DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cui et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0180077)
Referring to Claim 1, Ciu et al. disclose a user equipment (UE) for wireless
communication (par 12, UE), the UE comprising: one or more memories (par 12, UE; Also, par 58, memory); and one or more processors (par 58) in communication with the one or more memories (par 12, UE), the one or more processors configured to: determine that a first condition is triggered for performing one or more layer 1 (L1) signal measurements for inter-cell mobility (par 12, Layer 1 measurements based on configuration, e.g. during specific gaps, measurement objects, etc., mobility); perform the one or more L1 signal measurements of one or more cells in a configured cell set for the UE based on determining that the first condition is triggered (par 12, Layer 1 measurements, gaps, etc.); and send a report of the one or more L1 signal measurements to a network node (par 12, report).
Referring to Claim 2 as applied to Claim 1 above, Ciu et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network node, one or more conditions for triggering the one or more L1 signal measurements, wherein the one or more conditions includes the first condition (par 12, wireless network configures UE to perform measurements, Layer 1).
Referring to Claim 3 as applied to Claim 2 above, Ciu et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more conditions include one or more of a UE mobility condition, a channel strength measurement condition associated with the configured cell set, or a predicted blocking condition (pars 12-14, configuration for mobility, communication/handover).
Referring to Claim 4 as applied to Claim 3 above, Ciu et al. disclose the UE, wherein the first condition is the channel strength measurement condition, wherein the channel strength measurement condition is a channel strength threshold of one or more cells in the configured cell set (pars 12-14 and 24, measurement, signal power/ration, etc., threshold), and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a channel strength of at least one cell of the one or more cells in the configured cell set; compare the channel strength to the channel strength threshold to generate a comparison; and determine, based on the comparison, that the channel strength measurement condition is triggered for performing the one or more L1 signal measurements for inter-cell mobility (pars 12-14 and 24, measurement, signal power/ration, etc., threshold).
Referring to Claim 5 as applied to Claim 1 above, Ciu et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network node, a measurement configuration that includes one or more measurement parameters for performing the one or more L1 signal measurements, wherein the one or more measurement parameters indicate one or more specific cells of the one or more cells in the configured cell set for which the one or more L1 signal measurements is to be performed; and perform, based on the one or more measurement parameters, the one or more L1 signal measurements of the one or more cells in the configured cell set (pars 12-14, configuration, objects, cells).
Referring to Claim 6 as applied to Claim 1 above, Ciu et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network node, a reporting configuration that includes reporting parameters for reporting the one or more L1 signal measurements, wherein the reporting parameters indicate one or more of a duration of the report, a number of reports, or a periodicity of multiple reports; and send, based on the reporting parameters, the report of the one or more L1 signal measurements to the network node using a downlink control information (DCI) signal or using a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signal (pars 12-23, configuration, report, DCI/MAC CE).
Referring to Claim 7 as applied to Claim 1 above, Ciu et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network node, a dynamic grant of resources to use for reporting the one or more L1 signal measurements; and send, based on the dynamic grant of resources, the report of the one or more L1 signal measurements to the network node (pars 12-14 and 22, grant, report).
Referring to Claim 8 as applied to Claim 1 above, Ciu et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network node, a filtering configuration that includes filtering parameters for filtering the one or more L1 signal measurements; and filter, based on the filtering parameters, the one or more L1 signal measurements prior to sending the report (pars 12 and 45, indication, filtering).
Referring to Claim 9 as applied to Claim 1 above, Ciu et al. disclose the UE, wherein to perform the one or more L1 signal measurements of the one or more cells in the configured cell set, the one or more processors are configured to: perform the one or more L1 signal measurements of one or more cells in an activated cell set of the configured cell set; perform the one or more L1 signal measurements of one or more cells in a deactivated cell set of the configured cell set; or perform the one or more L1 signal measurements of one or more cells in the activated cell set of the configured cell set and perform the one or more L1 signal measurements of one or more cells in the deactivated cell set of the configured cell set (pars 12-14 and 38, configured cells for measurement).
Referring to Claim 10, Ciu et al. disclose a method for wireless communication (par 12, wireless), the method comprising: determining, at a user equipment (UE), that a first condition is triggered for performing one or more layer 1 (L1) signal measurements for inter-cell mobility (par 12, Layer 1 measurements based on configuration, e.g. during specific gaps, measurement objects, etc., mobility); performing the one or more L1 signal measurements of one or more cells in a configured cell set for the UE based on determining that the first condition is triggered (par 12, Layer 1 measurements, gaps, etc.); and sending a report of the one or more L1 signal measurements to a network node (par 12, report).
Referring to Claim 11 as applied to Claim 10 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, one or more conditions for triggering the one or more L1 signal measurements, wherein the one or more conditions includes the first condition (par 12, wireless network configures UE to perform measurements, Layer 1).
Referring to Claim 12 as applied to Claim 11 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, wherein the one or more conditions include one or more of a UE mobility condition, a channel strength measurement condition associated with the configured cell set, or a predicted blocking condition (pars 12-14, configuration for mobility, communication/handover).
Referring to Claim 13 as applied to Claim 12 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, wherein the first condition is the channel strength measurement condition, wherein the channel strength measurement condition is a channel strength threshold of one or more cells in the configured cell set (pars 12-14 and 24, measurement, signal power/ration, etc., threshold), and wherein the method further comprises: determining a channel strength of at least one cell of the one or more cells in the configured cell set; comparing the channel strength to the channel strength threshold to generate a comparison; and determining, based on the comparison, that the channel strength measurement condition is triggered for performing the one or more L1 signal measurements for inter-cell mobility (pars 12-14 and 24, measurement, signal power/ration, etc., threshold).
Referring to Claim 14 as applied to Claim 10 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, a measurement configuration that includes one or more measurement parameters for performing the one or more L1 signal measurements, wherein the one or more measurement parameters indicate one or more specific cells of the one or more cells in the configured cell set for which the one or more L1 signal measurements is to be performed; and performing, based on the one or more measurement parameters, the one or more L1 signal measurements of the one or more cells in the configured cell set (pars 12-14, configuration, objects, cells).
Referring to Claim 15 as applied to Claim 10 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, a reporting configuration that includes reporting parameters for reporting the one or more L1 signal measurements, wherein the reporting parameters indicate one or more of a duration of the report, a number of reports, or a periodicity of multiple reports; and sending, based on the reporting parameters, the report of the one or more L1 signal measurements to the network node using a downlink control information (DCI) signal or using a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signal (pars 12-23, configuration, report, DCI/MAC CE).
Referring to Claim 16 as applied to Claim 10 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, a dynamic grant of resources to use for reporting the one or more L1 signal measurements; and sending, based on the dynamic grant of resources, the report of the one or more L1 signal measurements to the network node (pars 12-14 and 22, grant, report).
Referring to Claim 17 as applied to Claim 10 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, a filtering configuration that includes filtering parameters for filtering the one or more L1 signal measurements; and filtering, based on the filtering parameters, the one or more L1 signal measurements prior to sending the report (pars 12 and 45, indication, filtering).
Referring to Claim 18 as applied to Claim 10 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, wherein performing the one or more L1 signal measurements of the one or more cells in the configured cell set comprises: performing the one or more L1 signal measurements of one or more cells in an activated cell set of the configured cell set; performing the one or more L1 signal measurements of one or more cells in a deactivated cell set of the configured cell set; or performing the one or more L1 signal measurements of one or more cells in the activated cell set of the configured cell set and perform the one or more L1 signal measurements of one or more cells in the deactivated cell set of the configured cell set (pars 12-14 and 38, configured cells for
measurement).
Referring to Claim 19, Ciu et al. disclose a network node for wireless communication (par 12, network/component that sends configuration), the network node comprising: one or more memories (par. 0058); and one or more processors (par. 0058) in communication with the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured (par 12, network/component that sends configuration) to: send, to a user equipment (UE), one or more conditions for triggering one or more layer 1 (L1) signal measurements of one or more cells in a configured cell set for the UE for inter-cell mobility (par 12, Layer 1 measurements based on configuration, e.g. during specific gaps, measurement objects, etc., mobility, cells for measurements); receive, from the UE, a report of the one or more L1 signal measurements (par 12, report); and perform an inter-cell mobility operation based on the one or more L1 signal measurements (pars 12-14, mobility/handover/ change cells).
Referring to Claim 20 as applied to Claim 19 above, Ciu et al. disclose the network node, wherein the one or more conditions include one or more of a UE mobility condition, a channel strength measurement condition associated with the configured cell set, or a predicted blocking condition (pars 12-14, configuration for mobility, communication/handover).
Referring to Claim 21 as applied to Claim 19 above, Ciu et al. disclose the network node, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: send, to the UE, a measurement configuration that includes one or more measurement parameters for performing the one or more L1 signal measurements, wherein the one or more measurement parameters indicate one or more specific cells of the one or more cells in the configured cell set for which the one or more L1 signal measurements is to be performed (pars 12-14, configuration, objects, cells).
Referring to Claim 22 as applied to Claim 19 above, Ciu et al. disclose the network node, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: send, to the UE, a reporting configuration that includes reporting parameters for reporting the one or more L1 signal measurements, wherein the reporting parameters indicate one or more of a duration of the report, a number of reports, or a periodicity of multiple reports (pars 12-23, configuration, report, DCI/MAC CE).
Referring to Claim 23 as applied to Claim 19 above, Ciu et al. disclose the network node, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: send, to the UE, a dynamic grant of resources to use for reporting the one or more L1 signal measurements (pars 12-14 and 22, grant, report).
Referring to Claim 24 as applied to Claim 19 above, Ciu et al. disclose the network node, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: filter the one or more L1 signal measurements (pars 12 and 45, filtering).
Referring to Claim 25, Ciu et al. disclose a method for wireless communication, the method comprising: sending, to a user equipment (UE), one or more conditions for triggering one or more layer 1 (L1) signal measurements of one or more cells in a configured cell set for the UE for inter-cell mobility (par 12, Layer 1 measurements based on configuration, e.g. during specific gaps, measurement objects, etc., mobility); receiving, from the UE, a report of the one or more L1 signal measurements (par 12, report); and performing an inter-cell mobility operation based on the one or more L1 signal measurements (pars 12-14, mobility/handover/change cells).
Referring to Claim 26 as applied to Claim 25 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, wherein the one or more conditions include one or more of a UE mobility condition, a channel strength measurement condition associated with the configured cell set, or a predicted blocking condition (pars 12-14, configuration for mobility, communication/handover).
Referring to Claim 27 as applied to Claim 25 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, further comprising: sending, to the UE, a measurement configuration that includes one or more measurement parameters for performing the one or more L1 signal measurements, wherein the one or more measurement parameters indicate one or more specific cells of the one or more cells in the configured cell set for which the one or more L1 signal measurements is to be performed (pars 12-14, configuration, objects, cells).
Referring to Claim 28 as applied to Claim 25 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, further comprising: sending, to the UE, a reporting configuration that includes reporting parameters for reporting the one or more L1 signal measurements, wherein the reporting parameters indicate one or more of a duration of the report, a number of reports, or a periodicity of multiple reports (pars 12-23, configuration, report, DCI/MAC CE).
Referring to Claim 29 as applied to Claim 25 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, further comprising: sending, to the UE, a dynamic grant of resources to use for reporting the one or more L1 signal measurements node (pars 12-14 and 22, grant, report).
Referring to Claim 30 as applied to Claim 25 above, Ciu et al. disclose the method, further comprising: filtering the one or more L1 signal measurements (pars 12 and 45, filtering).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following patents/patent application publications are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to L1 measurements: U.S. Pat. Application Pub. No. 2025/0227577 to Jia et al.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642