DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, and 6-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
4. It is noted that Claim 19 is amended with language similar to that recited in Claim 7. No matter of the rejection of claim 7 was argued against in the most recent remarks. Therefore, a similar rejection is found herein for Claim 19.
Specification
5. The specification was previously objected to for minor informalities. These have been corrected, and the objection withdrawn.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 14 was previously objected to for minor informalities. These have been corrected, and the objection withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 3, 19, and 25, were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite. However, amendments have been made to these claims to overcome the previous rejections. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 19-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandavia U.S. 11,207,120 (herein referred to as “Mandavia”), and in view of Witt U.S. 2019/0099213 (herein referred to as “Witt”), Robinson U.S. 5,573,008 (herein referred to as “Robinson”), and Woloszko (U.S. 2005/0251134 (herein referred to as “Woloszko”).
10. Regarding Claim 19, Mandavia teaches a cautery tip portion (Fig. 1A, ref nums 106, 103) for a cautery device Fig. 1A, ref num 100) defining a device axis (Fig. 1A, ref num 101), the tip portion comprising:
a. a first electrode (Fig. 1B, ref num 107) and a second electrode (Fig. 1B, ref num 108), wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are spaced apart (see Fig. 1B, ref nums 107 and 108 are spaced apart);
b. at least one wire (Fig. 1B, ref num 104), wherein the at least one wire is in electrical connection with the first electrode and the second electrode (Col. 8, lines 50-53, “The proximal ends PER-1, PER-2 of the electrically conductive rods 107, 108 are mechanically and electrically coupled to the two ends 104a, 104b of the electrode 104”), wherein the at least one wire defines a cautery shape (Col. 5, line 16, “forming a tip for cauterizing tissue when heated” indicates that the central portion has a cautery shape), wherein the cautery shape defines a near-continuous perimeter in a cautery plane (Fig. 1B, ref num 104c has a continuous perimeter when connected to ref nums 104a and 104b).
In another embodiment of Mandavia, they teach a retrieval portion (Fig. 4, ref num 410 and 419; Col. 13, lines 56-67 – Col. 14, lines 1-4). However, the embodiments of Mandavia fail to explicitly teach that the retrieval portion is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the retrieval portion extends along and is moveable along a retrieval axis, wherein the retrieval portion is configured to extend through the continuous or near continuous perimeter of the cautery shape, and wherein the cautery plane extends at an angle relative to the device axis.
Witt teaches a tip portion of analogous art (Fig. 2), wherein the tip portion comprises a first and second electrode (Figs. 1 and 2, ref num 145a and 145b; para 0070, “electrodes 145a,b”) and a retrieval portion (Fig. 1, ref num 165; para 0073, “mixture generated at the surgical site to flow from the fluid aspiration port 165 to the fluid evacuation port 110”). The retrieval portion is positioned between the first and second electrode (see Figs. 2 and 5, ref num 165 is between ref nums 145a, 145b) and is moveable along a retrieval axis (see Fig. 14, ref num 165 is in the extended configuration; para 0074, “the slide switch 130, in a first portion (for example, in a proximal position), may cause the aspiration tube 160 to remain in a first or retracted position… the slide switch 130 in a second position (for example in a distal position), may cause the aspiration tube 160 to extend in a distal direction to a fully extended position”). The retrieval portion provides means to remove unwanted debris and fluid from the target site during treatment (para 0073, “mixture generated at the surgical site to flow from the fluid aspiration port 165 to the fluid evacuation port 110. The liquid mixture may then be removed from the electrosurgical device 100”) and allows control over when the retrieval portion is used to retrieve the debris from the target site (para 0067, 0074). Thus, by providing the retrieval portion, the user may cauterize and remove tissue remnants as needed (para 0033, “incorporating coagulation and aspiration function is desirable”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mandavia to include a retrieval portion between the first and second electrode, as well as moveable along a retrieval axis, in order to remove unwanted debris from the target site while achieving the same desired result of cauterizing tissue. Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the retrieval portion between the first and second electrodes, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Robinson teaches a tip portion of analogous art (Fig. 4), wherein the tip portion comprises a wire that defines a cautery shape (Fig. 4, ref num 64; Col. 5, lines 61-62, “a wire-form cutting loop 64”), such that the cautery shape has a continuous perimeter (see Fig. 4, ref num 64 has a continuous perimeter). The tip portion also comprises a retrieval portion (Fig. 4, ref num 54), such that when the retrieval portion is in an extended position (see Fig. 4a), the tip of the retrieval portion extends through the continuous perimeter of the cautery shape (Figs. 4 and 4a display ref num 54 in an extended position, such that it extends through the perimeter of ref num 64). This is to come into contact with the tissue for retrieval purposes (Col. 6, lines 12-14, “the retractor 54 is extended distally (arrow 66) so it pierces the tissue surface 18”). By extending the retrieval portion through the perimeter, this brings the tissue into an area where it may be cut/cauterized (Col. 2, lines 65-67 – Col. 1, lines 1-3; see Figs. 4a-4e). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mandavia to have the retrieval portion extend through the perimeter of the cautery shape in order to bring the tissue into the area desired for cutting and cauterization.
Woloszko teaches a tip portion of analogous art (Figs. 27-29), wherein the tip portion comprises a cautery plane (Fig. 29, ref nums 724/726) that is angled relative to the device axis (Fig. 27, ref nums 740 and 750 define the device axis; see Figs. 27 and 29, ref nums 724/726 are angled relative to the device axis; para 0130, “active electrode 724 and return electrode 726 are arranged at an acute angle .beta. with respect to the longitudinal axis of the probe 700”). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions cautery shape/plane whatever form or shape was desired or expedient, such as angling the cautery plane relative to the device axis. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
11. Regarding Claim 20, Mandavia fails to teach at least one shuttle connected to the retrieval portion and moveable along the retrieval axis to enable movement of the retrieval portion between a retracted position and an extended position.
Witt teaches at least one shuttle (Figs. 1, 18, and 22, ref num 130) connected to the retrieval portion (para 0074, “the aspiration tube control device may comprise a slide switch 130”) and moveable along the retrieval axis (see Figs. 18 and 22, the movement of ref num 130 is in the same axis as ref num 165/160) to enable movement of the retrieval portion between a retracted position and an extended position (Figs. 18 and 22 show retracted and extended positions of ref num 165/160; para 0078 describes the movement of the retrieval portion relative to the shuttle). This allows control over when the retrieval portion is used to retrieve the debris from the target site (para 0067, 0074). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mandavia to have the retrieval portion moveable between a retracted and extended position, via a shuttle, in order to control the removal of debris.
12. Regarding Claim 21, Mandavia fails to teach when the retrieval portion is in the extended position, a tip of the retrieval portion extends past the cautery plane.
Witt teaches when the retrieval portion is in the extended position (Figs. 14 and 18, ref num 165 is in the extended position), a tip of the retrieval portion extends past the cautery plane (Fig. 14, ref num 165 tip extends past ref nums 145a, 145b, which perform the cautery function, therefore, the tip of 165 extends beyond that plane). This allows control over when the retrieval portion is used to retrieve the debris from the target site when in the extended position (para 0067, 0074). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mandavia to have the retrieval portion extend beyond the cautery plane in order to control the removal of the debris from the target site.
13. Regarding Claim 23, Mandavia fails to teach the retrieval portion is barbed.
Robinson teaches a retrieval portion is barbed (Fig. 3, ref num 40/42; Col. 5, lines 12-15, “The retractor member is axially movable (arrow 41), is formed of an extended length, and has a barbed tip 42 for piercing and retaining samples during axial travel”). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions retrieval portion whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
14. Regarding Claim 24, Mandavia fails to teach the retrieval portion is a needle.
Robinson teaches a retrieval portion that is a needle (Fig. 4, ref num 54; Col. 5, line 51, “retractor 54, preferably a spear-form element”). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions retrieval portion whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
15. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandavia, Witt, Robinson, and Woloszko, and further in view of Hayakawa.
16. Regarding Claim 22, Mandavia fails to teach at least one biasing element configured to bias the retrieval portion to the retracted position.
Hayakawa teaches a tip portion of analogous art (Figs. 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, 12a, and 12B), wherein the tip portion comprises a wire (Fig. 4B, ref num 30) and a retrieval portion (Fig. 6B, ref num 40/42). The retrieval portion may be configured in a retracted and extended position (Figs. 6A and 6B, ref num 40 is in retracted and extended positions, respectively), such that at least one biasing element (Figs. 12A and 12B, ref num 61) is configured to bias the retrieval portion to the retracted position (once the biasing element, i.e. balloon ref num 61, has been deflated and removed, this subsequently causes the retrieval portion, ref num 40/42, to be withdrawn into the retracted position; see para 0073-0074). This biasing element provides the advantage of positioning the target tissue within the cautery/cutting plane in order to perform the expected result of cutting the tissue (para 0031). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mandavia to include a biasing element to bias the retrieval portion to the retracted position in order to cut and capture the target tissue.
Allowable Subject Matter
17. Claims 1, 3, 6-18, and 25 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: a tip portion for a cautery device, the tip portion comprising, a first and second electrode, at least one wire, and a central portion in electrical communication with the first and second electrode, wherein the central portion defines a cautery shape, a retrieval portion, and a shuttle connected to the retrieval portion is well known in the art. This is supported by at least the references cited during the prosecution of this case, as well as other references in the general area that could be located with minimal effort. However, the prior art of record fails to specifically teach the retrieval portion being positioned between the first and second electrode, wherein with the central portion is positioned on a medium and the shuttle in the extend position with the retrieval portion puncturing the medium, upon application of electricity to the at least one wire, the central portion causes cutting of the medium into a portion of the medium formed into the cautery shape so as to form a corresponding hole in the medium in the cautery plane, and wherein the portion of the medium being cut is retained by the retrieval portion. The prior art also fails to provide sufficient motivation to make such specific modifications and would require improper use of hindsight to arrive at the claimed invention when considered along or in any proper combination.
18. As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
19. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNIE L SHOULDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3794