Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Song et al (US 2006/0057906). With respect to claim 1, Song et al disclose the claimed power steering device for an inflatable boat with a boat body 100, an underwater propeller 16 fixed on one side of a bottom surface of the boat body, a rudder 44 arranged on the other side of the bottom surface of the boat body, a swinging handle 43 provided on a top surface of the boat body, a swinging joint 42 fixed at one end to the swinging handle, the swinging joint and swinging handle connected via a mechanism, a mounting hole (at bearing tube 41) passing through the boat body with the swinging joint and the rudder 44 mounted to two openings of the mounting hole with the rudder being fixed to the swinging joint so as to rotate synchronously. With respect to claim 6, note Song et al, Figure 1.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (US 2006/0057906) in view of Wang (US 6332735). With respect to claim 5, Song et al does not disclose a groove. Wang teaches a steering tube with a groove 1D. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Song et al with a groove as taught by Wang with a high likelihood of success for ease of installation and reduced labor costs. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (US 2006/0057906) in view of Lurkis (US D320922). With respect to claim 7, Song et al does not specifically disclose an anti-slip handle pattern but appears to show as much in Figure 1. However, Lurkis clearly teaches an anti-slip pattern on a handle. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Song et al with an anti-slip pattern for the handle as taught by Lurkis with a high likelihood of success for improved steering especially in wet conditions. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results.
Claim 5 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. There is no antecedent basis in the claims for “said mounting groove” (line 2).
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Carini (US 2003/0084759) shows an anti-slip pattern on a handle. Thomas (US 3913159) shows a steering system. Vigo (US 2323261) shows a water cycle.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615