DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Li et al (CN109004984A).
Regarding claim 1, Li’984 discloses a method for an apparatus (see, Fig. 1, transmitter communicates with receiver in communication system between the time domain and the frequency domain, par 0091), the method comprising:
obtaining a frequency modulation parameter (order p can be equated to frequency modulation parameter, par 0155) corresponding to a frequency change rate (frequency modulation slope k can be equated to frequency change rate, par 0155) of a frequency-modulated subcarrier (see, selecting order
p
=
2
π
a
r
c
c
o
t
-
k
π
.
d
t
d
f
correlated to k, where k is frequency modulation slope of subcarriers, equation 3-5, par 0129, 0153-0157);
generating an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM)-based (OFDM can be equated to Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM)-based, par 0168) waveform signal comprising a plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers (see, step S1-S1-S5, modulate N parallel high-order modulation signals onto subcarriers corresponding to the domain between the time domain and the frequency domain according to the selected initial order p value and reselected order p value, par 0129-0134, 0141), the plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers (modulate N parallel high-order modulation signals onto subcarriers can be equated to plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers, par 0141) modulated according to the obtained frequency modulation parameter (see, fractional Fourier transform is used to modulate N parallel high-order modulation signals onto subcarriers corresponding to the domain between the time domain and the frequency domain according to selected and reselected order p, par 0129-0134, 0141; Noted, order p correlated to frequency modulation slope k can be equated to obtained frequency modulation parameter, equation 3-5, par 0153); and
outputting the OFDM-based waveform signal (Step S3: Modulate the signal onto the optical carrier to form a multiplexed optical signal in OFDM system, par 0138, 0168).
Regarding claim 11, Li’984 discloses a method for an apparatus (see, Fig. 1, receiver communicates with transmitter in communication system between the time domain and the frequency domain, par 0091), the method comprising:
obtaining a frequency modulation parameter (order p can be equated to frequency modulation parameter, par 0155) corresponding to a frequency change rate (frequency modulation slope k can be equated to frequency change rate, par 0155) of a frequency-modulated subcarrier (see, selecting order
p
=
2
π
a
r
c
c
o
t
-
k
π
.
d
t
d
f
correlated to k, where k is frequency modulation slope of subcarriers, equation 3-5, par 0129, 0153-0157);
receiving an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM)-based (OFDM can be equated to Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM)-based, par 0168) waveform signal comprising a plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers (see, step S1-S1-S5, receiver receives modulate N parallel high-order modulation signals which modulated onto subcarriers corresponding to the domain between the time domain and the frequency domain according to the selected initial order p value and reselected order p value, par 0129-0134, 0139, 0141, 0158), the plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers (modulate N parallel high-order modulation signals onto subcarriers can be equated to plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers, par 0141) modulated according to the frequency modulation parameter (see, fractional Fourier transform is used to modulate N parallel high-order modulation signals onto subcarriers corresponding to the domain between the time domain and the frequency domain according to selected and reselected order p, par 0129-0134, 0141; Noted, order p correlated to frequency modulation slope k can be equated to obtained frequency modulation parameter, equation 3-5, par 0153); and
decoding the plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers (see, demodulates N parallel subcarrier signals to recover the N parallel high-order modulation signals, claim 7, par 0097).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li’984 in view of Sahin et al (US20210111938A1, Priority Date: Oct 07, 2020).
Regarding claim 2, Li’984 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, transmitter communicates with receiver in communication system between the time domain and the frequency domain, par 0091), further comprising.
Li’984 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
generating a plurality of modulated symbols from a sequence of bits; and
precoding the plurality of modulated symbols, according to the frequency modulation parameter, to generate a plurality of precoded symbols;
wherein the OFDM-based waveform signal is generated from the plurality of precoded symbols.
However Sahin’938 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1-2, communication between communications devices , par 0076-0077) discloses:
generating a plurality of modulated symbols from a sequence of bits (see, Fig. 22, mapping information bits into modulation symbols dij through Trajectory matrix encoding, par 0145); and
precoding (Fig. 22, DFT precoding can be equated to precoding, par 0145) the plurality of modulated symbols (values of modulation symbols dij can be equated to plurality of modulated symbols, par 0145), according to the frequency modulation parameter (precoding matrix for DFT precoding in frequency domain can be equated to frequency modulation parameter, par 0075, 0146), to generate a plurality of precoded symbols (see, Fig. 22, DFT precoding on modulation symbols (values of dij) according to precoding matrix and finally generate symbol signals with cyclic prefix, par 0145-0146. Noted, trajectory matrix (Trajectory matrix used to encode multiple information bits through orthogonal/non-orthogonal chirps) may be chosen such that only one of the inputs of each DFT in the precoding matrix is non-zero and thus precoding matrix is correlated to chirp rate (each chirp signal has a different chirp rate), par 0068, 0145-0146);
wherein the OFDM-based waveform signal (OFDM symbols can be equated to OFDM-based waveform signal, par 0151) is generated from the plurality of precoded symbols (see, Fig. 22, generated signal by OFDM symbols is generated from symbols after DFT precoding operations, par 0145, 0151).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Sahin’938 into that of Li’984. The motivation would have been to provide increased reliably and security in wireless connectivity and communications (par 0003).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li’984 in view of Sahin’938 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Koike-Akino et al (US 20160277083 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Li’984 modified by Sahin’938 discloses the method of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1, transmitter communicates with receiver in communication system between the time domain and the frequency domain, par 0091), further comprising.
The combination of Li’984 and Sahin’938 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the precoding comprises interleaving the plurality of modulated symbols with pilot symbols.
However Koike-Akino’083 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, data communication between a transmitter to a receiver in wireless network, par 0026) discloses: wherein the precoding (precoded symbols can be equated to precoding, par 0027) comprises interleaving the plurality of modulated symbols with pilot symbols (see, interleaving precoded symbols after modulation with inserting pilot symbols, par 0027).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Koike-Akino’083 into that of Li’984 modified by Sahin’938. The motivation would have been to solve the problem of power fluctuation and PRPP has an unpredictable power fluctuation due to the randomness (par 0006, 0017).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li’984 in view of Sahin’938 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Campos et al (US20180309598A1).
Regarding claim 5, Li’984 modified by Sahin’938 discloses the method of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1, transmitter communicates with receiver in communication system between the time domain and the frequency domain, par 0091), further comprising.
The combination of Li’984 and Sahin’938 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the generating the OFDM-based waveform signal comprises interleaving the plurality of precoded symbols with pilot symbols.
However Campos’598 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, coherent multicarrier transmitter, par 0026) discloses: wherein the generating the OFDM-based waveform signal (OFDM with coherent reception using pilot signals can be equated to OFDM-based waveform signal, abstract) comprises interleaving (mapping block that assigns data and pilot symbols to subcarriers according to the mapping rule f i =iM D −N/2 can be equated to interleaving, claim 2) the plurality of precoded symbols with pilot symbols (see, transmitter for OFDM with coherent reception maps data and pilot symbols to subcarriers according to the mapping rule by mapping module in DFT spreading precoder, abstract, claim 1-2). (note, this also applied to claim 4 rejection).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Campos’598 into that of Li’984 modified by Sahin’938. The motivation would have been to improve data reception quality in a receiver (par 0002).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li’984 in view of Sahin’938 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sahin’938.
Regarding claim 7, Li’984 discloses the method of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1, transmitter communicates with receiver in communication system between the time domain and the frequency domain, par 0091).
Li’984 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the generating the plurality of modulated symbols from the sequence of bits comprises:
generating a first plurality of modulated symbols from the sequence of bits, and
discrete Fourier transform (DFT) precoding the first plurality of modulated symbols to generate a second plurality of modulated symbols; and
the precoding the plurality of modulated symbols comprises precoding the second plurality of modulated symbols, according to the frequency modulation parameter, to generate the plurality of precoded symbols.
However Sahin’938 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1-2, communication between communications devices , par 0076-0077) discloses:
wherein the generating the plurality of modulated symbols from the sequence of bits (see, Fig. 22, mapping information bits into modulation symbols dij through Trajectory matrix encoding, par 0145) comprises:
generating a first plurality of modulated symbols from the sequence of bits (see, Fig. 22, mapping information bits into modulation symbols dij through Trajectory matrix encoding, par 0145), and
discrete Fourier transform (DFT) precoding (Fig. 22, DFT precoding can be equated to DFT precoding, par 0145) the first plurality of modulated symbols (values of modulation symbols dij can be equated to plurality of modulated symbols, par 0145) to generate a second plurality of modulated symbols (see, Fig. 22, DFT precoding on modulation symbols (values of dij) according to precoding matrix and finally generate symbol signals with cyclic prefix, par 0145-0146).
The combination of Li’984 and Sahin’938 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: the precoding the plurality of modulated symbols comprises precoding the second plurality of modulated symbols, according to the frequency modulation parameter, to generate the plurality of precoded symbols.
However Sahin’938 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1-2, communication between communications devices , par 0076-0077) discloses:
the precoding (Fig. 22, DFT precoding can be equated to precoding, par 0145) the plurality of modulated symbols ((values of modulation symbols dij can be equated to plurality of modulated symbols, par 0145)) comprises precoding the second plurality of modulated symbols (Fig. 22, modulation symbols dij for input of 2nd DFT can be equated to second plurality of modulated symbols), according to the frequency modulation parameter (precoding matrix for DFT precoding in frequency domain can be equated to frequency modulation parameter, par 0075, 0146), to generate the plurality of precoded symbols (see, Fig. 22, 2nd DFT precoding on modulation symbols (values of dij) according to precoding matrix and finally generate symbol signals with cyclic prefix, par 0145-0146. Noted, trajectory matrix (Trajectory matrix used to encode multiple information bits through orthogonal/non-orthogonal chirps) may be chosen such that only one of the inputs of each DFT in the precoding matrix is non-zero and thus precoding matrix is correlated to chirp rate (each chirp signal has a different chirp rate), par 0068, 0145-0146).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Sahin’938 into that of Li’984 modified by Sahin’938. The motivation would have been to provide increased reliably and security in wireless connectivity and communications (par 0003).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li’984 in view of Lu et al (US20200336270A1).
Regarding claim 8, Li’984 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, transmitter communicates with receiver in communication system between the time domain and the frequency domain, par 0091), further comprising.
Li’984 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
obtaining an overlap parameter for indicating an overlap between a first frequency-modulated subcarrier of the plurality of subcarriers and a second frequency-modulated subcarrier of the plurality of subcarriers, the overlap being in at least one of a time domain or a frequency domain.
However Lu’270 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, a first device transmitting synchronization subframe to a second exemplary device, par 0025) discloses:
obtaining an overlap parameter (frequency offset can be equated to overlap parameter, par 0035) for indicating an overlap (Fig. 2A, one subcarrier shift into next subcarrier can be equated to overlap, par 0035) between a first frequency-modulated (modulation in RF can be equated to frequency-modulated, par 0076) subcarrier of the plurality of subcarriers (subcarriers can be equated to the plurality of subcarriers, par 0034) and a second frequency-modulated subcarrier of the plurality of subcarriers (see, determining frequency offset between adjacent subcarriers of multiple subcarriers for RF modulation based on reference symbols transmitted with same transmit beams, par 0034-0035, 0052, 0076), the overlap being in at least one of a time domain or a frequency domain (see, frequency offset of one subcarrier shifted into next subcarrier and thus overlap in frequency domain, par 0035).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Lu’270 into that of Li’984. The motivation would have been to estimate and correct frequency offset causing inter-carrier interference (ICI) (par 0017).
Regarding claim 15, Claim 15 recites a method performing the steps recited in claim 8 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li’984 in view of Priyanto et al (US 20230189139 A1, Priority Date: Mar 20, 2020).
Regarding claim 9, Li’984 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, transmitter communicates with receiver in communication system between the time domain and the frequency domain, par 0091), further comprising.
Li’984 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
obtaining a frequency bandwidth parameter for indicating a frequency bandwidth associated with the plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers.
However Priyanto’139 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 16, communication between UE and BS, par 0134) discloses:
obtaining a frequency bandwidth parameter (bandwidth capability can be equated to frequency bandwidth parameter, par 0155) for indicating a frequency bandwidth associated with the plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers (see, Fig. 4 and 16, first count of the one or more subcarriers for modulation defines first BW (bandwidth), par 0159, 0166).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Lu’270 into that of Li’984. The motivation would have been to support advanced techniques of transmitting a WUS in view of an adaptive OFDM numerology having multiple possible settings (par 0008).
Regarding claim 16, Claim 16 recites a method performing the steps recited in claim 9 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Claims 10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li’984 in view of Choi et al (US 20200345969 A1, PCT Priority Date: May 31, 2019).
Regarding claim 10, Li’984 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, transmitter communicates with receiver in communication system between the time domain and the frequency domain, par 0091), wherein obtaining the frequency modulation parameter comprises (see, selecting order
p
=
2
π
a
r
c
c
o
t
-
k
π
.
d
t
d
f
correlated to frequency modulation slope of subcarriers, equation 3-5, par 0129, 0153-0157).
Li’984 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: receiving control signaling for indicating the frequency modulation parameter and at least one of a symbol duration, a frequency-modulated subcarrier spacing, or an overlap parameter.
However Choi’969 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1-2, UE communicates with 5G network, par 0071, 0074) discloses:
receiving control signaling (RRC message can be equated to control signaling, par 0238) for indicating the frequency modulation parameter (MCS index indicating modulation order can be equated to frequency modulation parameter, par 0238) and at least one of a symbol duration (symbol length can be equated to symbol duration, par 0238), a frequency-modulated subcarrier spacing (subcarrier spacing by RRC parameter, par 0223), or an overlap parameter (see, Fig. 12B, UE receives resource configuration for transmission of UL data through RRC from BS including MCS index, symbol length and subcarrier spacing, par 0238. Noted, the examiner picks option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Choi’969 into that of Li’984. The motivation would have been to provide a hub of IoT for light therapy and a light therapy method based on IoT capable of improving adverse effects of sleep disorders (par 0007).
Regarding claim 17, Claim 17 recites a method performing the steps recited in claim 10 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, Claim 18 recites a method performing the steps recited in claim 10 by transmitter side and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 10.
Regarding claim 19, Li’984 discloses the method of claim 11 (see, Fig. 1, transmitter communicates with receiver in communication system between the time domain and the frequency domain, par 0091).
Li’984 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the OFDM-based waveform signal comprises a cyclic prefix (CP).
However Choi’969 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1-2, UE communicates with 5G network, par 0071, 0074) discloses: wherein the OFDM-based waveform signal comprises a cyclic prefix (CP) (see, RACH OFDM symbols with different cyclic prefixes, par 0216) .
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Choi’969 into that of Li’984. The motivation would have been to provide a hub of IoT for light therapy and a light therapy method based on IoT capable of improving adverse effects of sleep disorders (par 0007).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li’984 in view of Pados et al (US20210344538A1, Priority Date: Sept 30, 2019).
Regarding claim 20, Li’984 discloses an apparatus comprising (see, Fig. 1, transmitter or receiver in communication system between the time domain and the frequency domain, par 0091),
obtaining a frequency modulation parameter (order p can be equated to frequency modulation parameter, par 0155) corresponding to a frequency change rate (frequency modulation slope k can be equated to frequency change rate, par 0155) of a frequency-modulated subcarrier (see, selecting order
p
=
2
π
a
r
c
c
o
t
-
k
π
.
d
t
d
f
correlated to k, where k is frequency modulation slope of subcarriers, equation 3-5, par 0129, 0153-0157), and
transmitting or receiving an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM)-based (OFDM can be equated to Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM)-based, par 0168) waveform signal (Step S3: Modulate the signal onto the optical carrier to form a multiplexed optical signal in OFDM system, par 0138, 0158, 0168) comprising a plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers (see, step S1-S1-S5, transmitter transmits or receiver receives communication signal by modulating N parallel high-order modulation signals onto subcarriers corresponding to the domain between the time domain and the frequency domain according to the selected initial order p value and reselected order p value, 0129-0134, 0139, 0141, 0158), the plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers (modulate N parallel high-order modulation signals onto subcarriers can be equated to plurality of frequency-modulated subcarriers, par 0141) modulated according to the obtained frequency modulation parameter (see, fractional Fourier transform is used to modulate N parallel high-order modulation signals onto subcarriers corresponding to the domain between the time domain and the frequency domain according to selected and reselected order p, par 0129-0134, 0141; Noted, order p correlated to frequency modulation slope k can be equated to obtained frequency modulation parameter, equation 3-5, par 0153).
Li’984 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
an apparatus comprising:
a memory to store processor-executable instructions; and
a processor to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to perform a method.
However Pados’538 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 24-25, MU-MCDM system including transmitter and receiver, par 0056, 0073, 0075) discloses:
an apparatus (transmitter or receiver, par 0017, 0025) comprising:
a memory to store processor-executable instructions (note, memory implied by computer-readable software program configured to run on processor, par 0098); and
a processor to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to perform a method (see, computer-readable software program configured to run on processor to implement transmitter and/or receiver, par 0098).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by Pados’538 into that of Li’984. The motivation would have been to implement high data-rate acoustic and radio frequency communications and applied to optical transceivers (par 0003, 0060).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 3, 6 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fail to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “obtaining a fractional order 𝛼 based on the frequency modulation parameter, wherein the precoding comprises fractional domain Fourier transformation of the plurality of modulated symbols to generate the plurality of precoded symbols in a fractional domain of a fractional order [-(𝛼−1)]”.
Regarding claim 6, the closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fail to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “wherein the precoding comprises multiplication of the plurality of modulated symbols with a chirp function selected according to the frequency change rate”.
Regarding claim 12, the closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fail to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “obtaining a fractional order 𝛼 based on the frequency modulation parameter, wherein the received OFDM-based waveform signal is generated from a plurality of precoded symbols generated from fractional domain Fourier transformation, in a fractional domain of a fractional order [-(𝛼−1)], of a plurality of modulated symbols”.
Claims 13-14 are objected due to their dependency on claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhao et al (US 20170026215 A1) discloses: a transmitter for FBMC communication, comprising: a processor adapted to calculate two auxiliary pilot symbols, and a precoder adapted to insert the two calculated auxiliary pilot symbols into a symbol structure of symbols, the symbols adjacently surrounding a main pilot symbol, wherein the precoder is adapted to insert the two auxiliary pilot symbols at two symbol positions of the symbol structure, which are symmetric to the main pilot symbol in a time domain and/or in a frequency domain (par 0022); the receiver further comprises: an equalizer adapted to calculate two equalized auxiliary pilot symbols based on the two auxiliary pilot symbols received from the analyzer and based on two channel estimates corresponding to time and/or frequency instants of the two auxiliary pilot symbols, the two channel estimates being calculated by and received from the channel estimator, wherein the detector is adapted to extract the payload information from the two equalized auxiliary pilot symbols (par 0040). This applies to claim 13.
Hwang et al (US20230367005A1, PCT Priority Date: Oct 6, 2020) discloses: Complex modulation symbol sequences may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper 330. Modulation symbols of each transport layer may be mapped (precoded) to corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder 340. Outputs z of the precoder 340 may be obtained by multiplying outputs y of the layer mapper 330 by an N*M precoding matrix W. Herein, N is the number of antenna ports and M is the number of transport layers. The precoder 340 may perform precoding after performing transform precoding (e.g., DFT) for complex modulation symbols. Alternatively, the precoder 340 may perform precoding without performing transform precoding (par 0233). This applies to claim 7, and partially claim 6.
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473