DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 07/08/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 and 5 have been amended and new claims 13-20 have been added. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 to include “a frustonconical dowel having a longitudinal taper from a proximal dorsal surface to a distal plantar surface” has overcome the 102 rejections over Dacosta et al. Therefore, the 102 rejection has been withdrawn.
The amendment to claim 5 to include “the fixation member is configured to pass into and through the transverse bore and into bone tissue,” has overcome the previous 101 rejection. Therefore, the previous 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages 6-7, the prior art Visotsky does not teach or suggest that the dowel is capable of functioning as an arthrodesis dowel. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Visotsky discloses a tapered dowel for any skeletal site where an opening osteotomy is required to provide improved bone alignment and allows for bony fusion/arthrodesis (abstract, paragraphs [0007-0008] and [0012]), the device can be made larger or smaller depending on the size of the bone osteotomies (paragraph [0008]). In addition, the device of Visotsky is a frustoconical dowel as claimed having a longitudinal taper (abstract and paragraph [0007]) and the dowel having a non-circular (the implant has an elliptical cross-section, see claim 1 of Visotsky). Therefore, Visotsky discloses the claimed invention, the device is fully capable of being used in mid-foot arthrodesis.
Applicant argues on page 8, Visotsky does include the word “elliptical”, but this is inconsistent with the remainder of claim 1 which requires a front end with a first diameter and a second end with a second diameter; thus, the reference is to a circular cross-section not with an elliptical cross-section. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner does agree that ellipse has a major and minor axis, in this dowel having an elliptical cross section would have a larger end, or major axis having a larger outer diameter and a smaller end defining the minor axis or the smaller outer diameter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 11, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Visotsky et al. U.S. Publication 2002/0038123 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Visotsky et al. discloses for mid-foot arthrodesis (abstract and paragraph [0007] as seen in Figure 1, 2A, 4A), comprising a frustoconical dowel 10 having a longitudinal taper from a proximal dorsal surface to a distal plantar surface thereof (as seen in Figures 1-4E, paragraphs [0007], [0009]), wherein the dowel has a non-circular transverse cross-sectional profile (as seen in Figures 1, 2A, 4A, see Claim 1 of Visotsky).
Regarding Claim 6, Visotsky et al. discloses wherein the dowel further comprises an opening 32 passing through the proximal surface 30 thereof, the opening 32 configured to removably receive an insertion instrument (as seen in Figure 1, paragraphs [0024], [0026], [0029]).
Regarding Claim 7, Visotsky et al. discloses wherein the dowel further comprises a recess 31 in the proximal surface that extends diametrically across the proximal surface 30 of the dowel 10 (paragraphs [0026] and [0028]).
Regarding Claim 11, Visotsky et al. discloses wherein the non-circular transverse cross-sectional profile of dowel is elliptical along an entire or partial longitudinal axis of the dowel (see claim 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Visotsky et al. discloses a mid-foot arthrodesis implant (abstract and paragraph [0007] as seen in Figure 1, 2A, 4A), comprising a frustoconical dowel 10 having a longitudinal taper from a dorsal surface to a plantar surface thereof (as seen in Figures 1-4E, paragraphs [0007], [0009]), wherein the dowel has a transverse cross-sectional profile, selected from the group consisting of elliptical (as seen in Figures 1, 2A, 4A, see Claim 1 of Visotsky).
Regarding Claim 17, Visotsky et al. discloses wherein the dowel further comprises a recess 31 in the dorsal surface that extends diametrically across the dorsal surface of the dowel 10 (paragraphs [0026] and [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 12, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visotsky et al. U.S. Publication 2002/0038123 A1 in view of Gotfried U.S. Publication 2017/0189188 A1.
Regarding Claim 2, 3, 12, 14, 20, Visotsky et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the dowel is comprised of a porous osteophilic material, wherein the osteophilic material further is a biocompatible material selected from the group of titanium or polyether ether ketone. Gotfried teaches a device for a bone replacement in the same field of endeavor, the device having a longitudinal taper from the proximal surface to the distal surface (as seen in Figures 1-3B), the device is formed from an osteophilic material such as titanium or PEEK (paragraph [0099], wherein applicant discloses PEEK, titanium as suitable osteophilic and porous material, see paragraph [00155] in applicant’s specification). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Visotsky’s device to further include titanium or PEEK as taught by Gotfried for the purpose of bone implant that exhibits strength and is biocompatible for implantation.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visotsky et al. U.S. Publication 2002/0038123 A1 in view of Boyce et al. U.S. Publication 2001/0020186 A1
Regarding Claim 4, 5, Visotsky et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the dowel further comprises a transverse bore passing through lateral wall surfaces of the dowel and further comprising a fixation member configured to pass into and through the transverse bore and into bone tissue adjacent the dowel. Boyce et al. teaches a device for a bone replacement in the same field of endeavor, the device having a proximal surface and a distal surface (as seen in Figures 49-52), the device 270 comprising an opening 286 passing through the proximal surface and a transverse bore 274 passing through the lateral wall surface (see Figures 49 and 50 and paragraph [0110]) for the purpose of having an opening for receipt of an insertion tool (paragraph [0016], [0091] and [0097]) and a bore for receiving a plug or fixation member 276 that extends outward from the dowel to engage the tissue around the bone (paragraph [0110]) and facilitate bone growth (paragraph [0016] and [0110]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vistosky’s device to further include a device having an opening through the proximal surface and a transverse bore passing through the lateral surface of the device for receiving a fixation member as taught by Boyce et al. for the purpose of having multiple connection interfaces to engage an insertion tool and facilitate bone ingrowth and fixate the device around the tissue around the bone.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vistosky et al. U.S. Publication 2002/0038123 A1 in view of Gotfried U.S. Publication 2017/0189188 A1 and further in view of Boyce et al. U.S. Publication 2001/0020186.
Regarding Claim 15, 16, Vistosky et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the dowel further comprises a transverse bore passing through lateral wall surfaces of the dowel and further comprising a fixation member configured to pass into and through the transverse bore and into bone tissue adjacent the dowel. Boyce et al. teaches a device for a bone replacement in the same field of endeavor, the device having a proximal surface and a distal surface (as seen in Figures 49-52), the device 270 comprising an opening 286 passing through the proximal surface and a transverse bore 274 passing through the lateral wall surface (see Figures 49 and 50 and paragraph [0110]) for the purpose of having an opening for receipt of an insertion tool (paragraph [0016], [0091] and [0097]) and a bore for receiving a plug or fixation member 276 that extends outward from the dowel to engage the tissue around the bone (paragraph [0110]) and facilitate bone growth (paragraph [0016] and [0110]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vistosky’s device to further include a device having an opening through the proximal surface and a transverse bore passing through the lateral surface of the device for receiving a fixation member as taught by Boyce et al. for the purpose of having multiple connection interfaces to engage an insertion tool and facilitate bone ingrowth and fixate the device around the tissue around the bone.
Claim(s) 8-10 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vistosky et al. U.S. Publication 2002/0038123 A1 in view of Hartdegen et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0353172 A1.
Regarding Claims 8, 9, 10, 18, 19, Vistosky et al. does not expressly disclose a compression plate engageable within the recess and configured to be affixed to a surface of bone tissue adjacent the dowel, wherein the compression plate further comprises a staple and wherein the compression plate further comprises tissue anchor openings at opposing ends of the compression plate configured to receive a tissue anchor in each of the tissue anchor openings. Hartdegen et al. teaches a device for a bone replacement, the device 1900 comprises dowel/spacer 1950 and a compression plate 4000 engageable within a recess on the spacer (as seen in Figures 9A-9B, 12 and further seen in Figures 51-54), the compression plate comprises a staple 200 and tissue anchors 2280 at opposing ends of the compression plate for the purpose of having one or more fasteners to relieve stress from the main body of the compression plate and allow the implant to be secured to the bone (paragraphs [0212-0214]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vistosky’s device to further include a compression plate engageable with the recess of the dowel and having a staple and tissue anchors at opposite sides of the compression plate for the purpose of having one or more fasteners to relieve stress from the main body of the compression plate and allow the implant to be secured to the bone.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774