DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/31/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 recites the limitation “based on the obtain the information“, which seems to be missing a conjunction, preposition, or some other part of speech. Claim 20 recites the limitation “the filtering the light”, which seems to be missing the preposition “of” between “filtering” and “the light”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lanman US PGPub 2019/0361249 A1 (hereinafter, “Lanman”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lanman discloses a head-mounted display (refer to title and abstract describing a head-mounted display and see Fig. 1 depicting display device 100 in the form of spectacles to be worn by a user, par. [0061]) comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 2 shows system 200 with display device 205, which corresponds to display device 100 shown in Fig. 1, par. [0063], where display device 205 includes one or more processors 216, par. [0066], and Fig. 4A shows display device 400 which also corresponds to display device 100 shown in Fig. 1, par. [0095], therefore display device 400 corresponds to display device 205 and as such must include processors corresponding to processors 216); and
memory coupled with the one or more processors (Fig. 2, display device 205 includes memory 228, par. [0066], and display device 400 of Fig. 4 must likewise include memory corresponding to memory 228), the memory storing executable instructions (Fig. 2, processors 216 execute instructions stored in memory 228, par. [0067], therefore display device 400 must likewise include memory storing executable instructions) that when executed by the one or more processors cause the head-mounted display to:
filter, from a light source (Fig. 2, locators 220 may be a light emitting diode, par. [0075], and Fig. 4A, display device 400 includes light projector 402, par. [0095], equivalent to a light source), light incident on a lens (Fig. 1 shows display device 100 is in the form of eyewear and includes display 110, par. [0061], where display 110 is equivalent to a lens in the context of spectacles or eyeglasses, see also Fig. 2 where display device 205 includes one or more lenses that direct light from the arrays of light emission devices, par. [0070], and imaging device 235 may include one or more filters, par. [0080], and Fig. 3 shows display device 300 which includes a plurality of color filters, par. [0094], and Fig. 4, display device 400 includes lenses 412, par. [0100], and light projector 402 includes light emission devices optically coupled with a corresponding array of spatial light modulators to attenuate light emission, par. [0097], equivalent to filtering light from a source incident on a lens, therefore Lanman discloses a head mounted display with processors that cause the filtering of light from a light source incident on a lens);
obtain visual content (Fig. 1, display 110 of display device 100 is configured for presenting visual content, par. [0061], and because both display device 205 and display device 400 of Figs. 2 and 4, respectively, correspond to display device 100, both embodiments of the disclosed device must be functional to obtain visual content); and
cause a display to project the visual content on the lens at a location corresponding to the filtered light (Fig. 2, electronic display 215 projects computer-generated images, par. [0081], therefore display device 400 must likewise project computer-generated images because of the correspondence between display device 205 and display device 400 as described in pars. [0063] and [0095], and in the form of spectacles or eyeglasses as disclosed by Lanman in Fig. 1, the visual content will be displayed at display 110 and its equivalent in the systems 200 and 400).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 1, further comprising:
a filter disposed on the lens (Fig. 4A shows device 400 with combiner 410, where combiner 410 is the equivalent of display 110 in device 100, par. [0095], and Fig. 10A shows combiner 1000, which is an example of combiner 410, par. [0157], includes polarizer 1004 which is disposed on a surface of combiner 1000, par. [0160]), the filter configured to generate the filtered light by at least partially blocking the light source (Fig. 10A, polarizer 1004 converts polarization of rays from linear to circular, par. [0161], equivalent to partially blocking light from light projector 402), wherein the executable instructions when executed by the one or more processors further cause the head-mounted display to obtain, on the lens, the location corresponding to the filtered light (Fig. 2, system 200 includes adjustment module 218 which adjusts a generated image frame of electronic display 215 based on the detected locations of the pupils by instructing portions of electronic display 215 to pass image light to the determined locations of the pupils, par. [0074], equivalent to the head-mounted display obtaining the location corresponding to the filtered light on the lens).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 1, wherein the executable instructions when executed by the one or more processors further cause the head-mounted display to:
adjust an output of a filter that generates the location corresponding to the filtered light (Fig. 2, system 200 includes adjustment module 218 that adjusts the generated image frame of electronic display 215 based on the detected locations of the pupils, par. [0074], and Fig. 12C shows display device 1230 which includes spatial light modulators 1202, par. [0195],where spatial light modulators dynamically adjust the amount of light transmitted by projector 402, par. [0069], [0097]).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 1, wherein the executable instructions when executed by the one or more processors further cause the head-mounted display to:
obtain the visual content associated with an account of a user of the head-mounted display (electronic display 215 displays images to the user in accordance with data received from console 210 and/or processors 216, par. [0068]. therefore system 200, and the other embodiments disclosed by Lanman corresponding with the structure and function of system 200, must be capable of displaying visual content related to a user’s account).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 4, wherein the executable instructions when executed by the one or more processors further cause the head-mounted display to:
cause the display to present the visual content based on a social media account or a video streaming account, and the social media account or the video streaming account is associated with the account (Fig. 2, console 210 is connected via a network such as the Internet to system 200, or console 210 can be self-contained as part of display device 205, to deliver augmented reality, virtual reality, and mixed reality to a user, par. [0063], therefore system 200, and the other embodiments disclosed by Lanman corresponding with the structure and function of system 200, must be capable of displaying visual content related to a user’s social media or video streaming account on the Internet).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 1, further comprising:
one or more image sensors (eye trackers shown in at least Figs. 11A-11J include a low-resolution image sensor, par. [0189], and the eye tracker 408 of display device 400, which is also an element in other embodiments disclosed by Lanman, being configured to determine a position of pupil 406, par. [0096], must include the equivalent of image sensors to function as intended), wherein the executable instructions when executed by the one or more processors further cause the head-mounted display to:
obtain, from the one or more image sensors, information from the light source (Lanman discloses eye tracker 408 is integrated with light projector 402, par. [0096], therefore the system 400 disclosed by Lanman must be capable of obtaining information from the light source, i.e., light projector 402, from the image sensors in eye tracker 408);
filter the light source to generate the filtered light (light projector 402 includes light emission devices optically coupled with a corresponding array of spatial light modulators to attenuate light emission, par. [0097]); and
utilize the information to generate the visual content (combiner 410 reflects and/or guides light 414-1 projected by light projector 402 toward pupil 406 and transmits light 416 from the outside of display device 400, and as a result, computer-generated images formed by light projected from light projector 402 are overlapped with a real-world image, par. [0099]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 6, wherein the executable instructions when executed by the one or more processors further cause the head-mounted display to:
obtain the information from a second display that generates the light source, and the information comprises relevant information to a user of the head-mounted display (Fig. 1, display device 100 in the form of spectacles includes two displays 110, and system 200 includes display device 205 that corresponds to display device 100, therefore system 200 also includes two displays, see also Fig. 12G showing two combiners, 410-1 and 410-2 that are equivalent to displays that present information to a user, and in Fig. 2, console 210 is connected via a network such as the Internet to system 200, or console 210 can be self-contained as part of display device 205, to deliver augmented reality, virtual reality, and mixed reality to a user, par. [0063], therefore system 200, and the other embodiments disclosed by Lanman corresponding with the structure and function of system 200, must be capable of displaying information relevant to a user).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 1, wherein the executable instructions when executed by the one or more processors further cause the head-mounted display to:
obtain the location based on a grayscale region or a blacked out region (Fig. 2, electronic display 215 projects computer-generated images, par. [0081], therefore display device 400 must likewise project computer-generated images because of the correspondence between display device 205 and display device 400 as described in pars. [0063] and [0095], and in the form of spectacles or eyeglasses as disclosed by Lanman in Fig. 1, the visual content will be displayed at display 110 and its equivalent in the systems 200 and 400, and Lanman discloses the position of pupil 406 is determined based on a representative intensity or intensities of detected rays, par. [0171], where grayscale images are representations of the intensity of light received, therefore Lanman discloses the use of a grayscale for determining location of a pupil of a user); and
cause the display to superimpose the visual content over the grayscale region or the blacked out region (computer-generated images projected by electronic display 215 are superimposed with the transmitted ambient light to provide augmented reality images, par. [0081]).
Regarding independent claim 17, Lanman discloses a method for presenting content from a head-mounted display (refer to title and abstract describing a head-mounted display, and to par. [0225] describing a method for providing augmented reality contents to a wearer using a head-mounted display), the method comprising:
obtaining light from a polarized light source (Fig. 4A, display device 400 includes light projector 402 that projects light with distinct polarization, par. [0144]);
filtering the light (Fig. 4A, light projector 402 includes light emission devices optically coupled with a corresponding array of spatial light modulators to attenuate light emission, par. [0097], equivalent to filtering light); and
projecting, by the head-mounted display, visual content over the filtered light (Fig. 2, display device 205 includes electronic display 215 which projects computer-generated images, par. [0081], and Lanman discloses display device 400 corresponds to display device 205, therefore display device 400, which includes light projector 402 and must likewise project computer-generated images).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Lanman discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising:
determining a location of the light incident on a lens (eye trackers shown in at least Figs. 11A-11J include a low-resolution image sensor, par. [0189], and the eye tracker 408 of display device 400, which is also an element in other embodiments disclosed by Lanman, being configured to determine a position of pupil 406, par. [0096], must include the equivalent of image sensors to function as intended); and
projecting the visual content at the location (computer-generated images projected by electronic display 215 are superimposed with the transmitted ambient light to provide augmented reality images, par. [0081]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Lanman discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the projecting the visual content comprises:
obtaining information from the light source (Lanman discloses eye tracker 408 is integrated with light projector 402, par. [0096], therefore the system 400 disclosed by Lanman must be capable of obtaining information from the light source, i.e., light projector 402, from the image sensors in eye tracker 408); and
projecting, based on the obtaining information, the visual content (computer-generated images projected by electronic display 215 are superimposed with the transmitted ambient light to provide augmented reality images, par. [0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanman in view of Li US PGPub 2020/0089025 A1 (hereinafter, “Li”).
Regarding independent claim 9, Lanman discloses a head-mounted display (refer to title and abstract describing a head-mounted display) comprising:
a lens comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (Fig. 1 shows display device 100 is in the form of eyewear and includes display 110, par. [0061], where display 110 is equivalent to a lens in the context of spectacles or eyeglasses, and see Fig. 2, electronic display 215 includes one or more lenses, par. [0070], and Fig. 4A, display device 400 includes combiner 410, par. [0095], which in the context of spectacles or eyeglasses is equivalent to a lens, and displace device 400 includes lenses 412, par. [0100], and Fig. 10A shows combiner 1000 which is an example of combiner 410, par. [0157], therefore combiner 1000 is likewise equivalent to a lens in the context of spectacles or eyeglasses, and because these elements are three-dimensional objects, these lenses must inherently possess first and second surfaces opposite each other);
a filter disposed on the first surface, the filter configured to block polarized light incident on the lens (Fig. 10A shows combiner 1000 includes polarizer 1004 which is disposed on a first surface of combiner 1000, par. [0160], and polarizer 1004 converts polarization of rays from linear to circular, par. [0161], equivalent to blocking polarized light incident on combiner 1000 because at least one type of polarized light is blocked); and
a display configured to project visual content onto the second surface at a location corresponding to the blocked polarized light (Fig. 1, display device 100 includes display 110 configured for presenting visual content, par. [0061], and Fig. 2, electronic display 215 projects computer-generated images, par. [0081], therefore display device 400 must likewise project computer-generated images because of the correspondence between display device 205 and display device 400 as described in pars. [0063] and [0095], and Fig. 10A shows projector 402 emitting ray 1008-1 towards combiner 1000, par. [0157], to produce a computer-generated image on the second surface of combiner 1000 at a location corresponding to the block polarized light).
Lanman does not disclose the display is configured to project visual content onto the second surface, because, as shown in at least Fig. 4A, projector 402 sends light 414-1 to pupil 406 by reflecting off combiner 410 and combiner 1000 would have the same arrangement. Therefore, the visual content produced is on the same side of the combiner as polarizer layer.
In a related field of invention, Li discloses eyewear 100 with coating 320 on the side of lens assembly 104 away from the user, as shown in at least Fig. 3D thereof (par. [0065] thereof). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Li to the disclosure of Lanman and moved polarizer 1004 to the other side of combiner 1000, because such a rearrangement of parts would not interfere with the functionality of the device disclosed by Lanman, and the arrangement would optimize the quality of the imaging by the device of Lanman (Li, par. [0068]).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Lanman in view of Li (hereinafter, “modified Lanman”) discloses the head-mounted display of claim 9, and Lanman further discloses wherein the filter comprises a polarizing component (Fig. 10A, combiner 1000 includes polarizer 1004, par. [0160], and combiner 1000 is an example of combiner 410, par. [0157]).
Regarding dependent claim 13, modified Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 9, and Lanman further discloses the head-mounted display further comprising:
one or more image sensors configured to obtain information from the polarized light (Lanman discloses eye tracker 408 includes a light source such as an infrared or a near-infrared light source, and eye tracker 408 can be integrated with light projector 402, par. [0096], where light projector 402 projects light with a distinct polarization, par. [0144], see at least Fig. 9A, and further discloses eye trackers, shown in at least Figs. 11A-11J thereof, include a low-resolution image sensor, par. [0189]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, modified Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 13, and Lanman further discloses the head-mounted dispaly further comprising:
one or more processors (Lanman in Fig. 2 shows system 200 with display device 205, which corresponds to display device 100 shown in Fig. 1, par. [0063], where display device 205 includes one or more processors 216, par. [0066], and Fig. 4A shows display device 400 which corresponds to display device 100 shown in Fig. 1, par. [0095], therefore display device 400 corresponds to display device 205 and as such must include processors corresponding to processors 216); and
memory coupled with the one or more processors (Fig. 2, display device 205 includes memory 228, par. [0066], and display device 400 of Fig. 4 must likewise include memory corresponding to memory 228), the memory storing executable instructions (Fig. 2, processors 216 execute instructions stored in memory 228, par. [0067], therefore display device 400 must likewise include memory storing executable instructions) that when executed by the one or more processors cause the head-mounted display to project the visual content based on the obtain the information from the one or more image sensors (Lanman, Fig. 1, display 110 of display device 100 is configured for presenting visual content, par. [0061], and because both display device 205 and display device 400 of Figs. 2 and 4, respectively, correspond to display device 100, both embodiments of the disclosed device must be functional to obtain visual content, and Fig. 2, electronic display 215 projects computer-generated images, par. [0081], therefore display device 400 must likewise project computer-generated images because of the correspondence between display device 205 and display device 400 as described in pars. [0063] and [0095]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, modified Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 14, and Lanman further discloses wherein:
the one or image sensors are further configured to obtain an image corresponding to a fiducial (Fig. 2, eye tracking module 217 determines locations of each pupil of a user’s eyes, par. [0072], where the pupil is equivalent to a fiducial in that the pupil serves as point of reference, and a tracking lookup table is generated via a calibration procedure where a user looks at various known reference points in an image and eye tracking module 217 maps the locations of the user's pupil while looking at the reference points to corresponding signals received on the IR tracking array, par. [0073]); and
the executable instructions when executed by the one or more processors further cause the head-mounted display to project the visual content based on the fiducial (adjustment module 218 generates an image frame based on the determined locations of the pupils, par. [0074]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, modified Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 9, and Lanman discloses the head-mounted display further comprising:
one or more processors configured to cause the display to project the visual content as motion images (Lanman discloses actuator 502 can change the position of light projector 402 in one or more dimensions by moving light projector and thereby changing the optical path of light projected by projector 402, pars. [0113],[0192], and light projector 402 and/or one or more lenses 412 are moved in a direction parallel to a direction of propagation of light projected by light projector 402 in order to adjust an image plane corresponding to the light projected by light projector 402, par. [0117], moving an image plane to change a perceived distance to a projected image, see Figs. 12A-12D, par. [0118]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanman in view of Li as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Shelby US PGPub 2006/0267459 A1 (hereinafter, “Shelby).
Regarding dependent claim 11, modified Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 10, but the prior art combination does not disclose wherein the polarizing component comprises a polarizer film (Lanman discloses polarizer 1004, par. [0160], but does not specify that polarizer 1004 is a film, and Li discloses film 620 as part of lens assembly 104, see Fig. 6B thereof, but film 620 is not a polarizer film, par. [0073-74]).
In a related field of invention, Shelby discloses electrically switchable optical films, such as Example 8 that is dynamic polarizing film that can be turned on or off (refer to pars. [0092-95] thereof). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Shelby to the disclosure of Lanman and modified polarizer 1004 to be an electrically switchable polarizing element, so as to be able to dynamically change the optical properties of polarizer 1004 by application or removal of an electric field (Shelby, pars. [0015], [0031], [0095]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, modified Lanman discloses the head-mounted display of claim 10, but the prior art combination does not disclose wherein the polarizing component comprises at least one of one or more switchable polarizers or an array of switchable polarizers.
In a related field of invention, Shelby discloses electrically switchable optical films, such as Example 8 that is dynamic polarizing film that can be turned on or off (refer to pars. [0092-95] thereof). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Shelby to the disclosure of Lanman and modified polarizer 1004 to be an electrically switchable polarizing element, so as to be able to dynamically change the optical properties of polarizer 1004 by application or removal of an electric field (Shelby, pars. [0015], [0031], [0095]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanman as applied to claim 17 above, in view of Shelby.
Regarding dependent claim 20, Lanman discloses the method of claim 17, but does not disclose wherein: the filtering the light comprises adjusting an output of a switchable polarizer.
In a related field of invention, Shelby discloses electrically switchable optical films, such as Example 8 that is dynamic polarizing film that can be turned on or off (refer to pars. [0092-95] thereof). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Shelby to the disclosure of Lanman and modified polarizer 1004 to be an electrically switchable polarizing element, so as to be able to dynamically change the optical properties of polarizer 1004 by application or removal of an electric field (Shelby, pars. [0015], [0031], [0095]).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN W. HUSTOFT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872