DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/15/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding at least independent claims 1 and 9, the applicant argues the rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 is improper over Yasuhara WO 2020/262219A1 (use US 2022/0121054 as an English translation for rejection) in view of Yanagawa JP 2000258758A because Yasuhara (see para.85-91 and 112 and table 1) fails to “a ratio of a total area occupied by the spacers to an overall area of the light control layer, when the light control layer is observed from a contact surface with a transparent electrode laver of the pair of transparent electrode layers, is in a range of 0.9% to 30.0%”(the Applicant does not know how the Examiner get a ratio of a total area occupied by the spacers to an overall area of the light control layer equal to about 2.9%). The Examiner respectfully disagrees and will show the calculation process below.
Regarding applicant’s argument, Yasuhara does disclose “a ratio of a total area occupied by the spacers to an overall area of the light control layer, when the light control layer is observed from a contact surface with a transparent electrode laver of the pair of transparent electrode layers, is in a range of 0.9% to 30.0%” (see para.85-91 and 112 and table 1, example 1 discloses the ratio equal to about 2.9% and example 2 discloses the ratio equal to about 23.9%. For instance, see Example 1 of table 1 discloses spacer density (D) is 32/mm2, ratio number of spacers (SP1(N1) and SP2(N2)) is N1/N2=70/30=7/3, para.85-91 discloses a diameter of SP1(R1) is 8 µm ≤R1≤50µm, a diameter of SP2(R2) is 3 µm ≤R2≤7µm, the calculation is shown below that the ratio is equal to 0.119% to 4.435%, also, when R1=40µm, R2=7µm, the ratio is equal to 2.8517% which is equal to about 2.9%; In addition, Example 2 of table 1 can be calculated the same way as Example 1 as below that the ratio is equal to 0.989% to 36.73% includes 23.9%).
Therefore, The Examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 15-17, the phase “a lower limit of the drive voltage” should be “a lower limit drive voltage”; and
Claim 9, line 14, lines 17-19, the phase “a lower limit of the drive voltage” should be “a lower limit drive voltage”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuhara WO 2020/262219A1 (use US 2022/0121054 as an English translation for rejection) in view of Yanagawa JP 2000258758A (see machine translation of 18459464_2025-09-15_JP_2000258758_A_M.pdf).
Regarding claim 1, Yasuhara discloses a light control sheet, in at least figs.1-2, comprising:
a light control layer (11) comprising a resin layer (11A) and oriented particles (11B);
a pair of transparent electrode layers (12) sandwiching the light control layer; and
a pair of transparent support layers (13) sandwiching the light control layer and the pair of transparent electrode layers,
wherein the light control layer has thicknesses measured in a plurality of measurement positions such that the thicknesses are within a range of 0.8 times to 1.2 times a median value of the thicknesses (para.103 and 113 and table 1 disclose the light control layer having thickness uniformity of 5% or less which is about 0.97 times to 1.03 times a median value of the thicknesses) and has a structure such that the resin layer has a plurality of voids and that the oriented particles are contained in the voids dispersed in the resin layer (para.28),
the light control layer includes spacers (SP1 and SP2) controlling a gap between the pair of transparent electrode layers (see figs.1 and 2), and
a ratio of a total area occupied by the spacers to an overall area of the light control layer, when the light control layer is observed from a contact surface with a transparent electrode laver of the pair of transparent electrode layers, is in a range of 0.9% to 30.0% (see para.85-91 and 112 and table 1, example 1 discloses the ratio equal to about 2.9% and example 2 discloses the ratio equal to about 23.9%).
Yasuhara does not explicitly disclose a variance {(Vmax−Vmin)/Vavr}×100 in a middle value is 40% or less, where Vmin is a minimum value, Vmax is a maximum value, Vavr is an average value of middle values Vm obtained from characteristic curves in the plurality of measurement positions, each of the characteristic curves is obtained by measuring a change in haze when a drive voltage applied to the transparent electrode layers is changed, each of the middle values is a middle value Vm between a first voltage Va and a second voltage Vb, the first voltage Va is a lower limit drive voltage in a range in which an absolute value of a change ratio in the haze is 0.5%/V or more, and the second voltage Vb is an upper limit drive voltage.
Yanagawa discloses a light control sheet, in at least fig.1, a light control layer has a voltage of 30 V in the transparent state and making the voltage applied to light control layer uniformly by forming the light control layer with an uniform thickness (page 3, 4th paragraph) for the purpose of having the light control sheet in the transparent state with low voltage driving (page 4, bottom-up 4th paragraph).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a light control layer has a voltage of 30 V in the transparent state and making the voltage applied to light control layer uniformly by forming the light control layer with an uniform thickness as taught by Yanagawa in the light control sheet of Yasuhara in order to have a variance {(Vmax−Vmin)/Vavr}×100 in a middle value is 40% or less, where Vmin is a minimum value, Vmax is a maximum value, Vavr is an average value of middle values Vm obtained from characteristic curves in the plurality of measurement positions, each of the characteristic curves is obtained by measuring a change in haze when a drive voltage applied to the transparent electrode layers is changed, each of the middle values is a middle value Vm between a first voltage Va and a second voltage Vb, the first voltage Va is a lower limit drive voltage in a range in which an absolute value of a change ratio in the haze is 0.5%/V or more, and the second voltage Vb is an upper limit drive voltage because Yasuhara (para.44, 45, 49 and 133) discloses the light control layer can be switched between a transparent state, an opaque (high Haze) state and an opaque state with a voltage lower than a voltage in the transparent state and the light control layer has the thickness uniformity of 5% or less, so that the change ratio in the haze is about 93%/30V=3.1%/V and a variance {(Vmax−Vmin)/Vavr}×100 in a middle value is 40% or less for the purpose of having the light control sheet in the transparent state with low voltage driving.
Regarding claim 3, Yasuhara does not explicitly disclose the control layer is formed such that a diameter of each of the voids is in a range of 0.4 μm to 2.2 μm.
Yanagawa discloses a light control sheet, in at least fig.1, the control layer is formed such that a diameter of each of the voids is in a range of 0.4 μm to 2.2 μm (page 3, lines 16 and 17) for the purpose of increasing the scattering efficiency of liquid crystal in visible light (page 3, line 16).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control layer is formed such that a diameter of each of the voids is in a range of 0.4 μm to 2.2 μm as taught by Yanagawa in the light control sheet of Yasuhara for the purpose of increasing the scattering efficiency of liquid crystal in visible light.
Regarding claim 9, Yasuhara discloses a light control device, in at least figs.1-2, comprising:
a light control sheet (10) that changes a haze depending on a drive voltage (para.103 and 133 and table 1); and
a driving unit (10D) comprising circuitry configured to control a drive voltage applied to the light control sheet (see figs.1 and 2),
wherein the light control sheet includes a light control layer (11) comprising a resin layer (11A) and oriented particles (11B),
a pair of transparent electrode layers (12) sandwiching the light control layer, and
a pair of transparent support layers (13) sandwiching the light control layer and the pair of transparent electrode layers,
the light control layer has thicknesses measured in a plurality of measurement positions such that the thicknesses are within a range of 0.8 times to 1.2 times a median value of the thicknesses (para.103 and 113 and table 1 disclose the light control layer having thickness uniformity of 5% or less which is about 0.97 times to 1.03 times a median value of the thicknesses) and has a structure such that the resin layer has a plurality of voids and that the oriented particles are contained in the voids dispersed in the resin layer (para.28), and the circuitry of the driving unit is configured to switch among a first mode of not applying the drive voltage (see fig.1), a second mode of applying a voltage of equal to or more than the second voltage Vb (see fig.2), and a third mode of applying a voltage between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb (see para.133) such that the haze of the light control sheet becomes the haze between the haze in the first mode and the haze in the second mode (para.133 and table 1),
the light control layer includes spacers (SP1 and SP2) controlling a gap between the pair of transparent electrode layers (see figs.1 and 2), and
a ratio of a total area occupied by the spacers to an overall area of the light control layer, when the light control layer is observed from a contact surface with a transparent electrode laver of the pair of transparent electrode layers, is in a range of 0.9% to 30.0% (see para.85-91 and 112 and table 1, example 1 discloses the ratio equal to about 2.9% and example 2 discloses the ratio equal to about 23.9%).
Yasuhara does not explicitly disclose a variance {(Vmax−Vmin)/Vavr}×100 in a middle value is 40% or less, where Vmin is a minimum value, Vmax is a maximum value, Vavr is an average value of middle values Vm obtained from characteristic curves in the plurality of measurement positions, each of the characteristic curves is obtained by measuring a change in haze when a drive voltage applied to the transparent electrode layers is changed, each of the middle values is a middle value Vm between a first voltage Va and a second voltage Vb, the first voltage Va is a lower limit drive voltage in a range in which an absolute value of a change ratio in the haze is 0.5%/V or more, and the second voltage Vb is an upper limit drive voltage.
Yanagawa discloses a light control device, in at least fig.1, a light control layer has a voltage of 30 V in the transparent state and making the voltage applied to light control layer uniformly by forming the light control layer with an uniform thickness (page 3, 4th paragraph)(for the purpose of having the light control sheet in the transparent state with low voltage driving (page 4, bottom-up 4th paragraph).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a light control layer has a voltage of 30 V in the transparent state and making the voltage applied to light control layer uniformly by forming the light control layer with an uniform thickness as taught by Yanagawa in the light control device of Yasuhara in order to have a variance {(Vmax−Vmin)/Vavr}×100 in a middle value is 40% or less, where Vmin is a minimum value, Vmax is a maximum value, Vavr is an average value of middle values Vm obtained from characteristic curves in the plurality of measurement positions, each of the characteristic curves is obtained by measuring a change in haze when a drive voltage applied to the transparent electrode layers is changed, each of the middle values is a middle value Vm between a first voltage Va and a second voltage Vb, the first voltage Va is a lower limit drive voltage in a range in which an absolute value of a change ratio in the haze is 0.5%/V or more, and the second voltage Vb is an upper limit drive voltage because Yasuhara (para.44, 45, 49 and 133) discloses the light control layer can be switched between a transparent state and an opaque (high Haze) state with a voltage lower than a voltage in the transparent state and the light control layer has the thickness uniformity of 5% or less, so that the change ratio in the haze is about 93%/30V=3.1%/V and a variance {(Vmax−Vmin)/Vavr}×100 in a middle value is 40% or less for the purpose of having the light control sheet in the transparent state with low voltage driving.
Regarding claim 11, Yasuhara does not explicitly disclose the control layer is formed such that a diameter of each of the voids is in a range of 0.4 μm to 2.2 μm.
Yanagawa discloses a light control device, in at least fig.1, the control layer is formed such that a diameter of each of the voids is in a range of 0.4 μm to 2.2 μm (page 3, lines 16 and 17) for the purpose of increasing the scattering efficiency of liquid crystal in visible light (page 3, line 16).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control layer is formed such that a diameter of each of the voids is in a range of 0.4 μm to 2.2 μm as taught by Yanagawa in the light control device of Yasuhara for the purpose of increasing the scattering efficiency of liquid crystal in visible light.
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuhara WO 2020/262219A1 (use US 2022/0121054 as an English translation for rejection) in view of Yanagawa JP 2000258758A as applied to claims 1 and 3 above respectively, and further in view of Hirai US 2024/0152015.
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Yasuhara in view of Yanagawa does not explicitly disclose a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less.
Hirai discloses a light control sheet, in figs.1(a)-1(c), a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less (para.33 discloses a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 29 V or less) for the purpose of switching/driving the light control layer between a transparent state and a scattering state (para.33).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less as taught by Hirai in the light control sheet of Yasuhara in view of Yanagawa for the purpose of switching/driving the light control layer between a transparent state and a scattering state.
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuhara WO 2020/262219A1 (use US 2022/0121054 as an English translation for rejection) in view of Yanagawa JP 2000258758A as applied to claims 1 and 3 above respectively, and further in view of Hashida JP 2020109441A (see machine translation of 18459464_2025-09-15_JP_2020109441_A_M.pdf).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Yasuhara in view of Yanagawa does not explicitly disclose a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less.
Hashida discloses a light control sheet, in figs.1-7, a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less (page 7, bottom-up line 5-page 8 2nd paragraph disclose a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 30V-10V=20V) for the purpose of switching/driving the light control layer between a transparent state and a scattering state (page 7, bottom-up line 5-page 8 2nd paragraph)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less as taught by Hashida in the light control sheet of Yasuhara in view of Yanagawa for the purpose of switching/driving the light control layer between a transparent state and a scattering state.
Claim(s) 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuhara WO 2020/262219A1 (use US 2022/0121054 as an English translation for rejection) in view of Yanagawa JP 2000258758A as applied to claims 9 and 11 above respectively, and further in view of Hirai US 2024/0152015.
Regarding claims 12 and 15, Yasuhara in view of Yanagawa does not explicitly disclose a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less.
Hirai discloses a light control device, in figs.1(a)-1(c), a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less (para.33 discloses a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 29 V or less) for the purpose of switching/driving the light control layer between a transparent state and a scattering state (para.33).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less as taught by Hirai in the light control device of Yasuhara in view of Yanagawa for the purpose of switching/driving the light control layer between a transparent state and a scattering state.
Claim(s) 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuhara WO 2020/262219A1 (use US 2022/0121054 as an English translation for rejection) in view of Yanagawa JP 2000258758A as applied to claims 9 and 11 above respectively, and further in view of Hashida JP 2020109441A (see machine translation of 18459464_2025-09-15_JP_2020109441_A_M.pdf).
Regarding claims 12 and 15, Yasuhara in view of Yanagawa does not explicitly disclose a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less.
Hashida discloses a light control device, in figs.1-7, a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less (page 7, bottom-up line 5-page 8 2nd paragraph disclose a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 30V-10V=20V) for the purpose of switching/driving the light control layer between a transparent state and a scattering state (page 7, bottom-up line 5-page 8 2nd paragraph)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a difference between the first voltage Va and the second voltage Vb is 22 V or less as taught by Hashida in the light control device of Yasuhara in view of Yanagawa for the purpose of switching/driving the light control layer between a transparent state and a scattering state.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yanagawa JP 2000258758A (at least fig.1) and Hashida JP 2020109441A (at least figs.1-7) can be a primary reference as well.
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871