DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to amendment filed on 03/10/2026. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-20 were previously pending. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 03/10/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Parichehrehteroujeni et al., US 2024/0056872 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5.1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
5.2. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
5.3. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al., (“Kumar.46”, US 2025/0330846 A1) in view of Parichehrehteroujeni et al., (“Pari”, US 2024/0056872 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kumar.46 teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including configuration information on an application layer measurement (Kumar.46, FIG.3, wireless communications system 300, network entity 105-a, UE 115-a, control message 310, [0129]: the control message 310 may indicate a single QoE measurement and reporting configuration that is usable for the connected state, the idle state, and the inactive state. In such cases, the control message 310 may include an RRCReconfiguration message, where the QoE measurement and reporting configuration is indicated via an OtherConfig field of the RRCReconfiguration message; [0120]: the wireless communications system 300 may support RAN-visible parameters for additional service types (e.g., AR, MR, MBS) through coordination with UE application layer; [0157]: in accordance with a QoE measurement and reporting configuration indicated via the control message, the QoE measurements may be associated with an upper layer (e.g., application layer measurements));
transitioning from an RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state (Kumar.46, [0130]: the network entity 105-a may release the UE 115-a from the connected state to the idle or inactive state via an RRCRelease message);
in case that the configuration information includes information for applying a plurality of configurations for the application layer measurement to the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state, generating a plurality of reports of the application layer measurement for the RRC inactive state, based on the plurality of configurations (Kumar.46, FIG.3, control message 310, [0133]: QoE measurement and reporting configurations (e.g., QoE measurement and reporting configurations for MBS in idle and inactive states) for both RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE measurements may be indicated in an RRCRelease message (e.g., control message 310), FIG.3, QoE reports 315, [0134]: QoE reporting may be paused, and QoE measurements (e.g., QoE reports 315) may be stored at the UE 115-a Access Stratum (AS) or application (APP) layer until the UE 115-a returns to the connected state);
receiving, from the base station, an RRC resume message including information to report the application layer measurement (Kumar.46, FIG.5, network entity 105-c, UE 115-c, S540, [0190]): the UE 115-c may receive, from the network entity 105-c, a resume message (e.g., RRCResume); the network entity 105-c may indicate or configure an signaling radio bearer (SRB) via the resume message);
transmitting, to the base station, an RRC resume complete message (Kumar.46, FIG.5, S545, [0191]: the UE 115-c may transmit a resume complete message (e.g., RRCResumeComplete) to the network entity 105-c); and
transmitting, to the base station, at least one report of the application layer measurement stored in the memory, after a transmission of the RRC resume complete message (Kumar.46, FIG.4, network entity 105-b, UE 115-b, S445, S450, S480, [0179]: the UE 115-b may transmit a QoE report to the network entity 105-b, where the QoE report includes at least the set of QoE measurements performed in the idle/inactive state at S445, and which were stored in memory at S450; FIG.5, S570, [0198], the UE 115-c may transmit a QoE report to the network entity 105-c; FIG.5, S555, [0194]: after the UE 115-c transmit a resume complete message (e.g., RRCResumeComplete message) to the network entity 105-c based on the signaling at S550).
Kumar.46 does not expressly teach
wherein each of the plurality of configurations includes information on a service type and information on a priority associated with the service type;
in case that a memory of the UE storing the plurality of reports becomes full, discarding a report with a lowest priority among the plurality of reports based on the information on the priority.
Pari teaches
wherein each of the plurality of configurations includes information on a service type and information on a priority associated with the service type (Pari, [0178]: The network may thus configure a priority order between different service types. The priority order may also be configured with QoE measurement configuration granularity and realized through a priority number included in each QoE measurement configuration);
in case that a memory of the UE storing the plurality of reports becomes full, discarding a report with a lowest priority among the plurality of reports based on the information on the priority (Pari, [0157]: performing one or more actions upon the storage portion reaching the configured maximum size, [0172-174]: The UE deletes a report pertaining to a specific service type in accordance with a priority order, wherein this deletion leaves room for further measurement data).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate “selectively deleting QoE measurement reports” of Pari into the invention of Kumar.46. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow the UE discards the generated reports according to the priority provided for each configuration, if the memory becomes full with the generated reports in order to efficiently managing QoE measurement reports generated according to QoE measurement configurations in an RRC inactive state. Including “selectively deleting QoE measurement reports” of Pari into the invention of Kumar.46 was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Pari.
Regarding Claim 3, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information further includes an application layer measurement configuration for the RRC connected state, and wherein a configuration for the application layer measurement is used for quality of experience (QoE) measurements of a multicast broadcast service (MBS) broadcast service (Kumar.46, FIG.3, [0129]: QoE measurement and reporting configuration usable for MBS for all RRC states; [0056]: QoE measurements may include upper layer measurements (e.g., application layer measurements)).
Regarding Claim 5, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the RRC resume complete message includes information indicating that the UE has information associated with a configuration for the application layer measurement (Kumar.46, FIG.5, S555, [0194]: UE 115-c may transmit a resume complete message (e.g., RRCResumeComplete message) to the network entity 105-c indicating QoE data availability).
Regarding Claim 6, Kumar.46 teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including configuration information on an application layer measurement, wherein the configuration information includes information for applying a plurality of configurations for the application layer measurement to an RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state (Kumar.46, FIG.3, wireless communications system 300, network entity 105-a, UE 115-a, control message 310, [0129]: the control message 310 may indicate a single QoE measurement and reporting configuration that is usable for the connected state, the idle state, and the inactive state. In such cases, the control message 310 may include an RRCReconfiguration message, where the QoE measurement and reporting configuration is indicated via an OtherConfig field of the RRCReconfiguration message; [0120]: the wireless communications system 300 may support RAN-visible parameters for additional service types (e.g., AR, MR, MBS) through coordination with UE application layer; FIG.3, QoE reports 315, [0134]: QoE reporting may be paused, and QoE measurements (e.g., QoE reports 315) may be stored at the UE 115-a Access Stratum (AS) or application (APP) layer until the UE 115-a returns to the connected state; [0157]: in accordance with a QoE measurement and reporting configuration indicated via the control message, the QoE measurements may be associated with an upper layer (e.g., application layer measurements));
transmitting, to the UE, an RRC release message to transit the UE from an RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state (Kumar.46, [0130]: the network entity 105-a may release the UE 115-a from the connected state to the idle or inactive state via an RRCRelease message);
transmitting, to the UE, an RRC resume message including information to report an application layer measurement (Kumar.46, FIG.5, network entity 105-c, UE 115-c, S540, [0190]): the UE 115-c may receive, from the network entity 105-c, a resume message (e.g., RRCResume); the network entity 105-c may indicate or configure an signaling radio bearer (e.g., SRB4) via the resume message);
receiving, from the UE, an RRC resume complete message (Kumar.46, FIG.5, S545, [0191]: the UE 115-c may transmit a resume complete message (e.g., RRCResumeComplete) to the network entity 105-c); and
receiving, from the UE, at least one report among a plurality of reports of the application layer measurement for the RRC inactive state, after a reception of the RRC resume complete message, wherein the plurality of reports are associated with the plurality of configurations (Kumar.46, FIG.4, network entity 105-b, UE 115-b, S445, S450, S480, [0179]: the UE 115-b may transmit a QoE report to the network entity 105-b, where the QoE report includes at least the set of QoE measurements performed in the idle/inactive state at S445, and which were stored in memory at S450; FIG.5, S570, [0198], 185: the UE 115-c may transmit a QoE report to the network entity 105-c, where the QoE report includes the QoE measurements performed; transmit the QoE report to the network entity 105-c via the SRB that was indicated/configured via the Resume Message; FIG.3, control message 310, [0133]: QoE measurement and reporting configurations (e.g., QoE measurement and reporting configurations for MBS in idle and inactive states) for both RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE measurements may be indicated in an RRCRelease message (e.g., control message 310))
Kumar.46 does not expressly teach
wherein each of the plurality of configurations includes information on a service type and information on a priority associated with the service type.
Pari teaches (Pari, [0178]: The network may thus configure a priority order between different service types. The priority order may also be configured with QoE measurement configuration granularity and realized through a priority number included in each QoE measurement configuration).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate “selectively deleting QoE measurement reports” of Pari into the invention of Kumar.46. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow the UE discards the generated reports according to the priority provided for each configuration, if the memory becomes full with the generated reports in order to efficiently managing QoE measurement reports generated according to QoE measurement configurations in an RRC inactive state. Including “selectively deleting QoE measurement reports” of Pari into the invention of Kumar.46 was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Pari.
Regarding Claim 8, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the configuration information further includes an application layer measurement configuration for the RRC connected state, and wherein a configuration for the application layer measurement is used for quality of experience (QoE) measurements of a multicast broadcast service (MBS) broadcast service (Kumar.46, FIG.3, [0129]: QoE measurement and reporting configuration usable for MBS for all RRC states; [0056]: QoE measurements may include upper layer measurements (e.g., application layer measurements).
Regarding Claim 10, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the RRC resume complete message includes information indicating that the UE has information associated with a configuration for the application layer measurement (Kumar.46, FIG.5, S555, [0194]: UE 115-c may transmit a resume complete message (e.g., RRCResumeComplete message) to the network entity 105-c indicating QoE data availability).
Regarding Claim 11, Kumar.46 teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to (Kumar.46, FIG.10, device 1005 (UE 115), transceiver 1015, processor 1040, [0244]: UE 115 includes a transceiver 105, and processor 1040):
control the transceiver to receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including configuration information on an application layer measurement (Kumar.46, FIG.3, wireless communications system 300, network entity 105-a, UE 115-a, control message 310, [0129]: the control message 310 may indicate a single QoE measurement and reporting configuration that is usable for the connected state, the idle state, and the inactive state. In such cases, the control message 310 may include an RRCReconfiguration message, where the QoE measurement and reporting configuration is indicated via an OtherConfig field of the RRCReconfiguration message; [0120]: the wireless communications system 300 may support RAN-visible parameters for additional service types (e.g., AR, MR, MBS) through coordination with UE application layer; [0157]: in accordance with a QoE measurement and reporting configuration indicated via the control message, the QoE measurements may be associated with an upper layer (e.g., application layer measurements)),
transition from an RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state (Kumar.46, [0130]: the network entity 105-a may release the UE 115-a from the connected state to the idle or inactive state via an RRCRelease message),
in case that the configuration information includes information for applying a plurality of configurations for the application layer measurement to the RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state, generating a plurality of reports of the application layer measurement for the RRC inactive state, based on the plurality of configurations (Kumar.46, FIG.3, control message 310, [0133]: QoE measurement and reporting configurations (e.g., QoE measurement and reporting configurations for MBS in idle and inactive states) for both RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE measurements may be indicated in an RRCRelease message (e.g., control message 310); FIG.3, QoE reports 315, [0134]: QoE reporting may be paused, and QoE measurements (e.g., QoE reports 315) may be stored at the UE 115-a Access Stratum (AS) or application (APP) layer until the UE 115-a returns to the connected state),
control the transceiver to receive, from the base station, an RRC resume message including information to report the application layer measurement (Kumar.46, FIG.5, network entity 105-c, UE 115-c, S540, [0190]): the UE 115-c may receive, from the network entity 105-c, a resume message (e.g., RRCResume); the network entity 105-c may indicate or configure an signaling radio bearer (e.g., SRB4) via the resume message),
control the transceiver to transmit, to the base station, an RRC resume complete message (Kumar.46, FIG.5, S545, [0191]: the UE 115-c may transmit a resume complete message (e.g., RRCResumeComplete) to the network entity 105-c), and
control the transceiver to transmit, to the base station, at least one report of the application layer measurement stored in the memory, after a transmission of the RRC resume complete message (Kumar.46, FIG.4, network entity 105-b, UE 115-b, S445, S450, S480, [0179]: the UE 115-b may transmit a QoE report to the network entity 105-b, where the QoE report includes at least the .
Kumar.46 does not expressly teach
wherein each of the plurality of configurations includes information on a service type and information on a priority associated with the service type,
in case that a memory of the UE storing the plurality of reports becomes full, discard a report with a lowest priority among the plurality of reports based on the information on the priority,
Pari teaches
wherein each of the plurality of configurations includes information on a service type and information on a priority associated with the service type (Pari, [0178]: The network may thus configure a priority order between different service types. The priority order may also be configured with QoE measurement configuration granularity and realized through a priority number included in each QoE measurement configuration),
in case that a memory of the UE storing the plurality of reports becomes full, discard a report with a lowest priority among the plurality of reports based on the information on the priority (Pari, [0157]: performing one or more actions upon the storage portion reaching the configured maximum size, [0172-174]: The UE deletes a report pertaining to a specific service type in accordance with a priority order, wherein this deletion leaves room for further measurement data).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate “selectively deleting QoE measurement reports” of Pari into the invention of Kumar.46. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow the UE discards the generated reports according to the priority provided for each configuration, if the memory becomes full with the generated reports in order to efficiently managing QoE measurement reports generated according to QoE measurement configurations in an RRC inactive state. Including “selectively deleting QoE measurement reports” of Pari into the invention of Kumar.46 was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Pari.
Regarding Claim 13, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the UE of claim 11,
wherein the configuration information further includes an application layer measurement configuration for the RRC connected state, and wherein a configuration for the application layer measurement is used for quality of experience (QoE) measurements of a multicast broadcast service (MBS) broadcast service (Kumar.46, FIG.3, [0129]: QoE measurement and reporting configuration usable for MBS for all RRC states; [0056]: QoE measurements may include upper layer measurements (e.g., application layer measurements).
Regarding Claim 15, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the UE of claim 11,
wherein the RRC resume complete message includes information indicating that the UE has information associated with a configuration for the application layer measurement (Kumar.46, FIG.5, S555, [0194]: UE 115-c may transmit a resume complete message (e.g., RRCResumeComplete message) to the network entity 105-c indicating QoE data availability).
Regarding Claim 16, Kumar.46 teaches a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to (Kumar.46, FIG.14, device 1405 (network entity 104), transceiver 1410, processor 1435, [0277]: network entity 104 includes a transceiver 1410 and processor 1435):
control the transceiver to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including configuration information on an application layer measurement, wherein the configuration information includes information for applying a plurality of configurations for the application layer measurement to an RRC inactive state and an RRC idle state (Kumar.46, FIG.3, wireless communications system 300, network entity 105-a, UE 115-a, control message 310, [0129]: the control message 310 may indicate a single QoE measurement and reporting configuration that is usable for the connected state, the idle state, and the inactive state. In such cases, the control message 310 may include an RRCReconfiguration message, where the QoE measurement and reporting configuration is indicated via an OtherConfig field of the RRCReconfiguration message; [0120]: the wireless communications system 300 may support RAN-visible parameters for additional service types (e.g., AR, MR, MBS) through coordination with UE application layer; FIG.3, control message 310, [0133]: QoE measurement and reporting configurations (e.g., QoE measurement and reporting configurations for MBS in idle and inactive states) for both RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE measurements may be indicated in an RRCRelease message (e.g., control message 310); FIG.3, QoE reports 315, [0134]: QoE reporting may be paused, and QoE measurements (e.g., QoE reports 315) may be stored at the UE 115-a Access Stratum (AS) or application (APP) layer until the UE 115-a returns to the connected state),
control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, an RRC release message to transit the UE from an RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state (Kumar.46, [0130]: the network entity 105-a may release the UE 115-a from the connected state to the idle or inactive state via an RRCRelease message),
control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, an RRC resume message including information to report the application layer measurement (Kumar.46, FIG.5, network entity 105-c, UE 115-c, S540, [0190]): the UE 115-c may receive, from the network entity 105-c, a resume message (e.g., RRCResume); the network entity 105-c may indicate or configure an signaling radio bearer (e.g., SRB4) via the resume message),
control the transceiver to receive, from the UE, an RRC resume complete message (Kumar.46, FIG.5, S545, [0191]: the UE 115-c may transmit a resume complete message (e.g., RRCResumeComplete) to the network entity 105-c), and
control the transceiver to receive, from the UE, at least one report among a plurality of reports of the application layer measurement for the RRC inactive states after a reception of the RRC resume complete message, wherein the plurality of reports are associated with the plurality of configurations (Kumar.46, Kumar.46, FIG.4, network entity 105-b, UE 115-b, S445, S450, S480, [0179]: the UE 115-b may transmit a QoE report to the network entity 105-b, where the QoE report includes at least the set of QoE measurements performed in the idle/inactive state at S445, and which were stored in memory at S450; FIG.5, S570, [0198], the UE 115-c may transmit a QoE report to the network entity 105-c; FIG.5, S555, [0194]: after the UE 115-c transmit a resume complete message (e.g., RRCResumeComplete message) to the network entity 105-c based on the signaling at S550; FIG.3, control message 310, [0133]: QoE measurement and reporting configurations (e.g., QoE measurement and reporting configurations for MBS in idle and inactive states) for both RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE measurements may be indicated in an RRCRelease message (e.g., control message 310).
Kumar.46 does not expressly teach
wherein each of the plurality of configurations includes information on a service type and information on a priority associated with the service type.
Pari teaches (Pari, [0178]: The network may thus configure a priority order between different service types. The priority order may also be configured with QoE measurement configuration granularity and realized through a priority number included in each QoE measurement configuration)
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate “selectively deleting QoE measurement reports” of Pari into the invention of Kumar.46. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow the UE discards the generated reports according to the priority provided for each configuration, if the memory becomes full with the generated reports in order to efficiently managing QoE measurement reports generated according to QoE measurement configurations in an RRC inactive state. Including “selectively deleting QoE measurement reports” of Pari into the invention of Kumar.46 was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Pari.
Regarding Claim 18, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the base station of claim 16, wherein the configuration information further includes an application layer measurement configuration for the RRC connected state, and wherein a configuration for the application layer measurement is used for quality of experience (QoE) measurements of a multicast broadcast service (MBS) broadcast service (Kumar.46, FIG.3, [0129]: QoE measurement and reporting configuration usable for MBS for all RRC states; [0056]: QoE measurements may include upper layer measurements (e.g., application layer measurements).
Regarding Claim 20, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the base station of claim 16,
wherein the RRC resume complete message includes information indicating that the UE has information associated with a configuration for the application layer measurement (Kumar.46, FIG.5, S555, [0194]: UE 115-c may transmit a resume complete message (e.g., RRCResumeComplete message) to the network entity 105-c indicating QoE data availability).
5.4. Claims 4, 9, 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al., (“Kumar.46”, US 2025/0330846 A1) in view of Parichehrehteroujeni et al., (“Pari”, US 2024/0056872 A1), and further in view of Kumar et al., ("Kumar.60", US 2022/0217560 A1) ,
Regarding Claim 4, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the method of claim 1, but not expressly teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, capability information including information indicating that the UE supports quality of experience (QoE) measurements in the RRC inactive state and the RRC idle state.
Kumar.60 teaches (Kumar.60, FIG.4, UE 402, BS 404, S410, [0070]: The UE 402 may transmit, an indication of the determined UE capabilities to the BS 404, based on the UE capabilities determined, (e.g., in association with UE capability 408(5) may be a QoE measurement capability for an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state of the UE 402).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate “UE’s capabilities” of Kumar.60 into the invention of Kumar.46-Pari. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allows the UE to determine a “capability of the UE” for performing QoE measurements in RRC idle or inactive state, thus increasing performance of the RAN in efficient manner. Including “UE’s capabilities” of Kumar.60 into the invention of Kumar.46-Pari was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Kumar.60.
Regarding Claim 9, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the method of claim 6, but not expressly teaches further comprising receiving, from the UE, capability information including information indicating that the UE supports quality of experience (QoE) measurements in the RRC inactive state and the RRC idle state.
Kumar.60 teaches (Kumar.60, FIG.4, UE 402, BS 404, , S410, [0070]: The UE 402 may transmit, an indication of the determined UE capabilities to the BS 404, based on the UE capabilities determined, (e.g., in association with UE capability 408(5) may be a QoE measurement capability for an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state of the UE 402).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate “UE’s capabilities” of Kumar.60 into the invention of Kumar.46-Pari. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allows the UE to determine a “capability of the UE” for performing QoE measurements in RRC idle or inactive state, thus increasing performance of the RAN in efficient manner. Including “UE’s capabilities” of Kumar.60 into the invention of Kumar.46-Pari was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Kumar.60.
Regarding Claim 14, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the UE of claim 11, but not expressly teaches
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to the base station, capability information including information indicating that the UE supports quality of experience(QoE) measurements in the RRC inactive state and the RRC idle state.
Kumar.60 teaches (Kumar.60, FIG.4, UE 402, BS 404, , S410, [0070]: The UE 402 may transmit, an indication of the determined UE capabilities to the BS 404, based on the UE capabilities determined, (e.g., in association with UE capability 408(5) may be a QoE measurement capability for an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state of the UE 402).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate “UE’s capabilities” of Kumar.60 into the invention of Kumar.46-Pari. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allows the UE to determine a “capability of the UE” for performing QoE measurements in RRC idle or inactive state, thus increasing performance of the RAN in efficient manner. Including “UE’s capabilities” of Kumar.60 into the invention of Kumar.46-Pari was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Kumar.60.
Regarding Claim 19, Kumar.46-Pari teaches the base station of claim 16, but not expressly teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to
control the transceiver to receive, from the UE, capability information including information indicating that the UE supports quality of experience (QoE) measurements in the RRC inactive state and the RRC idle state.
Kumar.60 teaches (Kumar.60, FIG.4, UE 402, BS 404, , S410, [0070]: The UE 402 may transmit, an indication of the determined UE capabilities to the BS 404, based on the UE capabilities determined, (e.g., in association with UE capability 408(5) may be a QoE measurement capability for an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state of the UE 402).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate “UE’s capabilities” of Kumar.60 into the invention of Kumar.46-Pari. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allows the UE to determine a “capability of the UE” for performing QoE measurements in RRC idle or inactive state, thus increasing performance of the RAN in efficient manner. Including “UE’s capabilities” of Kumar.60 into the invention of Kumar.46-Pari was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Kumar.60.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Zhang et al., US 2022/0287132 A1, Method For Suspending And Resuming User Plane Downlink Data For User Equipment With Multiple Universal Subscriber Identity Modules, By Buffering Data Destined For UE, In Response To Request To Suspend RRC Connected Mode With RAN Node, FIG.7.
Moyer, US 2021/0182214 A1, Method For Performing Prefetching Process, Involves Storing Prefetch Data In Target Cache According To High-priority Prefetch Request In Response To Determine That Priority Of High-priority Prefetch Request Exceeds Threshold Priority Level, FIG.4.
/C.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446