DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da et al. (US 20220322174 A1, hereinafter Da) in view of Wu et al. (US 20250220517 A1, hereinafter Wu).
Claim 1: Da teaches a wireless device (Fig. 4, Fig. 5, element WD 22) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 5, element 82) configured to: receive, as electromagnetic waves, signals emitted wirelessly from a plurality of cells ([0180], “include a radio interface 82
configured to set up and maintain a wireless connection 64 with a network node 16
serving a coverage area 18 in which the WD 22 is currently located. The radio interface 82
may be formed as or may include, for example, one or more RF transmitters, one or more RF receivers, and/or one or more RF transceivers”, [0042], “many cells or beams that the WD reported as possible candidate cells based on its preceding radio resource management (RRM) measurements”, abstract, “a wireless device (WD) is configured to receive a request to perform a mobility procedure for a wireless device from a source cell supported by a source network node to a target cell supported by the network node”);
sensing circuitry (Fig. 5, element 84) configured to: measure, for one of the signals from a source cell, a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) and a received signal reference power (RSRP) (Fig. 2, Fig. 13, [0155], “the term “radio measurement” used herein may refer to any measurement performed on radio signals. … Radio measurement may be called as signal level which may be signal quality and/or signal strength … power-based measurements (e.g., received signal power, Reference Signals Received Power (RSRP), received signal quality, Reference Signals Received Quality (RSRQ), Signal-to-interference-plus-noise Ratio (SINR), Signal Noise Ratio (SNR)”, [0183], “the processing circuitry 84 of the wireless device 22 may include a handover unit 34 configured to perform WD methods discussed herein”, [0042], “In practice there may often be many cells or beams that the WD reported as possible candidate cells based on its preceding radio resource management (RRM) measurements”);
and an electronic processor (Fig. 5, element 86) configured to: control, when the transceiver receives a reconfiguration message from the source cell during a time span, a legacy handover that shifts communication with the transceiver from the source cell to the target cell (Fig. 3, element 5, 6, [0111-1112], disclose WD receives the RRC reconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync from the source network node, WD accesses the target cell and sends an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target network node. Fig. 12, element S150, S152, [0395], “The source network node 16a may transmit the RRC reconfiguration to the WD 22 in step S150. The RRC reconfiguration may include an indication to perform the mobility procedure … the reconfiguration with synch may be considered a HO command and the CHO configuration may be comprised in the conditional reconfiguration … The WD 22 may then transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target network node 16b in step S152”. [0066], “At legacy handover failure (T304 expiry) or failure to access a CHO candidate cell (T304-like expiry), the WD performs cell selection and if the selected cell is a CHO candidate then the WD attempts CHO execution, otherwise re-establishment is performed”),
and control, when the electronic processor determines the existence of a conditional handover state, a conditional handover that shifts communication with the transceiver from the source cell to the target cell, wherein: the source cell is one of the cells and the target cell is another of the cells, and the conditional handover state comprises an absence of the legacy handover (Fig. 13, [0066], “At legacy handover failure (T304 expiry) or failure to access a CHO candidate cell (T304-like expiry), the WD performs cell selection and if the selected cell is a CHO candidate then the WD attempts CHO execution”, wherein Legacy handover failure performing the similar function as “absence of the legacy”. [0405], “It is a working assumption in RAN2 that in case of re-establishment and the WD 22 chooses a cell which has CHO configured, the WD 22 is allowed to perform a handover to that cell instead of a re-establishment … as an explicit indication where it is indicated that the WD 22 is allowed to use the CHO target cells from the source network node 16a, or the CHO target cells from the target network node 16b or both”. [0515-0520], disclose wireless device(WD) responsive to a HO failure while attempting to access the target network node, select a candidate cell indicated in the CHO configuration and perform a handover of the WD to the selected candidate cell indicated in the CHO configuration), RSRP and SINR ([0053-0054], a baseline CHO can be triggered based on a condition of single trigger quantity, and the single trigger quantity can be configured to be RSRP, RSRQ or RS-SINR).
However, Da does not explicitly teach the RSRP being below an RSRP threshold and the SINR below an SINR threshold.
Wu, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the RSRP being below an RSRP threshold and the SINR below an SINR threshold (Fig. 5, Fig. 6, element 630, [0087-0088], disclose the method of UE 605 determining the triggering condition for additional handover procedures via comparing measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, RSSI, SNR, SINR, or a similar measurement) with thresholds.).
Da and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Da and the features of triggering CHO when RSRP and SINR measurement below threshold as taught by Wu, for the benefit of preventing ping-pong handover (paragraph [0075-0076]).
Claim 9 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 15 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Da further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium (Fig. 5, element 88 ) comprising computer readable program code that is executable by an electronic processor, the computer readable program code when executed by the electronic processor ([0183], “The WD 22 includes memory 88 that is configured to store data, programmatic software code and/or other information described herein. In some embodiments, the software 90 and/or the client application 92 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 86 and/or processing circuitry 84, causes the processor 86 and/or processing circuitry 84 to perform the processes described herein with respect to WD 22”).
Claim 4: Da teaches the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the reconfiguration message comprises configuration information for a particular one of the cells that the source cell may select to become the target cell (Fig. 13, [0073], “an explicit indication indicates to the wireless device to select the candidate cell from among at least one of a first plurality of candidate cells associated with the network node supporting the source cell and a second plurality of candidate cells associated with the target network node as the result of the failure in the attempt to access the target cell”, [0071], “one RRC reconfiguration message including a conditional reconfiguration and an indication that the wireless device is to perform a mobility procedure. The indication to perform the mobility procedure indicates to perform the mobility procedure from a source cell supported by the network node to a target cell supported by a target network node. The conditional reconfiguration is associated with a target candidate cell corresponding to the target
network node”, [0405], “as an explicit indication where it is indicated that the WD 22 is allowed to use the CHO target cells from the source network node 16a, or the CHO target cells from the target network node 16b or both”).
Claim 10 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 9 and claim 4.
Claim 5: Da teaches the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the reconfiguration message comprises configuration information for a particular one of the cells that the source cell selects to become the target cell (Fig. 13, [0073], “an explicit indication indicates to the wireless device to select the candidate cell from among at least one of a first plurality of candidate cells associated with the network node supporting the source cell and a second plurality of candidate cells associated with the target network node as the result of the failure in the attempt to access the target cell”, [0071], “one RRC reconfiguration message including a conditional reconfiguration and an indication that the wireless device is to perform a mobility procedure. The indication to perform the mobility procedure indicates to perform the mobility procedure from a source cell supported by the network node to a target cell supported by a target network node. The conditional reconfiguration is associated with a target candidate cell corresponding to the target
network node”, [0405], “as an explicit indication where it is indicated that the WD 22 is allowed to use the CHO target cells from the source network node 16a, or the CHO target cells from the target network node 16b or both”).
Claim 11 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 9 and claim 5.
Claim 16 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 15 and claim 5.
Claim 6: Da teaches the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the electronic processor is configured to: store, into memory when the sensing circuitry measures the signals from the cells, signal values for the signals received wirelessly by the transceiver (Fig. 5, element 88, [0183], “The WD 22 includes memory 88 that is configured to store data, programmatic software code and/or other information described herein”. Fig. 8, Fig. 11).
Claim 12 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 9 and claim 6.
Claim 17 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 15 and claim 6.
Claim 7: Da does not explicitly teach the wireless device of claim 1 further comprising: a bus configured to electronically connect the electronic processor to the sensing circuitry and the transceiver.
Wu, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the wireless device of claim 1 further comprising: a bus configured to electronically connect the electronic processor to the sensing circuitry and the transceiver (Fig. 2, Fig. 8, [0112], “ the apparatus 800 includes a reception component 802 and a transmission component 804, which may be in communication with one another (for example, via one or more buses and/or one or more other components)”, [0113-0116], disclose individual component of Fig. 8 in details).
Da and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that hardware components inside wireless device are connected together via buses or other components.
Claim 13 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 9 and claim 7.
Claim 19 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 15 and claim 7.
Claim 8: Da does not explicitly teach the wireless device of claim 1, further comprising: a housing configured to encase the transceiver, the sensing circuitry, and the electronic processor.
Wu, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: a housing configured to encase the transceiver, the sensing circuitry, and the electronic processor (Fig. 2, element 284, [0041], “one or more components of the UE 120 may be included in a housing 284”, [0031], “A UE 120 may be included inside a housing that houses components of the UE 120, such as processor components and/or memory components”).
Da and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Da to encase the transceiver, the sensing circuitry, and the electronic processor, as taught by Wu, for the benefit of mitigating the interference and radiation.
Claim 14 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 9 and claim 8.
Claim 20 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 15 and claim 8.
Claim 18: Da teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein the memory comprises the computer readable medium ([0527], “Any suitable tangible computer readable medium may be utilized including hard disks, CD-ROMs, electronic storage devices, optical storage devices, or magnetic storage devices”, [0181], “The processor 86 may be configured to access (e.g., write to and/or read from) memory 88, which may comprise any kind of volatile and/or nonvolatile memory, e.g., cache and/or buffer memory and/or RAM (Random Access Memory) and/or ROM (Read-Only Memory) and/or optical memory and/or EPROM (Erasable Programmable Read-Only Memory)”).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da et al. (US 20220322174 A1, hereinafter Da) in view of Wu et al. (US 20250220517 A1, hereinafter Wu), and further in view of Ryden et al. (US 20220217556 A1, hereinafter Ryden) .
Claim 2: The combination of Da and Kim does not explicitly teach the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the RSRP threshold is -113 dBm.
Ryden, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the RSRP threshold is -113 dBm ([0200-0201], TABLE 2, disclose UE perform the RRM measurement with RSRP as -112.2dBm).
Da and Ryden are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Da to set RSRP threshold at -113 dBm, as taught by Ryden. Ryden disclose handover decision based on RSRP measurement, and -112.2dBm is a challenge reception level (or minimal sensitivity point) for maintaining minimal reception/transmission performance, setting RSRP threshold at -113 dBm for trigging CHO is well known in the field.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da et al. (US 20220322174 A1, hereinafter Da) in view of Wu et al. (US 20250220517 A1, hereinafter Wu), and further in view of Axmon et al. (US 20160345222 A1, hereinafter Axmon) .
Claim 3: The combination of Da and Kim does not explicitly teach the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the SINR threshold is -4 dB.
Axmon, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the SINR threshold is -4 dB ([0080], “UE demodulation performance degrades significantly when the SINR decreases, and already at SINR −4 dB it becomes challenging for a legacy UE to receive a handover command from a source cell”).
Da and Axmon are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Da to set SINR threshold at -4 dB, as taught by Axmon. Since -4dB is a challenge condition for legacy UE, setting SINR threshold at -4dB, which allowing UE to receive and decode handover command successfully.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. The closest prior art reference is Kim et al. (US 20220217594 A1, hereinafter Kim), which describes a method and apparatus for RRM during a mobility procedure in a wireless communication system.
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472