DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 14, 16, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but are rendered moot due to reliance on a different prior art for rejection of the claimed limitations.
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 9, 12, 13, 16, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 11706833 B2), hereinafter Zhu, in view of Bogineni et al. (US 11128545 B2), hereinafter Bogineni, and further in view of Elshafie et al. (US 20250081282 A1), hereinafter Elshafie.
For claim 1,
Zhu teaches a system for improved data transmissions over a radio access network (RAN), the system comprising: one or more RAN nodes ([COL. 6-7, lines 65-5], [FIG. 1] multiple RAN nodes in a RAN communication system);
one or more processors associated with the one or more RAN nodes ([COL. 5, lines 16-19] processor); and
computer memory storing computer-usable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising ([COL 15, lines 40-45] memory storing instructions executable by a processor):
receiving a request for extended reality (XR) traffic, the request being associated with a user device ([FIG. 8], [COL 26, lines 4-38] network receives a NAS service request from a UE to facilitate the transmission of XR data over a URLLC slice.);
based on the request, identifying a frequency band associated with the one or more RAN nodes ([COL 26, lines 4-38] the BS may instruct the UE to perform handover from frequency A to frequency B, thus implying that both frequencies are identified),
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Bogineni teaches the frequency band having an ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) slice that has a latency parameter below an XR latency threshold, wherein the XR latency threshold corresponds to a latency requirement of the XR traffic; (at least [FIG. 4], [Abstract], [COL. 1, Line 66 – COL. 2, Line 9], [COL. 7, Line 60- COL. 8, Line 15], and [COL. 16, Line 66 – COL. 17, Line 61] a network slice configured to support URLLC is chosen for the session. The network slice can have a policy defining a low-latency performance requirement that is less than or equal to a threshold. Furthermore, each network slice can be configured for URLLC for augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR), which implies support for XR. Therefore, a latency threshold defined by a policy for a URLLC network slice that supports AR and VR is considered a latency threshold for XR traffic. The use of this network slice implies the XR latency requirement has been met.); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu for identifying a frequency band associated with a RAN node with the methods of Bogineni for the frequency band having a URLLC slice with a latency parameter below an XR latency threshold to reduce jitter in a stream and ensure packet delivery before its expiration.
Zhu and Bogineni do not explicitly teach, however Elshafie teaches transmitting an XR data packet, via the URLLC slice having the latency parameter below the XR latency threshold, to the user device ([0017] uplink transmission of XR data. An obvious alternative would be downlink transmission of the XR data to a user device for the purposes of bidirectional communication in the system. The XR data being transmitted implies that the latency parameter is below the XR latency threshold to allow transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni for identifying a frequency band having a URLLC slice with the method of Elshafie for transmitting an XR data packet to a UE via a URLLC slice having a latency parameter below an XR latency threshold to reduce jitter in a stream and ensure packet delivery before its expiration.
For claim 2, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 1.
Zhu further teaches identifying a second URLLC slice associated with the one or more RAN nodes ([FIG. 2, items 220, 222, 250, and 252], [COL. 16, lines 30-35] registration indicating one or more URLLC slices is transmitted, implying multiple URLLC slices have been identified. Network slices 250 and 252 can be URLLC slices on frequencies F1 and F2).
Zhu and Bogineni do not explicitly teach, however Elshafie teaches wherein the second URLLC slice is identified based on the XR latency threshold ([0017], [0086] low latency uplink transmission, including URLLC and XR data, based on a latency parameter and a latency threshold. Because the transmission relies on an XR latency threshold, this implies that the URLLC slice identified for XR data transmission would be identified based on it meeting the requirements of the XR latency threshold); and
transmitting another XR data packet, via the second URLLC slice, to the user device ([0017] uplink transmission of XR data. An obvious alternative would be downlink transmission of the XR data to a user device for the purposes of bidirectional communication in the system. The XR data being transmitted implies that the latency parameter is below the XR latency threshold to allow transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni for identifying a second URLLC slice with the method of Elshafie for the second URLLC slice being identified based on an XR latency threshold and transmitting another XR data packet on the second URLLC slice to ensure the URLLC slice can facilitate XR data transmission and to limit the occurrence of failed data transmission and the unnecessary allocation of resources in the system.
For claim 3, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 2.
Zhu further teaches wherein the second URLLC slice corresponds to a different frequency band ([FIG. 2, items 220, 222, 250, and 252] network slices 250 and 252 can be URLLC slices on frequencies F1 and F2).
For claim 8, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 1.
Zhu further teaches wherein the request includes the XR latency threshold ([FIG. 8], [COL 26, lines 4-38] network receives a NAS service request from a UE to facilitate the transmission of XR data over a URLLC slice. It is obvious/well known to one with ordinary skills in the art that a NAS service request can be used to request QoS parameters such as latency thresholds and data rates).
For claim 9, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
For claim 12, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 9.
Zhu further teaches based on the request, identifying a second frequency band, the second frequency band having a second URLLC slice, corresponding to the one or more URLLC slices… ([FIG. 2, items 220, 222, 250, and 252] network slices 250 and 252 can be URLLC slices on frequencies F1 and F2)
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Bogineni teaches the second URLLC slice having a latency parameter below an XR latency threshold (at least [FIG. 4], [Abstract], [COL. 1, Line 66 – COL. 2, Line 9], [COL. 7, Line 60- COL. 8, Line 15], and [COL. 16, Line 66 – COL. 17, Line 61] a network slice configured to support URLLC is chosen for the session. The network slice can have a policy defining a low-latency performance requirement that is less than or equal to a threshold. Furthermore, each network slice can be configured for URLLC for augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR), which implies support for XR. Therefore, a latency threshold defined by a policy for a URLLC network slice that supports AR and VR is considered a latency threshold for XR traffic. The use of this network slice implies the XR latency requirement has been met.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu for identifying a frequency band associated with a RAN node with the methods of Bogineni for the frequency band having a URLLC slice with a latency parameter below an XR latency threshold to reduce jitter in a stream and ensure packet delivery before its expiration.
Zhu and Bogineni do not explicitly teach, however Elshafie teaches transmitting a second XR data packet, of the plurality of XR data packets, to the user device via the second URLLC slice having the latency parameter below the XR latency threshold ([0017] uplink transmission of XR data. The XR data being transmitted implies that the latency parameter is below the XR latency threshold to allow transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni for identifying a second frequency band having a second URLLC slice with the method of Elshafie for transmitting a second XR data packet to a UE via a second URLLC slice having a latency parameter below an XR latency threshold to reduce jitter in a stream and ensure packet delivery before its expiration.
For claim 13, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 12.
Zhu further teaches wherein the second frequency band is associated with a second RAN node ([FIG. 2, items 205a, 205b, 220, 222, 250, and 252] the second frequency band is associated with a second RAN node).
For claim 16,
Zhu teaches one or more non-transitory computer storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon, that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method comprising ([COL 15, lines 40-45] memory storing instructions executable by a processor):
transmitting, via a user device, a request for extended reality (XR) traffic ([FIG. 8], [COL 26, lines 4-38] network receives a NAS service request from a UE to facilitate the transmission of XR data over a URLLC slice.);
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Bogineni teaches both XR data packets being received from an ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) slice having a latency parameter below an XR latency threshold, wherein the XR latency threshold corresponds to a latency requirement of the XR traffic (at least [FIG. 4], [Abstract], [COL. 1, Line 66 – COL. 2, Line 9], [COL. 7, Line 60- COL. 8, Line 15], and [COL. 16, Line 66 – COL. 17, Line 61] a network slice configured to support URLLC is chosen for the session. The network slice can have a policy defining a low-latency performance requirement that is less than or equal to a threshold. Furthermore, each network slice can be configured for URLLC for augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR), which implies support for XR. Therefore, a latency threshold defined by a policy for a URLLC network slice that supports AR and VR is considered a latency threshold for XR traffic. The use of this network slice implies the XR latency requirement has been met.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu for transmitting a request for XR traffic with the method of Bogineni for a first and second URLLC slice having a latency parameter below an XR latency threshold to ensure both URLLC slices can facilitate XR data transmission of their respective XR data packets to limit the occurrence of failed data transmission and the unnecessary allocation of resources in the system.
Zhu and Bogineni do not explicitly teach, however Elshafie teaches based on the request, receiving an XR data packet ([0017], [0086] low latency uplink transmission, including URLLC and XR data)…receiving a second XR data packet from a second URLLC slice…([0017] uplink transmission of XR data. An obvious alternative would be receiving a transmission of the XR data for the purposes of bidirectional communication in the system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni for transmitting a request for XR traffic and having a first and second URLLC slice having a latency parameter below an XR latency threshold with the method of Elshafie for receiving a first and second XR data packet on the first and second URLLC to ensure both URLLC slices can facilitate XR data transmission of their respective XR data packets to limit the occurrence of failed data transmission and the unnecessary allocation of resources in the system.
For claim 17, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 16.
Zhu further teaches wherein the URLLC slice corresponds to a first frequency band and the second URLLC slice corresponds to a second frequency band ([FIG. 2, items 220, 222, 250, and 252] network slices 250 and 252 can be URLLC slices on frequencies F1 and F2).
For claim 20, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 16.
Zhu further teaches wherein the request includes the XR latency threshold ([FIG. 8], [COL 26, lines 4-38] network receives a NAS service request from a UE to facilitate the transmission of XR data over a URLLC slice. It is well known in the art that a NAS service request can be used to request QoS parameters such as latency thresholds and data rates.).
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however Bogineni teaches XR data packets being received from ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) slices having a latency parameter below an XR latency threshold (at least [FIG. 4], [Abstract], [COL. 1, Line 66 – COL. 2, Line 9], [COL. 7, Line 60- COL. 8, Line 15], and [COL. 16, Line 66 – COL. 17, Line 61] a network slice configured to support URLLC is chosen for the session. The network slice can have a policy defining a low-latency performance requirement that is less than or equal to a threshold. Furthermore, each network slice can be configured for URLLC for augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR), which implies support for XR. Therefore, a latency threshold defined by a policy for a URLLC network slice that supports AR and VR is considered a latency threshold for XR traffic. The use of this network slice implies the XR latency requirement has been met.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu for receiving a third XR data packet from a third URLLC slice with the method of Bogineni for a third URLLC slice having a latency parameter below an XR latency threshold to ensure both URLLC slices can facilitate XR data transmission of their respective XR data packets to limit the occurrence of failed data transmission and the unnecessary allocation of resources in the system.
Zhu and Bogineni do not explicitly teach, however Elshafie teaches further comprising receiving a third XR data packet from a third URLLC slice… ([0017] uplink transmission of XR data. An obvious alternative would be receiving a transmission of the XR data for the purposes of bidirectional communication in the system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni for transmitting a request for XR traffic and having multiple URLLC slices with the method of Elshafie for receiving a third XR data packet on a third URLLC to ensure the URLLC slice can facilitate XR data transmission of XR data packets to limit the occurrence of failed data transmission and the unnecessary allocation of resources in the system.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie, and further in view of Jung et al. (US 20250261054 A1), hereinafter Jung.
For claim 4, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 1.
Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie do not explicitly teach, however Jung teaches transmitting a New Radio Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number corresponding to the URLLC slice to the user device ([0089] UE receives slice information associated with a frequency carrier. UE determines if the frequency carrier is DL explicit which includes an ARFCN value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie for identifying a frequency band with a URLLC slice with the method of Jung for transmitting a New Radio Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number to the UE to facilitate the successful identification of a viable URLLC slice and to limit the occurrence of failed data transmission and the unnecessary allocation of resources in the system.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie, and further in view of Maattanen et al. (US 20210400556 A1), hereinafter Maattanen.
For claim 5, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 1.
Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie do not explicitly teach, however Maattanen teaches wherein the one or more RAN nodes corresponds to a satellite ([FIGs. 1A and 1B] satellites acting as RAN nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie for having a system for improved data transmission over a RAN network with the method of Maattanen for one or more of the RAN nodes corresponding to a satellite to facilitate data transmission over a broad base of node types and increase the availability of data transmission in the system.
Claim(s) 6, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20250056359 A1), hereinafter Wang.
For claims 6 and 14, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claims 1 and 9, respectively.
Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie do not explicitly teach, however Wang teaches wherein the XR data packet is transmitted to the user device by the RAN node via a user plane function ([0034], [0039] a UPF transmits XR service connection information. It is well known in the art that data packets can be sent to a UE by a RAN via a UPF.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie for transmitting an XR data packet with the method of Wang for the XR data packet being transmitted to a UE by a user plane function to facilitate data transmission over a broad base of node types and increase the availability of data transmission in the system.
For claim 19, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 16.
Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie do not explicitly teach, however Wang teaches wherein the XR data packet is transmitted to the user device by a RAN node via a user plane function ([0034], [0039] a UPF transmits XR service connection information. It is well known in the art that data packets can be sent to a UE by a RAN via a UPF.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie for transmitting an XR data packet with the method of Wang for the XR data packet being transmitted to a UE by a user plane function to facilitate data transmission over a broad base of node types and increase the availability of data transmission in the system.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Wang, and further in view of Pater.
For claim 7, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Wang teach claim 6.
Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie do not explicitly teach, however Wang further teaches communicating the data rate, the latency parameter, and the jitter measurement to the user plane function ([0034], [0039] a UPF transmits XR service configuration information, which could include information related to data rate, latency, and jitter as these are common QoS parameters in XR data transmission. An obvious alternative, for the purposes of bidirectional communication, would be the UPF receiving the data.); and
transmitting the data rate, the latency parameter, and the jitter measurement to the user device via the user plane function ([0034], [0039] a UPF transmits XR service configuration information, which could include information related to data rate, latency, and jitter as these are common QoS parameters in XR data transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie for transmitting an XR data packet with the method of Wang for the XR data packet being transmitted/received by a user plane function to facilitate data transmission over a broad base of node types and increase the availability of data transmission in the system.
Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Wang do not explicitly teach, however Pater teaches determining, via a Radio Channel Performance Predictor, a data rate, the latency parameter, and a jitter measurement for the URLLC slice ([0149] predictive application related performance parameter calculated based on received data and includes data rate, latency, and jitter);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Wang for transmitting an XR data packet using a UPF with the method of Pater for the XR data packet including latency, jitter, and data rate parameters to confirm the end-to-end QoS of the system.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Boginen and Elshafie, and further in view of Pateromichelakis et al. (US 20250047566 A1), hereinafter Pater.
For claim 10, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 9.
Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie do not explicitly teach, however Pater teaches wherein the latency parameter is determined by a Radio Channel Performance Predictor including an application corresponding to a RAN intelligent controller ([0149], [0079] predictive application related performance parameter calculated based on received data and includes a latency parameter. A RIC is a data producer providing performance data including RAN slice performance, radio channel performance, and application performance.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie for having a URLLC slice with a latency parameter with the method of Pater for the latency parameter being determined by a radio channel performance predictor including an application corresponding to a RIC to facilitate data transmission based on a valid latency parameter and confirm the end-to-end QoS of the system.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Pater, and further in view of Wang.
For claim 11, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Pater teach claim 10.
Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie do not explicitly teach, however Pater further teaches determining, via the Radio Channel Performance Predictor, a data rate corresponding to the URLLC slice ([0149] predictive application related performance parameter calculated based on received data and includes data rate, latency, and jitter);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu, Bogineni, and Elshafie for having a URLLC slice with the method of Pater for the URLLC slice having a data rate determined by a radio channel performance predictor to facilitate data transmission based on a valid data rate parameter and confirm the end-to-end QoS of the system.
Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Pater do not explicitly teach, however Wang teaches transmitting the data rate to the user device ([0034], [0039] a UPF transmits XR service configuration information, which could include information related to data rate, latency, and jitter as these are common QoS parameters in XR data transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Pater for a URLLC slice having a data rate determined by a radio channel performance predictor with the method of Wang for the XR data packet, including the data rate, being transmitted to a UE to facilitate data transmission based on a valid data rate parameter and confirm the end-to-end QoS of the system.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Wang, and further in view of Jung.
For claim 15, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Wang teach claim 14.
Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Wang do not explicitly teach, however Jung teaches further comprising transmitting, via the user plane function, a New Radio Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number corresponding to the URLLC slice to the user device ([0089] UE receives slice information associated with a frequency carrier. UE determines if the frequency carrier is DL explicit which includes an ARFCN value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie and Wang for a UPF transmitting XR data with the method of Jung for transmitting a New Radio Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number to the UE to facilitate the successful identification of a viable URLLC slice and to limit the occurrence of failed data transmission and the unnecessary allocation of resources in the system.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20240040523 A1), hereinafter Lee.
For claim 18, Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie teach claim 16.
Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie do not explicitly teach, however Lee teaches wherein the URLLC slice and the second URLLC slice correspond to a first frequency band ([0052], [FIG. 1B] two radio links share the same bandwidth resources, implying they are on the same frequency band.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Bogineni and Elshafie for having multiple URLLC slices with the method of Lee for both URLLC slices corresponding to a first frequency band to limit the occurrence of failed data transmission and reduce the unnecessary allocation of resources in the system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Benjamin T. Ranew whose telephone number is (571)272-2746. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/BENJAMIN T. RANEW/Examiner, Art Unit 2429
/AYMAN A ABAZA/SPE, Art Unit 2429