DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,648,137. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent discloses:
Claim 1, A transport device (column 19, line 19) comprising: a transport tube that extends from a rear end of a medical device (column 20, line 24-25), wherein the transport tube has a double tube structure comprising an inner tube and an outer tube (column 20, lines 26-27); the inner tube projects from a distal end part of the outer tube, and a distal end part of the inner tube is connected to the medical device (column 20, lines 28-30); and the outer tube and the inner tube are fixed at a proximal end part of the outer tube (column 20, 31-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Green et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0262920 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Green et al. discloses a transport device 100 comprising: a transport tube that extends from a rear end of a medical device 2, wherein the transport tube 100 has a double tube structure comprising an inner tube 110 and an outer tube 120 (as seen in Figure 4-13); the inner tube 110 projects from a distal end part of the outer tube 120 (paragraph [0053]), and a distal end part of the inner tube is connected to the medical device 2 (paragraph [0063] and as seen in Figure 6-7 and paragraph [0063]); and the outer tube 120 and the inner tube 110 are fixed at a proximal end part of the outer tube 120 (as seen in Figure 13, paragraph [0060]).
Regarding Claim 2, Green et al. discloses wherein a rigidity of the proximal end part of the outer tube is lower than a rigidity of the distal end part of the inner tube (paragraphs [0053], [0079-0081]).
Regarding Claim 3, Green et al. discloses wherein a material of the proximal end part of the outer tube 120 is lower than a material of the distal end part of the inner tube 110 (paragraph [0061], the inner tubular member comprises a multi-lumen configuration having an inflation lumen 24, guidewire lumen 320 and a fluid lumen 310, wherein the outer tube 120 is described as having flexibility to be retracted in a proximal direction, see paragraphs [0043],[0045], [0053], [0079]) .
Regarding Claim 4, Green et al. discloses wherein a knitting of a fiber of the proximal end part of the outer tube is lower than a knitting of a fiber of the distal end part of the inner tube (paragraph [0082], Green discloses a reinforcing layer including a tube having a woven fabric such as carbon fibers encased in a polymer matrix can be disposed on a distal end portion of the outer and inner tube, therefore, the proximal part of the outer tube would have lower knitting fibers than a distal end part of the inner tube).
Regarding Claim 5, Green et al. discloses wherein a material and a knitting of a fiber of the proximal end part of the outer tube is lower than a material and a knitting of a fiber of the distal end part of the inner tube (paragraph [0082], Green discloses a reinforcing layer including a tube having a woven fabric such as carbon fibers encased in a polymer matrix can be disposed on a distal end portion of the outer and inner tube, therefore, the proximal part of the outer tube would have lower knitting fibers than a distal end part of the inner tube).
Conclusion
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774