DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed April 24,2025 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to submit prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, encompassing claims 1-8 and 15-20 in the reply filed on April 21, 2026 is acknowledged. However, no reason was given for the traversal; therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claims 1, and 15, limitations “ busbars formed on opposite surfaces of a substrate; and a power module formed on the substrate sandwiched between the busbars and electrically connected to the busbars, the power module comprising power switches that control flow of an electrical current between the busbars’ is unclear or indefinite.
It is not clear how busbars formed on opposite surfaces of a substrate such that busbars has a first portion of each of the busbars on a first surface of the opposite surfaces of a substrate, and a second portion of each of the busbars on a first surface of the opposite surfaces of a substrate; or busbars has a first set of busbars on a first surface of the opposite surfaces of a substrate, and a a second set of busbars on a second surface of the opposite surfaces of a substrate; and so on. Proper clarification is required. Similarly, same reason applied to a power module formed on the substrate sandwiched between the busbars.
Furthermore, it requires that through hole via conductors in the substrate are connected to power switches as necessary structure to a power module electrically connected to the busbars. Therefore, proper modification is required.
Rejection of claim 2-8, and 16-20, claims 2-8, and 16-20 are rejected by the same reason applied to rejection of claims 1, or 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kratzer et al. (US20210360788, herein referred to as Kratzer) or Forssell et al. (US20230187713, herein referred to as Forssell).
Rejection of claim 1, Kratzer (figure 16 of Kratzer) or Forssell (figure 19-27c of Forssel) discloses a printed circuit board (PCB) device, comprising: busbars (34 in figure 16 of Kratzer; or 2525a-b, 2520a-b in figures 19-27c of Forssell) formed on opposite surfaces of a substrate; and a power module (28 in figure 16 of Kratzer; figure 27c of Forssell) formed on the substrate sandwiched between the busbars and electrically connected to the busbars (28 in figure 16 of Kratzer; 2528a-b 2020a-b in figure 25b,26b,27b of Forssell), the power module comprising power switches that control flow of an electrical current between the busbars (28 in Kratzer; or see 2508 in Forssell).
Rejection of claim 2, Kratzer (figure 16 of Kratzer) or Forssell (figure 19-27c of Forssel) discloses the PCB of claim 1,wherein the power switches are directly electrically connected to the busbars (see in figure 16 of Kratzer; or see in figure 19-27c of Forssel).
Rejection of claim 3, Kratzer (figure 16 of Kratzer) or Forssell (figure 19-27c of Forssel) discloses the PCB of claim 1, wherein the power switches control the flow of the electrical current in a direction perpendicular to the opposite surfaces of the substrate (see connection power switches to substrate and busbars in the figures of Kratzer or Forssell and further see specification).
Rejection of claim 8, Kratzer (figure 16 of Kratzer) or Forssell (figure 19-27c of Forssel) discloses the PCB of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the PCB device comprises a planar geometry defined by a thickness of about 1.5 millimeters or less.
Examiner makes official notice that is well known and old that overall geometry in a thickness of small sized device with circuit board, semiconductor Mosfet devices, and conductor rail, or busbar having thickness of about 1.5 millimeters or less for the reason for easily fit within small scaled appliance or electronic device or small scaled compartment of appliance or electronic device.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PCB of Kratzer or Forssell to have the size of PCB assembly device for the reason given above in examiner official notice.
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kratzer or Forssell and further in view of Jones et al. (US6833997, herein referred to as Jones).
Rejection of claim 4, Kratzer (figure 16 of Kratzer) or Forssell (figure 19-27c of Forssel) discloses the PCB of claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises electrical connectors formed within a thickness of the substrate and exposed on the opposite surfaces of the substrate, but fails to disclose wherein the power switches are formed on the substrate at positions directly above or directly below the electrical connectors , and wherein the electrical connectors connect respective ones of the power switches to the busbars.
Jones disclose wherein the power switches are formed on the substrate at positions directly above or directly below the electrical connectors , and wherein the electrical connectors connect respective ones of the power switches to the busbars (Mosfets 36a-d in figure 3 in view of figure 7 of Jones).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PCB of Kratzer or Forssell to have the power switches as taught by Jones so that power control and transfer is possible from busbars from one side to other side of the board.
Rejection of claim 7, Kratzer (figure 16 of Kratzer) or Forssell (figure 19-27c of Forssel) and Jones disclose the PCB of claim 1, wherein at least some of the power switches are individually soldered to the substrate (see Jones in Rejection of claim 4) .
Claims 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kratzer or Forssell and further in view of Rutowski et al. (US20210328482, herein referred to as Rutowski).
Rejection of claim 15, Kratzer (figure 16 of Kratzer) or Forssell (figure 19-27c of Forssel) discloses a device, comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) device, comprising: busbars (34 in figure 16 of Kratzer; or 2525a-b, 2520a-b in figures 19-27c of Forssell) formed on opposite surfaces of a substrate; and a power module (28 in figure 16 of Kratzer; figure 27c of Forssell) formed on the substrate sandwiched between the busbars and electrically connected to the busbars (28 in figure 16 of Kratzer; 2528a-b 2020a-b in figure 25b,26b,27b of Forssell), the power module comprising power switches that control flow of an electrical current between the busbars (28 in Kratzer; or see 2508 in Forssell).
Kratzer (figure 16 of Kratzer) or Forssell (figure 19-27c of Forssel) fails to disclose one or more battery cells; and a printed circuit board (PCB) device attached to the one or more battery cells; wherein at least one of the busbars is electrically connected to the one or more battery cells.
Rutowski discloses one or more battery cells; and a printed circuit board (PCB) device attached to the one or more battery cells; wherein at least one of the busbars is electrically connected to the one or more battery cells (see paragraph 0025-0026).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PCB of Kratzer or Forssell to have the printed circuit board device used in battery as taught by Rutowski so that power control and transfer is possible between different components within device via circuit board.
Rejection of claims 16, Kratzer or Forssell in view of Rutowski disclose the device of claim 15, wherein the power switches control the flow of the electrical current in a direction perpendicular to the opposite surfaces of the substrate (see explanation in the rejection of claim 3 above).
Rejection of claim 20, Kratzer or Forssell in view of Rutowski disclose the device of claim 15,, but fail to disclose wherein the PCB device comprises a planar geometry defined by a thickness of about 1.5 millimeters or less.
Examiner makes official notice that is well known and old that overall geometry in a thickness of small sized device with circuit board, semiconductor Mosfet devices, and conductor rail, or busbar having thickness of about 1.5 millimeters or less for the reason for easily fit within small scaled appliance or electronic device or small scaled compartment of appliance or electronic device.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kratzer or Forssell in view of Rutowski to have the size of PCB assembly device for the reason given above in examiner official notice.
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kratzer or Forssell and further in view of Rutowski et al. (US20210328482, herein referred to as Rutowski) and Jones et al. (US6833997, herein referred to as Jones).
Rejection of claims 17, Kratzer or Forssell in view of Rutowski and Jones disclose the device of claim 15, wherein the substrate comprises electrical connectors formed within a thickness of the substrate and exposed on the opposite surfaces of the substrate, wherein the power switches are formed on the substrate at positions directly above or directly below the electrical connectors, and wherein the electrical connectors connect respective ones of the power switches to the busbars (see explanation in the rejection of claim 4 above).
Rejection of claims 19, Kratzer or Forssell in view of Rutowski and Jones disclose the device of claim 15, wherein at least some of the power switches are individually soldered to the substrate (see explanation in the rejection of claim 7 above).
Rejection of claims 20, Kratzer or Forssell in view of Rutowski disclose the device of claim 15, wherein the PCB device comprises a planar geometry defined by a thickness of about 1.5 millimeters or less (see explanation in the rejection of claim 8 above).
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent arts in the present case, all of which disclose various integrated harness assemblies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 18 are rejected based on 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph. Claims 5-6 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note that allowable subject matter would be reconsider in case of broadening or changing scope of invention based on amendment and may/may not be allow based of reconsideration and/or search.
Communication
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PARESH PAGHADAL whose telephone number is (571)272-5251. The examiner can normally be reached 7:00AM-4:00PM, Monday - Thursday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Thompson can be reached on (571)272-2342. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847