DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12, 14 and 18 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amendment of 06/17/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fehrenbach et al (US 2022/0078684 A1) in view of Xu et al (US 2021/0051534 A1) in further view of Uchino et al (US 2022/0279363 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fehrenbach teaches a method for wireless communication comprising:
sending, by a source node to a target node, a conditional handover (CHO) request that includes candidate cell information (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2; step 240, [0101]; CHO request; Figs. 3 and 9, [0139], [0295]-[0297] the CHO including candidate target cells);
receiving, by the source node from the target node, at least one candidate cell configuration in a CHO request response to the CHO request (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2; step 250, [0102] CHO ACK; Fig. 9, [0233]-[0234]); and
sending, by the source node to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message including at least one candidate cell configuration and one or more CHO execution conditions for each candidate cell to cause a CHO process from a source cell to a target candidate cell based on a candidate cell configuration among the at least one candidate cell configuration when the one or more CHO execution conditions for an associated candidate cell are met (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2: step 140, [0015], [103]-[0104] CHO configuration 140; Fig. 9).
Fehrenbach does not explicitly disclose but Xu teaches wherein the RRC message comprises, for each candidate cell configuration, an indication indicating whether a corresponding candidate cell configuration is maintained after completion of the CHO process, wherein the UE maintains only the candidate cell configuration that is indicated as being maintained in the RRC message after completion of the conditional handover, and wherein the UE performs a subsequent conditional handover based on the maintained candidate cell configuration (Xu: Fig. 15:2524; [0097]-[0098], [0105] UE receives CHO configuration that need to be kept/maintained and performs handover based on the maintained CHO configurations).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fehrenbach wherein the RRC message comprises, for each candidate cell configuration, an indication indicating whether a corresponding candidate cell configuration is maintained after completion of the CHO process, wherein the UE maintains only the candidate cell configuration that is indicated as being maintained in the RRC message after completion of the conditional handover, and wherein the UE performs a subsequent conditional handover based on the maintained candidate cell configuration as disclosed by Xu to provide a system for consecutive conditional handovers (Xu: Abstract).
Fehrenbach in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE.
Uchino teaches wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE (Uchino: Fig. 27; [0304]-[0307], UE sends in RRC Reconfiguration Complete message a the configuration of the candidate cell maintained).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fehrenbach in view of Xu wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE as disclosed by Uchino to provide a system for efficient conditional handover (Uchino: [0010]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 7, Fehrenbach teaches a method for wireless communication comprising:
receiving, by a target node from a source node, a conditional handover (CHO) request that includes candidate cell information (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2; step 240, [0101]; CHO request; Figs. 3 and 9, [0139], [0295]-[0297] the CHO including candidate target cells);
sending, by the target node to the source node, at least one candidate cell configuration in a CHO request response to the CHO request (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2; step 250, [0102] CHO ACK; Fig. 9, [0233]-[0234]); and
wherein the source node sends to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message including at least one candidate cell configuration and one or more CHO execution conditions for each candidate cell to cause a CHO process from a source cell to a target candidate cell based on a candidate cell configuration among the at least one candidate cell configuration when the one or more CHO execution conditions for an associated candidate cell are met (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2: step 140, [0015], [103]-[0104] CHO configuration 140; Fig. 9).
Fehrenbach does not explicitly disclose but Xu teaches wherein the RRC message comprises, for each candidate cell configuration, an indication indicating whether a corresponding candidate cell configuration is maintained after completion of the CHO process, wherein the UE maintains only the candidate cell configuration that is indicated as being maintained in the RRC message after completion of the conditional handover, and wherein the UE performs a subsequent conditional handover based on the maintained candidate cell configuration (Xu: Fig. 15:2524; [0097]-[0098], [0105] UE receives CHO configuration that need to be kept/maintained and performs handover based on the maintained CHO configurations).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fehrenbach wherein the RRC message comprises, for each candidate cell configuration, an indication indicating whether a corresponding candidate cell configuration is maintained after completion of the CHO process, wherein the UE maintains only the candidate cell configuration that is indicated as being maintained in the RRC message after completion of the conditional handover, and wherein the UE performs a subsequent conditional handover based on the maintained candidate cell configuration as disclosed by Xu to provide a system for consecutive conditional handovers (Xu: Abstract).
Fehrenbach in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE.
Uchino teaches wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE (Uchino: Fig. 27; [0304]-[0307], UE sends in RRC Reconfiguration Complete message a the configuration of the candidate cell maintained).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fehrenbach in view of Xu wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE as disclosed by Uchino to provide a system for efficient conditional handover (Uchino: [0010]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 14, Fehrenbach teaches a method for wireless communication comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a source node, a radio resource control (RRC) message including at least one candidate cell configuration and one or more conditional handover (CHO) execution conditions for each candidate cell (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2: step 140, [0015], [103]-[0104] CHO configuration 140; Fig. 9); and
performing, by the UE, a CHO process from a source cell to a target candidate cell based on the candidate cell configuration when the one or more CHO execution conditions for an associated candidate cell are met (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2: step 150 and 350, [103]-[0104] CHO configuration 140; Fig. 9, CHO completed).
Fehrenbach does not explicitly disclose but Xu teaches wherein the RRC message comprises, for each candidate cell configuration, an indication indicating whether a corresponding candidate cell configuration is maintained after completion of the CHO process, wherein the UE maintains only the candidate cell configuration that is indicated as being maintained in the RRC message after completion of the conditional handover, and wherein the UE performs a subsequent conditional handover based on the maintained candidate cell configuration (Xu: Fig. 15:2524; [0097]-[0098], [0105] UE receives CHO configuration that need to be kept/maintained and performs handover based on the maintained CHO configurations); maintaining, by the UE, only the candidate cell configuration that is indicated as being maintained in the RRC message after completion of the conditional handover; and performing, by the UE, a subsequent conditional handover based on the maintained candidate cell configuration (Xu: Fig. 15; [0097]-[0099]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fehrenbach wherein the RRC message comprises, for each candidate cell configuration, an indication indicating whether a corresponding candidate cell configuration is maintained after completion of the CHO process, wherein the UE maintains only the candidate cell configuration that is indicated as being maintained in the RRC message after completion of the conditional handover, and wherein the UE performs a subsequent conditional handover based on the maintained candidate cell configuration as disclosed by Xu to provide a system for consecutive conditional handovers (Xu: Abstract).
Fehrenbach in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE.
Uchino teaches wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE (Uchino: Fig. 27; [0304]-[0307], UE sends in RRC Reconfiguration Complete message a the configuration of the candidate cell maintained).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fehrenbach in view of Xu wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE as disclosed by Uchino to provide a system for efficient conditional handover (Uchino: [0010]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 18, Fehrenbach teaches a wireless communications apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to read code from the memory and implement a method:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a source node, a radio resource control (RRC) message including at least one candidate cell configuration and one or more conditional handover (CHO) execution conditions for each candidate cell (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2: step 140, [0015], [103]-[0104] CHO configuration 140; Fig. 9); and
performing, by the UE, a CHO process from a source cell to a target candidate cell based on a candidate cell configuration among the at least one candidate cell configuration when the one or more CHO execution conditions for an associated candidate cell are met (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2: step 150 and 350, [103]-[0104] CHO configuration 140; Fig. 9, CHO completed).
Fehrenbach does not explicitly disclose but Xu teaches wherein the RRC message comprises, for each candidate cell configuration, an indication indicating whether a corresponding candidate cell configuration is maintained after completion of the CHO process, wherein the UE maintains only the candidate cell configuration that is indicated as being maintained in the RRC message after completion of the conditional handover, and wherein the UE performs a subsequent conditional handover based on the maintained candidate cell configuration (Xu: Fig. 15:2524; [0097]-[0098], [0105] UE receives CHO configuration that need to be kept/maintained and performs handover based on the maintained CHO configurations) maintaining, by the UE, only the candidate cell configuration that is indicated as being maintained in the RRC message after completion of the conditional handover; and performing, by the UE, a subsequent conditional handover based on the maintained candidate cell configuration (Xu: Fig. 15; [0097]-[0099]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fehrenbach wherein the RRC message comprises, for each candidate cell configuration, an indication indicating whether a corresponding candidate cell configuration is maintained after completion of the CHO process, wherein the UE maintains only the candidate cell configuration that is indicated as being maintained in the RRC message after completion of the conditional handover, and wherein the UE performs a subsequent conditional handover based on the maintained candidate cell configuration as disclosed by Xu to provide a system for consecutive conditional handovers (Xu: Abstract).
Fehrenbach in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE.
Uchino teaches wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE (Uchino: Fig. 27; [0304]-[0307], UE sends in RRC Reconfiguration Complete message a the configuration of the candidate cell maintained).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fehrenbach in view of Xu wherein, upon completion of the CHO, the UE transmits, to the target node, an RRC reconfiguration complete message including candidate cell identification information of at least one candidate cell for which the candidate cell configuration is maintained at the UE as disclosed by Uchino to provide a system for efficient conditional handover (Uchino: [0010]-[0013]).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Fehrenbach teaches wherein the candidate cell information comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification information that is requested to prepare the CHO ((Fehrenbach: Figs. 2 and 9, [0296] cell identifiers of the candidate target cells), or a candidate cell identification information that has been configured as a CHO candidate.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Fehrenbach teaches wherein the CHO request comprises at least one of an indication to indicate a CHO from the target cell back to the source cell after execution of a CHO to one target cell is allowed, or an indication to indicate a CHO from the target cell to other target cells after execution of a CHO to one target cell is allowed (Fehrenbach: Figs. 2 and 9, [0166]).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Fehrenbach teaches wherein the candidate cell configuration of the at least one candidate cell configuration includes the execution condition for at least one of source primary cell (PCell), or the candidate cell that has been configured as a CHO candidate (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2: step 140 and Fig. 9, [0102]-[0104]).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Fehrenbach teaches receiving, by the source node from the target node, a CHO success message to inform a successful completion of the CHO process; and sending, by the source node to the target node, a candidate cell identification information configured by other target nodes (Fehrenbach: Fig. 2 and Fig. 9, [0103], [0125]).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478