DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 10, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veeraraghavan et al US 8405763 in view of Xie US 20190173604.
Regarding claim 1, Veeraraghavan et al teaches a method of dynamic optical intelligent computing, comprising:
acquiring a time frame input from a target dynamic scene (the scene 102 has static and dynamic features (column 3, lines 57-60). Output of the camera is a sequence of frames 150 (column 4, lines 1-4) Note: the sequence of frames 150 are taken from the scene 102;
obtaining space information corresponding to the time frame by performing a spatial modulation on the time frame (A scene analyzer 200 determines the static and dynamic features, and feeds back to the modulating controller 130 adaptive temporal and spatial modulation functions 201 (column 3, lines 58-62) Note: frames can be reconstructed to have a frame rate and spatial resolution substantially higher than a natural frame rate and a spatial resolution of the camera (abstract); and
obtaining an optical time sequence cache corresponding to the time frame by mapping the space information to an optical time sequence (Output of the camera is a sequence of frames 150 from which a video can be reconstructed having spatial and temporal resolutions different than spatial resolution of the sensor and the temporal resolution of the frame rate (column 4, lines 1-4) Note: the sequence of frames 150 is mapped between spatial resolutions and temporal resoluitons
Veeraraghavan et al fails to teach based on a space division multiplexing (SMUX) technology and a wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX) technology.
Xie teaches based on a space division multiplexing (SMUX) technology and a wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX) technology (The combination of SDM (space division multiplexing (SMUX) and WDM (wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX)) technologies are used in combination on an optical signal (paragraph 0034)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Veeraraghavan et al to include: based on a space division multiplexing (SMUX) technology and a wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX) technology.
The reason of doing so would be to reduce the number of frames used (see Xie paragraph 0034, the use of SDM and WDM reduces the amount of channels, therefore, when used in optical computing would reduce the number of time frames used).
Regarding claim 2, Veeraraghavan et al teaches wherein obtaining the space information corresponding to the time frame by performing the spatial modulation on the time frame comprises:
obtaining at least one spatial feature space by performing at least one spatial modulation on the time frame based on at least one spatial mask (a spatial resolution (mask pixel resolution) of the mask (column 3, lines 28-35). modulation controller individually modulates the pixels of the mask using corresponding modulation functions (column 3, lines 36-44) Note: a mask adjacent to the sensor with individual pixels modulated during each frame. The resolution is the spatial feature that is obtained by modulating the pixels in the resolution; and
determining the space information corresponding to the time frame based on the at least one spatial feature space (Output of the camera is a sequence of frames 150, from which a video can be reconstructed having spatial and temporal resolutions different than spatial resolution of the sensor and the temporal resolution of the frame rate. the individual pixels of the sensor 120 according to the corresponding modulation functions to generate an integrated frame during each exposure time. The mask can be the form of a fast high resolution modulator (column 4, lines 4-15)
Regarding claim 9, Veeraraghavan et al teaches a system of dynamic optical intelligent computing, comprising:
at least one processor (microprocessor (column 4, lines 31-33); and
a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor and stored with instructions executable by the at least one processor (cameras have limited memory, and a dedicated bus that directly connects the memory to the sensor (column 1, lines 19-24);
wherein when the instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the at least one processor is caused to perform:
acquiring a time frame input from a target dynamic scene (the scene 102 has static and dynamic features (column 3, lines 57-60). Output of the camera is a sequence of frames 150 (column 4, lines 1-4) Note: the sequence of frames 150 are taken from the scene 102;
obtaining space information corresponding to the time frame by performing a spatial modulation on the time frame (A scene analyzer 200 determines the static and dynamic features, and feeds back to the modulating controller 130 adaptive temporal and spatial modulation functions 201 (column 3, lines 58-62) Note: frames can be reconstructed to have a frame rate and spatial resolution substantially higher than a natural frame rate and a spatial resolution of the camera (abstract); and
obtaining an optical time sequence cache corresponding to the time frame by mapping the space information to an optical time sequence (Output of the camera is a sequence of frames 150 from which a video can be reconstructed having spatial and temporal resolutions different than spatial resolution of the sensor and the temporal resolution of the frame rate (column 4, lines 1-4) Note: the sequence of frames 150 is mapped between spatial resolutions and temporal resoluitons
Veeraraghavan et al fails to teach based on a space division multiplexing (SMUX) technology and a wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX) technology.
Xie teaches based on a space division multiplexing (SMUX) technology and a wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX) technology (The combination of SDM (space division multiplexing (SMUX) and WDM (wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX)) technologies are used in combination on an optical signal (paragraph 0034)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Veeraraghavan et al to include: based on a space division multiplexing (SMUX) technology and a wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX) technology.
The reason of doing so would be to reduce the number of frames used (see Xie paragraph 0034, the use of SDM and WDM reduces the amount of channels, therefore, when used in optical computing would reduce the number of time frames used).
Regarding claim 10, Veeraraghavan et al fails to teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to perform:
obtaining at least one spatial feature space by performing at least one spatial modulation on the time frame based on at least one spatial mask (a spatial resolution (mask pixel resolution) of the mask (column 3, lines 28-35). modulation controller individually modulates the pixels of the mask using corresponding modulation functions (column 3, lines 36-44) Note: a mask adjacent to the sensor with individual pixels modulated during each frame. The resolution is the spatial feature that is obtained by modulating the pixels in the resolution; and
determining the space information corresponding to the time frame based on the at least one spatial feature space (Output of the camera is a sequence of frames 150, from which a video can be reconstructed having spatial and temporal resolutions different than spatial resolution of the sensor and the temporal resolution of the frame rate. the individual pixels of the sensor 120 according to the corresponding modulation functions to generate an integrated frame during each exposure time. The mask can be the form of a fast high resolution modulator (column 4, lines 4-15)
Regarding claim 17, Veeraraghavan et al teaches acquiring a time frame input from a target dynamic scene (the scene 102 has static and dynamic features (column 3, lines 57-60). Output of the camera is a sequence of frames 150 (column 4, lines 1-4) Note: the sequence of frames 150 are taken from the scene 102;
obtaining space information corresponding to the time frame by performing a spatial modulation on the time frame (A scene analyzer 200 determines the static and dynamic features, and feeds back to the modulating controller 130 adaptive temporal and spatial modulation functions 201 (column 3, lines 58-62) Note: frames can be reconstructed to have a frame rate and spatial resolution substantially higher than a natural frame rate and a spatial resolution of the camera (abstract); and
obtaining an optical time sequence cache corresponding to the time frame by mapping the space information to an optical time sequence (Output of the camera is a sequence of frames 150 from which a video can be reconstructed having spatial and temporal resolutions different than spatial resolution of the sensor and the temporal resolution of the frame rate (column 4, lines 1-4) Note: the sequence of frames 150 is mapped between spatial resolutions and temporal resoluitons
Veeraraghavan et al fails to teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stored with computer instructions, wherein, the computer instructions are configured to cause a computer to perform:
based on a space division multiplexing (SMUX) technology and a wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX) technology.
Xie teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stored with computer instructions, wherein, the computer instructions are configured to cause a computer to perform (non-transitory and tangible medium having data recorded thereon (paragraph 0013):
based on a space division multiplexing (SMUX) technology and a wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX) technology (The combination of SDM (space division multiplexing (SMUX) and WDM (wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX)) technologies are used in combination on an optical signal (paragraph 0034)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Veeraraghavan et al to include: based on a space division multiplexing (SMUX) technology and a wavelength division multiplexing (WMUX) technology.
The reason of doing so would be to reduce the number of frames used (see Xie paragraph 0034, the use of SDM and WDM reduces the amount of channels, therefore, when used in optical computing would reduce the number of time frames used).
Regarding claim 18, Veeraraghavan et al teaches wherein obtaining the space information corresponding to the time frame by performing the spatial modulation on the time frame comprises:
obtaining at least one spatial feature space by performing at least one spatial modulation on the time frame based on at least one spatial mask (a spatial resolution (mask pixel resolution) of the mask (column 3, lines 28-35). modulation controller individually modulates the pixels of the mask using corresponding modulation functions (column 3, lines 36-44) Note: a mask adjacent to the sensor with individual pixels modulated during each frame. The resolution is the spatial feature that is obtained by modulating the pixels in the resolution; and
determining the space information corresponding to the time frame based on the at least one spatial feature space (Output of the camera is a sequence of frames 150, from which a video can be reconstructed having spatial and temporal resolutions different than spatial resolution of the sensor and the temporal resolution of the frame rate. the individual pixels of the sensor 120 according to the corresponding modulation functions to generate an integrated frame during each exposure time. The mask can be the form of a fast high resolution modulator (column 4, lines 4-15)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 11-16, 19 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2681
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 01/01/2026
Michael Burleson
December 27, 2025
/MICHAEL BURLESON/