DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (Claims 1-8, 10-14) in the reply filed on 05/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/26/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Merchat, Léo et al. (FR 3107614 A1), hereinafter Merchat.
Regarding claim 1, Merchat teaches a positive electrode based on organic active material ([0003], [0166]), comprising:
An organic active material ([0001]),
An electronically conductive material ([0001]),
A current collector ([0023]),
The active material is a redox compound of Formula 1 ([0056]):
R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7 and R8 are independently selected among ([0076]):
a hydrogen atom, a halogen, a group selected among:C1 to C50 linear or branched alkyl, C1 to C50 linear or branched fluoroalkyl, -CO2H, optionally in salified form, -SO2OH, optionally in salified form, -PO(OH)2, optionally in salified form, -PO(ORa)2 (Ra is a C1 to C10 linear or branched alkyl group), -CN, amine, -OH, -ORb (Rb is a C1 to C50 linear or branched alkyl group), -CHO, -CO-Rc, (Rc is a C1 to C50 linear or branched alkyl group);
R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7 and R8 are different from H ([0076]);
OR R1, R4, R5, R8 are H, and R2, R3, R6 and R7 are different from H ([0076]);
OR R1, R3, R4, R5, R7 and R8 are H, and R2 and R6 are different from H ([0076]).
Regarding claim 2, Merchat teaches the compound of Formula 1 is such that R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7 and R8 are selected independently among ([0076]):
a hydrogen atom ([0076]);
a halogen ([0076]);
a group selected among ([0076]):
C1 to C10 linear or branched alkyl ([0076]);
C1 to C10 linear or branched fluoroalkyl ([0076]).
Regarding claim 3, Merchat teaches the compound of Formula 1 is selected among ([0076]):
Merchat specifically teaches the R groups may be made of hydrogen atoms, halogens (fluorine), and/or linear alkyl groups ([0076]).
Regarding claim 5, Merchat teaches the electronically conductive material is selected among carbon black, acetylene black, graphite, carbon nanotubes, carbon fibers, and conductive organic polymers ([0157]).
Regarding claim 7, Merchat teaches the electrode comprises a binder ([0023]).
Regarding claim 7, Merchat teaches the electrode comprises a binder ([0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Merchat teaches a negative electrode, and a non-aqueous electrolyte ([0199]).
Regarding claim 11, Merchat teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte is a solution of a salt in an organic solvent ([0170]):
The salt being selected among LiPF6, LiClO4, and Li[N(FSO2)2] ([0199]);
The organic solvent being a carbonate-based solvent ([0199]).
Regarding claim 12, Merchat teaches the electrode comprises a binder selected among polyvinylidenes, polyethylenes, polyacrylates, alkide binders, glycerophtalic binders, polysiloxanes, polysiloxane-epoxides, polyurethanes, polysaccharides, latexes, carboxymethylcellulose and its derivatives, polyvinylidene fluoride, and polytetrafluoroethylene ([0153]).
Regarding claim 13, Merchat teaches the battery is a rechargeable battery ([0178-0179]).
Regarding claim 14, Merchat teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte is a solution of a salt in an organic solvent:
The salt being LiPF6 ([0199]);
The organic solvent being chosen from diethyl carbonate, ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, or a mixture of these solvents ([0199]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merchat.
Regarding claim 4, Merchat teaches the redox compound of Formula 1 is present in the positive electrode in a content ranging from 20 to 80% by weight, relative to the total weight of the positive electrode excluding the current collector ([0151]). Specifically, Merchat teaches a positive electrode comprising a positive active material present in an amount greater than 60 wt% relative to the total weight of the positive electrode, including the current collector. Although Merchat does not expressly disclose that the weight percentage is calculated relative to the total weight of the positive electrode excluding the current collector, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to express the active material content on either basis, i.e., including or excluding the current collector, because both calculations merely represent alternative methods of characterizing the composition of the positive electrode and involve routine calculations based upon known component weights.
Further, because the active material content disclosed by Merchat exceeds 60 wt%, and exclusion of the current collector from the denominator would necessarily increase the calculated active material weight percentage, the active material content would reasonably be expected to fall within the claimed range relative to the total weight of the positive electrode excluding the current collector.
It is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective file date to select a wt% within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 6, Merchat teaches the electronically conductive material is present in the positive electrode in a content ranging from 10 to 60% by weight, relative to the total weight of the positive electrode excluding the current collector ([0161]). Specifically, Merchat teaches a positive electrode comprising a conductive material present in an amount less than 20 wt% relative to the total weight of the positive electrode, including the current collector. Although Merchat does not expressly disclose that the weight percentage is calculated relative to the total weight of the positive electrode excluding the current collector, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to express the active material content on either basis, i.e., including or excluding the current collector, because both calculations merely represent alternative methods of characterizing the composition of the positive electrode and involve routine calculations based upon known component weights.
Further, because the conductive material content disclosed by Merchat is less than 20 wt%, and exclusion of the current collector from the denominator would necessarily increase the calculated active material weight percentage, the conductive material content would reasonably be expected to fall within the claimed range relative to the total weight of the positive electrode excluding the current collector.
It is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective file date to select a wt% within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 8, Merchat teaches a binder ([0023]), wherein binder is present in the positive electrode. Although Merchat does not expressly disclose the claimed binder content range, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the amount of binder through routine experimentation to achieve a balance between electrode mechanical integrity, adhesion to the current collector, processability, and electrochemical performance. The determination of an appropriate binder concentration would have been recognized as a result-effective variable, and selecting a binder content within the claimed range would have been no more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions.
Conclusion
/TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776