CTFR 18/459,610 CTFR 87395 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment The amendment filed on 4/22/2026 has been entered into the prosecution for the application. Currently claims 1-18 are pending with claims 13-17 withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-12 and 18 are pending examination. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Priority The application claims priority to provisional application 63/403,072 filed on Sept. 1, 2022. There is no support for the claimed invention within the provisional application, thus the effective filing date of the claimed invention is Sept. 1, 2023. In Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant states that Fig. 1-7 and the corresponding paragraphs in the provisional application are the same as that in the corresponding paragraphs in the non-provisional application. It is noted that the provisional application does not have Fig. 7. Additionally, it is noted that claim 1 recites language that is not in Figs. 1-6 and the corresponding paragraphs. In specific claim 1 recites the a compressor, a cooling system and a heat transfer system. These systems interact in specific ways for transferring heat between them, along with the heating device to provide processed water to the electrolyzer. It seems these are supported in the non-provisional by the Figures 7-14 and their corresponding paragraphs. If Applicant thinks this in in error, please point out where the compressor, cooling system and heat transfer system are in a specific set of paragraphs (not the entire filed disclosure) of the provisional application such that claim 1 is supported. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 11-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0126360 of Ise et al in view of US 2012/010062 of Nakamura et al . As to claims 1 and 18, Ise teaches of a system ( Ise, Figs. 1 and 4 ) comprising: a heating device for heating water above its boiling point to provide a processed water product ( Ise, [0025] – [0026] ); an electrolyzer that receives the processed water product to produce hydrogen gas and oxygen based on the processed water product ( Ise, [0027] ); a compressor that receives hydrogen gas and compresses the hydrogen gas, the compressor heating the hydrogen gas to a heated gas temperature ( Ise, [0031] – [0033] and [0038] ); a cooling system that cools the hydrogen gas from the heated gas temperature to a cooled temperature ( Ise, [0027] – [0033] and [0038] ); and a heat transfer system that transfers absorbed heat from the cooling system to the heating device, the heating device providing the processed water product at least in part using the absorbed heat ( Ise, [0038] ). PNG media_image1.png 804 502 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 848 554 media_image2.png Greyscale As seen in Fig. 1, liquid water is fed to a heat exchanger 10 for heating the water into a gaseous state. The gaseous water is then further heated in heat exchanger 10’ to roughly the operational temperature (500-800 °C). The gaseous water is then electrolyzed in electrolyzer (2) to generate hydrogen and oxygen gases which are then compressed in compressor (4) and cooled in heat exchanger (10) such that the heat transfer system transfers heat from the cooling system (10) in Fig. 4 to the heating device (10) at bottom of Fig. 1. Ise does not teach a hydrogen combustor, energy recovery system or ammonia synthesis system. Nakamura teaches of a combined plant for using hydrogen and nitrogen supplied to an ammonia synthesis facility to generate ammonia in an more energy efficient way ( Nakamura, Abstract, [0009] – [0010] and [0029] ). Nakamura teaches that the stored hydrogen is generated by using an electrolyzer such that a first portion of the hydrogen is burned with air to generate nitrogen, electricity and heat and a second portion of the hydrogen can be supplied to the ammonia synthesis system to combine with nitrogen to generate ammonia ( Nakamura, [0087] – [0090] and Fig. 8 ). Nakamura additionally teaches the system comprises an energy recovery system to transfer at least a portion the heat and electricity generated by the combustion to the hydrogen production facility (which includes a heating device for the water and an electrolyzer) to reduce energy requirements of the system in generating ammonia as a useful industrial product (i.e. fertilizer, etc.) ( Nakamura, [0062], [0096] – [0098] and Fig. 8 ). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ise as per Nakamura so as to utilize the produced hydrogen within a larger system such as ammonia production for producing a useful product while reducing costs by being more energy efficient. As to claims 2-4, Ise in view of Nakamura teaches to the system of claim 1. Claims 2-4 recite the temperature that is accomplished by the cooling system. The structure of the system is not different from that disclosed by the prior art of record, thus Ise teaches to the system of claimed invention (see MPEP 2114 II). As to claim 5, Ise in view of Nakamura teaches to the system of claim 1. Ise teaches the compressor includes a plurality of stages ( Ise, [0032] and Fig. 1 ). As to claim 11, Ise in view of Nakamura teaches to the system of claim 1. Ise teaches the heating device is a steam generator ( Ise, [0025] – [0026] ). As to claim 12, Ise in view of Nakamura teaches to the system of claim 1. Ise teaches the compressing the oxygen gas from the electrolyzer ( Ise, [0015], [0031], [0033] – [0035] and Figs. 1 and 2 ) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ise in view of Nakamura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2022/0228271 of Ashok et al . As to claims 6-9, Ise in view of Nakamura teaches to the system of claim 1. Ise does not teach that the heat transfer system includes a thermal storage system in thermal communication with the heating device. Ashok teaches of a hydrogen production facility utilizing a high temperature electrolyzer and a thermal energy storage unit ( Ashok, [0010] ). Ashok further teaches that a heating device used to heat water to steam for electrolysis is connected to a thermal storage system so that electricity consumption can be lowered and compensation for fluctuations in renewable energy sources for electrolysis can be mitigated ( Ashok, [0015], [0048] – [0052] and Fig. 2 ). Ashok teaches that different embodiments of the thermal storage system include a system that is chargeable with electricity (electric heater), by utilizing a solid-liquid phase change material and generally being chargeable with absorbed heat and discharged by the heating device ( Ashok, [0026] and [0050] – [0051] ). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ise as per Ashok so as to utilize a thermal energy storage system in connection to the heating device in order to allow for a more optimal energy consumption by the overall system in generating steam for electrolysis. As to claim 10, Ise in view of Nakamura and Ashok teaches the system of claim 9. Ise does not teach the thermal storage system is chargeable with solar energy. Ashok teaches of a hydrogen production facility utilizing a high temperature electrolyzer and a thermal energy storage unit ( Ashok, [0010] ). Ashok further teaches that a heating device used to heat water to steam for electrolysis is connected to a thermal storage system so that electricity consumption can be lowered and compensation for fluctuations in renewable energy sources for electrolysis can be mitigated ( Ashok, [0015], [0048] – [0052] and Fig. 2 ). Ashok teaches that the thermal storage system can comprise sand or stones which are materials capable of being heated (i.e. chargeable) with solar energy ( Ashok, [0027] ). It is noted that the claim limitation does not give structural components to the system beyond being capable of being chargeable with solar energy. As Ashok teaches sand or stone, these are capable of being chargeable with solar energy, thus disclose the claimed invention (see MPEP 2114 II). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ise as per Ashok so as to utilize a thermal energy storage system in connection to the heating device in order to allow for a more optimal energy consumption by the overall system in generating steam for electrolysis. Alternatively, even if there is some version of structure that is imposed as per the use of solar energy to charge the thermal storage system of claim 10, this would be obvious in view of US 2008/0135403 of Jang et al. As to claim 10, Ise in view of Nakamura and Ashok teaches to the system of claim 9. Jang teaches of electrolysis for hydrogen generation using renewable energy sources ( Jang, Abstract ). Jang additionally teaches that the solar energy is used to heat the water to help bring the water to operational temperature of the electrolyzer ( Jang, [0032] and Fig. 1 ). As Ashok teaches of renewable energy sources to heat the fluid used for heating the water to steam ( Ashok, [0050] ), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the renewable energy source in producing a predictable result in obtaining the desired fluid temperature within the electrolyzer for operation in generating hydrogen and oxygen gases. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ise in view of Ashok as per Jang so as to utilize a thermal storage system that is chargeable with solar energy in producing a predictable result in generating the desired products while using a renewable energy source. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments are towards the inclusion of the hydrogen combustor and ammonia synthesis systems. As these are new limitations, they are met by the new reference as necessitated by the amendment. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN W COHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7961. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 9 am to 5 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Curtis Mayes can be reached at 571-272-1234. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. BRIAN W. COHEN Primary Examiner Art Unit 1759 /BRIAN W COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/459,610 Page 2 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/459,610 Page 3 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/459,610 Page 4 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/459,610 Page 5 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/459,610 Page 7 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/459,610 Page 8 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/459,610 Page 9 Art Unit: 1759