DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of IN202241069325 filed 12/1/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/3/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument: Regarding independent claims 1, 4, 10, 18, the applicant argues that, Roger's architecture further relies on a shared local oscillator for phase synchronization. Amended claim 1 recites, in contrast, that the first set of FMCW signals corresponds to reflections of the first FMCW chirps transmitted by the first FMCW device (and correspondingly for the second device), and that the first and second FMCW chirps are generated responsive to first and second reference clocks, respectively, and which clocks are generated independently of one another.
Response: The examiner disagrees. Claim amendment has changed the scope of invention. Independent claim 1 is rejected with Roger et al. (US 2020/0341134 A1) and independent claims 4 and 10 are rejected with Roger et al. (US 2020/0341134 A1), in view of Van Houtum et al. (US 2023/0314562 A1). Independent claim 18 is allowable.
Amendment to claims 1, 4, 10 and 18 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a0(1) as being anticipated by Roger et al. (US 2020/0341134 A1).
Regarding independent claim 4, Roger et al. (‘134) anticipates “a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar system (paragraph 30: Figure 2: FMCW radar), comprising:
a first FMCW device (paragraph 58: the first radar-MMIC 410-1 includes signal processing circuitry), the first FMCW device including:
a first FMCW synthesizer (Figure 8a: Device #1 410-1, 1xLO-in (1x LO-out), Ramp gen. +clock; paragraph 20: FMCW LO signal of the first radar-IC) configured to generate first FMCW chirps (paragraph 49: transmits periodic FM pulses (also referred to as chirps or ramps), whose frequency increases linearly during the pulse);1
multiple transmitters (Figure1) configured to transmit the first FMCW chirps into a field of view (FOV) (paragraph 56: one of the MMIC chips can serve as a master and provide a system clock for clock synchronization, a trigger signal to provide a pulse start signal, and a high-frequency signal for phase synchronization, etc. …the other MMIC chips (slaves) provide additional transmission/reception channels for the radar system; paragraph 59: the first radar-MMIC 410-1…each of the first receive signals stems from a different antenna of the first antennas (#1, #2, #3));
multiple receivers configured to receive signals from the FOV based on the first FMCW chirps and generate first intermediate frequency (IF) signals (paragraph 49: the receive signal reflected from a target is conjugately mixed with the transmit signal to produce a low-frequency beat signal (also referred to as baseband signal)2, whose frequency gives the range of the target…this operation can be repeated for P consecutive FMCW pulses…two-dimensional (2D) waveforms 210 in Figure 2 depict successive reflected pulses arranged across two time indices p, n…the so-called slow time index p simply corresponds to the pulse number… the so-called fast time index n assumes that for each pulse, the corresponding continuous beat signal is sampled with frequency fs to collect N samples within a pulse duration T); and
a first processor configured to process the first IF signals, independently of a second FMCW device, to generate a first set of virtual antenna array signals (paragraph 71: each radar-MMIC 410-1, 410-2 is coupled to 8 receive antennas…thus, a virtual antenna array of 8 transmit antennas and 16 receive antennas can be formed by using the radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2; paragraph 58: the first radar-MMIC 410-1 is configured to process first receive signals from the first antennas (#1, #2, #3)….the radar-MMIC 410-1 includes three receive chains… each receive chain may include for example a low noise amplifier, a mixer3 and an analog-to-digital converter…the first radar-MMIC 410-1 includes signal processing circuitry which is configured to determine a first range-Doppler map based on the (sampled) first receive signals and to determine a first subregion of the first range-Doppler map based on predetermined criteria; paragraph 59: the first radar-MMIC 410-1 is configured to determine, for each antenna (#1, #2, #3) associated with the first radar-MMIC 410-1, an antenna-specific range-Doppler map…the first radar-MMIC 410-1 is further configured to generate the first range-Doppler map based on a linear combination of the antenna specific range-Doppler maps) without angle of arrival information (paragraph 9: the present disclosure proposes a distributed signal processing of first and second receive signals of a common antenna array…the first receive signals are processed by the first radar IC, while the second signals are processed by the second radar IC to obtain respective range-Doppler maps. While the first and second radar ICs compute their respective 2D range-Doppler maps and the subregions of interest independently, the spatial or angular information inherent in the receive signals of the antenna array cannot be estimated independently since information indicative of phases of both the first and the second receive signals (phase progression across the first and second antennas of the antenna array) is required…instead of exchanging raw receive data via the data interface, the present disclosure proposes to compute respective 2D range-Doppler maps in the first and second radar-ICs independently, to detect first and second subregions of interest based on coherent integration or non-coherent integration of the respective range-Doppler maps, and to then exchange information indicative of the detected first and second range-Doppler map subregions of interest together with phase information for further (for example, external) spatial or angular processing…an amount of data that is shared over the data interface can be significantly reduced); and
the second FMCW device (Figure 4: 410-2 MMIC2) configured to communicate with the first FMCW device (paragraph 63: cell or bin indices (p, n) of the detected first and/or second subregions can be forwarded to the common processor via the data interface 420…bin indices of subregions of no interest (non-detected subregions) may be selected not to be forwarded to the common processor. In this way, communication bandwidth can be reduced and/or processing can be sped up, and the common processor may nonetheless reconstruct the detected subregions…whether the first, the second or both detected subregions are selected to be forwarded via the data interface 420 depends on the implementation of the common processor. …it may be sufficient to only forward information related to the first detected subregion(s) to the second radar-MMIC 410-2 if the second radar-MMIC 410-2 acts as the common processor…optionally, complex amplitude values associated with the bin indices of the detected first and/or second subregions can be additionally forwarded to the common processor via the data interface 420; paragraph 74: the detected range-Doppler map subregions of the first radar-MMIC 410-1 are then communicated to the second radar-MMIC 410-2 via the data interface 420…as indicated in Figure 7a, the detected range-Doppler map subregions of the first radar-MMIC 410-1 can already be combined (logical OR) with detected range-Doppler map subregions of another radar-MMIC (not shown)…a cascade of various radar-MMICs can be implemented wherein each radar-MMIC detects respective subregions and forwards these to the next radar-MMIC of the cascade), the second FMCW device including: a second FMCW synthesizer (Figure 8a: Device #2 410-2, 1xLO-in (1x LO-out), Ramp gen. +clock; paragraph 20: FMCW LO signal of the second radar-IC) configured to generate second FMCW chirps (paragraph 49: transmits periodic FM pulses (also referred to as chirps or ramps), whose frequency increases linearly during the pulse);4
multiple transmitters (Figure1) configured to transmit the second FMCW chirps into the FOV (paragraph 56: one of the MMIC chips can serve as a master and provide a system clock for clock synchronization, a trigger signal to provide a pulse start signal, and a high-frequency signal for phase synchronization, etc. …the other MMIC chips (slaves) provide additional transmission/reception channels for the radar system; paragraph 60: the second radar-MMIC 410-2 is configured to process second receive signals from second antennas (#4, #5, #6) of the antenna array 414);
multiple receivers configured to receive signals from the FOV based on the second FMCW chirps and generate second IF signals (paragraph 49: the receive signal reflected from a target is conjugately mixed with the transmit signal to produce a low-frequency beat signal (also referred to as baseband signal), whose frequency gives the range of the target…this operation can be repeated for P consecutive FMCW pulses…two-dimensional (2D) waveforms 210 in Figure 2 depict successive reflected pulses arranged across two indices p, n…the so-called slow time index p simply corresponds to the pulse number…the so-called fast time index n assumes that for each pulse, the corresponding continuous beat signal is sampled with frequency fs to collect N samples within a pulse duration T); and
a second processor configured to process the second IF signals, independently of the first FMCW device processing the first IF signals, to generate a second set of virtual antenna array signals without angle of arrival information (paragraph 71: each radar-MMIC 410-1, 410-2 is coupled to 8 receive antennas. Thus, a virtual antenna array of 8 transmit antennas and 16 receive antennas can be formed by using the radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2; paragraph 60: the second radar-MMIC 410-2 includes signal processing circuitry which is configured to determine a second range-Doppler map based on the (sampled); paragraph 9: the present disclosure proposes a distributed signal processing of first and second receive signals of a common antenna array…the first receive signals are processed by the first radar IC, while the second signals are processed by the second radar IC to obtain respective range-Doppler maps…while the first and second radar ICs compute their respective 2D range-Doppler maps and the subregions of interest independently, the spatial or angular information inherent in the receive signals of the antenna array cannot be estimated independently since information indicative of phases of both the first and the second receive signals (phase progression across the first and second antennas of the antenna array) is required. Instead of exchanging raw receive data via the data interface, the present disclosure proposes to compute respective 2D range-Doppler maps in the first and second radar-ICs independently, to detect first and second subregions of interest based on coherent integration or non-coherent integration of the respective range-Doppler maps, and to then exchange information indicative of the detected first and second range-Doppler map subregions of interest together with phase information for further (for example, external) spatial or angular processing. In this way, an amount of data that is shared over the data interface can be significantly reduced) second receive signals);5
wherein the first and second sets of virtual antenna array signals each comprise range- Doppler spectral information and exclude beamforming data and angle of arrival information (paragraph 9: the present disclosure proposes a distributed signal processing of first and second receive signals of a common antenna array…the first receive signals are processed by the first radar IC, while the second signals are processed by the second radar IC to obtain respective range-Doppler maps…while the first and second radar ICs compute their respective 2D range-Doppler maps and the subregions of interest independently, the spatial or angular information inherent in the receive signals of the antenna array cannot be estimated independently since information indicative of phases of both the first and the second receive signals (phase progression across the first and second antennas of the antenna array) is required…instead of exchanging raw receive data via the data interface, the present disclosure proposes to compute respective 2D range-Doppler maps in the first and second radar-ICs independently, to detect first and second subregions of interest based on coherent integration or non-coherent integration of the respective range-Doppler maps, and to then exchange information indicative of the detected first and second range-Doppler map subregions of interest together with phase information for further (for example, external) spatial or angular processing…in this way, an amount of data that is shared over the data interface can be significantly reduced);
wherein the second FMCW device is configured to transmit the second set of virtual antenna array signals to the first FMCW device (paragraph 71: each radar-MMIC 410-1, 410-2 is coupled to 8 receive antennas…thus a virtual antenna array of 8 transmit antennas and 16 receive antennas can be formed by using the radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2; paragraph 63: cell or bin indices (p, n) of the detected first and/or second subregions can be forwarded to the common processor via the data interface 420…bin indices of subregions of no interest (non-detected subregions) may be selected not to be forwarded to the common processor. In this way, communication bandwidth can be reduced and/or processing can be sped up, and the common processor may nonetheless reconstruct the detected subregions…whether the first, the second or both detected subregions are selected to be forwarded via the data interface 420 depends on the implementation of the common processor. …it may be sufficient to only forward information related to the first detected subregion(s) to the second radar-MMIC 410-2 if the second radar-MMIC 410-2 acts as the common processor…optionally, complex amplitude values associated with the bin indices of the detected first and/or second subregions can be additionally forwarded to the common processor via the data interface 420; paragraph 74: the detected range-Doppler map subregions of the first radar-MMIC 410-1 are then communicated to the second radar-MMIC 410-2 via the data interface 420…as indicated in Figure 7a, the detected range-Doppler map subregions of the first radar-MMIC 410-1 can already be combined (logical OR) with detected range-Doppler map subregions of another radar-MMIC (not shown)…a cascade of various radar-MMICs can be implemented wherein each radar-MMIC detects respective subregions and forwards these to the next radar-MMIC of the cascade); and
wherein the first FMCW device is configured to perform an angle spectrum estimation across a combined virtual antenna array formed from the first and second sets of virtual antenna array signals to determine angle of arrival information with respect to one or more objects in the FOV (paragraph 63: this can be done across all antennas of the respective radar-MMIC such that a discrete Fourier transform (FFT) on the detected subregions can be performed at a later stage for angle estimation; paragraph 64: Based on the one or more combined subregions and additional phase information (across antennas) associated with the one or more combined subregions a third discrete Fourier transform across antennas for directional or angular processing can then be performed; Figure 6a; paragraph 74: the communication master can generate a final binary map at 750-2 indicating the final detected subregion(s) by combining the received binary map with its own binary map…this information on the final detected subregions indicated by the final binary map may then be distributed to each of the MMICs with a request to extract and send the related phase information (and amplitude information) to the communication master at 765-1…the communication master may then either calculate the angular FFT or send the data to an external ECU for calculating the angular FFT at 770-2).”
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on claim 4, Roger et al. (‘134) anticipates the FMCW radar system of claim 4. Roger et al. (‘134) further anticipates “a shared reference clock circuit configured to couple to the first FMCW device and to the second FMCW device, the shared reference clock circuit configured to generate a reference clock signal and to provide the reference clock signal to the first and second FMCW devices (paragraph 78: the radar-MMIC 410-2 provides is local oscillator (LO) signal as synchronization signal to the other radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-3, and 810-4. ..all radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2, 410-3, and 810-4 are connected via SPI…while radar-MMIC 410-3 acts as SPI master, the others act as SPI slaves…a communication cascade reaches from radar-MMIC 410-1 via radar-MIMIC 410-2 to radar-MMIC 410-3);
wherein the first FMCW device and the second FMCW device are both configured to use the reference clock signal to determine one or more of: a start frequency of respective FMCW chirps, a chirp slope of respective FMCW chirps, respective analog-to-digital converter (ADC) start times, or respective inter-chirp times (paragraph 56: one of the MMIC chips can serve as a master and provide a system clock for clock synchronization, a trigger signal to provide a pulse start signal, and a high-frequency signal for phase synchronization, etc. …the other MMIC chips (slaves) provide additional transmission/reception channels for the radar system).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roger et al. (US 2020/0341134 A1), and further in view of Van Houtum et al. (US 2023/0314562 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Roger et al. (‘134) discloses “a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar system (paragraph 30: Figure 2: FMCW radar), comprising:
a first FMCW device (Figure 4: 410-1 MMIC 1) that includes a first processor (paragraph 58: the first radar-MMIC 410-1 includes signal processing circuitry) configured to receive a first set of FMCW signals corresponding to a field of view (FOV), generate first intermediate frequency (IF) signals based on the first set of FMCW signals and first FMCW chirps transmitted by the first FMCW device (paragraph 49: the receive signal reflected from a target is conjugately mixed with the transmit signal to produce a low-frequency beat signal (also referred to as baseband signal)6, whose frequency gives the range of the target…this operation can be repeated for P consecutive FMCW pulses…two-dimensional (2D) waveforms 210 in Figure 2 depict successive reflected pulses arranged across two time indices p, n…the so-called slow time index p simply corresponds to the pulse number… the so-called fast time index n assumes that for each pulse, the corresponding continuous beat signal is sampled with frequency fs to collect N samples within a pulse duration T), the first set of FMCW signals corresponding to reflections of the first FMCW chirps transmitted by the first FMCW device (paragraph 71: when a target is illuminated by the radar beam it typically reflects numerous pulses…the probability of detection can be enhanced by summing or integrating all the range-Doppler map data of all Tx-Rx antenna pairs…each radar-MMIC 410-1, 410-2 is coupled to 8 receive antennas…a virtual antenna array of 8 transmit antennas and 16 receive antennas can be formed by using the radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2…both radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2 perform a non-coherent integration (NCI) of the range-Doppler maps for all respective receive- and transmit channels associated with the respective radar-MMIC during a subsequent time-interval t.sub.NCI_local. During a subsequent time-interval t.sub.localDet, both radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2 detect respective subregions of the respective integrated (NCI) range-Doppler map based on the criteria of interest and provide the logical representation whether an FFT bin is within a detected subregion or notparagraph 74: radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2 perform non-coherent integration (NCI) of their respective receive-channel-specific range-Doppler maps for all respective receive (and transmit) channels to obtain respective partially integrated (NCI) range-Doppler maps…in subsequent fourth acts 740-1, 740-2 both radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2 detect respective subregions), and process the first IF signals, to generate a first set of range-Doppler spectral information (paragraph 58: the first radar-MMIC 410-1 is configured to process first receive signals from the first antennas (#1, #2, #3)….the radar-MMIC 410-1 includes three receive chains… each receive chain may include for example a low noise amplifier, a mixer7 and an analog-to-digital converter…the first radar-MMIC 410-1 includes signal processing circuitry which is configured to determine a first range-Doppler map based on the (sampled) first receive signals and to determine a first subregion of the first range-Doppler map based on predetermined criteria; paragraph 59: the first radar-MMIC 410-1 is configured to determine, for each antenna (#1, #2, #3) associated with the first radar-MMIC 410-1, an antenna-specific range-Doppler map…the first radar-MMIC 410-1 is further configured to generate the first range-Doppler map based on a linear combination of the antenna specific range-Doppler maps) without angle of arrival information (paragraph 9: the present disclosure proposes a distributed signal processing of first and second receive signals of a common antenna array…the first receive signals are processed by the first radar IC, while the second signals are processed by the second radar IC to obtain respective range-Doppler maps…while the first and second radar ICs compute their respective 2D range-Doppler maps and the subregions of interest independently, the spatial or angular information inherent in the receive signals of the antenna array cannot be estimated independently since information indicative of phases of both the first and the second receive signals (phase progression across the first and second antennas of the antenna array) is required…instead of exchanging raw receive data via the data interface, the present disclosure proposes to compute respective 2D range-Doppler maps in the first and second radar-ICs independently, to detect first and second subregions of interest based on coherent integration or non-coherent integration of the respective range-Doppler maps, and to then exchange information indicative of the detected first and second range-Doppler map subregions of interest together with phase information for further (for example, external) spatial or angular processing…in this way, an amount of data that is shared over the data interface can be significantly reduced); and
the second FMCW device configured to receive a second set of FMCW signals corresponding to the FOV, generate second IF signals based on the second set of FMCW signals and second FMCW chirps transmitted by the second FMCW device (paragraph 49: the receive signal reflected from a target is conjugately mixed with the transmit signal to produce a low-frequency beat signal (also referred to as baseband signal), whose frequency gives the range of the target…this operation can be repeated for P consecutive FMCW pulses…two-dimensional (2D) waveforms 210 in Figure 2 depict successive reflected pulses arranged across two indices p, n…the so-called slow time index p simply corresponds to the pulse number…the so-called fast time index n assumes that for each pulse, the corresponding continuous beat signal is sampled with frequency fs to collect N samples within a pulse duration T), the second set of FMCW signals corresponding to reflections of the second FMCW chirps transmitted by the second FMCW device (paragraph 71: when a target is illuminated by the radar beam it typically reflects numerous pulses…the probability of detection can be enhanced by summing or integrating all the range-Doppler map data of all Tx-Rx antenna pairs…each radar-MMIC 410-1, 410-2 is coupled to 8 receive antennas…a virtual antenna array of 8 transmit antennas and 16 receive antennas can be formed by using the radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2…both radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2 perform a non-coherent integration (NCI) of the range-Doppler maps for all respective receive- and transmit channels associated with the respective radar-MMIC during a subsequent time-interval t.sub.NCI_local…during a subsequent time-interval t.sub.localDet, both radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2 detect respective subregions of the respective integrated (NCI) range-Doppler map based on the criteria of interest and provide the logical representation whether an FFT bin is within a detected subregion or not; paragraph 74: radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2 perform non-coherent integration (NCI) of their respective receive-channel-specific range-Doppler maps for all respective receive (and transmit) channels to obtain respective partially integrated (NCI) range-Doppler maps…in subsequent fourth acts 740-1, 740-2 both radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2 detect respective subregions), and
process the second IF signals, to generate a second set of range-Doppler spectral information (paragraph 60: the second radar-MMIC 410-2 includes signal processing circuitry which is configured to determine a second range-Doppler map based on the (sampled) without angle of arrival information (paragraph 9: the present disclosure proposes a distributed signal processing of first and second receive signals of a common antenna array…the first receive signals are processed by the first radar IC, while the second signals are processed by the second radar IC to obtain respective range-Doppler maps…while the first and second radar ICs compute their respective 2D range-Doppler maps and the subregions of interest independently, the spatial or angular information inherent in the receive signals of the antenna array cannot be estimated independently since information indicative of phases of both the first and the second receive signals (phase progression across the first and second antennas of the antenna array) is required. Instead of exchanging raw receive data via the data interface, the present disclosure proposes to compute respective 2D range-Doppler maps in the first and second radar-ICs independently, to detect first and second subregions of interest based on coherent integration or non-coherent integration of the respective range-Doppler maps, and to then exchange information indicative of the detected first and second range-Doppler map subregions of interest together with phase information for further (for example, external) spatial or angular processing. In this way, an amount of data that is shared over the data interface can be significantly reduced) second receive signals);
wherein the second FMCW device is configured to transmit the second set of range-Doppler spectral information to the first FMCW device (paragraph 63: cell or bin indices (p, n) of the detected first and/or second subregions can be forwarded to the common processor via the data interface 420…bin indices of subregions of no interest (non-detected subregions) may be selected not to be forwarded to the common processor. In this way, communication bandwidth can be reduced and/or processing can be sped up, and the common processor may nonetheless reconstruct the detected subregions…whether the first, the second or both detected subregions are selected to be forwarded via the data interface 420 depends on the implementation of the common processor. …it may be sufficient to only forward information related to the first detected subregion(s) to the second radar-MMIC 410-2 if the second radar-MMIC 410-2 acts as the common processor…optionally, complex amplitude values associated with the bin indices of the detected first and/or second subregions can be additionally forwarded to the common processor via the data interface 420; paragraph 74: the detected range-Doppler map subregions of the first radar-MMIC 410-1 are then communicated to the second radar-MMIC 410-2 via the data interface 420…as indicated in Figure 7a, the detected range-Doppler map subregions of the first radar-MMIC 410-1 can already be combined (logical OR) with detected range-Doppler map subregions of another radar-MMIC (not shown)…a cascade of various radar-MMICs can be implemented wherein each radar-MMIC detects respective subregions and forwards these to the next radar-MMIC of the cascade), and
wherein the first processor is configured to determine angle of arrival information with respect to one or more objects in the FOV in response to the first and second sets of range-Doppler spectral information (paragraph 63: this can be done across all antennas of the respective radar-MMIC such that a discrete Fourier transform (FFT) on the detected subregions can be performed at a later stage for angle estimation; paragraph 64: based on the one or more combined subregions and additional phase information (across antennas) associated with the one or more combined subregions a third discrete Fourier transform across antennas for directional or angular processing can then be performed; Figure 6a; paragraph 74: the communication master can generate a final binary map at 750-2 indicating the final detected subregion(s) by combining the received binary map with its own binary map…this information on the final detected subregions indicated by the final binary map may then be distributed to each of the MMICs with a request to extract and send the related phase information (and amplitude information) to the communication master at 765-1…the communication master may then either calculate the angular FFT or send the data to an external ECU for calculating the angular FFT at 770-2).”
Roger et al. (‘134) does not explicitly disclose “the first FMCW device is configured to generate the first FMCW chirps responsive to a first reference clock, and the second FMCW device is configured to generate the second FMCW chirps responsive to a second reference clock configured to operate independently of the first reference clock.”
Van Houtum et al. (‘562) relates to radar system. Van Houtum et al. (‘562) teaches “the first FMCW device is configured to generate the first FMCW chirps responsive to a first reference clock, and the second FMCW device is configured to generate the second FMCW chirps responsive to a second reference clock configured to operate independently of the first reference clock (paragraph 25: Figure 1: two radar stations with independent system clock sources; paragraph 47: Frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) chirp sequence signals, for example, are exchanged in a full duplex (FD) manner between a first radar station 102 and a second radar station 104 through a first antenna 106 and a second antenna 108. The chirp sequence signals 110 transmitted from the first radar station 102 and the second radar station 104 are received; paragraph 141: The two linear antenna arrays are from two different radio units with different reference clock sources).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FMCW radar system of Roger et al. (‘134) with the teaching of Van Houtum et al. (‘562) for improved radar detection. In addition, both of the prior art references, (Crouch et al. (‘817) and Van Houtum et al. (‘562)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, angle of arrival determination from Range-Doppler map using multiple transmit/receive antennas.
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Roger et al. (‘134)/Van Houtum et al. (‘562) discloses the FMCW radar system of claim 1. Roger et al. (‘134) further discloses “the first and second sets of range-Doppler spectral information are generated using one or more of Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), Bartlett Beamformer, or Minimum Variance Distortion less Response (MVDR) Beamformer (paragraph 58: the first radar-MMIC 410-1 includes signal processing circuitry which is configured to determine a first range-Doppler map based on the (sampled) first receive signals and to determine a first subregion of the first range-Doppler map based on predetermined criteria…the predetermined criteria can comprise amplitude or energy levels of range-Doppler map FFT bins above or below a predefined threshold; paragraph 67: Multiple of such FFT spectra or range-Doppler maps, each associated with a respective receive antenna, can be coherently or non-coherently integrated in each of the first and second radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2).”
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roger et al. (US 2020/0341134 A1)/Van Houtum et al. (US 2023/0314562 A1), and further in view of Breddermann et al. (US 2021/0293949 A1).
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Roger et al. (‘134)/Van Houtum et al. (‘562) discloses the FMCW radar system of claim 1. Roger et al. (‘134)/Van Houtum et al. (‘562) does not explicitly disclose “the second processor is configured to perform Doppler compensation with respect to a deliberately included difference in transmission time between the first FMCW chirps corresponding to the first set of range-Doppler spectral information and the second FMCW chirps corresponding to the second set of range-Doppler spectral information.”
Breddermann et al. (‘949) relates to radar detection system. Breddermann et al. (‘949) teaches “the second processor is configured to perform Doppler compensation with respect to a deliberately included difference in transmission time between the first FMCW chirps corresponding to the first set of range-Doppler spectral information and the second FMCW chirps corresponding to the second set of range-Doppler spectral information (paragraph 15: the first detection information results in particular from received radar signals transmitted by the first transmit antenna and are therefore specific for the first transmit antenna and the first radar signal…the second detection information results in particular from received radar signals transmitted by the second transmit antenna and are therefore specific for the second transmit antenna and the second radar signal…the detection information can be divided into information resulting from a received radar signal that was received by the first receive antenna and into information resulting from a received radar signal that was received by the second, third receive antenna, etc. …these combinations thus result in M.Math.K detection information, which can be converted by the Fourier transform into a spectrum, also referred to as a range-Doppler map or an RV image (range-velocity)…the respective transmitted radar signal can have multiple frequency-modulated ramps (chirps) of the duration TC and bandwidth B…in this regard, during a measurement period TM N ramps can be output per transmit antenna Tx as the respective radar signal; paragraph 16: the transit time differences between the transmit antennas, just like the transit time differences between the receive antennas, lead to phase differences that correspond to the angle of reflection or arrival; paragraph 17: the value Δφ can be added to the existing phase differences in the detection information (or the spectrum resulting therefrom); paragraph 42: Figure 5: the transmission of radar signals 221, 222 over the time t and with the schematic representation of the frequency f…the particular transmitted radar signal 221, 222 can have rapid ramps (chirps) of the duration TC and bandwidth B. In this regard, during a measurement period TM N ramps can be output per transmit antenna 21, 22; paragraph 43; Figure 5).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FMCW radar system of Roger et al. (‘134)/Van Houtum et al. (‘562) with the teaching of Breddermann et al. (‘949) for improved radar detection (Breddermann et al. (‘949) – paragraph 5). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Roger et al. (‘134), Van Houtum et al. (‘562) and Breddermann et al. (‘949)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, angle of arrival determination from Range-Doppler map using multiple transmit/receive antennas.
Claims 6-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roger et al. (US 2020/0341134 A1), and further in view of Crouch et al. (US 2022/0099817 A1).
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 4, Roger et al. (‘134) discloses the FMCW radar system of claim 4. Roger et al. (‘134) does not explicitly disclose “the first FMCW synthesizer includes a reference signal generator configured to generate a first reference clock signal, the first FMCW synthesizer configured to generate the first FMCW chirps in response to the first reference clock signal; and wherein the second FMCW device includes a reference signal generator configured to generate a second reference clock signal, the second FMCW synthesizer configured to generate the second FMCW chirps in response to the second reference clock signal .”
Crouch et al. (‘817) relates to radar system. Crouch et al. (‘817) teaches “the first FMCW synthesizer includes a reference signal generator configured to generate a first reference clock signal, the first FMCW synthesizer configured to generate the first FMCW chirps in response to the first reference clock signal; and wherein the second FMCW device includes a reference signal generator configured to generate a second reference clock signal, the second FMCW synthesizer configured to generate the second FMCW chirps in response to the second reference clock signal (paragraph 54: in the transmit channel of transceiver 202A as illustrated in Figure 4, a local oscillator (LO) 230 generates an FMCW radio frequency (RF) signal, e.g., in the range of 76 GHz to 81 GHz…the FMCW RF signal is amplified by an amplifier 232 to drive a transmit antenna 206A…the frequency of LO 230 is determined by a modulator block 234, which is capable of frequency modulating LO 230 to effectively generate pulsed signals or sweep signals referred to as chirps, e.g., using sawtooth or another form of frequency modulation…control over modulator block 234 may be provided by a controller 236, which in some instances may be controller 204, while in other instances may be other control logic, e.g., as may be integrated into transceiver 202A; paragraph 73: in some implementations, the radar sensors lack a common LO signal or clock signal, and in some implementations, the radar sensors may be completely separate units that operate independently and generate independent outputs that may be synthesized to form the distributed aperture, e.g., using a controller that is separate from any of the radar sensors…thus, the radar sensors may be considered to operate using separate local oscillators and separate clocks; Figure 4; Figure 7).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FMCW radar system of Roger et al. (‘134) with the teaching of Crouch et al. (‘817) for improved radar detection (Crouch et al. (‘817) – paragraph 4). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Roger et al. (‘134) and Crouch et al. (‘817)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, angle of arrival determination from Range-Doppler map using multiple transmit/receive antennas.
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on claim 6, Roger et al. (‘134)/Crouch et al. (‘817) discloses the FMCW radar system of claim 6. Roger et al. (‘134) does not explicitly disclose “the first FMCW device is configured to transmit a start time and an end time to the second FMCW device; and wherein the second FMCW device is configured to, in response to a number of clock cycles between the start time and the end time, determine one or more of: a start frequency of respective FMCW chirps, a chirp slope of respective FMCW chirps, respective analog-to-digital converter (ADC) start times, or respective inter-chirp times.”
Crouch et al. (‘817) relates to radar system. Crouch et al. (‘817) teaches “the first FMCW device is configured to transmit a start time and an end time to the second FMCW device; and wherein the second FMCW device is configured to, in response to a number of clock cycles between the start time and the end time, determine one or more of: a start frequency of respective FMCW chirps, a chirp slope of respective FMCW chirps, respective analog-to-digital converter (ADC) start times, or respective inter-chirp times (paragraph 72: the temporal relationship between different radar sensor is desirably controlled, e.g. by using a trigger signal or other synchronization signal (e.g., a Precision Time Protocol (PIP) signal) that synchronizes one or both of the sensing frames and chirps emitted by the radar sensors; paragraph 54: the frequency of LO 230 is determined by a modulator block 234, which is capable of frequency modulating LO 230 to effectively generate pulsed signals or sweep signals referred to as chirps, e.g., using sawtooth or another form of frequency modulation…control over modulator block 234 may be provided by a controller 236, which in some instances may be controller 204, while in other instances may be other control logic, e.g., as may be integrated into transceiver 202A…controller 236 may be used to control various parameters of the chirps, e.g., start frequency, phase, chirp rate, etc., as well as to trigger the initiation of a chirp; paragraph 69: the controller may be integrated wholly…into one or more of the radar sensors 302A, 302B).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FMCW radar system of Roger et al. (‘134) with the teaching of Crouch et al. (‘817) for improved radar detection (Crouch et al. (‘817) – paragraph 4). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Roger et al. (‘134) and Crouch et al. (‘817)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, angle of arrival determination from Range-Doppler map using multiple transmit/receive antennas.
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent on claim 7, Roger et al. (‘134)/Crouch et al. (‘817) discloses the FMCW radar system of claim 6. Roger et al. (‘134) does not explicitly disclose “the start time and the end time correspond to Ethernet-PTP timestamps.”
Crouch et al. (‘817) relates to radar system. Crouch et al. (‘817) teaches “the start time and the end time correspond to Ethernet-PTP timestamps “the start time and the end time correspond to Ethernet-PTP timestamps (paragraph 72: the temporal relationship between different radar sensors is also desirably controlled, e.g. by using a trigger signal or other synchronization signal (e.g., a Precision Time Protocol (PTP) signal) that synchronizes one or both of the sensing frames).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FMCW radar system of Roger et al. (‘134) with the teaching of Crouch et al. (‘817) for improved radar detection (Crouch et al. (‘817) – paragraph 4). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Crouch et al. (‘817) and Crouch et al. (‘817)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, angle of arrival determination from Range-Doppler map using multiple transmit/receive antennas.
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on claim 4, Roger et al. (‘134) discloses the FMCW radar system of claim 4. Roger et al. (‘134) does not explicitly disclose “the first FMCW device is configured to provide a synchronization pulse to the second FMCW device; and wherein the second FMCW device is configured to determine a data frame start time in response to the synchronization pulse.”
Crouch et al. (‘817) relates to radar system. Crouch et al. (‘817) teaches “the first FMCW device is configured to provide a synchronization pulse to the second FMCW device; and wherein the second FMCW device is configured to determine a data frame start time in response to the synchronization pulse (paragraph 72: the temporal relationship between different radar sensors is also desirably controlled, e.g., by using a trigger signal…that synchronizes one or both of the sensing frames and chirps emitted by the radar sensors).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FMCW radar system of Roger et al. (‘134) with the teaching of Crouch et al. (‘817) for improved radar detection (Crouch et al. (‘817) – paragraph 4). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Crouch et al. (‘817) and Crouch et al. (‘817)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, angle of arrival determination from Range-Doppler map using multiple transmit/receive antennas.
Regarding independent claim 10, which is a corresponding method claim of system claim 4 and system claim 6 combined, Roger et al. (‘134)/Crouch et al. (‘817) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claims 4 and 6 combined.
Regarding claim 11, which is dependent on independent claim 10, Roger et al. (‘134)/Crouch et al. (‘817) discloses the method of claim 10. Roger et al. (‘134) further discloses “the first set of virtual antenna array signals includes a first range-Doppler spectral estimation; and wherein the second set of virtual antenna array signals includes a second range-Doppler spectral estimation (paragraph 58: The first radar-MMIC 410-1 includes signal processing circuitry which is configured to determine a first range-Doppler map based on the (sampled) first receive signals and to determine a first subregion of the first range-Doppler map based on predetermined criteria. For example, the predetermined criteria can comprise amplitude or energy levels of range-Doppler map FFT bins above or below a predefined threshold; paragraph 67: Multiple of such FFT spectra or range-Doppler maps, each associated with a respective receive antenna, can be coherently or non-coherently integrated in each of the first and second radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2).”
Regarding claim 13, which is dependent on independent claim 10, Roger et al. (‘134)/Crouch et al. (‘817) discloses method of claim 10. Roger et al. (‘134) further discloses “a shared reference clock circuit configured to couple to the first FMCW device and to the second FMCW device, the shared reference clock circuit configured to generate a reference clock signal and to provide the reference clock signal to the first and second FMCW devices (paragraph 78: the radar-MMIC 410-2 provides is local oscillator (LO) signal as synchronization signal to the other radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-3, and 810-4...all radar-MMICs 410-1, 410-2, 410-3, and 810-4 are connected via SPI…while radar-MMIC 410-3 acts as SPI master, the others act as SPI slaves…a communication cascade reaches from radar-MMIC 410-1 via radar-MIMIC 410-2 to radar-MMIC 410-3);
wherein the first FMCW device and the second FMCW device are both configured to use the reference clock signal to determine one or more of: a start frequency of respective FMCW chirps, a chirp slope of respective FMCW chirps, respective analog-to-digital converter (ADC) start times, or respective inter-chirp times (paragraph 56: one of the MMIC chips can serve as a master and provide a system clock for clock synchronization, a trigger signal to provide a pulse start signal, and a high-frequency signal for phase synchronization, etc. …the other MMIC chips (slaves) provide additional transmission/reception channels for the radar system).”
Regarding claim 14, which is dependent on independent claim 10, and which is a corresponding method claim of system claim 6, Roger et al. (‘134)/Crouch et al. (‘817) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, which is dependent on claim 14, and which is a corresponding method claim of system claim 7, Roger et al. (‘134)/Crouch et al. (‘817) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, which is dependent on claim 15, and which is a corresponding method claim of system claim 8, Roger et al. (‘134)/Crouch et al. (‘817) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, which is dependent on independent claim 10, and which is a corresponding method claim of system claim 9, Roger et al. (‘134)/Crouch et al. (‘817) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 9.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roger et al. (US 2020/0341134 A1)/Crouch et al. (US 2022/0099817 A1), and further in view of Breddermann et al. (US 2021/0293949 A1).
Regarding claim 12, which is dependent on independent claim 10, Roger et al. (‘134)/Crouch et al. (‘817) discloses the method of claim 10. Roger et al. (‘134)/Crouch et al. (‘817) does not explicitly disclose “performing, using the second FMCW device, Doppler compensation with respect to a deliberately included difference in transmission time between the first FMCW chirps corresponding to the first set of virtual antenna array signals and the second FMCW chirps corresponding to the second set of virtual antenna array signals.”
Breddermann et al. (‘949) relates to radar detection system. Breddermann et al. (‘949) teaches “performing, using the second FMCW device, Doppler compensation with respect to a deliberately included difference in transmission time between the first FMCW chirps corresponding to the first set of virtual antenna array signals and the second FMCW chirps corresponding to the second set of virtual antenna array signals (paragraph 15: the first detection information results in particular from received radar signals transmitted by the first transmit antenna and are therefore specific for the first transmit antenna and the first radar signal…the second detection information results in particular from received radar signals transmitted by the second transmit antenna and are therefore specific for the second transmit antenna and the second radar signal…the detection information can be divided into information resulting from a received radar signal that was received by the first receive antenna and into information resulting from a received radar signal that was received by the second, third receive antenna, etc. …these combinations thus result in M.Math.K detection information, which can be converted by the Fourier transform into a spectrum, also referred to as a range-Doppler map or an RV image (range-velocity)…the respective transmitted radar signal can have multiple frequency-modulated ramps (chirps) of the duration TC and bandwidth B…in this regard, during a measurement period TM N ramps can be output per transmit antenna Tx as the respective radar signal; paragraph 16: the transit time differences between the transmit antennas, just like the transit time differences between the receive antennas, lead to phase differences that correspond to the angle of reflection or arrival; paragraph 17: the value Δφ can be added to the existing phase differences in the detection information (or the spectrum resulting therefrom); paragraph 42: Figure 5: the transmission of radar signals 221, 222 over the time t and with the schematic representation of the frequency f…the particular transmitted radar signal 221, 222 can have rapid ramps (chirps) of the duration TC and bandwidth B. In this regard, during a measurement period TM N ramps can be output per transmit antenna 21, 22; paragraph 43; Figure 5).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Roger et al. (‘134) with the teaching of Breddermann et al. (‘949) for improved radar detection (Breddermann et al. (‘949) – paragraph 5). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Crouch et al. (‘817) and Breddermann et al. (‘949)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, angle of arrival determination from Range-Doppler map using multiple transmit/receive antennas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is allowed.
Allowable subject matter:
“receive a second set of virtual antenna signals from the another FMCW radar; determine a frequency drift of the reference clock relative to a reference clock of the another FMCW radar based on a number of clock cycles of the reference clock occurring between the start time and the end time; responsive to the frequency drift, determine at least one of: an ADC start time, a start frequency of the FMCW signals, a chirp slope of the FMCW signals, or an inter-chirp time; and determine an angle of arrival in response to the first and second sets of virtual antenna signals.”
Closet Prior art found to be:
Schwarz et al. (US 2024/0080032 A1) describes circuit for measuring a frequency linearity includes a first measurement circuit and a second measurement circuit. The first measurement circuit includes: a counter, wherein a first input terminal of the counter is configured to receive a first frequency signal, wherein a second input terminal of the counter is configured to receive a gate signal having a gate signal period, wherein the counter is configured to count clock cycles of the first frequency signal and is configured to output a value of the counter at first edges of the gate signal; a first delay element coupled to an output of the counter and configured to store the output of the counter at a previous first edge of the gate signal; and a modulo circuit coupled to the output of the counter and an output of the first delay element, wherein the modulo circuit is configured to compute the number of clock cycles of the first frequency signal in a respective gate signal period. The second measurement circuit includes: a time-to-digital converter (TDC), wherein the TDC is configured to measure a time offset between the first edge of the gate signal and a corresponding first edge of the first frequency signal; and a second delay element coupled to an output of the TDC and configured to store N.sub.GATE previous outputs of the TDC (paragraph 4); the TDC output is a number indicating the number of clock cycles of the TDC clock signal having frequency F.sub.TDC. Therefore, if the output of the divider 219 is M, then the time offset (e.g., measured in unit of second) is M/F.sub.TDC, and the corresponding fractional number of clock cycles of the measurement signal m(t) is (paragraph 44); a circuit for measuring a frequency linearity includes a first measurement circuit and a second measurement circuit. The first measurement circuit includes: a counter, wherein a first input terminal of the counter is configured to receive a first frequency signal, wherein a second input terminal of the counter is configured to receive a gate signal having a gate signal period, wherein the counter is configured to count clock cycles of the first frequency signal and is configured to output a value of the counter at first edges of the gate signal; a first delay element coupled to an output of the counter and configured to store the output of the counter at a previous first edge of the gate signal; and a modulo circuit coupled to the output of the counter and an output of the first delay element, wherein the modulo circuit is configured to compute the number of clock cycles of the first frequency signal in a respective gate signal period. The second measurement circuit includes: a time-to-digital converter (TDC), wherein the TDC is configured to measure a time offset between the first edge of the gate signal and a corresponding first edge of the first frequency signal; and a second delay element coupled to an output of the TDC and configured to store N.sub.GATE previous outputs of the TDC (paragraph 60); The RFIC of Example 12, wherein the integer number of clock cycles of the first frequency signal within the respective gate signal period of the gate signal is the number of rising edges of the first frequency signal within the respective gate signal period, wherein the fractional number of clock cycle of the first frequency signal within the respective gate signal period corresponds to a time offset between a rising edge of the gate signal and a closest rising edge of the first frequency signal within the gate signal period scaled by a scaling factor, wherein the scaling factor is proportional to the frequency of the first frequency signal (paragraph 75); he integer number of clock cycles of the first frequency signal within the respective gate signal period of the gate signal is the number of rising edges of the first frequency signal within the respective gate signal period, wherein the fractional number of clock cycle of the first frequency signal within the respective gate signal period corresponds to a time offset between a rising edge of the gate signal and a closest rising edge of the first frequency signal within the gate signal period scaled by a scaling factor, wherein the scaling factor is proportional to the frequency of the first frequency signal (paragraph 79).
Claims 19-20 depend on claim 18 and therefore are also allowable.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jansen et al. (US 2022/0066012 A1) describes a transceiver, as may be used in an automobile or roadside station, to send and detect reflected signals…the transceiver includes at least two sets of transmitters such as the transmitter sets 102 and 104 and also includes a set of multiple receivers 106…systems as in FIG. 1 may include, for example, two or four sets of multiple transmitters, while three may be optimal in terms of costs and spatial resolution with each such transmitter set being associated with a different FOV and associated operation mode…as in the illustrated example of Figure 1, each such transmitter set 102 and 104 includes front-end radio frequency (RF) circuitry and a related set of antennas for transmitting continuous-wave (CW) energy 120 and 122, as a signal concurrently sent from antennas of at least two of the transmitter sets 102 and 104…the CW-energy transmissions may reflect off a target such as automobile 140 to result in reflected signals 130, 132, and 134…the reflected signals may then be received by circuitry 106, also part of the transceiver one or more of a plurality of receivers and antennas…signal processing circuitry 150 may then assess differences in antenna gain and antenna position associated with the received reflections 130, 132, and 134 to mitigate or resolve at least one spatial ambiguity such as one or more directions of arrival dimensions (paragraph 26); Figure 2 illustrates an automobile 210 including a transceiver with circuitry for three FOVs respectively associated with: a short-range radar (SRR 220), a medium-range radar (MRR 224), and a long-range radar (LRR 226)…such a configuration of FOVs may be useful in connection with forward looking automotive radar designs and applications such as Automatic Cruise Control, Automatic Emergency Braking and Front-Cross Traffic Alert. For each such application, there may be a FOV associated with a pre-defined area in front of the car in which objects should be detected…as some applications may require, each FOV may provide azimuth (lateral distance) and elevation (vertical distance) coverage for object detection as well as a maximum longitudinal distance and/or a maximum lateral distance…in FIG. 2, the longitudinal and lateral distances are respectively shown on X and Y axes…the maximum distance may be determined, for example, by the maximum measurement range of the sensor and the signal to noise ratio (SNR) of the received signal…the SNR may also depend on the gain of the antenna. According to one aspect of the present disclosure, one exemplary way of realizing the different FOV's is to use antennas with different directivities for the different modes, and each such FOV may be also determined by the antenna gain (transmit and receive)…the measurement range of the sensor depends on the waveform mode (or configuration) and sampling frequency of the radar transceiver, where such gain is primarily associated with that specific mode (paragraph 27); the multiple sets of transmit antennas included with transceiver circuitry are respectively associated with the plurality of different modes and with a plurality of different fields of view…each of the fields of view has an associated range…from each antenna in the multiple sets, continuous-wave energy transmitted as a signal carrying the multiple modes or waves shapes in one radar (transmission) cycle…the continuous-wave energy may be transmitted via one of the multiple sets of antenna associated with a FOV for the target and at least one or more auxiliary antennas (paragraph 28); multiple sets of transmit antennas may include a first set of antennas for shorter-range detection, a second set of antennas for a medium-range detection, and a third set of antennas for a longer-range detection…the first set, the second set and third set are respectively associated with a first wave-shape mode, a second wave-shape mode and a third wave-shape mode, and these sets are also used to mitigate or completely resolve spatial ambiguities associated with an actual direction of arrival of the received reflections (paragraph 30).
Park et al. (US 11,906,618 B2) describes a MIMO radar apparatus…the MIMO radar includes transmitter circuitry which includes a plurality of transmit channels…the transmitter circuitry is configured to transmit, via a first subset of the transmit channels and during a first time interval, concurrent first frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) radar signals with different phase offsets among different transmit channels of the first subset…the different phase offsets are selected in accordance with a first predefined Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) scheme…the transmitter circuitry is further configured to transmit, via a second subset of the transmit channels and during a second time interval subsequent to the first time interval, concurrent second FMCW radar signals with different phase offsets among different transmit channels of the second subset…the different phase offsets are chosen in accordance with a second predefined CDM scheme…the respective phase offsets selected in accordance with the CDM scheme(s) are maintained unchanged for a complete FMCW chirp while for the following FMCW chirp new phase offsets may be selected in accordance with the CDM scheme(s) and maintained unchanged for the complete FMCW chirp etc. …the CDM scheme(s) may chirp-wise CDM schemes where the specific phase settings for a CDM code are maintained for the respective subset of transmit channels over the complete period of the FMCW chirp and then changed for the next chirp (column 2 lines 2-32); a subset of transmit channels includes a first and at least a second transmit channel… embodiments are not limited to two transmit channel within a subset…the transmitter circuitry is configured to transmit first FMCW chirps of the first transmit channel with a first phase offset and to transmit second FMCW chirps of the second transmit channel with a second phase offset…the first FMCW chirps of the first transmit channel may be interleaved with the second FMCW chirps of the second transmit channel…the first and the second phase offsets may differ by a predetermined phase value…the transmitter circuitry may be configured to shift the phase of every second FMCW chirp of the second transmit branch by a predefined value (column 3 lines 8-24).
Contact Information
/NUZHAT PERVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648
1 The set of all synthesizers one per TX antenna are synthesizer generating multiple chirps.
2 The examiner interprets claimed “IF” signal as beat signal or baseband signal.
3 The mixer produces claimed “IF” signal.
4 The set of all synthesizers one per TX antenna are synthesizer generating multiple chirps.
5 Hence processing independent of second FMCW device.
6 The examiner interprets claimed “IF” signal as beat signal or baseband signal.
7 The mixer produces claimed “IF” signal.