DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2 (Fig 3b) in the reply filed on 8/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the rejections in view of Cival.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Richards does not disclose that it is “configured to be introduced into a patient” because it used outside the body. The examiner notes that the claims are directed to a device and not a method of use. The device of Richards is capable of being introduced into a patient or at least partially introduced into a patient in the manner being claimed. The manner in which a device is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). MPEP 2144 (II).
In response to applicant's argument that the Richards fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a singular rib) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Examiner notes that the examiner modified the reinterpreted Richards accordingly in view of applicant’s amendments. Applicant is welcomed to contact the examiner if they have any questions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Richards US 2023/025561, which claims priority to US Provisional 63/104,569 (hereinafter ‘569) which is relied upon for the rejection.
Regarding Claim 1, Richards ‘569 discloses a retraction device (Fig 1) for minimally invasive surgery (paragraph 4 able to be used in minimally invasive surgery) comprising:
a plurality of links (as seen in Fig 1, two are highlighted in Fig 2 below, where the links share similar configurations) pivotally connected to each other (as seen in Fig 3, paragraph 4) forming a chain of links having opposing ends (as seen in Fig 1, see Fig below); and
a connection mechanism (as seen in Fig 5-6, paragraph 7, the connection mechanism forms a male/female connection, which is a substantial equivalent to the structure disclosed in the application) positioned at each of the opposing ends with a locking rib axially located on one of the opposing ends (not shown but described as a “spline like feature” paragraph 7, the spline would be located axially along one of the ends while the other end has a socket, see also rejection for claim 7 below) and configured to connect the opposing ends and cause the plurality of links to form the retraction device (paragraph 5, 7, Fig 1, 5-6);
wherein the plurality of links are introduced into a patient (examiner notes that the claim is drawn to a device and not a method of use and the links are able to be at least partially introduced into a patient, see Response to Arguments above) in a substantially linear configuration prior to engagement of the connection mechanism (Fig below, paragraph 5, 7 where the links are capable of being introduced in a substantially linear configuration as shown in Fig 2-3, and then the ends are able to be coupled together via the connection mechanism to form a circle as shown in Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Richards ‘569 discloses at least one of the plurality of links further comprises a slit for receiving and securing at least one of a suture or a retraction hook (see Fig below where the slit can receive a suture or retraction hook, paragraph 15-16, where the slit is located on a “turret” and it is noted that the other links can have their own “turret” having a slit).
Regarding Claim 7, Richards ‘569 discloses the connection mechanism comprises a socket at one of the opposing ends (see Fig below) and a press fit end (see Fig below) having the locking rib (not shown but described as a “spline like feature” paragraph 7) such that when the locking rib engages the socket, the opposing ends are secured together (paragraph 7).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richards US 2023/025561, which claims priority to US Provisional 63/104,569 (hereinafter ‘569) which is relied upon for the rejection.
Regarding Claim 9, Richards ‘569 discloses a retraction device (Fig 1, 15e) for use inside a patient during minimally invasive surgery (paragraph 4 able to be used in minimally invasive surgery), the retraction device comprising:
at least two links (as seen in Fig 1, two are highlighted in Fig 2 below, where the links share similar configurations) connected to each other and having opposing ends (see Fig below, Fig 1) with a locking rib axially located on one of the opposing ends (see Fig below where the rib has a dimension along a longitudinal axis and located on one of the ends, while the other end has a bore, see also rejection for claim 15 below), each of the at least two links having at least one slit configured to receive and secure a suture or a retraction hook (see Fig below where the slit can receive a suture or retraction hook, paragraph 15-16, where the slit is located on a “turret” and where the other links can have their own “turret” having a slit),
wherein the at least two links can be laparoscopically introduced into a patient in a substantially linear configuration (Fig below, paragraph 5, 7 where the links are capable of being introduced in a substantially linear configuration as shown in Fig 2-3, and then the ends are able to be coupled together via the connection mechanism to form a circle as shown in Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Richards ‘569 discloses a connection mechanism (as seen in Fig 5, paragraph 6, the connection mechanism forms a male/female connection, which is a substantial equivalent to the structure disclosed in the application) positioned at each of the opposing ends (Fig 5, paragraph 6, see also Fig 1) and configured to connect the opposing ends and cause the at least two of links to form the retraction device (paragraph 5-6, Fig 1, 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards US 2023/025561, which claims priority to US Provisional 63/104,569 (hereinafter ‘569) in view of Cohn WO 0124709.
Richards discloses the claimed invention as discussed above where other links can have slits (as seen in Fig 15e, see Fig above in claim 2) but does not disclose the slit has a variable size and at least two links of the plurality of links have slits of a different size with respect to each other.
Cohn discloses a retractor (#300, Fig 13-14) made up of links (#344, #346, Fig 13), the links having slits (#330, #332, #334, #336) for receiving and securing at least one of a suture or a retraction hook (as seen in Fig 16, , page 13 lines 20-24, last paragraph of page 15), the slit has a variable size (Fig 14 where all the slits are “V” shaped, having an open wider end and an opposite narrowed end) and at least two links of the plurality of links have slits of a different size (“different widths” page 13 lines 20-24) with respect to each other to accommodate implements of different sizes (page 13 lines 20-24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slits of Richards to have a variable size, where at least two links of the plurality of links have slits of a different size with respect to each other in view of Cohn above so that the slits can accommodate implements such as cords/sutures, retractor hooks of different sizes.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards US 2023/025561, which claims priority to US Provisional 63/104,569 (hereinafter ‘569) in view of Melsheimer US 2014/0194698.
Richards ‘569 discloses the claimed invention as discussed above where the plurality of links define a frame that form a ring (Fig 1) but does not disclose at least one of the plurality of links comprises a textured surface to assist in handling and manipulation of the retraction device during use.
Melsheimer discloses a retractor (abstract) comprising a frame in the form of a ring (#100, Fig 1, 3, paragraph 10) that can come in different configurations (Fig 22), where the frame can include an outer textured surface (#2204, Fig 22) that allows to resist movement of the frame against tissue (paragraph 37, 84). Due to the textured surface, it would also be capable of assisting in handling and manipulation of the retraction device during use as the textured surface also provides a gripping surface to a user.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the outer surface of the at least one of the links of Richards ‘569 to include a textured surface because it resists movement of the link against tissue. With the modification, the textured surface would also be capable of assisting in handling and manipulation of the retraction device during use as the textured surface would also provides a gripping surface to a user.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards US 2023/025561, which claims priority to US Provisional 63/104,569 (hereinafter ‘569) in view of Melsheimer US 2014/0194698.
Richards ‘569 discloses the claimed invention as discussed above where the plurality of links define a frame that form a ring (Fig 1) but does not disclose at least one of the plurality of links comprises a textured surface to assist in handling and manipulation of the retraction device during use.
Melsheimer discloses a retractor (abstract) comprising a frame in the form of a ring (#100, Fig 1, 3, paragraph 10) that can come in different configurations (Fig 22), where the frame can include an outer textured surface (#2204, Fig 22) that allows to resist movement of the frame against tissue (paragraph 37, 84). Due to the textured surface, it would also be capable of assisting in handling and manipulation of the retraction device during use as the textured surface also provides a gripping surface to a user.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the outer surface of the at least one of thew links of Richards ‘569 to include a textured surface because it resists movement of the link against tissue. With the modification, the textured surface would also be capable of assisting in handling and manipulation of the retraction device during use as the textured surface would also provides a gripping surface to a user.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards US 2023/025561, which claims priority to US Provisional 63/104,569 (hereinafter ‘569, which is relied upon for the rejection) in view of Gallo US 2022/0151601.
Regarding Claim 15, Richards ‘569 discloses n the connection mechanism comprises a bore at one of the opposing ends (see Fig below) and a press fit end (see Fig below) having a locking rib (see Fig below) disposed around the same (Fig 5) such that when the locking rib is inserted through the bore, the ends are secured together (paragraph 6).
Richard’s ‘569 does not disclose the bore includes a socket such that when the locking rib engages the socket, the ends are secured together.
Gallo discloses a retractor (Fig 1a) comprised of a plurality of links (#200), a connection mechanism (see Fig below) positioned at each of the opposing ends and configured to connect opposing ends of the links (Fig 1a, 3a-3b), wherein the connection mechanism comprises bore with a socket (see Fig below) at one of the opposing ends and a shaft having a locking rib disposed around the same such that when the locking rib engages the socket, the ends are secured together (see Fig below, paragraph 25) and where the locking rib does not protrude out from the opposing ends such that the locking rib is generally flush with the links (as seen in Fig 3b below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bore of Richards ‘569 (see annotated Fig above) to include a socket, such that the locking rib engages the socket in view of Gallo above because this allows the locking rib to not protrude out from the links, where the locking rib can be generally flush with the links. The examiner notes that since the locking rib would be generally flush with the links, this will help prevent the locking rib from potentially snagging against the skin or drapery during use.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAN CHRISTOPHER L MERENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773