DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 12/05/2025, with respect to the claim objection of claim 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection of claim 18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 12/05/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejections of claims 25-28 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment filed on 12/05/2025. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejections of claims 25-28 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1- 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,805,370 B1 to Kannan et al. (hereafter refers as Kannan) in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas) and further in view of US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki).
Regarding claim 1, Kannan teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (mobile device 101, Fig. 1-2, includes machines to cause the mobile device to perform the steps, col. 11, lines 50-67), establishes a first non-cellular connection with a first access point (the mobile device establishes a connection with a femtocell 110, col. 8, lines 50-57, wherein the connection is a WiMAX/internet protocol, col. 7, lines 5-35) and transmits, to a first gateway entity (a MSC, Fig. 1) via the first access point (femto cell 110, Fig. 1), a connection setup request for a first cellular connection between the UE and a first network entity (the mobile device transmits to the MCS 201, via the femtocell 110, a handoff request to connect to a base station, col. 8, lines 50-65, wherein the base station is part of a mobile/cellular network, Fig. 1, base station 132, that provide cellular connection to the mobile device, col. 6, lines 6-45), wherein the first gateway entity is a device located in a core network (wherein the MSC is a device located in a mobile core network, Fig. 1 and col. 6-55), a connection setup message from the first gateway entity at the first access point (the femto cell receives a connection setup message, i.e. handoff command, from the source MSC, Fig. 2, step 209 and col. 9, lines 23-30) and a connection complete message to the first gateway entity at the first access point (the femto cell transmits a connection complete message, i.e. handoff commenced, to the source MSC, Fig. 2, step 209 and col. 9, lines 23-30).
However, Kannan does not explicitly teach the apparatus comprising “one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the UE” to perform the steps and the connection setup message is “received at the UE”.
Bienas teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (a terminal, Fig. 4-6), comprising:
one or more memories (wherein the UE comprises a memory, paragraphs [55-58]); and
one or more processors (wherein the UE comprises a processor, paragraph [57]), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to (coupled to the memory, and the processor configured to cause the terminal to perform a method, paragraph [57]):
establish a first non-cellular connection with a first access point (the terminal 404 establishes a wi-fi connection with a relay device, paragraph [99] and Fig. 4, step 410);
transmit, via the first access point, a connection setup request for a first cellular connection between the UE and a first network entity (the UE transmits to a base station via the relay, an RRC connection setup request for a first cellular connection between the UE and the base station, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [100-103]);
receive a connection setup message via the first access point (the UE receives an RRC connection setup message from the base station via the relay device, Fig 4, step 418 and paragraph [109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the apparatus comprising one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to perform the steps and the UE receives the connection setup message as taught by Bienas, with the teachings of the connection setup message as taught by Kannan, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the RRC connection/first cellular connection by enabling the UE to recognize that the connection setup for the first cellular connection is started by receiving the connection setup message while using the combination of memory and processor to perform the functions/steps (See Bienas, paragraphs [55-57, 107-109]).
However, the combination of Kannan and Bienas does not explicitly teach the connection complete message is “transmitted from the UE”.
Malkamaki teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (a UE, Fig. 1-3), comprising:
one or more memories (wherein the UE comprises a memory, paragraphs [39, 46, 48] and Fig. 3); and
one or more processors (wherein the UE comprises a processor, paragraphs [41-42, 46, 48] and Fig. 3), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to (coupled to the memory, Fig. 3, configured to cause the remote device/UE to perform a method, paragraphs [46, 48]):
establish a first non-cellular connection with a first access point (the UE establishes a wi-fi connection with an AP, paragraph [33] and Fig. 2, step 206);
transmit, via the first access point, a connection setup request for a first cellular connection between the UE and a first network entity (the UE transmits to an eNB via the AP, an RRC connection setup request for a first cellular connection, i.e. LTE connection with the eNB, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [27, 28], between the UE and the eNB, Fig. 2 and paragraphs [33-35]);
receive a connection setup message via the first access point (the UE receives an RRC connection setup message from the eNB via the AP, Fig 2 and paragraph [35]); and
transmit a connection complete message via the first access point (UE transmits a connection complete message to the eNB via the AP, to complete the RRC connection with the eNB, paragraphs [36-37]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of transmit a connection complete message via the first access point as taught by Malkamaki, with the teachings of the connection complete message as taught by combination of Kannan and Bienas, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the RRC connection/first cellular connection by providing the connection complete message to enable the first network entity from the UE, thus enable the UE to recognize whether the UE has completed the establishing of the RRC connection/first cellular connection (See Malkamaki, paragraphs [36-37]).
Regarding claim 4, Bienas further teaches wherein the connection setup message includes one or more of a UE identifier (ID) (wherein the RRC connection setup request includes an identity of the terminal, paragraph [108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the connection setup message includes one or more of a UE identifier (ID) as taught by Bienas, with the teachings of Kannan, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the first cellular connection by identifying the terminal/UE for receiving the connection setup message (See Bienas, paragraph [108]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,805,370 B1 to Kannan et al. (hereafter refers as Kannan) in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas) and US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2025/0048315 A1 to Shreevastav et al. (hereafter refers as Shreevastav).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kanna, Bienas and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to “establish security with the first network entity via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations”.
Shreevastav teaches UE to establish security with the first network entity via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations (a UE establishes a security with the network via NAS operation, paragraphs [138, 140-144, 152, 160]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of establish security with the first network entity via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations as taught by Shreevastav, with the teachings of NAS operation as taught by combination of Kanna, Bienas and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase security for the connection by establishing security with the first network entity (See Shreevastav, paragraphs [138, 140-144, 152, 160]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,805,370 B1 to Kannan et al. (hereafter refers as Kannan) in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas) and US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2012/0147830 A1 to Lohr et al. (hereafter refers as Lohr).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kanna, Bienas and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach the UE to “establish a bearer with the first network entity via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations”.
Lohr teaches UE to establish a bearer with the first network entity via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations (a UE establishes a bearer with a network including eNodeB and MME, via NAS operation, paragraphs [150-152, 155-159] and Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of UE to establish a bearer with the first network entity via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations as taught by Lohr, with the teachings of NAS operation as taught by combination of Kanna, Bienas and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication for the connection by establishing bearer with the first network entity (See Shreevastav, paragraphs [138, 140-144, 152, 160]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,805,370 B1 to Kannan et al. (hereafter refers as Kannan) in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas) and US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2025/0168920 A1 to Shrivastava.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kannan, Bienas and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach “wherein the UE is configured with a Layer 1 (L1) configuration, a medium access control (MAC) configuration, or a radio link control (RLC) configuration that is inactive, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to activate the L1 configuration, the MAC configuration, or the RLC configuration based at least in part on the first cellular connection”.
Shrivastava teaches a UE is configured with a Layer 1 (L1) configuration, a medium access control (MAC) configuration, or a radio link control (RLC) configuration that is inactive (wherein the UE is configured with physical layer configuration in an inactivate state, MAC configuration in an inactive state, and/or RLC configuration in an inactive state when the UE is in an RRC connection inactive state, paragraphs [171-176]), and the UE to activate the L1 configuration, the MAC configuration, or the RLC configuration based at least in part on a first cellular connection (the UE activates the physical layer configuration, the MAC configuration and/or the RLC configuration when transiting to RRC connection active state, paragraphs [171-190], by sending RRC setup request to a network node, paragraphs [22, 90, 129, 137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the UE is configured with a Layer 1 (L1) configuration, a medium access control (MAC) configuration, or a radio link control (RLC) configuration that is inactive, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to activate the L1 configuration, the MAC configuration, or the RLC configuration based at least in part on the first cellular connection as taught by Shrivastava, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Kannan, Bienas and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the first cellular connection by restoring the L1 configuration, the MAC configuration, or the RLC configuration based at least in part on the first cellular connection (See Shrivastava, paragraphs [171-190]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,805,370 B1 to Kannan et al. (hereafter refers as Kannan) in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas) and US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2020/0344629 A1 to Kim.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kannan, Bienas and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach wherein the UE is not configured “with any Layer 1 (L1) configuration, any medium access control (MAC) configuration, or any radio link control (RLC) configuration, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to receive an L1 configuration, a MAC configuration, or an RLC configuration based at least in part on the first cellular connection”.
Kim teaches a UE is not configured with any Layer 1 (L1) configuration, any medium access control (MAC) configuration, or any radio link control (RLC) configuration, and wherein the UE to receive an L1 configuration, a MAC configuration, or an RLC configuration based at least in part on the first cellular connection (a UE receives an RRC setup message from gNB, wherein the RRC setup message including a physical layer configuration, MAC layer configuration and/or RLC layer configuration, during a first cellular connection, paragraphs [178-179] and Fig. 1E, thus the UE is not configured with the received physical layer configuration, the received MAC layer configuration and/or the received RLC layer configuration, prior to receiving the RRC setup message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of a UE is not configured with any Layer 1 (L1) configuration, any medium access control (MAC) configuration, or any radio link control (RLC) configuration, and wherein the UE to receive an L1 configuration, a MAC configuration, or an RLC configuration based at least in part on the first cellular connection as taught by Kim, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Kannan, Bienas and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the first cellular connection by receiving the L1 configuration, the MAC configuration, or the RLC configuration based at least in part on the first cellular connection (See Kim, paragraphs [178-179]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,805,370 B1 to Kannan et al. (hereafter refers as Kannan) in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas) and US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20250184259 A1 to Xu et al. (hereafter refers as Xu).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kannan, Bienas and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach wherein the first cellular connection, “for a control plane, is established at a radio resource control (RRC) layer and a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer” between the UE and the first network entity via the first access point and the first gateway entity, and wherein the first cellular connection, “for a user plane, is established at a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer and a PDCP layer” between the UE and the first network entity via the first access point and the first gateway entity.
Xu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (a remote device/remote UE, Fig. 8-13 and paragraphs [132, 151]), comprising:
one or more memories (wherein the remote device comprises a memory 1630, paragraphs [354-356, 362]); and
one or more processors (wherein the remote device comprises a processor 1620, paragraphs [354-356, 362]), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to (coupled to the memory 1630, Fig. 16, configured to cause the remote device/UE to perform a method, paragraphs [354-356, 362]):
establish a first non-cellular connection with a first access point (the remote device/UE establishes a peer to peer/unicast/pc5 connection with a first device, paragraphs [135-139, 149-150, 154-156, 240], wherein the peer to peer/unicast/pc5 connection does not require a network, paragraphs [35-139, 149-150, 154-156], wherein the first device enables the remote device to access a network, paragraphs [151-154, 260]);
transmit, to a first gateway entity via the first access point, a connection setup request for a first cellular connection between the UE and a first network entity (the remote device/UE transmits to a second device, wherein the second device is acted as gateway/bridge for the remote device/remote UE to access the network device/base station, paragraph [133] and Fig. 4-5, 11, via the first device, a RRC connection setup request for a first connection between the UE and the network device/base station/gNB, Fig. 11, step 1104 and paragraphs [248-258], wherein the network device/gNB is part of a cellular network, Fig. 4-6 and paragraphs [133, 152-154]);
receive a connection setup message from the first gateway entity via the first access point (the remote device/remote UE receives a RRC setup message from the second device via the first device, Fig. 11, step 1105 and paragraphs [259-261]);
transmit a message to the first gateway entity via the first access point (the remote device/remote UE transmits a communication/message to the second device via the first device, when the UE completed the RRC connection, paragraphs [259-261]),
wherein the first cellular connection, for a control plane, is established at a radio resource control (RRC) layer and a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer between the UE and the first network entity via the first access point and the first gateway entity (for control plane, the cellular connection is established at an RRC layer and a PDCP layer between the UE and the network device via the first and second devices, paragraphs [153, 155]), and wherein the first cellular connection, for a user plane, is established at a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer and a PDCP layer between the UE and the first network entity via the first access point and the first gateway entity (for user plane/UU interface, the cellular connection is established at an SDAP layer and a PDCP layer between the UE and the network device via the first and second devices, paragraph [154]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the first cellular connection, for a control plane, is established at a radio resource control (RRC) layer and a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer between the UE and the first network entity via the first access point and the first gateway entity, and wherein the first cellular connection, for a user plane, is established at a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer and a PDCP layer between the UE and the first network entity via the first access point and the first gateway entity as taught by Xu, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Kannan, Bienas and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by enabling the teachings to be compatible with the 5G standards (See Xu, paragraphs [136, 153-155]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,805,370 B1 to Kannan et al. (hereafter refers as Kannan) in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas) and US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2024/0267826 A1 to Pan et al. (hereafter refers as Pan) and US 2022/0061110 A1 to Sirotkin et al. (hereafter refers as Sirotkin).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kanna, Bienas and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach “wherein the first network entity is a central unit, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: transmit a measurement report to the first gateway entity; receive a UE context modification request with a handover command from the first network entity via the first gateway entity; and transmit a reconfiguration complete message to the second network entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection to the second network entity”.
Pan teaches wherein the first network entity is a central unit (a central unit/CU as part of core network for controlling connection between the UE and the eNBs/base stations, Fig. 6, 11-13), and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
transmit a measurement report to the first gateway entity (remote UE transmits measurement report to a base station/DU, paragraphs [251-256] and Fig. 13, step s1301);
receive a UE context modification request with a handover command from the first network entity via the first gateway entity (the remote UE receives RRC reconfiguration with a handover command from the CU via the source DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 285-289]); and
transmit a reconfiguration complete message to the second network entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection to the second network entity (the remote UE transmits a reconfiguration complete message to a second/target DU associated with a second cellular connection, paragraphs [273-275]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the first network entity is a central unit, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: transmit a measurement report to the first gateway entity; receive a UE context modification request with a handover command from the first network entity via the first gateway entity; and transmit a reconfiguration complete message to the second network entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection to the second network entity as taught by Pan, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Kanna, Bienas and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by allowing the UE to handover to the second network entity when needed, such as based on the measurement report (See Pan, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 273-275, 285-289]).
However, the combination of Kanna, Bienas, Malkamaki and Pan does not explicitly teach “transmit a random access channel message to a second network entity that is a distributed unit; receive a random access response from the second network entity”.
Sirotkin teaches wherein the first network entity is a central unit (CU-C, Fig. 13), and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
receive a UE context modification request with a handover command from the first network entity via the first gateway entity (the UE receives a RRC connection reconfiguration with a handover command from the CU-C via a source DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [182-183, 186-188] and Fig. 12-13);
transmit a random access channel message to a second network entity that is a distributed unit (the UE transmits a random access message to a target DU that is a distributed unit, Fig. 12-13 and paragraphs [148-146, 186-189]);
receive a random access response from the second network entity (the UE receives a random access response message from the target DU, Fig. 12-13 and paragraphs [148-146, 186-189]); and
transmit a reconfiguration complete message to the second network entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection to the second network entity (the UE transmits a RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the target DU, paragraphs [148-146, 186-189] and Fig. 12-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the first network entity is a central unit, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: transmit a measurement report to the first gateway entity; receive a UE context modification request with a handover command from the first network entity via the first gateway entity; transmit a random access channel message to a second network entity that is a distributed unit; receive a random access response from the second network entity and transmit a reconfiguration complete message to the second network entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection to the second network entity as taught by Sirotkin, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Kanna, Biena, Malkamaki and Pan, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by allowing the UE to handover to the second network entity when needed, via the random access procedure (See Sirotkin, Fig. 12-13).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,805,370 B1 to Kannan et al. (hereafter refers as Kannan) in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas) and US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2023/0129388 A1 to Tenny et al. (hereafter refers as Tenny) and US 2024/0267826 A1 to Pan et al. (hereafter refers as Pan).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kannan, Bienas and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach “transmit a measurement report to the first gateway entity; receive a UE context modification request with a handover command via the first gateway entity; establish a second non-cellular connection with a second access point; and transmit a reconfiguration complete message to a second gateway entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection via the second gateway entity”.
Tenny teaches one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to (one or more processors configured to cause a remote UE/wireless device to perform the functions, paragraphs [23-25] and Fig. 2, 7):
transmit a measurement report to the first gateway entity (wherein the remote UE transmits a measurement report to a source gNB, wherein the source gNB makes a handover decision based on the measurements reported by the remote UE, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [28-29, 49]);
receive a modification request with a handover command via the first gateway entity (the remote UE receives a RRC reconfiguration with a handover command from the source gNB, paragraph [50] and Fig. 7, step 6);
establish a second non-cellular connection with a second access point (the remote UE establishes a second non-cellular connection, i.e. PC5 link, with a target relay UE, Fig. 7, step 11 and paragraph [50]); and
transmit a reconfiguration complete message to a second gateway entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection via the second gateway entity (the remote UE transmits a reconfiguration complete message to a target gNB, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection via the target gNB, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [51-52]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of transmit a measurement report to the first gateway entity; receive a UE context modification request with a handover command via the first gateway entity; establish a second non-cellular connection with a second access point; and transmit a reconfiguration complete message to a second gateway entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection via the second gateway entity as taught by Tenny, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Kannan, Bienas and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by allowing the UE to handover to the second access point and the second gateway entity when needed, such as based on the measurement report (See Tenny, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [50-52]).
However, the combination of Kannan, Bienas, Malkamaki and Tenny does not explicitly teach the modification request is a “UE context modification request from the first network entity” and the second cellular connection is “between the UE and the first network entity”.
Pan teaches one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to (one or more processors configured to cause a remote UE/wireless device to perform the functions, paragraphs [48-49, 107-109]):
transmit a measurement report to the first gateway entity (wherein the remote UE transmits a measurement report to a source DU, Fig. 13, step s1301 and paragraphs [251-256]);
receive a UE context modification request with a handover command from the first network entity via the first gateway entity (the remote UE receives a RRC reconfiguration/UE context modification request with a handover command from a CU via the source DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 285-289]);
establish a non-cellular connection with an access point (the remote UE establishes a non-cellular connection, i.e. PC5 link, with a relay UE, Fig. 13, step s1312 and paragraphs [270-272]); and
transmit a reconfiguration complete message to a second gateway entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity via the second gateway entity (the remote UE transmits a reconfiguration complete message to a target DU via the relay UE, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a cellular connection between the remote UE and the CU, via the relay UE and the target DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [273-277]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of transmit a measurement report to the first gateway entity; receive a UE context modification request with a handover command from the first network entity via the first gateway entity; establish a non-cellular connection with an access point; and transmit a reconfiguration complete message to a second gateway entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity via the second gateway entity as taught by Pan, with the teachings of the first cellular connection and the second cellular connection as taught by combination of Kannan, Bienas, Malkamaki, and Tenny, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the second cellular connection employing the CU/first network entity to control the handover of the cellular connection to the second access point and the second gateway entity, thus be compatible with the cellular standard (See Pan, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [249-267]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kannan, Bienas, Malkamaki,Tenny and Pan further teaches wherein the UE is configured with a Layer 1 (L1) configuration, a medium access control (MAC) configuration, or a radio link control (RLC) configuration (wherein the UE is configured with a PHY layer configuration, a MAC layer configuration and/or a RLC layer configuration, see Tenny, paragraph [30]), and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to remove the L1 configuration, the MAC configuration, or the RLC configuration based at least in part on the second non-cellular connection (wherein the UE releases the PHY layer configuration, a MAC layer configuration and/or a RLC layer configuration when handover to the second non-cellular connection, i.e. disconnect from the first non-cellular connection, see Tenny, paragraphs [33-34, 51, 53]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,805,370 B1 to Kannan et al. (hereafter refers as Kannan) in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas), US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki), US 2023/0129388 A1 to Tenny et al. (hereafter refers as Tenny) and US 2024/0267826 A1 to Pan et al. (hereafter refers as Pan) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2025/0024334 A1 to Lu et al. (hereafter refers as Lu).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kannan, Bienas, Malkamaki, Tenny and Pan further teaches wherein the UE is configured with a Layer 1 (L1) configuration, a medium access control (MAC) configuration, or a radio link control (RLC) configuration (wherein the UE is configured with a PHY layer configuration, a MAC layer configuration and/or a RLC layer configuration, see Tenny, paragraph [30]), and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to release the L1 configuration, the MAC configuration, or the RLC configuration based at least in part on the second non-cellular connection (wherein the UE releases the PHY layer configuration, a MAC layer configuration and/or a RLC layer configuration when handover to the second non-cellular connection, i.e. disconnect from the first non-cellular connection, see Tenny, paragraphs [33-34, 51, 53]).
However, the combination of Kannan, Bienas, Malkamaki, Tenny and Pan does not explicitly teach the release is to “deactivate the RLC configuration”.
Lu teaches a UE to deactivate the RLC configuration based at least in part on a second connection (deactivate RLC configuration related to a first connection when the first connection is released and handover to a second connection, Fig. 13-14 and paragraphs [335-336, 379]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of UE deactivates the RLC configuration based at least in part on the second connection as taught by Lu, with the teachings of UE releases the L1 configuration, the MAC configuration, or the RLC configuration based at least in part on the second non-cellular connection as taught by Kannan, Bienas, Malkamaki, Tenny and Pan, for a purpose of increase efficiency by merely deactivate the configuration(s), thus allowing the configuration(s) to be restored/reactivate when needed, thus reducing allocation of the configuration(s) when needed (See Pan, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [249-267]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,805,370 B1 to Kannan et al. (hereafter refers as Kannan) in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas) and US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2024/0267826 A1 to Pan et al. (hereafter refers as Pan).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kannan, Bienas and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach “establish a second cellular connection with a second network entity that is a distributed unit; transmit a measurement report to the second network entity; receive a UE context modification request with a handover command from the second network entity; establish a second non-cellular connection with a second access point; and transmit a reconfiguration complete message to a second gateway entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a third cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity via the second gateway entity”.
Pan teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to (one or more processors configured to cause a remote UE/wireless device to perform the functions, paragraphs [48-49, 107-109]):
establish a second cellular connection with a second network entity that is a distributed unit (the remote UE establishes a cellular connection with a source DU that is a distributed unit, wherein the UE transmits a measurement reports to the source DU, Fig. 6, 7(a), 13 and paragraph [250]);
transmit a measurement report to the second network entity (the remote UE transmits a measurement reports to the source DU, Fig. 6, 7(a), 13 and paragraphs [251-252]);
receive a UE context modification request with a handover command from the second network entity (the remote UE receives RRC reconfiguration with a handover command from the CU via the source DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 285-289]);
establish a second non-cellular connection with a second access point (the remote UE establishes a unicast connection with a relay UE, Fig. 13, steps s1312 and paragraphs [271-273]); and
transmit a reconfiguration complete message to a second gateway entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a third cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity via the second gateway entity (the remote UE transmits a reconfiguration complete message to a second/target DU associated with a second cellular connection between the remote UE and the CU via the second/target DU, paragraphs [273-275]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of establish a second cellular connection with a second network entity that is a distributed unit; transmit a measurement report to the second network entity; receive a UE context modification request with a handover command from the second network entity; establish a second non-cellular connection with a second access point; and transmit a reconfiguration complete message to a second gateway entity, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a third cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity via the second gateway entity as taught by Pan, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Kannan, Bienas and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by allowing the UE to handover to the cellular connection when needed, such as based on the measurement report (See Pan, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 273-275, 285-289]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,805,370 B1 to Kannan et al. (hereafter refers as Kannan) in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas) and US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2020/0367091 A1 to Xu et al. (hereafter refers as Xu’091).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kannan, Bienas and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: “initialize one or more bearer identifiers (IDs) based at least in part on the first non-cellular connection; and increment a bearer ID of the one or more bearer IDs based at least in part on a second non-cellular connection”.
Xu’091 teaches one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause a UE to (a processor for causing UE to perform the functions, paragraphs [83, 362]):
initialize one or more bearer identifiers (IDs) based at least in part on the first non-cellular connection (one or more bearer IDs is started for each connection/bear, paragraph [176]); and
increment a bearer ID of the one or more bearer IDs based at least in part on a second non-cellular connection (the bearer ID(s) is increased, i.e. bearer ID is added in ascending order, when a new connection/bearer is established, paragraph [176]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of initializing one or more bearer identifiers (IDs) based at least in part on the first non-cellular connection and incrementing the bearer ID of the one or more bearer IDs based at least in part on the second non-cellular connection as taught by Xu’091, with the teachings of the first cellular connection and the second non-cellular connection as taught by combination of Kennan, Bienas and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in identifying the number of bearers/connections been established, by using the bearer IDs and increasing the bearer IDs when a new connection is established (See Xu’091, paragraph [176]).
Claims 14 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0208310 A1 to Taneja et al. (hereafter refers as Taneja) in view of US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki).
Regarding claim 14, Taneja teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity (an eNodeB, Fig. 8), comprising:
one or more memories (includes a memory, paragraphs [84, 92-95] and Fig. 11); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (includes a processor, paragraphs [84, 92-95] and Fig. 11), individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to (wherein the processor coupled to the memory, configured to cause the eNodeB to perform a method, paragraphs [84, 92-96] and Fig. 11):
receive, from a first gateway entity (from MME, WLAN AGW and/or WLC, Fig. 8), a connection setup request for a first cellular connection between a user equipment (UE) and the first network entity (receives a handover message to setup a cellular connection between a UE and the eNodeB, Fig. 8 and paragraphs [61-70]), wherein the first gateway entity is a device located in a core network (wherein the MME, WLAN AGW and/or WLC, are located at backend of the network to perform the functions of controlling a cellular network, paragraphs [22, 92-95] and Fig. 6);
transmit a connection setup message to the UE via the first gateway entity and a first access point (eNodeB transmits a handover acceptance message to the UE via the MME, WLAN AGW and/or WLC, and WLAN AP, see Fig. 3B, 8 and paragraphs [69-71]); and
receive a message from the UE via the first gateway entity and the first access point (the eNodeB receives control message from the UE via the MME, WLAN AGW and/or WLC, and the WLAN AP, Fig. 8).
However, Taneja does not explicitly teach the message received is a “connection complete message”.
Malkamaki teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity (an eNB, Fig. 1-2), comprising:
one or more memories (wherein the eNB comprises a memory, paragraphs [6, 39-40, 50-51]); and
one or more processors (wherein the eNB comprises a processor, paragraphs [6, 39-40, 50-51]), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to (coupled to the memory, configured to cause the eNB to perform a method, paragraphs [6, 39-40, 50-51]):
receive, a connection setup request for a first cellular connection between a user equipment (UE) and the first network entity (the eNB receives, via an AP, an RRC connection setup request for a first cellular connection, i.e. LTE connection with the eNB, between a UE 114 and the eNB, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [27, 28], between the UE and the eNB, Fig. 2 and paragraphs [33-35]);
transmit a connection setup message to the UE via a first access point (the eNB transmits to the UE, an RRC connection setup message from the eNB via the AP, Fig 2 and paragraph [35]); and
receive a connection complete message from the UE via the first access point (the eNB receives from the UE, a connection complete message to the eNB via the AP, to complete the RRC connection with the eNB, paragraphs [36-37]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving the connection complete message from the UE via the first access point as taught by Malkamaki, with the teachings of receiving the message via the first gateway entity and the first access point as taught by Taneja, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the RRC connection/first cellular connection by providing the connection complete message to enable the first network entity to recognize whether the UE has completed the establishing of the RRC connection/first cellular connection (See Malkamaki, paragraphs [36-37]).
Regarding claim 23, Taneja teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first gateway entity (MME and/or WLAN AGW, Fig. 6, 8), comprising:
one or more memories (includes a memory, paragraphs [84, 92-95] and Fig. 11); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (includes a processor, paragraphs [84, 92-95] and Fig. 11), configured to cause the first gateway entity to (wherein the processor coupled to the memory, configured to cause the MME and/or WLAN AGW to perform a method, paragraphs [84, 92-96] and Fig. 11):
forward, from a user equipment (UE) to a first network entity, a connection setup request for a first cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity (forwards a handover message, from a UE to a eNodeB, wherein the handover message to setup a cellular connection between a UE and the eNodeB, Fig. 8 and paragraphs [61-70]), wherein the first gateway entity is a device located in a core network (wherein the MME, WLAN AGW and/or WLC, are located at backend of the network to perform the functions of controlling a cellular network, paragraphs [22, 92-95] and Fig. 6);
forward a connection setup message from the first network entity to the UE via an access point (forwards a handover acceptance message to the UE from the eNodeB, see Fig. 3B, 8 and paragraphs [69-71]); and
forward a message from the UE to the first network entity (forwards control message(s) from the UE to the eNodeB, Fig. 8).
However, Taneja does not explicitly teach the message forwarded is a “connection complete message”.
Malkamaki teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first gateway entity (an access point, Fig. 1-2), comprising:
one or more memories (wherein the access point comprises a memory, paragraphs [6, 39-40, 50-51]); and
one or more processors (wherein the eNB comprises a processor, paragraphs [6, 39-40, 50-51]), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the first gateway entity to (coupled to the memory, configured to cause the access point to perform a method, paragraphs [6, 39-40, 50-51]):
forward, from a user equipment (UE) to a first network entity, a connection setup request for a first cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity (the AP forwards, from a UE to an eNB, an RRC connection setup request for a first cellular connection, i.e. LTE connection with the eNB, between a UE 114 and the eNB, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [27, 28], between the UE and the eNB, Fig. 2 and paragraphs [33-35]);
forward a connection setup message from the first network entity to the UE (the access point forwards to the UE from the eNB, to the UE, an RRC connection setup, Fig 2 and paragraph [35]); and
forward a connection complete message from the UE to the first network entity (the access point forwards, a connection complete message from the UE, to the eNB, paragraphs [36-37]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of forwarding the connection complete message from the UE to the first network entity as taught by Malkamaki, with the teachings of forwarding the message from the UE to the first network entity as taught by Taneja, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the RRC connection/first cellular connection by providing the connection complete message to enable the first network entity to recognize whether the UE has completed the establishing of the RRC connection/first cellular connection (See Malkamaki, paragraphs [36-37]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0208310 A1 to Taneja et al. (hereafter refers as Taneja) in view of US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2014/0126460 A1 to Bienas et al. (hereafter refers as Bienas).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach wherein the connection setup message includes “one or more of a UE identifier (ID)”.
Bienas teaches wherein the connection setup message includes one or more of a UE identifier (ID) (wherein the RRC connection setup request includes an identity of the terminal, paragraph [108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the connection setup message includes one or more of a UE identifier (ID) as taught by Bienas, with the teachings of combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the first cellular connection by identifying the terminal/UE for receiving the connection setup message (See Bienas, paragraph [108]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0208310 A1 to Taneja et al. (hereafter refers as Taneja) in view of US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2025/0048315 A1 to Shreevastav et al. (hereafter refers as Shreevastav).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to “establish security with the first network entity via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations”.
Shreevastav teaches UE to establish security with the first network entity via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations (a UE establishes a security with the network via NAS operation, paragraphs [138, 140-144, 152, 160]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of establish security with the first network entity via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations as taught by Shreevastav, with the teachings of NAS operation as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase security for the connection by establishing security with the first network entity (See Shreevastav, paragraphs [138, 140-144, 152, 160]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0208310 A1 to Taneja et al. (hereafter refers as Taneja) in view of US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2020/0344629 A1 to Kim.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach the first network entity to “transmit a layer 1 (L1) configuration, a medium access control (MAC) configuration, or a radio link control (RLC) configuration to the UE”.
Kim teaches transmitting a layer 1 (L1) configuration, a medium access control (MAC) configuration, or a radio link control (RLC) configuration to the UE (a UE receives an RRC setup message from gNB, wherein the RRC setup message including a physical layer configuration, MAC layer configuration and/or RLC layer configuration, during a first cellular connection, paragraphs [178-179] and Fig. 1E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of transmitting a layer 1 (L1) configuration, a medium access control (MAC) configuration, or a radio link control (RLC) configuration to the UE as taught by Kim, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the first cellular connection by receiving the L1 configuration, the MAC configuration, or the RLC configuration based at least in part on the first cellular connection (See Kim, paragraphs [178-179]).
Claims 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0208310 A1 to Taneja et al. (hereafter refers as Taneja) in view of US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2025/0106590 A1 to Zhuo et al. (hereafter refers as Zhuo).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach “a radio resource control (RRC) layer and a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer between a UE and a first network entity via a first access point and a first gateway entity, and an F1 application protocol (F1-AP) layer, a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP) layer, an internet protocol (IP) layer, and a Layer 1 (L1) and Layer 2 (L2) layer between the first gateway entity and the first network entity, wherein the first cellular connection, for a user plane, is established at: a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer and the PDCP layer between the UE and the first network entity via the first access point and the first gateway entity, and a general packet radio system (GPRS) tunneling protocol user plane (GTP-U) layer, a user datagram protocol (UDP) layer, the IP layer, and the L1 and L2 layer between the first gateway entity and the first network entity”.
Zhuo teaches wherein the first cellular connection, for a control plane, is established at:
a radio resource control (RRC) layer and a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer between a UE and a first network entity via a first access point and a first gateway entity (for control plane, the cellular connection is established at an RRC layer and a PDCP layer between the UE and the network device/CU-CP, via the IAB node 2 and IAB node 1, paragraphs [58-62] and Fig. 3), and
an F1 application protocol (F1-AP) layer, a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP) layer, an internet protocol (IP) layer, and a Layer 1 (L1) and Layer 2 (L2) layer between the first gateway entity and the first network entity (for control plane, the cellular connection is established at F1AP layer, SCTP layer, a physical layer, MAC layer and Ip layer, between the IAB node 2 and IAB node 1 and the CU-CP, paragraphs [58-62] and Fig. 3),
wherein the first cellular connection, for a user plane, is established at:
a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer and the PDCP layer between the UE and the first network entity via the first access point and the first gateway entity (for user plane/UU interface, the cellular connection is established at an SDAP layer and a PDCP layer between the UE and the CU-CP, via the IAB node 2 and IAB node 1 paragraphs [57-58] and Fig. 2), and
a general packet radio system (GPRS) tunneling protocol user plane (GTP-U) layer, a user datagram protocol (UDP) layer, the IP layer, and the L1 and L2 layer between the first gateway entity and the first network entity (for user plane, the cellular connection is established at GTP-U, UDP, IP, physical layer, and MAC layer between the IAB node 2 and IAB node 1 and the CU-CP, paragraphs [58-62] and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of control plane, the first cellular connection is established at: an F1 application protocol (F1-AP) layer, a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP) layer; and wherein the first cellular connection, for a user plane, is established at: a user data gram protocol (UDP) layer as taught by Zhuo, with the teachings of the first cellular connection and the second non-cellular connection as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase compatible of the teachings by allowing the teachings to employ the cellular standard (See Zhuo, paragraphs [57-62] and Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach “first non-cellular connection, for a control plane, is established at “an internet protocol (IP) layer between the first gateway entity and a first access point, wherein the first cellular connection, for the control plane, is established at an F1 application protocol (F1-AP) layer, a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP) layer, an IP layer, and a Layer 1 (L1) and Layer 2 (L2) layer between the first gateway entity and the first network entity, wherein the first non-cellular connection, for a user plane, is established at a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer and the PDCP layer between the first gateway entity and the first access point, and wherein the first cellular connection, for the user plane, is established at a general packet radio system (GPRS) tunneling protocol user plane (GTP-U) layer, a user datagram protocol (UDP) layer, the IP layer, and the L1 and L2 layer between the first gateway entity and the first network entity”.
Zhuo teaches wherein a first non-cellular connection, for a control plane, is established at
an internet protocol (IP) layer between the first gateway entity and a first access point (for control plane, the non-cellular connection is established at an IP layer between the IAB node 2 and IAB donor, paragraphs [58-60]),
wherein the first cellular connection, for the control plane, is established at an F1 application protocol (F1-AP) layer, a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP) layer, an IP layer, and a Layer 1 (L1) and Layer 2 (L2) layer between the first gateway entity and the first network entity (for control plane, the cellular connection is established at F1AP layer, SCTP layer, a physical layer, MAC layer and Ip layer, between the IAB node 2 and IAB node 1 and the CU-CP, paragraphs [58-62] and Fig. 3),
wherein the first non-cellular connection, for a user plane, is established at a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer and the PDCP layer between the first gateway entity and the first access point (for user plane/UU interface, the non cellular connection is established at an SDAP layer and a PDCP layer between the IAB node 2 and IAB node 1 paragraphs [57-58] and Fig. 2), and
wherein the first cellular connection, for the user plane, is established at a general packet radio system (GPRS) tunneling protocol user plane (GTP-U) layer, a user datagram protocol (UDP) layer, the IP layer, and the L1 and L2 layer between the first gateway entity and the first network entity (for user plane, the cellular connection is established at GTP-U, UDP, IP, physical layer, and MAC layer between the IAB node 2 and IAB node 1 and the CU-CP, paragraphs [58-62] and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the first cellular connection, for the control plane, is established at an F1 application protocol (F1-AP) layer, a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP) layer, an IP layer, and a Layer 1 (L1) and Layer 2 (L2) layer between the first gateway entity and the first network entity and wherein the first cellular connection, for the user plane, is established at a general packet radio system (GPRS) tunneling protocol user plane (GTP-U) layer, a user datagram protocol (UDP) layer, the IP layer, and the L1 and L2 layer between the first gateway entity and the first network entity as taught by Zhuo, with the teachings of the first cellular connection and the second non-cellular connection as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase compatible of the teachings by allowing the teachings to employ the cellular standard (See Zhuo, paragraphs [57-62] and Fig. 2-3).
Claims 19-21 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0208310 A1 to Taneja et al. (hereafter refers as Taneja) in view of US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2024/0267826 A1 to Pan et al. (hereafter refers as Pan).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach “wherein the first network entity is a central unit, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to:
receive a transfer message from the first gateway entity with a measurement report from the UE;
transmit a UE context setup request to a second network entity that is a distributed unit;
receive a UE context setup response from the second network entity;
transmit a UE context modification request to the first gateway entity;
receive a UE context modification response from the first gateway entity;
receive a transfer message from the second network entity, the transfer message being associated with a second cellular connection to the UE; and
transmit a UE context release message to the first gateway entity”.
Pan teaches a first network entity is a central unit (a central unit/CU as part of core network for controlling connection between the UE and the eNBs/base stations, Fig. 6, 11-13), and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to (one or more processors configured to cause the central unit/CU to perform the functions, paragraphs [48-49, 107-109]):
receive a transfer message from the first gateway entity with a measurement report from the UE (CU receives a transfer request with a measurement report from a remote UE, paragraphs [251-256] and Fig. 13, step s1301-s1302-2);
transmit a UE context setup request to a second network entity that is a distributed unit (the CU transmits a UE context setup request to a target DU that is a distributed unit, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [257-259]);
receive a UE context setup response from the second network entity (the CU receives a UE context setup response from the target DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [259-262]);
transmit a UE context modification request to the first gateway entity (the CU transmits a UE context modification request to the source DU, Fig. 13 and paragraph [262]);
receive a UE context modification response from the first gateway entity (the CU receives a UE context modification response from the source DU, Fig. 13 and paragraph [263]);
receive a transfer message from the second network entity, the transfer message being associated with a second cellular connection to the UE (the CU receives a transfer message from the target DU associated with a second cellular connection to the UE, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [270-276]); and
transmit a UE context release message to the first gateway entity (the CU transmits a UE context release message to the source DU, paragraphs [277-278] and Fig. 13, step s1315).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the first network entity is a central unit, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to: receive a transfer message from the first gateway entity with a measurement report from the UE; transmit a UE context setup request to a second network entity that is a distributed unit; receive a UE context setup response from the second network entity; transmit a UE context modification request to the first gateway entity; receive a UE context modification response from the first gateway entity; receive a transfer message from the second network entity, the transfer message being associated with a second cellular connection to the UE; and transmit a UE context release message to the first gateway entity as taught by Pan, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by allowing the UE to handover to the cellular connection when needed, such as based on the measurement report (See Pan, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 273-275, 285-289]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to: “receive a transfer message from the first gateway entity with a measurement report from the UE; transmit a UE context setup request to a second gateway entity; receive a UE context setup response from the second gateway entity; transmit a UE context modification request to the first gateway entity; receive a UE context modification response from the first gateway entity; receive a transfer message from the second gateway entity, the transfer message being associated with a second non-cellular connection to the UE; and transmit a UE context release message to the first gateway entity”.
Pan teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to (one or more processors configured to cause the CU to perform the functions, paragraphs [48-49, 107-109]):
receive a transfer message from the first gateway entity with a measurement report from the UE (CU receives a transfer request with a measurement report from a remote UE, paragraphs [251-256] and Fig. 13, step s1301-s1302-2);
transmit a UE context setup request to a second gateway entity (the CU transmits a UE context setup request to a target DU that is a distributed unit, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [257-259]);
receive a UE context setup response from the second gateway entity (the CU receives a UE context setup response from the target DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [259-262]);
transmit a UE context modification request to the first gateway entity (the CU transmits a UE context modification request to the source DU, Fig. 13 and paragraph [262]);
receive a UE context modification response from the first gateway entity (the CU receives a UE context modification response from the source DU, Fig. 13 and paragraph [263]);
receive a transfer message from the second gateway entity, the transfer message being associated with a second non-cellular connection to the UE (the CU receives a transfer message from the target DU associated with a non-cellular connection, via a relay UE, with the UE, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [270-276]); and
transmit a UE context release message to the first gateway entity (the CU transmits a UE context release message to the source DU, paragraphs [277-278] and Fig. 13, step s1315).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to: receive a transfer message from the first gateway entity with a measurement report from the UE; transmit a UE context setup request to a second gateway entity; receive a UE context setup response from the second gateway entity; transmit a UE context modification request to the first gateway entity; receive a UE context modification response from the first gateway entity; receive a transfer message from the second gateway entity, the transfer message being associated with a second non-cellular connection to the UE; and transmit a UE context release message to the first gateway entity as taught by Pan, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by allowing the UE to handover the cellular connection when needed, such as based on the measurement report (See Pan, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 273-275, 285-289]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to: “receive a transfer message from a second gateway entity with a measurement report from the UE; transmit a UE context setup request to the second gateway entity; receive a UE context setup response from the second gateway entity; transmit a UE context modification request to a second network entity; receive a UE context modification response from the second network entity; receive a transfer message from the second gateway entity, the transfer message being associated with a second non-cellular connection to the UE; and transmit a UE context release message to the second network entity”.
Pan teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to (one or more processors configured to cause the CU to perform the functions, paragraphs [48-49, 107-109]):
receive a transfer message from a second gateway entity with a measurement report from the UE (CU receives a transfer request with a measurement report from a remote UE, paragraphs [251-256] and Fig. 13, step s1301-s1302-2);
transmit a UE context setup request to the second gateway entity (the CU transmits a UE context setup request to a target DU that is a distributed unit, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [257-259]);
receive a UE context setup response from the second gateway entity (the CU receives a UE context setup response from the target DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [259-262]);
transmit a UE context modification request to a second network entity (the CU transmits a UE context modification request to the source DU, Fig. 13 and paragraph [262]);
receive a UE context modification response from the second network entity (the CU receives a UE context modification response from the source DU, Fig. 13 and paragraph [263]);
receive a transfer message from the second gateway entity, the transfer message being associated with a second non-cellular connection to the UE (the CU receives a transfer message from the target DU associated with a non-cellular connection, via a relay UE, with the UE, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [270-276]); and
transmit a UE context release message to the second network entity (the CU transmits a UE context release message to the source DU, paragraphs [277-278] and Fig. 13, step s1315).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to: receive a transfer message from a second gateway entity with a measurement report from the UE; transmit a UE context setup request to the second gateway entity; receive a UE context setup response from the second gateway entity; transmit a UE context modification request to a second network entity; receive a UE context modification response from the second network entity; receive a transfer message from the second gateway entity, the transfer message being associated with a second non-cellular connection to the UE; and transmit a UE context release message to the second network entity as taught by Pan, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by allowing the UE to handover the cellular connection when needed, such as based on the measurement report (See Pan, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 273-275, 285-289]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach “wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first gateway entity to: forward a measurement report from the UE to the first network entity; receive a UE context modification request from the first gateway entity; transmit a UE context modification response to the first gateway entity; forward a reconfiguration complete message from the UE to a second gateway entity; and receive a UE context release message from the first gateway entity”.
Pan teaches one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first gateway entity to (one or more processors configured to cause source DU to perform the functions, paragraphs [48-49, 107-109]):
forward a measurement report from the UE to the first network entity (a source DU forwards a measurement report from the UE to the CU, paragraphs [251-256] and Fig. 13, steps s1301-s1302-1);
receive a UE context modification request from the first gateway entity (the source DU receives a UE context modification request from the CU, paragraphs [262-263] and Fig. 13, step s1305);
transmit a UE context modification response to the first gateway entity (the source DU transmits a UE context modification response to the CU, paragraphs [262-263] and Fig. 13, step s1306);
forward a reconfiguration complete message from the UE to a second gateway entity (forwards a reconfiguration complete message from the UE to the target DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [269-275]); and
receive a UE context release message from the first gateway entity (receives a UE context release message from the CU, paragraphs [277-279] and Fig. 13, step s1315).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first gateway entity to: forward a measurement report from the UE to the first network entity; receive a UE context modification request from the first gateway entity; transmit a UE context modification response to the first gateway entity; forward a reconfiguration complete message from the UE to a second gateway entity; and receive a UE context release message from the first gateway entity as taught by Pan, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by allowing the UE to handover the cellular connection when needed, such as based on the measurement report (See Pan, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 273-275, 285-289]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first gateway entity to: “receive a UE context setup request from the first network entity; transmit a UE context setup response to the first network entity; receive a reconfiguration complete message from the UE via a second access point, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity via a second gateway entity; and transmit a transfer message to the first network entity based at least in part on the reconfiguration complete message”.
Pan teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first gateway entity (a cpu coupled to the memory configured to cause the target DU to perform a method, Fig. 8, 13 and paragraphs [106-113]) to:
receive a UE context setup request from the first network entity (the target DU receives a UE context setup request from the CU, Fig. 13, steps s1303 and paragraphs [257-259]);
transmit a UE context setup response to the first network entity (the target DU transmits a UE context response to the CU, Fig. 13, steps s1304 and paragraphs [259-261]);
receive a reconfiguration complete message from the UE via a second access point, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity via a second gateway entity (the target DU receives a reconfiguration complete message from the UE via a relay UE, being associated with a second cellular connection to the target DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [268-276]); and
transmit a transfer message to the first network entity based at least in part on the reconfiguration complete message (the target DU transmits a transfer message to the CU based on the reconfiguration complete message, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [270-278]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receive a UE context setup request from the first network entity; transmit a UE context setup response to the first network entity; receive a reconfiguration complete message from the UE via a second access point, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity via a second gateway entity; and transmit a transfer message to the first network entity based at least in part on the reconfiguration complete message as taught by Pan, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by allowing the UE to handover the cellular connection via the second cellular connection when needed (See Pan, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 273-275, 285-289]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first gateway entity to: “receive a UE context setup request from the first network entity; transmit a UE context setup response to the first network entity; receive a reconfiguration complete message from the UE via a second access point, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity via a second gateway entity; and transmit a transfer message to the first network entity based at least in part on the reconfiguration complete message that is associated with the second cellular connection”.
Pan teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first gateway entity (a cpu coupled to the memory configured to cause the target DU to perform a method, Fig. 8, 13 and paragraphs [106-113]) to:
receive a UE context setup request from the first network entity (the target DU receives a UE context setup request from the CU, Fig. 13, steps s1303 and paragraphs [257-259]);
transmit a UE context setup response to the first network entity (the target DU transmits a UE context response to the CU, Fig. 13, steps s1304 and paragraphs [259-261]);
receive a reconfiguration complete message from the UE via a second access point, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity via a second gateway entity (the target DU receives a reconfiguration complete message from the UE via a relay UE, being associated with a second cellular connection to the target DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [268-276]); and
transmit a transfer message to the first network entity based at least in part on the reconfiguration complete message that is associated with the second cellular connection (the target DU transmits a transfer message to the CU based on the reconfiguration complete message associated with the second cellular connection via the target DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [270-278]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receive a UE context setup request from the first network entity; transmit a UE context setup response to the first network entity; receive a reconfiguration complete message from the UE via a second access point, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection between the UE and the first network entity via a second gateway entity; and transmit a transfer message to the first network entity based at least in part on the reconfiguration complete message that is associated with the second cellular connection as taught by Pan, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by allowing the UE to handover the cellular connection via the second cellular connection when needed (See Pan, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 273-275, 285-289]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0208310 A1 to Taneja et al. (hereafter refers as Taneja) in view of US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2020/0367091 A1 to Xu et al. (hereafter refers as Xu’091).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: “initialize one or more bearer identifiers (IDs) based at least in part on the first non-cellular connection; and increment a bearer ID of the one or more bearer IDs based at least in part on a second non-cellular connection”.
Xu’091 teaches one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause a UE to (a processor for causing UE to perform the functions, paragraphs [83, 362]):
initialize one or more bearer identifiers (IDs) based at least in part on the first non-cellular connection (one or more bearer IDs is started for each connection/bear, paragraph [176]); and
increment a bearer ID of the one or more bearer IDs based at least in part on a second non-cellular connection (the bearer ID(s) is increased, i.e. bearer ID is added in ascending order, when a new connection/bearer is established, paragraph [176]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of initializing one or more bearer identifiers (IDs) based at least in part on the first non-cellular connection and incrementing the bearer ID of the one or more bearer IDs based at least in part on the second non-cellular connection as taught by Xu’091, with the teachings of the first cellular connection and the second non-cellular connection as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in identifying the number of bearers/connections been established, by using the bearer IDs and increasing the bearer IDs when a new connection is established (See Xu’091, paragraph [176]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S 2015/0208310 A1 to Taneja et al. (hereafter refers as Taneja) in view of US 2015/0373600 A1 to Malkamaki et al. (hereafter refers as Malkamaki) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2024/0267826 A1 to Pan et al. (hereafter refers as Pan) and in view of US 2024/0155370 A1 to Horn et al. (hereafter refers as Horn).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Taneja and Malkamaki does not explicitly teach “wherein the first network entity is a central unit, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first gateway entity to:
forward a measurement report from the UE to the first network entity;
receive a UE context modification request from the first gateway entity;
transmit a UE context modification response to the first gateway entity; and
receive a UE context release message from the first gateway entity”.
Pan teaches wherein the first network entity is a central unit (a central unit/CU as part of core network for controlling connection between the UE and the eNBs/base stations, Fig. 6, 11-13), and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first gateway entity to (one or more processors configured to cause source DU to perform the functions, paragraphs [48-49, 107-109]):
forward a measurement report from the UE to the first network entity (a source DU forwards a measurement report from the UE to the CU, paragraphs [251-256] and Fig. 13, steps s1301-s1302-1);
receive a UE context modification request from the first gateway entity (the source DU receives a UE context modification request from the CU, paragraphs [262-263] and Fig. 13, step s1305);
transmit a UE context modification response to the first gateway entity (the source DU transmits a UE context modification response to the CU, paragraphs [262-263] and Fig. 13, step s1306); and
receive a UE context release message from the first gateway entity (the source DU receives a UE context release message from the CU, paragraphs [277-279] and Fig. 13, step s1315).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the first network entity is a central unit, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first gateway entity to: forward a measurement report from the UE to the first network entity; receive a UE context modification request from the first gateway entity; transmit a UE context modification response to the first gateway entity; and receive a UE context release message from the first gateway entity as taught by Pan, with the teachings of the first cellular connection as taught by combination of Taneja and Malkamaki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the cellular connection by allowing the UE to handover to the second network entity when needed, such as based on the measurement report (See Pan, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [236, 237, 262-265, 273-275, 285-289]).
However, the combination of Taneja, Malkamaki and Pan does not explicitly teach “forward a random access channel message from the UE to a second network entity that is a distributed unit and forward a random access response from the second network entity to the UE”.
Horn teaches forward a random access channel message from the UE to a second network entity that is a distributed unit (a repeater forwards a random access channel message from a UE to a network node, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [83-87]); and
forward a random access response from the second network entity to the UE (a repeater forwards a random access channel response from the network node to the UE, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [87-90]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving the random access message from the UE via a first access point and transmitting the random access response to the UE via the first access point as taught by Horn, with the teachings of the combination of Taneja, Malkamaki and Pan, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the connection by employing the random access message to establishing the connection (See Horn, paragraphs [55-56, 77-78]).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0267826 A1 to Pan et al. (hereafter refers as Pan) in view of US Patent NO. 9,622,067 B1 to Velusamy et al. (hereafter refers as Velusamy), US 2024/0155370 A1 to Horn et al. (hereafter refers as Horn) and US 2025/0184259 A1 to Xu et al. (hereafter refers as Xu).
Regarding claim 29, Pan teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a second network entity (a target DU, Fig. 13), comprising:
one or more memories (a memory, Fig. 8 and paragraphs [106-113]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the second network entity (a cpu coupled to the memory configured to cause the target DU to perform a method, Fig. 8, 13 and paragraphs [106-113]) to:
receive a user equipment (UE) context setup request for a first cellular connection between a UE and the second network entity (the target DU receives a UE context setup request for a first cellular between a UE and the target DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [257-259]);
transmit a UE context response to a first network entity (the target DU transmits a UE context response to a CU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [259-261]);
receive a reconfiguration complete message from the UE via a first access point, the reconfiguration complete message being associated with a second cellular connection to the second network entity (the target DU receives a reconfiguration complete message from the UE via a relay UE, being associated with a second cellular connection to the target DU, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [268-276]); and
transmit a transfer message to the first network entity based at least in part on the reconfiguration complete message (the target DU transmits a transfer message to the CU based on the reconfiguration complete message, Fig. 13 and paragraphs [270-278]).
However Pan does not explicitly teach the first gateway entity is “a device located in a core network”.
Velusamy teaches a first gateway entity is a device located in a core network (a base station 12 is located at a core network, Fig. 1 and col. 5, lines 35-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of a first gateway entity is a device located in a core network as taught by Velusamy, with the teachings of first gateway entity as taught by Pan, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication by allowing the first gateway entity to be located in the core network, thus the first gateway device does not have to be located at the proximate to the UE, thus reduce number of the first gateway devices (See Velusamy, col. 5, lines 40 – col. 6, line 50).
However, the combination of Pan and Velusamy does not explicitly teach “receive a random access message from the UE” via a first access point and “transmit a random access response to the UE” via the first access point.
Horn teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a second network entity (a network node, Fig. 7), comprising:
one or more memories (wherein the network node comprises a memory, paragraphs [103-105]); and
one or more processors (wherein the network node comprises a processor, paragraphs [103-105]), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to (coupled to the memory, configured to cause the network node to perform a method, paragraphs [103-105]):
receive a random access message from the UE via a first access point (receives a RACH message from a UE via a repeater, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [83-87]); and
transmit a random access response to the UE via the first access point (transmits a RACH response message to the UE via a repeater, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [87-90]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving the random access message from the UE via a first access point and transmitting the random access response to the UE via the first access point as taught by Horn, with the teachings of combination of Pan and Velusamy, for a purpose of increase efficiency in establishing the connection by employing the random access message to establishing the connection (See Horn, paragraphs [55-56, 77-78]).
However, the combination of Pan, Velusamy and Horn does not explicitly teach the message is received via a first access point and “a first gateway entity” and the response is received via a first access point and “the first gateway entity”.
Xu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a second network entity (a network device, Fig. 8-13 and paragraphs [132, 151]), comprising:
one or more memories (wherein the network device comprises a memory, paragraphs [351-354, 379-394]); and
one or more processors (wherein the network device comprises a processor, paragraphs [351-354, 379-394]), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to (coupled to the memory, configured to cause the network device to perform a method, paragraphs [351-354, 379-394]):
receive a message from the UE via a first access point and a first gateway entity (the network device receives a paging message from the UE via a first device and the second device, Fig. 12-13 and paragraphs [262-272, 290-296], wherein the second device is acted as gateway/bridge for the remote device/remote UE to access the network device/base station, paragraph [133] and Fig. 4-5, 11, wherein the first device enables the remote device to access a network, paragraphs [151-154, 260]); and
transmit a random access response to the UE via the first gateway entity and the first access point (the network device transmits a response message to the UE via the first and second devices, Fig. 12-13 and paragraphs [273-277, 294-299]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving the message from the UE via a first access point and a first gateway entity and transmit the response to the UE via the first gateway entity and the first access point as taught by Xu, with the teachings of Pan, Velusamy and Horn for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication by allowing the multiple relay devices, i.e. first access point and the first gateway entity, for forwarding the message and response, thus increase range for the communication (See Xu, paragraphs [168-172] and Fig. 8, 12-13).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0267826 A1 to Pan et al. (hereafter refers as Pan) in view of US Patent NO. 9,622,067 B1 to Velusamy et al. (hereafter refers as Velusamy), US 2024/0155370 A1 to Horn et al. (hereafter refers as Horn) and US 2025/0184259 A1 to Xu et al. (hereafter refers as Xu) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2025/0048315 A1 to Shreevastav et al. (hereafter refers as Shreevastav).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Pan, Velusamy, Horn and Xu further teaches the second network entity is a distributed unit (the target distributed unit (target DU), see Xu, paragraphs [368, 394], see Pan, paragraphs [5, 90]).
However, the combination of Pan, Velusamy, Horn and Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the second network entity to “establish one or more of security with the UE via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations”.
Shreevastav teaches establishing security with the UE via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations (establishing a security with the UE via NAS operation, paragraphs [138, 140-144, 152, 160]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of establishing security with the UE via one or more non-access stratum (NAS) operations as taught by Shreevastav, with the teachings of NAS operation as taught by combination of Pan, Velusamy, Horn and Xu, for a purpose of increase security for the connection by establishing security for the connection (See Shreevastav, paragraphs [138, 140-144, 152, 160]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0039768 A1 discloses establishing direct connection/unicast connection via a series of relay UEs to connect to a network device (Fig. 20).
US 2014/0126460 A1 discloses a UE establishes a non-cellular radio connection with a relay device, wherein the relay device forwards a cellular connection request from a UE to a base station (Fig. 4-5), wherein the relay device forwards random access message from the UE to the base station (Fig. 6).
US 2010/0048216 A1 discloses MGW device relays a handoff request and a handoff request between Femto AP and Target BSC/macro base station (see Fig. 5).
US 2017/0094572 A1 discloses an integrated CN relays information between eNB and AP (see Fig. 2B).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG B HUYNH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
March 13, 2026