DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/459,082 filed on 08/31/2023 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (US 2019/0373544 A1).
1. Regarding claims 1 and 20, Hu teaches a communication method and terminal device (Figure 10 Paragraph [0427]), comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal device, a priority relationship between a priority of at least one neighboring cell frequency and a priority of a serving cell frequency;
wherein the priority relationship comprises the priority of a first neighboring cell frequency being higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency, the at least one neighboring cell frequency comprising the first neighboring cell frequency (Figure 10, Paragraphs [0278] and [0441] frequency priority of first cell/serving cell and frequency priority of second cell/neighboring cell; select serving cell).
2. Regarding claim 14, Hu teaches a communication method, comprising:
sending first configuration information to a terminal device; wherein the first configuration information is configured to indicate a priority relationship between a priority of at least one neighboring cell frequency and a priority of a serving cell frequency (Figure 10);
wherein the priority relationship comprises the priority of a first neighboring cell frequency being higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency, the at least one neighboring cell frequency comprising the first neighboring cell frequency (Figure 10, Paragraphs [0278] and [0441] frequency priority of first cell/serving cell and frequency priority of second cell/neighboring cell; select serving cell).
3. Regarding claim 2, Hu teaches, wherein the obtaining, by a terminal device, a priority relationship between a priority of at least one neighboring cell frequency and a priority of a serving cell frequency comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, first configuration information from a network device; wherein the first configuration information is configured to indicate the priority relationship between the priority of the at least one neighboring cell frequency and the priority of the serving cell frequency (Figure 10, Paragraphs [0278] and [0441] frequency priority of first cell/serving cell and frequency priority of second cell/neighboring cell; select serving cell based on threshold or limit from broadcast message).
4. Regarding claims 3 and 15, Hu teaches, wherein,
the first configuration information indicates the priority relationship at a frequency granularity; the first configuration information comprises first indication information configured to indicate that the priority of the first neighboring cell frequency is higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency; the first neighboring cell frequency corresponds to one or more neighboring cells (Figure 10, Paragraphs [0278] and [0441] frequency priority of first cell/serving cell and frequency priority of second cell/neighboring cell; select serving cell based on threshold or limit from broadcast message); or
the first configuration information indicates the priority relationship at a physical cell identity (PCI) granularity; the first configuration information comprises first indication information configured to indicate that the priority of a frequency corresponding to a first PCI is higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency; the first neighboring cell frequency is the frequency corresponding to the first PCI.
5. Regarding claims 4 and 16, Hu teaches, wherein,
in response to the first indication information in the first configuration information being set, the priority of the first neighboring cell frequency corresponding to the first indication information is higher than the priority of the serving cell frequency; or,
in response to the first indication information in the first configuration information being set, the priority of the first neighboring cell frequency corresponding to the first indication information is lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency (Figure 10, Paragraphs [0278] and [0441] frequency priority of first cell/serving cell and frequency priority of second cell/neighboring cell; select serving cell).
6. Regarding claims 8 and 18, Hu teaches wherein the first configuration information comprises one or more of:
neighboring cell frequency identification information, physical cell identity (PCI) list configuration information corresponding to a neighboring cell frequency, frequency priority configuration information corresponding to the neighboring cell frequency, band identification information corresponding to the neighboring cell frequency, synchronization measurement timing configuration (SMTC) information
corresponding to the neighboring cell frequency, sub-carrier spacing (SCS) configuration information corresponding to the neighboring cell frequency, measurement configuration information corresponding to the neighboring cell frequency or cell reselection related parameters (Figure 10, Paragraphs [0278] and [0441] frequency priority of first cell/serving cell and frequency priority of second cell/neighboring cell; select serving cell).
7. Regarding claim 9, Hu teaches, wherein the first configuration information is configured through a system broadcast message or dedicated signaling (Figure 10, Paragraphs [0278] and [0441] frequency priority of first cell/serving cell and frequency priority of second cell/neighboring cell; select serving cell based on threshold or limit from broadcast message).
8. Regarding claim 13, Hu teaches, further comprising:
in response to a measurement condition being met, performing, by the terminal device, a neighboring cell measurement according to the priority relationship between the priority of the at least one neighboring cell frequency and the priority of the serving cell frequency and/or a priority relationship between the at
least one neighboring cell frequency, and determining, by the terminal device, a target cell for cell selection or cell reselection (Figure 10, Paragraphs [0278] and [0441] frequency priority of first cell/serving cell and frequency priority of second cell/neighboring cell; select serving cell based on threshold or limit from broadcast message).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 10-12, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2019/0373544 A1) in view of Vogedes et al. (US 2024/0063894 A1) based on provisional application 63/136,232.
9. Regarding claims 5 and 17, Hu teaches, wherein the first configuration information comprises configuration information of a neighboring cell, the configuration information of the neighboring cell corresponds to one or more neighboring cell frequencies, the one or more neighboring cell frequencies comprise the first neighboring cell frequency, and the obtaining, by a terminal device, a priority relationship between a priority of at least one neighboring cell frequency and a priority of a serving cell frequency comprises:
determining, by the terminal device, that the priority of the first neighboring cell frequency is higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency (Figure 10, Paragraphs [0278] and [0441] frequency priority of first cell/serving cell and frequency priority of second cell/neighboring cell; select serving cell).
Hu does not explicitly disclose cell of a first type. Vogedes teaches cell of a first type (Fig. 5.1-2 Paragraph [0075] to [0077] network as NTN or TN and prioritizes the cell).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide cell of a first type as taught by Vogedes in the system of Hu for management of terrestrial and non-terrestrial network communications see Paragraph [0001] of Vogedes.
10. Regarding claim 6, Hu in view of Vogedes teaches wherein the neighboring cell of the first type comprises at least one of:
a cell in a terrestrial system, a cell in a non-terrestrial system, or a cell in a satellite system (Vogedes, Fig. 5.1-2 Paragraph [0075] to [0077] network as NTN or TN and prioritizes the cell).
11. Regarding claim 7, Hu in view of Vogedes teaches wherein,
in response to the configuration information of the neighboring cell of the first type in the first configuration information being set, the priority of the one or more neighboring cell frequencies corresponding to the configuration information of the neighboring cell of the first type is higher than the priority of the serving cell frequency; or,
in response to the configuration information of the neighboring cell of the first type in the first configuration information being set, the priority of the one or more neighboring cell frequencies corresponding to the configuration information of the neighboring cell of the first type is lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency (Hu, Figure 10, Paragraphs [0278] and [0441] frequency priority of first cell/serving cell and frequency priority of second cell/neighboring cell; select serving cell; Vogedes, Fig. 5.1-2 Paragraph [0075] to [0077] network as NTN or TN and prioritizes the cell).
12. Regarding claim 10, Hu teaches, wherein the obtaining, by a terminal device, a priority relationship between a priority of at least one neighboring cell frequency and a priority of a serving cell frequency comprises:
determining, by the terminal device, the priority relationship between the priority of the at least one neighboring cell frequency and the priority of the serving cell frequency (Figure 10, Paragraphs [0278] and [0441] frequency priority of first cell/serving cell and frequency priority of second cell/neighboring cell; select serving cell).
Hu does not explicitly disclose predetermined rule and wherein the predetermined rule comprises:
in a case where the terminal device supports communication with a cell in a non-terrestrial system, and/or, the terminal device identifies the serving cell as a cell in a non-terrestrial system, the priority of the at least one neighboring cell frequency is higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency;
and/or in a case where the terminal device is a terminal device of a predetermined mobility type, the priority of the at least one neighboring cell frequency is higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency.
Vogedes teaches predetermined rule and wherein the predetermined rule comprises:
in a case where the terminal device supports communication with a cell in a non-terrestrial system, and/or, the terminal device identifies the serving cell as a cell in a non-terrestrial system, the priority of the at least one neighboring cell frequency is higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency;
and/or in a case where the terminal device is a terminal device of a predetermined mobility type, the priority of the at least one neighboring cell frequency is higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency (Fig. 5.1-2 Paragraph [0075] to [0077] network as NTN or TN and prioritizes the cell).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide predetermined rule and wherein the predetermined rule comprises: in a case where the terminal device supports communication with a cell in a non-terrestrial system, and/or, the terminal device identifies the serving cell as a cell in a non-terrestrial system, the priority of the at least one neighboring cell frequency is higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency; and/or in a case where the terminal device is a terminal device of a predetermined mobility type, the priority of the at least one neighboring cell frequency is higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency as taught by Vogedes in the system of Hu for management of terrestrial and non-terrestrial network communications see Paragraph [0001] of Vogedes.
13. Regarding claim 11 and 19, Hu does not explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one neighboring cell frequency comprises one or more of:
a frequency point corresponding to a co-frequency cell belonging to a same radio access technology (RAT) as the serving cell frequency;
a frequency point corresponding to a hetero-frequency cell belonging to a same RAT as the serving cell frequency;
a frequency point corresponding to a co-frequency cell belonging to a different RAT from the serving cell frequency; and
a frequency point corresponding to a hetero-frequency cell belonging to a different RAT from the serving cell frequency.
Vogedes teaches a frequency point corresponding to a co-frequency cell belonging to a same radio access technology (RAT) as the serving cell frequency;
a frequency point corresponding to a hetero-frequency cell belonging to a same RAT as the serving cell frequency;
a frequency point corresponding to a co-frequency cell belonging to a different RAT from the serving cell frequency; and
a frequency point corresponding to a hetero-frequency cell belonging to a different RAT from the serving cell frequency (Vogedes paragraphs [0051] and [0108] inter-RAT frequencies; reselection priorities).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a frequency point corresponding to a co-frequency cell belonging to a same radio access technology (RAT) as the serving cell frequency; a frequency point corresponding to a hetero-frequency cell belonging to a same RAT as the serving cell frequency; a frequency point corresponding to a co-frequency cell belonging to a different RAT from the serving cell frequency; and a frequency point corresponding to a hetero-frequency cell belonging to a different RAT from the serving cell frequency as taught by Vogedes in the system of Hu for management of terrestrial and non-terrestrial network communications see Paragraph [0001] of Vogedes.
14. Regarding claim 12, Hu does not explicitly disclose, further comprising:
determining, by the terminal device, a priority relationship between the at least one neighboring cell frequency based on protocol provisions or based on absolute frequency priority configuration information of the at least one neighboring cell frequency;
wherein the absolute frequency priority configuration information is configured to indicate a value of the priority of a neighboring cell frequency.
Vogedes teaches further comprising: determining, by the terminal device, a priority relationship between the at least one neighboring cell frequency based on protocol provisions or based on absolute frequency priority configuration information of the at least one neighboring cell frequency; wherein the absolute frequency priority configuration information is configured to indicate a value of the priority of a neighboring cell frequency (Vogedes Paragraph [0118] absolute priority reselection).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, by the terminal device, a priority relationship between the at least one neighboring cell frequency based on protocol provisions or based on absolute frequency priority configuration information of the at least one neighboring cell frequency; wherein the absolute frequency priority configuration information is configured to indicate a value of the priority of a neighboring cell frequency as taught by Vogedes in the system of Hu for management of terrestrial and non-terrestrial network communications see Paragraph [0001] of Vogedes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Johansson et al. (US 2022/0400420 A1)
Chen, IV et al. (US 2019/0319686 A1)
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466