DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 17 is indefinite in that it is unclear how the lever is a “type 1 lever”. Clarification and correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walton et al (‘239). The reference to Walton et al teaches structure as claimed including an adjuster configured to secure and release a belt, wherein the belt adjuster includes a frame (12), a belt bar (52) moveable relative to the frame to secure and release the belt, and a lever (68) coupled to the belt bar (see column 3, lines 4 - column 4, line 2 and figures 3, 4), wherein the lever is configured to actuate the belt bar via a pivoting motion (see column 4, lines 37-45 and figure 5: a slack may be introduced into a restraint system by means of exerting pressure upon the pivoting release lever (68) causing it to rotate in a counterclockwise direction), the belt is looped around the belt bar; wherein the frame defines a window; wherein the belt extends through the window in the frame; wherein the belt is secured when the belt is compressed between the belt bar and the frame; and wherein the belt is released when the belt bar and the frame are spaced apart to form a gap where the belt is able to slide, (see column 3, lines 16-21, column 4, lines 14-16 and figures 3, 5: an adjustable belt (88) extends around the load bar (52) and through a belt slot (70), and a base member (18) of the frame (12) has a punched out opening (26)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 18-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walton et al (‘239). The reference to Walton et al teaches structure substantially as claimed as discussed above including a lever, the only difference being the lever does not actuate a bar to release a belt and does not include a cover. However, the provision of such to provide a mechanical advantage/assist and the use of cover structures to provide protection would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art and a reasonably predictable result.
Claim(s) 3-16, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walton et al(‘239) in view of Ashline et al (‘341). The reference to Walton et al teaches structure substantially as claimed as discussed above including a lever the only difference being that the lever does not include a trigger where the lever is actuated to engage the bar. However, the reference to Ashline et al (see column 3, lines 35-44 and figure 3: the pivot release lever (68) extends from a proximal end (56) of the load bar (52) via two side flanges (66), and pins (54) extend from the proximal end (56)); and D2 (see column 2, lines 47-57 and figures 1, 2: a clamp initiating mechanism (60) includes a body (62) having a manually operable lever (64) and a cam surface (63) which when rotated clockwise engages a forward bar (42) urging a yoke (40) rearward, cinching or capturing a webbing (90) between a rear bar (48) and a clamping surface (30)) teaches the use of providing such to provide an actuator to be old. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Walton et al with a reasonable expectation of success, to include a trigger, as taught by Ashline et al since such are conventional alternative structures used in the same intended purpose and environment and would have been a reasonably predictable result, thereby providing structure as claimed. Further, the provision of widows to provide for accessibility would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art and a reasonably predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited teach structure similar to applicant’s including belt adjuster structures.
/JOSE V CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637