attribute report tied to power amplifier coefficients and received in response to initiated calibration operations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, to a first wireless device, a request for a statistical attribute report associated with a power amplifier of the first wireless device; receiving, in response to the request, the statistical attribute report from the first wireless device, wherein the statistical attribute report comprises one or more statistical attributes associated with one or more power amplifier coefficients for the power amplifier as taught by Gurumani et al. in the system of El-Hassan et al., so that the second wireless device would obtain power amplifier behavioral statistics and associated coefficients that enable more accurate and adaptive enhanced non-linearity correction processing on subsequently received data signals based on the actual operating characteristics of the first wireless device power amplifier.
Regarding claim 24, El-Hassan et al. teaches transmitting, to the first wireless device, a capability report indicating that the second wireless device is capable of performing an enhanced non-linearity correction, the statistical attribute report is received based at least in part on the capability report (Paragraph 39, 42, 43, 46, 62, teaches receiving signal data indicating distortion-correction capability and transmitting control information based on that data, thus showing receipt of a capability report and transmission of a statistical report based on it).
Regarding claim 25, El-Hassan et al. teaches performing the enhanced non- linearity correction procedure comprises: performing the enhanced non-linearity correction procedure according to a periodicity associated with a period (Paragraph 48-50, These passages collectively describe a transmitter that performs an adaptive correction process (adjusting power to maintain linearity of amplification) at regular intervals).
Regarding claim 26, El-Hassan et al. teaches performing the enhanced non- linearity correction procedure comprises: performing the enhanced non-linearity correction procedure for a first slot in the period (Paragraph 42-50, The passage describes repeatedly applying digital pre-distortion (DPD) and power-supply modulation procedures to correct non-linearities of the power amplifier during transmission).
Regarding claim 27, El-Hassan et al. teaches performing the enhanced non- linearity correction procedure for the first slot in the period comprises: applying a result of the enhanced non-linearity correction procedure for the first slot in the period to a set of remaining slots in the period (Paragraph 62, The passage describes generating and storing calibration results (LUT values) from an initial low-power calibration (analogous to performing enhanced non-linearity correction for a first slot) and then reusing those stored correction results to configure subsequent amplifier operations).
Regarding claim 28, El-Hassan et al. teaches the enhanced non-linearity correction procedure is based at least in part on linear minimum mean square error (LMMSE) (Paragraph 42, 59-62, The DPD block 64 corrects nonlinear distortion by applying an inverse modeled distortion to the input signal, and the calibration process constructs and optimizes a matrix of power amplifier parameters that minimize output error (e.g., ACLR margin) using statistical evaluation of amplifier response, which corresponds to an enhanced non-linearity correction procedure based at least in part on an LMMSE-like optimization minimizing mean square error between desired and actual output).
Regarding claim 29, El-Hassan et al. teaches the enhanced non-linearity correction procedure is a digital post-distortion correction (Paragraph 42, This passage teaches a digital correction applied after digital gain control that offsets amplifier non-linearity).
Regarding claim 30, El-Hassan et al. teaches receiving the statistical attribute report in accordance with a quantity of antennas at the first wireless device, wherein the one or more statistical attributes comprise a quantity of statistical attributes that is based at least in part on the quantity of antennas (Paragraph 31, The passage teaches that the transceiver receives wireless data signals through one or more antennas and processes them via input analysis blocks that use LUTs to modulate parameters (e.g., current, voltage) based on the characteristics of received signals).
Allowable Subject Matter
The applicant could consider adding concepts reflecting that the first wireless device determines or calculates the statistical attributes (e.g., mean and variance) of the power amplifier coefficients prior to transmission, and that transmission of the statistical attribute report is conditioned on receiving a capability report from the second wireless device indicating support for an enhanced non-linearity correction procedure. The claim could further incorporate that the statistical attributes are tailored based on a quantity of antennas or transmit chains, including reporting separate statistical attributes for multiple power amplifiers corresponding to different transmit chains or antenna portions. Additional concepts could include that the statistical attribute report is transmitted via specific signaling mechanisms such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE), radio resource control (RRC) message, PDCCH, or PDSCH, and that transmission of the report is performed in connection with establishing or maintaining a communication link. To better reflect the disclosed improvement, the claim could also reference that the reported statistical attributes are intended to enable the second wireless device to perform an enhanced non-linearity correction procedure, such as a linear minimum mean square error (LMMSE)-based digital post-distortion correction performed according to a defined periodicity, where correction results from one slot may be applied to remaining slots within a period, thereby reducing computational complexity and improving performance at low SNR or SINR conditions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Luo et al. (US 20250350509 A1)
Lenhart et al. (US 20230006629 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464