DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. After further search and consideration of Kim et al. 20200388549, it is determined that fig. 15 of Kim discloses claims 1-11. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. 20200388549.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 15 of Kim discloses a chip-on-film (substrate 210 may include a substrate base made of at least one of phenol resin, epoxy resin, and polyimide – which is a film) package, comprising:
a lower base film 210 including a first surface (bottom surface) and a second surface (top surface), which are opposite to each other;
an upper base film 287 including a third surface (bottom surface) and a fourth surface (top surface), which are opposite to each other, and is disposed on the lower base film;
a first semiconductor chip 230 (left) mounted on the second surface of the lower base film and spaced apart from the third surface (bottom surface of 287);
a second semiconductor chip 230 (right) mounted on the third surface of the upper base film and spaced apart from the second surface (top surface of 210); and
an interposer film 250 interposed between the lower and upper base films, wherein the second and third surfaces face each other.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 15 of Kim discloses wherein the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip do not overlap with each other in a vertical direction with respect to the second surface of the lower base film.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 15 of Kim discloses wherein at least part of the first semiconductor chip overlaps with the second semiconductor chip in a horizontal direction, which intersects the vertical direction.
Regarding claim 4, it is necessary the case the fig. 13 of Kim discloses wherein a distance, in a horizontal direction, between the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip is about 6 mm or less (such as zero because counting distance between with value of 0 and increment thereafter).
Regarding claim 6, fig. 15 of Kim discloses further comprising: lower conductive lines (lines of 215s) disposed on the second surface of the lower base film; and upper conductive lines (253/263 heat conductive lines) disposed on the third surface of the upper base film.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 15 of Kim discloses further comprising: to a lower protective member (underfill below 220) covering at least portions of the lower conductive line 215s; and an upper protective member 285 covering at least portions of the upper conductive lines.
Regarding claim 8, fig. 15 of Kim discloses wherein the interposer film includes a top surface and a bottom surface, which are opposite to each other, and further includes first interposer conductive lines (top pad portion on top of 253s) and second interposer conductive lines (bottom pad portion on bottom of 253s),
wherein the first interposer conductive lines are disposed on the top surface of the interposer film and are connected to the upper conductive lines, and
wherein the second interposer conductive lines are disposed on the bottom surface of the interposer film and are connected to the lower conductive lines.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 15 of Kim disclose further comprising: interposer vias (hole around 253) penetrating the interposer film and connecting the first interposer conductive lines to the second interposer conductive lines.
Regarding claim 11, fig. 15 of Kim disclose wherein a length of the upper base film 287 is different (term of degree) from a length of the lower base film 210.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Kim discloses claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a thickness, in a vertical direction with respect to the second surface of the lower base film, of the interposer film is about 30 μm to about 40 μm; wherein a width of the interposer film is about 35 mm to about 156 mm.
However, although Kim is silent about the claimed range, it should be noted that a range of value inherently exist.
Therefore, the prior art of Kim provides foundation for experimental optimization and suggests a progress of changes in size/proportion in order to meet the device dimension.
Therefore, while the structure of Kim does not quantitatively state a ratio, the courts have held that when the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is a size/proportion, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious a form a package of Kim wherein said range of the of the interposer film is about 30 μm to about 40 μm; wherein a width of the interposer film is about 35 mm to about 156 mm in order to meet the device dimension.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893