FINAL REJECTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2 July, 2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This Final Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks/Amendments filed on 2 July, 2026. The amendments have been entered.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-11, 13-16, and 19-36 are pending.
Claim 12, 17-18 have been cancelled.
Claim 36 is new.
Claim Objections
The amendments to claims 11 and 27 overcome the objections set forth at page 2 of the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 7 April, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant has amended the language of claims 10 and 26 to remove the terms “channelizing part”, such that the claims are no longer interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendments to claims 12-14 and 28-30 overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth at pages 5-7 of the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 7 April, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14, 16, 19, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 2008/0156470 A1 – published 3 July, 2008), in view of MATSUZOE (JP H10 – 170176 A – published 26 June, 1998; provided with an English machine translation in the IDS filed on 1 September, 2023) and FUKUMOTO (JP 2016-138707 A – published 4 August, 2016; see provided English machine translation for citations).
As to claim 1, LEE discloses a heat exchanger (abstract) comprising:
core fins including a first core fin (212 or 222; figure 4) and a second core fin (212 or 222; figure 4); and
films (211 and 221) of which is attached to a side face of each of the core fins (figure 4; par. 31 and 34), wherein
the core fins and the films are alternately stacked (par. 31),
the first core fin and the second core fin are stacked (par. 31),
an airflow passage (figures 2-3; par. 24-30), formed by the alternately stacked core fins and films, (figures 2-4 and 10B; par. 24-30), comprise:
a first port part serving as a first inlet (see annotated figures 2-4, which provides exemplary first port parts and second port parts); and
a second port part facing the first port part and serving as a first outlet (see annotated figures 2-4, which provides exemplary first port parts and second port parts),
an air flow flows from the first inlet to the first outlet in an air flow direction (see annotated figures 2-4; par. 31, in view of par. 26-29),
the first core fin and the second core fin each comprise a port lateral side part that constitutes one of the first port part and the second port part (part at the location of the defined first port part and/or defined second port part, shown in annotated figures 2-4, so as to be the port lateral side part), and
in a stacking direction (direction of which the core fins and films are positioned one atop another, resulting in the heat exchanger, 20, shown in figure 1) of the first core fin and the second core fin, a fin interlayer distance on an outermost side of at least one of the first port part and the second port part (fin height distance at the location of at least one of the first port part and the second port part) is relative to a fin interlayer distance at a different position between the first inlet and the first outlet of the air flow passage (fin height distance at the location along the central portion of the fin cores, between the inlet and outlets of air flow at the first port part and second port part),
the first core fin and the second core fin each comprise:
an outer frame(313 and 323) having a hexagonal shape(figure 4 and 7);
a principle partitioning rib( any one of 312a-3123d and/or 322a-322d) extending from the first inlet to the first outlet basically along the air flow direction of the air flow passage (figure 4 and 7); and
two triangular regions (see annotated figure 4; figure 7), and
a quadrate region disposed between the two triangular regions (see annotated figure 4; figure 7),and that comprises an auxiliary partitioning rib (another one of 312a-312d and/or 322a-322d) parallel to the principle partitioning rib (see figure 4 and 7).
Annotated Figure 2 of LEE
Annotated Figure 3 of LEE
Annotated Figure 4 of LEE
However, LEE does not disclose expressly wherein the fin interlayer distance on an outermost side of at least one of the first port part and the second port part (fin height distance at the location of at least one of the first port part and the second port part) is greater than a fin interlayer distance at a different position between the first inlet and the first outlet of the air flow passage. In addition, LEE, as modified, does not disclose including two longitudinal ribs extending in a transverse direction of the air flow direction in the air flow passage and partitioning the outer frame.
MATSUZOE, however, is within the field of endeavor provided a heat exchanger (par. 1). MATSUZOE teaches a first core fin (A) and a second core fin (A; par. 6) stacked upon one another (figure 5) of which a fin interlayer distance is provided (height of the fins, 2). The fin interlayer distance at an outermost side at the inlet and outlet of the core fins(figure 6) is greater (due to the sloped shape at the inlet and outlet ends thereof; figure 6) than a fin interlayer distance at a different position between the inlet and outlet of the core fins (central portion of the fins; figure 6). Particularly, MATSUZOE teaches wherein providing the “trumpet-like manner” at the inlet and outlets of the core fins allows the fluid to flow smoothly, while effectively holding the superimposed core fins to one another in a stable manner (par. 13).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of the teachings of MATSUZOE, to include this fin interlayer distance correlation, as claimed, for these reasons.
FUKUMOTO, however, is within the field of endeavor provided a heat exchanger (par. 1). FUKUMOTO teaches including two longitudinal ribs (16; figure 3-4 and 5) that extend in a transverse direction to the air flow direction of the air flow passage (figures 3-4 and 5). In addition, the positioning of the two longitudinal ribs cause partitioning of the outer frame of the core plates (external sides; figure 3-4) to include two triangular regions (entrance and exit regions at the two ends of the plates, figures 3 and 4) and a quadrate region between the two triangular regions (between the entrance and exit regions; figures 3 and 4). Particularly, FUKUMOTO teaches the purpose of the tow longitudinal ribs is to provide reinforcement (par. 23 and 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of FUKUMOTO, to include the two longitudinal ribs, as claimed, for this reason.
Furthermore, LEE, as modified to include two longitudinal ribs (as taught by FUKUMOTO), in addition LEE disclosing the auxiliary partitioning rib (another one of 312b-312d and/or 322a-322c), necessarily teaches an auxiliary rib extending between the two longitudinal ribs. The combination of prior art necessarily provides wherein the auxiliary partitioning rib of LEE extends between the two longitudinal ribs, in view of the positioning of the longitudinal ribs being positioned at the intersection between the two triangular sections and the central rectangular section (as taught by FUKUMOTO). LEE provides wherein the auxiliary partitioning rib (one of 312a-312d and/or 322a-322d) extends within the two triangular sections or to the beginning of one of the two triangular sections and the central rectangular section, such that the combination necessarily provides the claimed invention set forth.
As to claim 4, LEE, as modified, previously taught the inclusion of the “trumpet-like manner” at the inlet and outlets of the core fins to provide the fin interlayer distance correlation (see rejection of claim 1).
Furthermore, providing such teachings causes the inlet and outlet of the core fins (figure 6) is tapered toward an outermost side (the outermost side at the inlet or the outlet shown in figure 6) in a transverse section parallel to the air flow direction (direction parallel along the airflow into the passage of MATSUZOE). Again, MATSUZOE teaches wherein providing the “trumpet-like manner” at the inlet and outlets of the core fins allows the fluid to flow smoothly, while effectively holding the superimposed core fins to one another in a stable manner (par. 13).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of the teachings of MATSUZOE, to include this feature, as claimed, for these reasons.
As to claim 5, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein the port lateral side part of the second core fin has a surface directed toward the first core fin (upper or lower surface of “port part partitioning ribs”, any one of or various combinations of 312a-b and/or 322a-d) and on which port part partitioning ribs are disposed (figure 7; par. 42; figure 10B).
As to claim 7, LEE, as modified, previously taught the fin interlayer distance on an outermost side of at least one of the first port part and the second port part (fin height distance at the location of at least one of the first port part and the second port part) is greater than (teachings of MATZUSOE; see rejection of claim 1) a fin interlayer distance at a different position between the first inlet and the first outlet of the air flow passage (fin height distance at the location along the central portion of the fin cores, between the inlet and outlets of air flow at the first port part and second port part).
Furthermore, the combination provided the fin interlayer distance was a height distance (along the stacking direction of the core fins to one another), which is necessarily perpendicular to the airflow direction.
As such, the combination necessarily provides the requirement set forth by the claim of “wherein the fin interlayer distance on an outermost side of the first inlet of the air flow passage is longer than the fin interlayer distance perpendicular to the air flow direction at a different position between the first inlet and the first outlet of the air flow passage”.
As to claim 8, LEE, as modified, further teaches wherein, in each of the first port part and the second port part, a port part partitioning rib closest to an end of each of the first port part and the second port part in an extending direction of the port lateral side part among the port partitioning ribs of the second core fin is shorter than the remaining port partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7).
Annotated Figure 7 of LEE
As to claim 10, LEE, as modified by MATSUZOE, previously taught the inclusion of the “trumpet-like manner” at the inlet and outlet ends of the port part partitioning ribs (see rejection of claims 1, 4, 5), such that the “trumpet-like manner” of the port part partitioning ribs forms the extension that guides the airflow in the airflow direction. Again, providing such teachings causes the inlet and outlet of the core fins (figure 6) allows the fluid to flow smoothly, while effectively holding the superimposed core fins to one another in a stable manner (par. 13).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of the teachings of MATSUZOE, to include this feature, as claimed, for these reasons.
As to claim 11, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein
the port part partitioning ribs of the second core fin comprise:
first port part partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7); and
second port part partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7) that are longer than the first port part partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7), wherein
the first port part partitioning ribs and the second port part partitioning ribs are disposed alternately(see annotated figure 7), and
in each of the first port part and the second port part, a port part partitioning rib closest to an end of the each of the first port part and the second port part in an extending direction of the port lateral side part is one of the first port part partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7).
As to claim 13, LEE, as modified, previously described the inclusion of the auxiliary partitioning ribs (see rejection of claim 11), in addition to further discloses the auxiliary principle partitioning rib (such as 312b and 312c and/or 322b and 322c) being adjacent to principle partitioning ribs(such as 312a and 312d and/or 322a and 322d) on respective sides of the auxiliary partitioning rib (figure 4 and 7). Furthermore, LEE discloses wherein the distance therebetween the auxiliary partitioning rib and the principle partitioning ribs is equally distant (par. 54).
As to claim 14, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein the auxiliary partitioning rib is equal to or less than the principle partitioning rib in terms of height in the stacking direction (par. 54).
As to claim 16, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein a principle partitioning rib extending between the port lateral side part of the first port part and the port lateral side part of the second port part has an opening allowing passage of air flow on a side that is distant from a film bonded (figure 47, and 10B, wherein the opening includes a portion on a side opposite to the film/rib connection side).
As to claim 19, LEE, as modified, previously taught the heat exchanger of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
LEE, further, discloses an air treatment device (figure 1) comprising, wherein the heat exchanger includes a second inlet and a second outlet (figure 1-3);
a fresh air port inlet that is in communication with the first inlet and that imports fresh air flow(12; par. 26);
a supply air port that is in communication with the first outlet and that exports the fresh air flow (13; par. 26);
a return air port that is in communication with the second inlet and that imports indoor air flow (14; par. 26); and
exhaust air port that is in communication with the second outlet and that exports the indoor air flow (15; par. 26), wherein
the fresh air flow and the indoor air flow cross each other, flow in the heat exchanger and executes heat exchange (par. 25-30).
As to claim 36, LEE, as modified, previously taught including two longitudinal ribs (see rejection of claim 1), in addition LEE further discloses the auxiliary partitioning rib (another one of 312b-312d and/or 322a-322c). The combination of prior art necessarily provides wherein the auxiliary partitioning rib of LEE extends between one of the two longitudinal ribs to the other of the two longitudinal ribs, in view of the positioning of the longitudinal ribs being positioned at the intersection between the two triangular sections and the central rectangular section (see rejection of claim 1). LEE provides wherein the auxiliary partitioning rib (one of 312b-312d and/or 322a-322c) extends within the two triangular sections and central rectangular section, such that the combination necessarily provides the claimed invention set forth within dependent claim 36.
Claim(s) 3 and 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 2008/0156470 A1 – published 3 July, 2008), in view of ISHIMARU (US 2015/0075758 A1 – published 19 March, 2015).
As to claim 3, LEE discloses a heat exchanger (abstract) comprising:
core fins including a first core fin (212 or 222; figure 4) and a second core fin (212 or 222; figure 4); and
films (211 and 221) of which is attached to a side face of each of the core fins (figure 4; par. 31 and 34), wherein
the core fins and the films are alternately stacked (par. 31),
the first core fin and the second core fin are stacked (par. 31),
an airflow passage (figures 2-3; par. 24-30), formed by the alternately stacked core fins and the films (figures 2-4 and 10B; par. 24-30), comprise:
a first port part serving as a first inlet (see annotated figures 2-4, which provides exemplary first port parts and second port parts); and
a second port part facing the first port part and serving as a first outlet (see annotated figures 2-4, which provides exemplary first port parts and second port parts),
an air flow flows from the first inlet to the first outlet in an air flow direction (see annotated figures 2-4; par. 31, in view of par. 26-29),
the first core fin and the second core fin each comprise:
a port lateral side part that constitutes one of the first port part and the second port part (part at the location of the defined first port part and/or defined second port part, shown in annotated figures 2-4, so as to be the port lateral side part); and
a principle partitioning rib( any one of 312a-3123d and/or 322a-322d) extending between the port lateral side part of the first port part and the port lateral side part of the second port part (figure 4 and 7),
the port lateral side part of the second core fin (figure 7) comprises a port part partitioning rib (any one of 312a-d and/or 322a-d) extending from one end of the principle portioning rib in the airflow direction(figure 4 and 7) and that is in contact with a surface of the port lateral side part of the first core fin (par. 40) and that is relative in size to a principle partitioning rib (any other one of 312a-d and/or 322a-d).
However, LEE, as modified, does not expressly disclose wherein the port part partitioning rib is smaller in width than the principle partitioning rib.
ISHIMARU, however, is within the field of endeavor, provided a heat exchanger (abstract). ISHIMARU teaches a fin core (figure 2), which are stacked alternately to one another to form the heat exchanger (figure 1). ISHIMARU teaches wherein the fin core includes a port part partitioning rib (5) that is in contact with a surface of the inlet/outlet (figure 2) thereof and is smaller in width (par. 26) than a principle partitioning rib (6) extending between the inlet and outlet thereof (figure 2). Particularly, ISHIMARU teaches wherein providing the smaller width of the port partitioning rib enables minimization of pressure loss, so as to not decrease the heat transfer area and the moisture-permeable area of the fin core (par. 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of the teachings of ISHIMARU to include the width correlation, as claimed, for these reasons.
As to claim 32, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein a principle partitioning rib extending between the port lateral side part of the first port part and the port lateral side part of the second port part has an opening allowing passage of air flow on a side that is distant from a film bonded (figure 47, and 10B, wherein the opening includes a portion on a side opposite to the film/rib connection side).
As to claim 33, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein:
the port lateral side part of the first core fin and the port lateral side part of the second core fin are respectively disposed along a first portion and a second portion disposed at opposite corners (figures 2-4 and 7) of the first core fin and the second core fin,
each of the first core fin and the second core fin further comprises a third portion and a fourth portion disposed at opposite corners (figures 2-4 and 7, another set of portions opposite from one another that are disposed at different corners to that of the first and second portions),
a crossing port lateral side part is disposed along the third portion and the fourth portion (figures 2-4 and 7, another set of portions opposite from one another that are disposed at different corners to that of the first and second portions),
the crossing port lateral side part of the first core fin comprises port part partitioning ribs on a surface opposite to the second core fin (figure 2), and
the port part partitioning ribs (any one of 312a-d and/or 322a-d) at the crossing port lateral side part of the first frame are relative in size to a principle partitioning rib (any other one of 312a-d and/or 322a-d) extending between the port lateral side part of the first port part and the port lateral side part of the second port part.
However, LEE, as modified, does not expressly disclose wherein the port part partitioning rib is smaller in width than the principle partitioning rib.
ISHIMARU, however, is within the field of endeavor, provided a heat exchanger (abstract). ISHIMARU teaches a fin core (figure 2), which are stacked alternately to one another to form the heat exchanger (figure 1). ISHIMARU teaches wherein the fin core includes a port part partitioning rib (5) that is in contact with a surface of the inlet/outlet (figure 2) thereof and is smaller in width (par. 26) than a principle partitioning rib (6) extending between the inlet and outlet thereof (figure 2). Particularly, ISHIMARU teaches wherein providing the smaller width of the port partitioning rib enables minimization of pressure loss, so as to not decrease the heat transfer area and the moisture-permeable area of the fin core (par. 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of the teachings of ISHIMARU to include the width correlation, as claimed, for these reasons.
As to claim 34, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein the port lateral side part of the first core fin has a surface directed toward the air flow passage and having an outline shape (any one surface of the port lateral side part of the first core fin; figure 4 and 7). LEE, further, discloses the outline shape and a partitioning rib at the port lateral side part of the second core fin are formed in each of two side faces of the second core fin (figures 4 and 7).
However, LEE, as modified, does not expressly disclose wherein the outline shape is necessarily one of a slant face, a curved face, and a stepped face.
ISHIMARU teaches a fin core (figure 2), which are stacked alternately to one another to form the heat exchanger (figure 1). ISHIMARU teaches wherein the fin core includes a surface of the inlet/outlet (figure 2) thereof includes a slant face. Particularly, ISHIMARU teaches wherein providing the slanted face at the inlet/outlet surface of the core fins to enable minimization of pressure loss, so as to not decrease the heat transfer area and the moisture-permeable area of the fin core (par. 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of the teachings of ISHIMARU to include the structure, as claimed, for these reasons.
As to claim 35, LEE, as modified, previously taught the heat exchanger of claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3).
LEE, further, discloses an air treatment device (figure 1) comprising, wherein the heat exchanger includes a second inlet and a second outlet (figure 1-3);
a fresh air port inlet that is in communication with the first inlet and that imports fresh air flow(12; par. 26);
a supply air port that is in communication with the first outlet and that exports the fresh air flow (13; par. 26);
a return air port that is in communication with the second inlet and that imports indoor air flow (14; par. 26); and
exhaust air port that is in communication with the second outlet and that exports the indoor air flow (15; par. 26), wherein
the fresh air flow and the indoor air flow cross each other, flow in the heat exchanger and executes heat exchange (par. 25-30).
Claim(s) 2, 6, 20-24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 2008/0156470 A1 – published 3 July, 2008), in view of MATSUZOE (JP H10 – 170176 A – published 26 June, 1998; provided with an English machine translation in the IDS filed on 1 September, 2023), FUKUMOTO (JP 2016-138707 A – published 4 August, 2016; see provided English machine translation for citations), and ISHIMARU (US 2015/0075758 A1 – published 19 March, 2015).
As to claim 2, LEE, as modified, discloses wherein the port lateral part of the second core fin (figure 7) comprises a port part partitioning rib (any one of 312a-d and/or 322a-d) that is in contact with a surface of the port lateral side part of the first core fin (par. 40) and that is relative in size to a principle partitioning rib (any other one of 312a-d and/or 322a-d) extending between a port lateral side part of the first port part and a port lateral side part of the second port part.
However, LEE, as modified, does not expressly disclose wherein the port part partitioning rib is smaller in width than the principle partitioning rib.
ISHIMARU, however, is within the field of endeavor, provided a heat exchanger (abstract). ISHIMARU teaches a fin core (figure 2), which are stacked alternately to one another to form the heat exchanger (figure 1). ISHIMARU teaches wherein the fin core includes a port part partitioning rib (5) that is in contact with a surface of the inlet/outlet (figure 2) thereof and is smaller in width (par. 26) than a principle partitioning rib (6) extending between the inlet and outlet thereof (figure 2). Particularly, ISHIMARU teaches wherein providing the smaller width of the port partitioning rib enables minimization of pressure loss, so as to not decrease the heat transfer area and the moisture-permeable area of the fin core (par. 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of the teachings of ISHIMARU to include the width correlation, as claimed, for these reasons.
As to claim 6, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein the port lateral side part of the first core fin has a surface directed toward the air flow passage and having an outline shape (any one surface of the port lateral side part of the first core fin; figure 4 and 7).
However, LEE, as modified, does not expressly disclose wherein the outline shape is necessarily one of a slant face, a curved face, and a stepped face.
ISHIMARU, however, is within the field of endeavor, provided a heat exchanger (abstract). ISHIMARU teaches a fin core (figure 2), which are stacked alternately to one another to form the heat exchanger (figure 1). ISHIMARU teaches wherein the fin core includes a surface of the inlet/outlet (figure 2) thereof includes a slant face. Particularly, ISHIMARU teaches wherein providing the slanted face at the inlet/outlet surface of the core fins to enable minimization of pressure loss, so as to not decrease the heat transfer area and the moisture-permeable area of the fin core (par. 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of the teachings of ISHIMARU to include the structure, as claimed, for these reasons.
As to claim 20, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein the port lateral side part of the first core fin.
However, LEE, as modified, does not further disclose wherein the port lateral side part of the first core in is tapered toward an outermost side in a transverse section parallel to the airflow direction.
MATSUZOE, however, is within the field of endeavor provided a heat exchanger (par. 1). MATSUZOE teaches a first core fin (A) and a second core fin (A; par. 6) which include the “trumpet-like manner” at the inlet and outlets of the core fins to allow the fluid to flow smoothly, while effectively holding the superimposed core fins to one another in a stable manner (par. 13). Providing such teachings causes the inlet and outlet of the core fins (figure 6) is tapered toward an outermost side (the outermost side at the inlet or the outlet shown in figure 6) in a transverse section parallel to the air flow direction (direction parallel along the airflow into the passage of MATSUZOE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of the teachings of MATSUZOE, to include this fin interlayer distance correlation, as claimed, for these reasons.
As to claim 21, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein the port lateral side part of the second core fin has a surface directed toward the first core fin (upper or lower surface of “port part partitioning ribs”, any one of or various combinations of 312a-b and/or 322a-d) and on which port part partitioning ribs are disposed (figure 7; par. 42; figure 10B).
As to claim 22, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein the port lateral side part of the first core fin has a surface directed toward the air flow passage and having an outline shape (any one surface of the port lateral side part of the first core fin; figure 4 and 7).
However, LEE, as modified, does not expressly disclose wherein the outline shape is necessarily one of a slant face, a curved face, and a stepped face.
ISHIMARU, further, teaches a fin core (figure 2), which are stacked alternately to one another to form the heat exchanger (figure 1). ISHIMARU teaches wherein the fin core includes a surface of the inlet/outlet (figure 2) thereof includes a slant face. Particularly, ISHIMARU teaches wherein providing the slanted face at the inlet/outlet surface of the core fins to enable minimization of pressure loss, so as to not decrease the heat transfer area and the moisture-permeable area of the fin core (par. 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of the teachings of ISHIMARU to include the structure, as claimed, for these reasons.
As to claim 23, LEE, as modified, discloses a fin interlayer distance on an outermost side of the first inlet (fin height distance at the location of at least one of the first port part which is the first inlet) is relative to a fin interlayer distance at a different position between the first inlet and the first outlet of the air flow passage (fin height distance at the location along the central portion of the fin cores, between the inlet and outlets of air flow at the first port part and second port part).
However, LEE, as modified, does not disclose expressly wherein the fin interlayer distance on an outermost side of the first inlet (fin height distance at the location of at least one of the first port part and the second port part) is longer than a fin interlayer distance at a different position between the first inlet and the first outlet of the air flow passage.
MATSUZOE, however, is within the field of endeavor provided a heat exchanger (par. 1). MATSUZOE teaches a first core fin (A) and a second core fin (A; par. 6) stacked upon one another (figure 5) of which a fin interlayer distance is provided (height of the fins, 2). The fin interlayer distance at an outermost side at the inlet and outlet of the core fins(figure 6) is longer (due to the sloped shape at the inlet and outlet ends thereof; figure 6) than a fin interlayer distance at a different position between the inlet and outlet of the core fins (central portion of the fins; figure 6). Particularly, MATSUZOE teaches wherein providing the “trumpet-like manner” at the inlet and outlets of the core fins allows the fluid to flow smoothly, while effectively holding the superimposed core fins to one another in a stable manner (par. 13).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of the teachings of MATSUZOE, to include this fin interlayer distance correlation, as claimed, for these reasons.
As to claim 24, LEE, as modified, further teaches wherein, in each of the first port part and the second port part, a port part partitioning rib closest to an end of each of the first port part and the second port part in an extending direction of the port lateral side part among the port partitioning ribs of the second core fin is shorter than the remaining port partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7).
As to claim 26, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein the port part partitioning ribs each comprise at an end an extension part that guides the air flow in the air flow direction (figures 4 and 7, such as the end part of the port part partitioning ribs).
As to claim 27, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein
the port part partitioning ribs of the second core fin comprise:
first port part partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7); and
second port part partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7) that are longer than the first port part partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7), wherein
the first port part partitioning ribs and the second port part partitioning ribs are disposed alternately(see annotated figure 7), and
in each of the first port part and the second port part, a port part partitioning rib closest to an end of the each of the first port part and the second port part in an extending direction of the port lateral side part is one of the first port part partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 2008/0156470 A1 – published 3 July, 2008), in view of MATSUZOE (JP H10 – 170176 A – published 26 June, 1998; provided with an English machine translation in the IDS filed on 1 September, 2023), FUKUMOTO (JP 2016-138707 A – published 4 August, 2016; see provided English machine translation for citations), and ODAJIMA (KR20080084569A – published 11 January, 2008; see English machine translation for citations).
As to claim 9, LEE, as modified, further discloses comprising:
a shell (11) accommodating the first core fin, the second core fin, and the films (figures 1-3), wherein the airflow passage includes:
a first flow path (figure 2); and
a second flow path (figure 3)crossing the first flow path (figure 3, in view of figure 2; par. 24-30),
the first flow path and the second flow path each having an inlet and an outlet (figure 2-3),
the inlet of the first flow path is disposed adjacent to the outlet of the second flow path (figures 2-3),
the inlet of the second flow path is disposed adjacent to the outlet of the first flow path (figures 2-3),
the shell comprises a baffle to either one of the inlet and the outlet (see figure 1, wherein walls are provided within the shell; par. 25-27),
the baffle constitutes a filter guide rail (MPEP § 2114 – II, wherein the intended use of the baffle can be a filter guide rail, absent further structural definition to differentiate the baffle of the prior art and the instant application) and
a port part partitioning rib at a position corresponding to the baffle is shorter than remaining port part partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7, in view of figure 1, wherein the placement of the shorter port part partitioning rib is positioned at a position which would correspond to the baffle).
However, LEE, as modified, does not expressly disclose wherein the baffle is bent.
ODAJIMA, however, is within the field of endeavor, provided a heat exchanger (abstract). ODAJIMA teaches a shell (housing shown in figure 14) including a baffle (27) that is bend (figure 14). ODAJIMA teaches wherein the bent baffle is included for the purpose of partitioning the shell to allow the supplying air and exhaust air to pass, as directed, through the heat exchanger (pg. 5). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of ODAJIMA, to include the baffle being bent for this reason.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 2008/0156470 A1 – published 3 July, 2008), in view of MATSUZOE (JP H10 – 170176 A – published 26 June, 1998; provided with an English machine translation in the IDS filed on 1 September, 2023), FUKUMOTO (JP 2016-138707 A – published 4 August, 2016; see provided English machine translation for citations), ISHIMARU (US 2015/0075758 A1 – published 19 March, 2015), and ODAJIMA (KR20080084569A – published 11 January, 2008; see English machine translation for citations).
As to claim 25, LEE, as modified, further discloses comprising:
a shell (11) accommodating the first core fin, the second core fin, and the films (figures 1-3), wherein the airflow passage includes:
a first flow path (figure 2); and
a second flow path (figure 3)crossing the first flow path (figure 3, in view of figure 2; par. 24-30),
the first flow path and the second flow path each having an inlet and an outlet (figure 2-3),
the inlet of the first flow path is disposed adjacent to the outlet of the second flow path (figures 2-3),
the inlet of the second flow path is disposed adjacent to the outlet of the first flow path (figures 2-3)
the shell comprises a baffle to either one of the inlet and the outlet (see figure 1, wherein walls are provided within the shell; par. 25-27),
the baffle constitutes a filter guide rail (MPEP § 2114 – II, wherein the intended use of the baffle can be a filter guide rail, absent further structural definition to differentiate the baffle of the prior art and the instant application) and
a port part partitioning rib at a position corresponding to the baffle is shorter than remaining port part partitioning ribs (see annotated figure 7, in view of figure 1, wherein the placement of the shorter port part partitioning rib is positioned at a position which would correspond to the baffle).
However, LEE, as modified, does not expressly disclose wherein the baffle is bent.
ODAJIMA, however, is within the field of endeavor, provided a heat exchanger (abstract). ODAJIMA teaches a shell (housing shown in figure 14) including a baffle (27) that is bend (figure 14). ODAJIMA teaches wherein the bent baffle is included for the purpose of partitioning the shell to allow the supplying air and exhaust air to pass, as directed, through the heat exchanger (pg. 5). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of ODAJIMA, to include the baffle being bent for this reason.
Claim(s) 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 2008/0156470 A1 – published 3 July, 2008), in view of ISHIMARU (US 2015/0075758 A1 – published 19 March, 2015) and FUKUMOTO (JP 2016-138707 A – published 4 August, 2016; see provided English machine translation for citations).
As to claim 28, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein:
the first core fin and the second core fin each comprise:
an outer frame having a hexagonal shape (figure 4 and 7);
the principle partitioning rib( any one of 312a-3123d and/or 322a-322d), wherein the principle partitioning rib, extends from the first inlet to the first outlet basically along the air flow direction of the air flow passage (figure 4 and 7); and
wherein the outer frame is provided with:
two triangular regions (see annotated figure 4; figure 7), and
a quadrate region disposed between the two triangular regions (see annotated figure 4; figure 7),
and that comprises an auxiliary partitioning rib (another one of 312a-312d and/or 322a-322d) basically parallel to the principle partitioning rib (see figure 4 and 7).
However, LEE, as modified, does not disclose including two longitudinal ribs that extend in a transverse direction of the air flow direction in the air flow passage and partition the outer frame.
FUKUMOTO, however, is within the field of endeavor provided a heat exchanger (par. 1). FUKUMOTO teaches including two longitudinal ribs (16; figure 3-4 and 5) that extend in a transverse direction to the air flow direction of the air flow passage (figures 3-4 and 5). In addition, the positioning of the two longitudinal ribs cause partitioning of the outer frame of the core plates (external sides; figure 3-4) to include two triangular regions (entrance and exit regions at the two ends of the plates, figures 3 and 4) and a quadrate region between the two triangular regions (between the entrance and exit regions; figures 3 and 4). Particularly, FUKUMOTO teaches the purpose of the tow longitudinal ribs is to provide reinforcement (par. 23 and 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of FUKUMOTO, to include the two longitudinal ribs, as claimed, for this reason.
As to claim 29, LEE, as modified, previously described the inclusion of the auxiliary partitioning ribs (see rejection of claim 28), in addition to further discloses the auxiliary principle partitioning rib (such as 312b and 312c and/or 322b and 322c) being adjacent to principle partitioning ribs(such as 312a and 312d and/or 322a and 322d) on respective sides of the auxiliary partitioning rib (figure 4 and 7). Furthermore, LEE discloses wherein the distance therebetween the auxiliary partitioning rib and the principle partitioning ribs is equally distant (par. 54).
As to claim 30, LEE, as modified, further discloses wherein the auxiliary partitioning rib is equal to or less than the principle partitioning rib in terms of height in the stacking direction of the first core fin and the second core fin (par. 54).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 2008/0156470 A1 – published 3 July, 2008), in view of MATSUZOE (JP H10 – 170176 A – published 26 June, 1998; provided with an English machine translation in the IDS filed on 1 September, 2023), FUKUMOTO (JP 2016-138707 A – published 4 August, 2016; see provided English machine translation for citations), and TAKADA (US 2015/0053381 A1 – published 26 February, 2015)
As to claim 15, LEE, as modified, discloses wherein a principle partitioning rib extending between the port lateral side part of the first port part and the port lateral side part of the second port part has a side that is bonded with the film (figures 4 and 7) with a width at a side of the principle partitioning rib that is distant from the film (figure 4 and 7).
However, LEE does not further disclose wherein the width is smaller at the side of the principle partitioning rib that is distance from the film.
TAKADA, however, is within the field of endeavor provided a heat exchanger (abstract). TAKADA discloses a principle partitioning rib (8) that has a smaller width at a side away from the portion of the rib connected to the film (figure 4). Particularly, TAKADA provides wherein the width is smaller at a side away from the film for the purpose of providing strength to suppress deformation of the film (par. 49), while the heat exchangeable area is not reduced (par. 50). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of TAKADA, to include the dimensional width relationship claimed, for these reasons.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 2008/0156470 A1 – published 3 July, 2008), in view of ISHIMARU (US 2015/0075758 A1 – published 19 March, 2015) and TAKADA (US 2015/0053381 A1 – published 26 February, 2015)
As to claim 31, LEE, as modified, discloses wherein a principle partitioning rib extending between the port lateral side part of the first port part and the port lateral side part of the second port part has a side that is bonded with the film (figures 4 and 7) with a width at a side of the principle partitioning rib that is distant from the film (figure 4 and 7).
However, LEE does not further disclose wherein the width is smaller at the side of the principle partitioning rib that is distance from the film.
TAKADA, however, is within the field of endeavor provided a heat exchanger (abstract). TAKADA discloses a principle partitioning rib (8) that has a smaller width at a side away from the portion of the rib connected to the film (figure 4). Particularly, TAKADA provides wherein the width is smaller at a side away from the film for the purpose of providing strength to suppress deformation of the film (par. 49), while the heat exchangeable area is not reduced (par. 50). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify LEE, in view of TAKADA, to include the dimensional width relationship claimed, for these reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 July, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At page 23, Applicant argues, “However, none of Lee’s first ribs 312a-312d, 322a-322d extend entirely from an inlet of air flowing between the ribs to an outlet”. The claims do not require the ribs to “extend entirely from an inlet of air flowing between the ribs to an outlet”. See claim 1 which recites “a principal partitioning rib extending from the first inlet to the first outlet along the air flow direction of the air flow passage”, and at best requires the extension is from the first inlet to the first outlet along the airflow direction, but not that the rib starts at the first inlet and ends at the first outlet to cause the rib to “extend entirely from an inlet of air flowing between the ribs to an outlet”. Similarly see claim 3 (“a principal partitioning rib extending between the port lateral side part of the first port part and the port lateral side part of the second port part”), which corresponds to Applicant arguments at page 26 of Applicant’s Remarks/Amendments filed 2 July, 2026. Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also Liebel-Flarsheim Co. v. Medrad Inc., 358 F.3d 898, 906, 69 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See MPEP § 2111.01 – II.
At page 23, Applicant alleges, “Further, neither Lee nor Fukumoto teaches any of Lee’s first ribs 312a-312d, 322a-322d extending between Fukumoto’s reinforcing ribs 16”. LEE, as modified to include two longitudinal ribs (as taught by FUKUMOTO), in addition LEE disclosing the auxiliary partitioning rib (another one of 312b-312d and/or 322a-322c), necessarily teaches an auxiliary rib extending between the two longitudinal ribs. The combination of prior art necessarily provides wherein the auxiliary partitioning rib of LEE extends between the two longitudinal ribs, in view of the positioning of the longitudinal ribs being positioned at the intersection between the two triangular sections and the central rectangular section (as taught by FUKUMOTO). LEE provides wherein the auxiliary partitioning rib (one of 312a-312d and/or 322a-322d) extends within the two triangular sections or to the beginning of one of the two triangular sections and the central rectangular section, such that the combination necessarily provides the claimed invention set forth. For these reasons, the argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA M MARONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 9/16/2026
JENNA M. MARONEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3763