Did DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The claim as written says the fixture member is passing through the hole and into bone tissue. The plain meaning of that phrase at least suggests that the bone tissue is required by the claim. It is suggested to add that “the fixture member is configured to pass through the bore and into bone tissue” to overcome the 101 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dacosta et al. U.S. Publication 2014/0257509 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Dacosta et al. discloses for mid-foot arthrodesis (paragraphs [0049], [0058]), comprising a dowel 80 having a longitudinal taper from a proximal surface to a distal surface thereof (as seen in Figure 7E, paragraphs [0007], [0009], [0055-0056]), wherein the dowel has a non-circular transverse cross-sectional profile (as seen in Figure 7E and paragraph [0055]).
Regarding Claim 2, Dacosta et al. discloses wherein the dowel is comprised of an osteophilic material (paragraphs [0056] and [0061], wherein applicant discloses PEEK, titanium as suitable osteophilic and porous material, see paragraph [00155] in applicant’s specification).
Regarding Claim 3, Dacosta et al. discloses wherein the dowel is comprised of a porous material (paragraphs [0056] and [0061], wherein applicant discloses PEEK, titanium as suitable osteophilic and porous material, see paragraph [00155] in applicant’s specification).
Regarding Claim 12, Dacosta et al. discloses wherein the osteophilic material further is a biocompatible material selected from the group of titanium or polyether ether ketone (paragraphs [0056] and [0061]).
Claim(s) 1, 6-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vistosky et al. U.S. Publication 2002/0038123 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Vistosky et al. discloses for mid-foot arthrodesis (abstract and paragraph [0007] as seen in Figure 1, 2A, 4A), comprising a dowel 10 having a longitudinal taper from a proximal surface to a distal surface thereof (as seen in Figures 1-4E, paragraphs [0007], [0009]), wherein the dowel has a non-circular transverse cross-sectional profile (as seen in Figures 1, 2A, 4A).
Regarding Claim 6, Vistosky et al. discloses wherein the dowel further comprises an opening 32 passing through the proximal surface 30 thereof, the opening 32 configured to removably receive an insertion instrument (as seen in Figure 1, paragraphs [0024], [0026], [0029]).
Regarding Claim 7, Vistosky et al. discloses wherein the dowel further comprises a recess 31 in the proximal surface that extends diametrically across the proximal surface 30 of the dowel 10 (paragraphs [0026] and [0028]).
Regarding Claim 11, Vistosky et al. discloses wherein the non-circular transverse cross-sectional profile of dowel is elliptical along an entire or partial longitudinal axis of the dowel (see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vistosky et al. U.S. Publication 2002/0038123 A1 in view of Gotfried U.S. Publication 2017/0189188 A1.
Regarding Claim 2, 3, 12, Vistosky et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the dowel is comprised of an osteophilic material, wherein the osteophilic material further is a biocompatible material selected from the group of titanium or polyether ether ketone. Gotfried teaches a device for a bone replacement in the same field of endeavor, the device having a longitudinal taper from the proximal surface to the distal surface (as seen in Figures 1-3B), the device is formed from an osteophilic material such as titanium or PEEK (paragraph [0099], wherein applicant discloses PEEK, titanium as suitable osteophilic and porous material, see paragraph [00155] in applicant’s specification). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vistosky’s device to further include titanium or PEEK as taught by Gotfried for the purpose of bone implant that exhibits strength and is biocompatible for implantation.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vistosky et al. U.S. Publication 2002/0038123 A1 in view of Boyce et al. U.S. Publication 2001/0020186 A1
Regarding Claim 4, 5, Vistosky et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the dowel further comprises a transverse bore passing through lateral wall surfaces of the dowel and further comprising a fixation member passing into and through the transverse bore and into bone tissue adjacent the dowel. Boyce et al. teaches a device for a bone replacement in the same field of endeavor, the device having a proximal surface and a distal surface (as seen in Figures 49-52), the device 270 comprising an opening 286 passing through the proximal surface and a transverse bore 274 passing through the lateral wall surface (see Figures 49 and 50 and paragraph [0110]) for the purpose of having an opening for receipt of an insertion tool (paragraph [0016], [0091] and [0097]) and a bore for receiving a plug or fixation member 276 that extends outward from the dowel to engage the tissue around the bone (paragraph [0110]) and facilitate bone growth (paragraph [0016] and [0110]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vistosky’s device to further include a device having an opening through the proximal surface and a transverse bore passing through the lateral surface of the device for receiving a fixation member as taught by Boyce et al. for the purpose of having multiple connection interfaces to engage an insertion tool and facilitate bone ingrowth and fixate the device around the tissue around the bone.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vistosky et al. U.S. Publication 2002/0038123 A1 in view of Hartdegen et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0353172 A1.
Regarding Claims 8, 9, 10, Vistosky et al. does not expressly disclose a compression plate engageable within the recess and configured to be affixed to a surface of bone tissue adjacent the dowel, wherein the compression plate further comprises a staple and wherein the compression plate further comprises tissue anchor openings at opposing ends of the compression plate configured to receive a tissue anchor in each of the tissue anchor openings. Hartdegen et al. teaches a device for a bone replacement, the device 1900 comprises dowel/spacer 1950 and a compression plate 4000 engageable within a recess on the spacer (as seen in Figures 9A-9B, 12 and further seen in Figures 51-54), the compression plate comprises a staple 200 and tissue anchors 2280 at opposing ends of the compression plate for the purpose of having one or more fasteners to relieve stress from the main body of the compression plate and allow the implant to be secured to the bone (paragraphs [0212-0214]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vistosky’s device to further include a compression plate engageable with the recess of the dowel and having a staple and tissue anchors at opposite sides of the compression plate for the purpose of having one or more fasteners to relieve stress from the main body of the compression plate and allow the implant to be secured to the bone.
Conclusion
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774