Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group 1 (Claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 06/16/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is based on the assertion that examination of Groups I-II would not impose a serious search and examination burden because the search would be coextensive and that a complete search of Group I would necessarily encompass the subject matter of Group II. These arguments are not found persuasive. Although some overlap max exist between the searches, separate searches and examinations are still required for the different groups of claims.
The restrictions requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-20 are withdrawn from further consideration. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on 06/16/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 108878873), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a modified lithium manganese iron phosphate positive electrode material, comprising ([0001]):
a doped lithium manganese iron phosphate core, the comprises LiNbO3 and Nb2O5 ([0007-0014]);
a coating layer disposed on a surface of the doped lithium manganese iron phosphate core, comprises an Nb element ([0007-0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu.
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Liu further teaches the modified lithium manganese iron phosphate positive electrode material according to claim 1, wherein the doped lithium manganese iron phosphate core has a chemical formula of LiNbaMnxFe1-xPO4 ([0011]),where:
0 < a ≤ 0.05 ([0011]);
0 < x < 1 ([0011]).
It is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to select variables within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Liu further teaches the coating layer has a thickness of 10-50 nm ([0020], specifically 1-50 mm).
Liu does not explicitly teach the mass ratio of LiNbO3 to Nb2O5 in the coating layer is 1:(0.1-0.4). However, the particular relative amounts of these components constitute a result-effective variable that would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as affecting coating properties, such as interfacial stability, ionic conductivity, and coating performance.
Additionally, it is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to select a thickness within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 2, as stated above. Liu further teaches the coating layer has a thickness of 10-50 nm ([0020], specifically 1-50 mm).
Liu does not explicitly teach the mass ratio of LiNbO3 to Nb2O5 in the coating layer is 1:(0.1-0.4). However, the particular relative amounts of these components constitute a result-effective variable that would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as affecting coating properties, such as interfacial stability, ionic conductivity, and coating performance.
Additionally, it is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to select a thickness within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Conclusion
/TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776