DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, Claims 12-19 in the reply filed on 3/19/26is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. “Variation in the In2O3 Crystal Phase alters Catalytic Performance Towards the Reverse Water Gas Shift Reaction” and in view of Rossi et al. “Functionalization of Indium Oxide for Empowered Detection of CO2 over an Extra-Wide Range of concentrations”.
Wang describes a In2O3 catalyst (title) for use in CO2 hydrogenation (page 3265, right col, “Catalytic Testing”, line 1-2), which forms CO (page 3267, left col., para. 2). In tests, Wang teaches performing the CO2 hydrogenation in a fixed-bed reactor (see page 3265, right col., “Catalytic Testing”, line 1-3).
As to the catalyst being alkali doped, Wang does not teach this feature.
Rossi explains that when In2O3 is functionalized by Na, it enhances the surface reactivity of the oxide and promotes chemisorption of CO2 (abstract). Sodium increases the concentration of active sites and strengthens CO2 adsorption and reaction at the surface of the indium oxide (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indium oxide catalyst of Wang with sodium, as taught by Rossi because Rossi explains that sodium enhances the surface reactivity of the oxide and promotes chemisorption of CO2 and increases the concentration of active sites and strengthens CO2 adsorption and reaction at the surface.
As to Claims 13, 14 and 15, the specification explains that the way to produce a selectivity of the catalyst towards CO by at least 97.9% and away from methanol by less than 1.2% is by modifying the catalyst with alkali (see published specification, para. 89).
Therefore, since the composition contains alkali-modified In2O3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition modified in the same way would have the same selectivity features.
As to Claim 16, Wang teaches that the process is performed at about 450 degrees C (see Fig. 4 and page 3267, left col, para. 2, 3).
As to Claim 17, Wang teaches that the pressure of the process is operated at under 0.1 MPa (page 3265, right col., “Catalytic Testing”, lines 1-3).
As to Claim 18, Wang teaches that the feed gas into the catalyst is composed of CO2 and H2 (page 3265, right col, “Catalytic Testing”, lines 11-12).
As to Claim 19, Wang teaches that the ratio of gas is from 56:28 (see page 3265, right col. ““Catalytic Testing”, lines 11-12). Although Wang does not state that the ratio is in terms of moles, given that other compositions do describe the weight (for example, see “Synthesis of In2O3”section and the section under “catalytic testing” describing the weight of the catalyst), since the ratio is not in terms of weight, does not describe weights or grams, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the ratio between CO2 and H2 describes a molar ratio.
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 May 14, 2026