DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on July 6th, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “because the restriction requirement is legally improper since there is no burden on the Examiner to examine all of originally presented claims”. This is not found persuasive because of the following as put forth in the restriction/election requirement:
Inventions I and II are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different mode of operation, function, or effect such as a liquid-gas separator assembly for a fuel cell system (FCS) mounted onto a stationary power for critical infrastructure. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions I and III are related as product made and a process of making. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case of Invention 1, the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process such as a process that based on antecedent basis includes first coupling a first open quick-connect (QC) end of a fitting having a fitting body with opposing first and second open QC ends to the first LG open end of the separator body, and then after the first coupling, coupling a second open QC end of the fitting body to the FCS exhaust pipe, etc.
Inventions II and III are related as product made and a process of making. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case of Invention II, the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process such as a process that based on antecedent basis includes first coupling a first open quick-connect (QC) end of a fitting having a fitting body with opposing first and second open QC ends to the first LG open end of the separator body, and then after the first coupling, coupling a second open QC end of the fitting body to the FCS exhaust pipe, etc.
Furthermore, restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply: The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their classification. Inventions I, II, and III would require different fields of search requiring searching different classes/subclasses, or employing different search queries.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 6th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (CN112107951(A) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Zhao.
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a liquid-gas separator assembly for a fuel cell system (FCS) (i.e., at least gas-water separator as disclosed in [0014], also see [0007], [0025]-[0026], [0042]-[0043]),
the FCS including a fuel cell stack (i.e., at least stack in a proton exchange membrane fuel cell system, etc., as disclosed in [0025], also see [0042]) and
an FCS exhaust pipe fluidly connected to the fuel cell stack and configured to expel an exhaust stream from the FCS (i.e., at least gas-liquid separator provided is installed at the hydrogen outlet of the proton exchange membrane fuel cell system stack, whereby excess unreacted hydrogen and water mixture enters the separator cylinder ref. 1 through the inlet pipe ref. 11, etc., as disclosed in [0043], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said unreacted hydrogen and water mixture entering through said inlet pipe at least provides an exhaust pipe fluidly connected to the fuel cell stack and configured to expel an exhaust stream of said fuel cell system, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof),
the liquid-gas separator assembly comprising:
a quick-connect (QC) fitting having a fitting body with opposing first and second open QC ends (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2, etc., such that the gas-water separator can be easily fixed at the outlet of the hydrogen system stack of the proton exchange membrane fuel cell system by using the mounting hole ref. 211 and fasteners, etc., as disclosed in [0049] and shown in at least Fig. 3, and lacking any further distinction as to said QC fitting, etc.),
the first open QC end of the fitting body being configured to couple to the FCS exhaust pipe to thereby receive the exhaust stream expelled from the FCS (i.e., at least gas-liquid separator provided is installed at the hydrogen outlet of the proton exchange membrane fuel cell system stack, whereby excess unreacted hydrogen and water mixture enters the separator cylinder ref. 1 through the inlet pipe ref. 11, etc., as disclosed in [0043], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said unreacted hydrogen and water mixture entering through said inlet pipe at least provides the first open QC end of the fitting body being configured to couple to the FCS exhaust pipe to thereby receive the exhaust stream expelled from the FCS, etc., also see [0049], and lacking any further distinction thereof); and
a liquid-gas (LG) separator unit having a separator body with opposing first and second open LG ends (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof),
the first LG open end of the separator body being coupled to the second open QC end to thereby releasably couple to the FCS exhaust pipe and receive therefrom the exhaust stream through the QC fitting (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2, and as disclosed in [0047] whereby a first fastening clamp ref. 5 is fastened to the outer wall of the upper end of the separator cylinder ref. 1, etc., such that said first LG open end of the separator body is at least coupled to the second open QC end to releasably couple to the FCS exhaust pipe and receive therefrom the exhaust stream through the QC fitting so that the top cover ref. 21 can stably and reliably seal the upper opening of the separator cylinder ref. 1, etc., and lacking any further structural distinction thereof),
the LG separator unit being configured to extract liquid water entrained in the exhaust stream, eject the liquid water through a water nozzle extending axially within the separator body, and expel the exhaust stream through the second open LG end (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3, also see [0017], [0051], claim 1, , and lacking any further structural distinction thereof).
Annotated Figure 2 (Zhao)
Annotated Figure 3 (Zhao)
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 1. Zhao further discloses the separator body contains a first internal fluid chamber adjoining the first LG open end, a second internal fluid chamber adjoining the second LG open end, and a helical ramp interposed between and separating the first and second internal fluid chambers (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1 and disclosed in at least [0042] with regards to a spiral guide plate ref. 23, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Fig. 1, [0015], [0023], [0025]-[0026], [0043]-[0044], [0050], [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 2. Zhao further discloses the water nozzle includes a hollow cylinder coaxially aligned with the first and second LG open ends of the separator body, and the helical ramp adjoins and wraps helically around the hollow cylinder of the water nozzle (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Figs. 2-3 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 3. Zhao further discloses the hollow cylinder of the water nozzle has opposing first and second open nozzle ends concentrically aligned with the first and second LG open ends of the separator body (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1, also see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 1. Zhao further discloses the FCS exhaust pipe has a pipe diameter (i.e., at least FCS exhaust pipe has a diameter so that the gas-liquid separator provided is installed at the hydrogen outlet of the proton exchange membrane fuel cell system stack, whereby excess unreacted hydrogen and water mixture enters the separator cylinder ref. 1 through the inlet pipe ref. 11, etc., as disclosed in [0043], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said unreacted hydrogen and water mixture entering through said inlet pipe at least provides an exhaust pipe fluidly connected to the fuel cell stack, such that said FCS exhaust pipe at least has a pipe diameter, etc., so as to be installed at said hydrogen outlet, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof),
the first LG open end of the separator body has a first diameter, and the second LG open end has a second diameter, the first and second diameters being approximately equal to or greater than the pipe diameter, such that said pipe diameter is at least less than or equal to that shown of ref. 11 so that the gas-liquid separator provided is installed at the hydrogen outlet of the proton exchange membrane fuel cell system stack, whereby excess unreacted hydrogen and water mixture enters the separator cylinder through the inlet pipe as discussed above (i.e., also as shown in Annotated Fig. 1), which at least provides a value that is within the claimed range of the first and second diameters being approximately equal to or greater than the pipe diameter (MPEP 2131.03, I., Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 7. Zhao further discloses the water nozzle is concentrically aligned with first and second LG open ends (See Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1).
Zhao further discloses a nozzle diameter that is less than the pipe diameter of the FCS exhaust pipe (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4), which at least provides a value that is within the claimed range of a nozzle diameter that is less than the pipe diameter of the FCS exhaust pipe (MPEP 2131.03, I., Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Annotated Figure 4 (Zhao)
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 1. Since Zhao discloses the QC fitting and LG separator as claimed and discussed above in claim 1, this at least provides the liquid-gas separator assembly is characterized by a lack of electrical components and consists essentially of the QC fitting and the LG separator unit, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ward et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2015/0037695 A1), hereinafter Ward.
Regarding claim 5, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 3. Zhao further discloses the LG separator unit further includes a dam wall projecting from a terminal end of the helical ramp and extending radially inward from an interior surface of the separator body (i.e., at least baffle ref. 24 as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1 and disclosed in at least [0052], and lacking any further distinction thereof).
However, Zhao is silent as to the water nozzle includes a fluid port extending transversely through the hollow cylinder and aligned with a radially inward end of the dam wall.
Ward teaches a fuel cell electrolyte regenerator and separator (Title). Ward further teaches in [0105]-[0106] Fig. 5 is an internal perspective view of an internal apparatus ref. 500 that may be used to define the tapered helical channel ref. 400 shown in Fig. 4a, and the internal apparatus ref. 500 has a spiral vane ref. 501 and an inner wall ref. 502, attached to the vane ref. 501, which may have one or more gas vents ref. 503 in it, allowing gas to exit vertically or part-vertically so as to prevent re-entrainment upon fluid exit, etc., and it also serves to reduce the overall size of the channel, to move away from free surface flow and, most importantly, to increase separation efficiency, whereby the helical channel ref. 400 (Fig. 4a) comprises an outer wall (not shown) adjacent to and surrounding the spiral vane ref. 501 of the apparatus ref. 500, etc., which at least provides the water nozzle includes a fluid port extending transversely through the hollow cylinder and aligned with a radially inward end of the dam wall, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Zhao with the teachings of Ward, whereby the liquid-gas separator assembly including the water nozzle, dam wall, etc., as disclosed by Zhao further includes the water nozzle includes a fluid port extending transversely through the hollow cylinder and aligned with a radially inward end of the dam wall as taught by Ward so as to allow gas to exit vertically or part-vertically so as to prevent re-entrainment upon fluid exit, etc., and also serve to reduce the overall size of the channel, etc.
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 5. Zhao further discloses in [0011], [0042] and claim 1 the core ref. 2 is an integrally formed structure, whereby as shown in Fig. 2 said core at least includes said water nozzle, helical ramp, and dam wall. Although, Zhao does not specifically disclose the LG separator unit, including the separator body, the water nozzle, the helical ramp, and the dam wall, is integrally formed as a single-piece structure, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since Zhao discloses the LG separator unit, including the separator body, the water nozzle, the helical ramp, and the dam wall, etc., that making said parts integral is a matter of obvious engineering design choice (MPEP 2144.04, V., B., In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jauss et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2023/0182048 A1), hereinafter Jauss.
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 1. Zhao further teaches in [0021] and Fig. 2 fastening clamp(s) used to secure the top cover to the upper end of the separator cylinder, etc.
However, Zhao is silent as to the QC fitting includes a spring and a seal attached to the fitting body and cooperatively configured to friction fit the QC fitting onto the FCS exhaust pipe, and wherein the second open QC end of the fitting body is crimped to the first LG open end of the separator body.
Jauss teaches a fluid connection element (Title). Jauss further teaches in [0020] according to Fig. 1, the fluid connection element ref. 1 according to the invention has a first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 and a second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, whereby the first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 has an inlet opening ref. 4 for introducing a fluid into the fluid connection element ref. 1, and in a preferred embodiment, the area around the inlet opening ref. 4 is in the form of a connecting piece ref. 6 to be connected and coupled to standardized connector. Jauss further teaches in [0028] the valve spring ref. 13 of the valve assembly ref. 10 is supported on a contact surface of the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3 as well as on the circumferential collar ref. 12.2 of the valve body, such that this preloads the valve assembly ref. 10 in the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, and when the valve assembly ref. 10 is closed, the seal ref. 11 of the valve head ref. 12.3 rests against a seal seat ref. 14 of the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, which thus also serves as a valve seat, and the seal ref. 11 thereby holds the spring-loaded valve assembly ref. 10 in the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, and due to the design of the valve assembly ref. 10 and the interaction of the valve assembly ref. 10 with the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, a backflow check valve system requiring fewer elements is provided, which at least provides the QC fitting (i.e., at least fluid connection element ref. 1 including a first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 and a second fluid connection housing element as discussed above and shown in at least Figs. 1-2) includes a spring and a seal attached to the fitting body, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Jauss further teaches in [0025] the first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 is connected to the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3 by means of a coupling area ref. 15, and the coupling of the two fluid connection housing elements ref. 2.3 can be designed to be detachable as well as non-detachable, and in a preferred embodiment, the first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 has at least three snap contours, in particular at least three snap hooks, which engage in a circumferential snap contour ref. 17 of the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, and alternatively, the coupling of the first and second fluid connection housing elements may be implemented by means of a thread, bayonet fitting, welding, or bonding, which at least provides cooperatively configured to friction fit the QC fitting, and further provides crimping at least the second open QC end of the fitting body, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Zhao with the teachings of Jauss, whereby the liquid-gas separator assembly including the QC fitting, FCS exhaust pipe, separator body, etc., as disclosed by Zhao further includes the QC fitting (i.e., at least fluid connection element ref. 1 including a first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 and a second fluid connection housing element as discussed above and shown in at least Figs. 1-2) includes a spring and a seal attached to the fitting body, and crimping at least the second open QC end of a fitting body, etc., as taught by Jauss such that the skilled artisan would appreciate providing the second open QC end of the fitting body is crimped to the first LG open end of the separator body, and onto the FCS exhaust pipe so as to be connected and coupled to standardized connector, thereby providing a backflow check valve system requiring fewer elements.
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 1. However, Zhao is silent as to the QC fitting is a twist-lock QC fitting, a luer-lock QC fitting, a ball-and-sleeve QC fitting, a cam-lock QC fitting, or a friction-fit QC fitting.
Jauss teaches a fluid connection element (Title). Jauss further teaches in [0020] according to Fig. 1, the fluid connection element ref. 1 according to the invention has a first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 and a second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, whereby the first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 has an inlet opening ref. 4 for introducing a fluid into the fluid connection element ref. 1, and in a preferred embodiment, the area around the inlet opening ref. 4 is in the form of a connecting piece ref. 6 to be connected and coupled to standardized connector. Jauss further teaches in [0028] the valve spring ref. 13 of the valve assembly ref. 10 is supported on a contact surface of the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3 as well as on the circumferential collar ref. 12.2 of the valve body, such that this preloads the valve assembly ref. 10 in the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, and when the valve assembly ref. 10 is closed, the seal ref. 11 of the valve head ref. 12.3 rests against a seal seat ref. 14 of the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, which thus also serves as a valve seat, and the seal ref. 11 thereby holds the spring-loaded valve assembly ref. 10 in the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, and due to the design of the valve assembly ref. 10 and the interaction of the valve assembly ref. 10 with the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, a backflow check valve system requiring fewer elements is provided, which at least provides the QC fitting (i.e., at least fluid connection element ref. 1 including a first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 and a second fluid connection housing element as discussed above and shown in at least Figs. 1-2), such that since Jauss further teaches in [0025] the first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 is connected to the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3 by means of a coupling area ref. 15, and the coupling of the two fluid connection housing elements ref. 2.3 can be designed to be detachable as well as non-detachable, and in a preferred embodiment, the first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 has at least three snap contours, in particular at least three snap hooks, which engage in a circumferential snap contour ref. 17 of the second fluid connection housing element ref. 3, and alternatively, the coupling of the first and second fluid connection housing elements may be implemented by means of a thread, bayonet fitting, welding, or bonding, this at least provides the QC fitting is a twist-lock QC fitting, or a friction-fit QC fitting from the group, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Zhao with the teachings of Jauss, whereby the liquid-gas separator assembly including the QC fitting, FCS exhaust pipe, separator body, etc., as disclosed by Zhao further includes the QC fitting (i.e., at least fluid connection element ref. 1 including a first fluid connection housing element ref. 2 and a second fluid connection housing element as discussed above and shown in at least Figs. 1-2) includes a spring and a seal attached to the fitting body, and crimping at least the second open QC end of a fitting body, etc., and the QC fitting is a twist-lock QC fitting, or a friction-fit QC fitting as taught by Jauss so as to provide a backflow check valve system requiring fewer elements.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eguchi et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2010/0003577 A1), hereinafter Eguchi.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 1. However, Zhao is silent as to a flexible water hose coupled to an open nozzle end of the water nozzle to thereby transfer the extracted liquid water away from the FCS.
Eguchi teaches fuel gas supplying apparatus for fuel cell system (Title). Eguchi further teaches in [0080] the exhaust pipe ref. 26 is formed with an exhaust pipe portion of the upstream side portion that is separate from the downstream side portion, whereby the exhaust pipe portions of the upstream side portion and the downstream side portion are coupled by the flexible hoses ref. 74 and ref. 76 as separate members while keeping hermetic sealing and water-tightness and are coupled so that they can be divided, etc., which at least provides a flexible water hose to thereby transfer the extracted liquid water away from the FCS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Zhao with the teachings of Eguchi, whereby the liquid-gas separator assembly including the QC fitting, FCS exhaust pipe, separator body, water nozzle, etc., as disclosed by Zhao further includes the flexible water hose to thereby transfer the extracted liquid water away from the FCS as taught by Eguchi so as to provide hermetic sealing and water-tightness, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that since Zhao teaches connections and/or pipes as discussed above in claim 1, that substituting one known connection for another such as coupling to an open nozzle end of the water nozzle to thereby transfer the extracted liquid water away from the FCS is a matter of obviousness so as to provide hermetic sealing and water-tightness with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, Zhao discloses the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 12. However, Zhao is silent as to the liquid-gas separator assembly is characterized by a lack of electrical components and consists essentially of the QC fitting, the LG separator unit, and the flexible water hose.
The combined teachings of Zhao and Eguchi disclose the liquid-gas separator assembly as discussed above in claim 12 including the QC fitting, LG separator unit, and the flexible water, which at least provides the liquid-gas separator assembly is characterized by a lack of electrical components and consists essentially of the QC fitting, the LG separator unit, and the flexible water hose, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patel et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2008/0171257 A1) discloses a module fuel-cell stack assembly (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0050] this area is coupled to the conduit ref. 14 of the distributor ref. 9 (see, Fig. 8) which conduit carries the gas to the oxidant exhaust gas section 11 of the distributor.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/WYATT P MCCONNELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727