DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed on November 12/08/2025 has been received and entered. Application No. 18/459,656 Claims 1, 4-18, 26, 27, 29 & 30 are now pending. Claims 1, 5, 7, 12, 15, 17, 26, 27, 29 & 30 have been amended. Claims 2, 3, 19-25, 28 & 31-36 have been canceled.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-18, 26, 27, 29 & 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (U.S. Pub 2023/0134842) hereinafter Naka, in view of MICHIMURA et al. (U.S. Pub 2018/0091669) hereinafter Mich.
As per Claim 1, Naka teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for executing a method for controlling an information processing apparatus capable of communicating with an image processing apparatus, the method comprising: transmitting, to the image processing apparatus, a performance instruction to perform a scan job regarding a scan function provided by the image processing apparatus, wherien the performance instruction is transmitted by an application program; (Fig. 7, Fig. 9, Fig. 11B, ¶60, ¶61, ¶63, ¶70 wherien the job control unit 507 receives the job information from the data processing apparatus 101 via the network control unit 505. Subsequently, in step S902, the job control unit 507 extracts the user information from the received job information. In step S903, the job control unit 507 causes the authentication unit 503 to perform local authentication with the extracted user information. The local authentication is authentication to permit the user to perform operation on the operation unit 307 of the image forming apparatus 104. In step S904, the job control unit 507 determines whether the local authentication has been successful wherien Preset buttons 1116 to 1118 are buttons each associated with default setting values. When any of the preset buttons 1116 to 1118 is pressed, a setting screen of a corresponding function reflecting the default setting values is displayed such as buttons for a copy function, a scan and transmission function, and a print function are displayed wherein the UI control unit 402 displays the job selection screen 1111 for selection of the job to be executed. In step S702, the UI control unit 402 receives selection of the job to be executed, from the user. When selection of the scan and transmission button 1117 by the user is received and selection of the job to be executed is thus received)
causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display a specific display item with a first screen regarding the transmitted scan job, wherien the specific display item is an item for receiving a stop operation for transmitting, to the image processing apparatus, a stop instruction to instruct the image processing apparatus to stop performing the transmitted scan job performed based on the transmitted performance instruction and is not displayed on a screen that has received the performance instruction; and (Fig. 11E, ¶77 wherein a screen displayed by the UI control unit 402 in a case where the image forming apparatus 104 having received the job information cannot execute the received job due to execution of another job or the like. A retry screen 1141 includes a message 1142 indicating that the job is not executable due to the state of the image forming apparatus 104 and a cancel button 1144 to end the processing without saving the setting information wherien the cancel button 1144 is displayed on screen 1141 and the performance instruction is received on screen 1111)
However, Naka does not explicitly teach causing the display of the information processing apparatus to display the specific display item with a second screen including a first object corresponding to the scan function and a second object corresponding to a copy function provided by the image processing apparatus in a case where a screen provided by the program shifts from the first screen to the second screen, wherein the second screen is a function list screen provided by the application program and the program is included in the application program.
Mich teaches causing the display of the information processing apparatus to display the specific display item with a second screen including a first object corresponding to the scan function and a second object corresponding to a copy function provided by the image processing apparatus in a case where a screen provided by the program shifts from the first screen to the second screen, (Fig. 2A, Fig, 2B, ¶45, ¶46 wherien the screen that appears when the fax job is going to start. The controller 22 displays on the operation unit 26 a message reading “Starting job” together with “execute” and “stop” buttons. The user instructs the fax job to be started by touching the “execute” button. In response to the operation instruction, the controller 22 drives the fax module. The fax module scans the original document placed on the paper sheet tray, thereby converting the data on the original document into image data, and storing the image data on a memory wherein the screen of the operation unit 26 related to the job in progress. The controller 22 displays a job list button together with a copy application button, a scan application button, and a fax application button. The controller 22 also displays at the bottom of the screen a job in a standby state on a popup screen 100. More specifically, a job that has undergone scanning and is ready for transmission is extracted, and the job number and job name of that job are displayed together with the “stop” button. Displayed at the bottom of the screen of the operation unit 26 is “13 FAX 01-2345-6789”. “13” indicates the job number, and “FAX 01-2345-6789” indicates the job name)
wherein the second screen is a function list screen provided by the application program and the program is included in the application program. (Fig. 2B, ¶46 wherien the screen of the operation unit 26 related to the job in progress. The controller 22 displays a job list button together with a copy application button, a scan application button, and a fax application button. The controller 22 also displays at the bottom of the screen a job in a standby state on a popup screen 100. More specifically, a job that has undergone scanning and is ready for transmission is extracted, and the job number and job name of that job are displayed together with the “stop” button)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of image forming apparatus with touch panel of Mich with the teaching of data processing apparatus of Naka because Mich teaches an improved image forming apparatus wherien the image forming apparatus includes a touch panel, and a controller that pops up a screen, on the touch panel automatically without an operation instruction from a user, information that identifies a job ready for execution and a button that is adapted to stop the execution of the job. (¶18)
As per Claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Naka as modified further teaches wherein the control to display the specific display item is performed so that the specific display item is displayed with the specific display item superposing on other display items. (Fig. 11E, ¶77 wherein a screen displayed by the UI control unit 402 in a case where the image forming apparatus 104 having received the job information cannot execute the received job due to execution of another job or the like. A retry screen 1141 includes a message 1142 indicating that the job is not executable due to the state of the image forming apparatus 104, a retry button 1143 to retransmit the transmitted job information, and a cancel button 1144 to end the processing without saving the setting information. Examiner interprets the display of the retry screen with the retry button to be superimposed on other display items on the screen wherein its a screen over the background screen on the display; as taught by Naka)
As per Claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Naka as modified further teaches receiving, from the image processing apparatus, information indicating a status of the scan job performed based on the performance instruction; and performing control to hide the specific display item in a case where the received information indicating the status indicates that the job based on the performance instruction has ended. (Fig. 11B, Fig. 11D, ¶63, ¶76 wherein when selection of the scan and transmission button 1117 by the user is received and selection of the job to be executed is thus received, in step S703, the UI control unit 402 displays the scan setting screen 1121 wherien a screen displayed by the UI control unit 402 in a case where the image forming apparatus 104 completes the job information reception, namely, in a case where the job information transmitted by the data processing apparatus 101 has been successfully input to the image forming apparatus 104. A job transmission completion screen 1131 includes a message 1132 indicating completion of the job transmission without an error, a save button 1133 to save the transmitted job setting information in the data processing apparatus 101, and an OK button 1134 to end the processing without saving the job setting information; Examiner interprets selecting OK button hides the display when job is ended; as taught by Naka)
As per Claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is hereby incorporated by reference; Naka as modified further teaches wherein, in a case where a screen is displayed by the application program, after the display of the specific display item is started, the display of the specific display item continues unless the control to hide the specific display item is performed. (Fig. 11D, ¶76 wherien a screen displayed by the UI control unit 402 in a case where the image forming apparatus 104 completes the job information reception, namely, in a case where the job information transmitted by the data processing apparatus 101 has been successfully input to the image forming apparatus 104. A job transmission completion screen 1131 includes a message 1132 indicating completion of the job transmission without an error, a save button 1133 to save the transmitted job setting information in the data processing apparatus 101, and an OK button 1134 to end the processing without saving the job setting information; Examiner interprets selecting OK button hides the display when job is ended and if not pressed it continues; as taught by Naka)
As per Claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Naka as modified further teaches the method further comprising performing control to transmit, to the image processing apparatus, information corresponding to a stop request to stop the scan job based on the performance instruction in response to a user operation having been performed on the specific display item. (Fig. 11E, ¶63, ¶77 wherein when selection of the scan and transmission button 1117 by the user is received and selection of the job to be executed is thus received, in step S703, the UI control unit 402 displays the scan setting screen 1121 wherein a screen displayed by the UI control unit 402 in a case where the image forming apparatus 104 having received the job information cannot execute the received job due to execution of another job or the like. A retry screen 1141 includes a cancel button 1144 to end the processing without saving the setting information.; as taught by Naka)
As per Claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is hereby incorporated by reference; Naka as modified further teaches the method further comprising performing control to receive, from the image processing apparatus, a response to the stop request and to present a display based on the received response. (Fig. 11E, ¶77 wherein a screen displayed by the UI control unit 402 in a case where the image forming apparatus 104 having received the job information cannot execute the received job due to execution of another job or the like. A retry screen 1141 includes a cancel button 1144 to end the processing without saving the setting information. Examiner interprets canceling as ending the processing to close the current display and present a display based on the received response; as taught by Naka)
As per Claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Naka as modified further teaches wherein the application program is an application program of a smartphone. (¶21 wherien The data processing apparatus 101 is a mobile terminal such as a smartphone; as taught by Naka)
As per Claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Naka as modified further teaches wherein the specific display item is displayed on a screen different from a screen indicating a performance status of the job transmitted to the image processing apparatus. (Fig.11D, Fig. 11E, ¶76, ¶77 wherein FIG. 11D illustrates a screen displayed by the UI control unit 402 in a case where the image forming apparatus 104 completes the job information reception, namely, in a case where the job information transmitted by the data processing apparatus 101 has been successfully input to the image forming apparatus 104. A job transmission completion screen 1131 includes a message 1132 indicating completion of the job transmission without an error, a save button 1133 to save the transmitted job setting information in the data processing apparatus 101, and an OK button 1134 to end the processing without saving the job setting information wherein FIG. 11E illustrates a screen displayed by the UI control unit 402 in a case where the image forming apparatus 104 having received the job information cannot execute the received job due to execution of another job or the like. A retry screen 1141 includes a message 1142 indicating that the job is not executable due to the state of the image forming apparatus 104, a retry button 1143 to retransmit the transmitted job information, and a cancel button 1144 to end the processing without saving the setting information; as taught by Naka)
As per Claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Naka as modified further teaches wherein the control to display the specific display item is performed so that the specific display item is displayed without a user operation of displaying the specific display item after the performance instruction is transmitted to the image processing apparatus. (Fig. 11E, ¶77 wherein a screen displayed by the UI control unit 402 in a case where the image forming apparatus 104 having received the job information cannot execute the received job due to execution of another job or the like. A retry screen 1141 includes a message 1142 indicating that the job is not executable due to the state of the image forming apparatus 104, a retry button 1143 to retransmit the transmitted job information, and a cancel button 1144 to end the processing without saving the setting information. Examiner interprets the error occurring to trigger the display of a retry screen 1141 and hence the display of the specific display item without a user operation of the displaying the specific display item; as taught by Naka)
As per Claim 12, Naka teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for executing a method for controlling an information processing apparatus capable of communicating with an image processing apparatus, the method comprising: transmitting, to the image processing apparatus, a performance instruction to perform a scan job regarding a scan function provided by the image processing apparatus, wherein the performance instruction is transmitted based on a first instruction operation received via a screen provided by the application program; and (Fig. 7, Fig. 9, Fig. 11B, ¶60, ¶61, ¶63, ¶70 wherien the job control unit 507 receives the job information from the data processing apparatus 101 via the network control unit 505. Subsequently, in step S902, the job control unit 507 extracts the user information from the received job information. In step S903, the job control unit 507 causes the authentication unit 503 to perform local authentication with the extracted user information. The local authentication is authentication to permit the user to perform operation on the operation unit 307 of the image forming apparatus 104. In step S904, the job control unit 507 determines whether the local authentication has been successful wherien Preset buttons 1116 to 1118 are buttons each associated with default setting values. When any of the preset buttons 1116 to 1118 is pressed, a setting screen of a corresponding function reflecting the default setting values is displayed such as buttons for a copy function, a scan and transmission function, and a print function are displayed wherein the UI control unit 402 displays the job selection screen 1111 for selection of the job to be executed. In step S702, the UI control unit 402 receives selection of the job to be executed, from the user. When selection of the scan and transmission button 1117 by the user is received and selection of the job to be executed is thus received)
causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display, on a specific screen including a first object and a second object provided by the image processing apparatus, a specific display item configured to receive a stop operation for transmitting, to the image processing apparatus, a stop instruction to instruct the image processing apparatus to stop performing the scan job, wherein the specific display item is not displayed on the screen that has received the first instruction operation and the program is included in the application program. (Fig. 11E, ¶77 wherein a screen displayed by the UI control unit 402 in a case where the image forming apparatus 104 having received the job information cannot execute the received job due to execution of another job or the like. A retry screen 1141 includes a message 1142 indicating that the job is not executable due to the state of the image forming apparatus 104 and a cancel button 1144 to end the processing without saving the setting information wherien the cancel button 1144 is displayed on screen 1141 and the performance instruction is received on screen 1111)
However, Naka does not explicitly teach causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display, on a specific screen including a first object corresponding to the scan function and a second object corresponding to a copy function provided by the image processing apparatus, a specific display item configured to receive a stop operation for transmitting, to the image processing apparatus, a stop instruction to instruct the image processing apparatus to stop performing the scan job,
Mich teaches causing a display of the information processing apparatus to display, on a specific screen including a first object corresponding to the scan function and a second object corresponding to a copy function provided by the image processing apparatus, a specific display item configured to receive a stop operation for transmitting, to the image processing apparatus, a stop instruction to instruct the image processing apparatus to stop performing the scan job, (Fig. 2A, Fig, 2B, ¶45, ¶46 wherien the screen that appears when the fax job is going to start. The controller 22 displays on the operation unit 26 a message reading “Starting job” together with “execute” and “stop” buttons. The user instructs the fax job to be started by touching the “execute” button. In response to the operation instruction, the controller 22 drives the fax module. The fax module scans the original document placed on the paper sheet tray, thereby converting the data on the original document into image data, and storing the image data on a memory wherein the screen of the operation unit 26 related to the job in progress. The controller 22 displays a job list button together with a copy application button, a scan application button, and a fax application button. The controller 22 also displays at the bottom of the screen a job in a standby state on a popup screen 100. More specifically, a job that has undergone scanning and is ready for transmission is extracted, and the job number and job name of that job are displayed together with the “stop” button. Displayed at the bottom of the screen of the operation unit 26 is “13 FAX 01-2345-6789”. “13” indicates the job number, and “FAX 01-2345-6789” indicates the job name)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of image forming apparatus with touch panel of Mich with the teaching of data processing apparatus of Naka because Mich teaches an improved image forming apparatus wherien the image forming apparatus includes a touch panel, and a controller that pops up a screen, on the touch panel automatically without an operation instruction from a user, information that identifies a job ready for execution and a button that is adapted to stop the execution of the job. (¶18)
As per Claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Naka as modified further teaches wherein the specific screen is a function list screen including a plurality of functions performance of which is instructable by the application program. (Fig. 2B, ¶46 wherien the screen of the operation unit 26 related to the job in progress. The controller 22 displays a job list button together with a copy application button, a scan application button, and a fax application button. The controller 22 also displays at the bottom of the screen a job in a standby state on a popup screen 100. More specifically, a job that has undergone scanning and is ready for transmission is extracted, and the job number and job name of that job are displayed together with the “stop” button; as taught by Mich)
Claim 14 is similar in scope to Claim 4; therefore, Claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 4.
Claim 15 is similar in scope to Claim 5; therefore, Claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 5.
Claim 16 is similar in scope to Claim 6; therefore, Claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 6.
Claim 17 is similar in scope to Claim 7; therefore, Claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 7.
Claim 18 is similar in scope to Claim 9; therefore, Claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 9.
Claim 26 is similar in scope to Claim 1; therefore, Claim 26 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1.
Claim 27 is similar in scope to Claim 1; therefore, Claim 27 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1.
Claim 29 is similar in scope to Claim 12; therefore, Claim 29 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 12.
Claim 30 is similar in scope to Claim 12; therefore, Claim 30 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection wherein Mich is relied upon to teach the following limitations “causing the display of the information processing apparatus to display the specific display item with a second screen including a first object corresponding to the scan function and a second object corresponding to a copy function provided by the image processing apparatus in a case where a screen provided by the program shifts from the first screen to the second screen, wherein the second screen is a function list screen provided by the application program and the program is included in the application program.”.
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Inquiry
/ANGIE BADAWI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179