DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-7, 12-14 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/6/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by US 2022/0377610 (Garcia et al.).
As to claims 1 and 8, Garcia teaches a communication apparatus (Inter-RAT Load Balancer, see figs 2 and 12a); comprising: at least one processor (12, fig 12a); and a memory (14, fig 12a) coupled to the at least one processor and configured to store executable instructions for execution by the at least one processor to instruct the at least one processor to:
obtain first network status information of a first network device; obtain information indicating a network status of a second network device (load metrics collected by load balancer [LB] from multiple radio resource managers [RRMs] for multiple RATs, see figures 2 and 10 and paragraphs 41 and 109);
obtain a to-be-effective first mobility load balancing (MLB) policy based on the first network status information of the first network device and the information indicating a network status of the second network device (using load metrics, the LB determines adjusted resources from the shared resource pool for the different RATs, see paragraphs 41-43 and 110-111); and
send the first MLB policy to the second network device, wherein the first MLB policy comprises at least one of the following contents (LB informs RATs of resource adjustments from the shared resource pool, see paragraphs 41-43 and 112):
a first configuration parameter used to adjust a first load of the first network device and time information corresponding to the first configuration parameter used to adjust the first load of the first network device; a second configuration parameter used to adjust a second load of the second network device and time information corresponding to the second configuration parameter used to adjust the second load of the second network device; or reliability information of the first MLB policy (LB informs RATs of resource adjustments from the shared resource pool for load balancing purposes, said resources include a time component, see paragraphs 41-43, 112 and 53).
As to claim 15, Garcia teaches a communication apparatus (Radio Resource Manager, see figs 2 and 12b); comprising: at least one processor (12, fig 12b); and a memory (14, fig 12b) coupled to the at least one processor and configured to store executable instructions for execution by the at least one processor to instruct the at least one processor to:
send information indicating a network status of a second network device (load metrics collected by load balancer [LB] from multiple radio resource managers [RRMs] for multiple RATs, see figures 2 and 10 and paragraphs 41 and 109); and
receive a first mobility load balancing (MLB) policy (LB informs RATs of resource adjustments from the shared resource pool, see paragraphs 41-43 and 112), wherein the first MLB policy is based on the information indicating a network status of the second network device (using load metrics, the LB determines adjusted resources from the shared resource pool for the different RATs, see paragraphs 41-43 and 110-111), wherein the first MLB policy comprises at least one of the following contents:
a first configuration parameter used to adjust a first load of a first network device and time information corresponding to the first configuration parameter used to adjust the first load of the first network device; a second configuration parameter used to adjust a second load of the second network device and time information corresponding to the second configuration parameter used to adjust the second load of the second network device; or reliability information of the first MLB policy (LB informs RATs of resource adjustments from the shared resource pool for load balancing purposes, said resources include a time component, see paragraphs 41-43, 112 and 53).
As to claims 3 and 10, Garcia further teaches wherein the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: obtain, based on the first network status information of the first network device and the information indicating the network status of the second network device, at least one of a first predicted load value of the first network device at a first time in a current MLB policy or a second predicted load value of the second network device at the first time in the current MLB policy; and obtain the to-be-effective first MLB policy based on at least one of the first predicted load value or the second predicted load value (resource adjustments are based on predicted load values for the respective RATs, see paragraphs 51, 93 and 101).
As to claims 4 and 11, Garcia further teaches wherein the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: perform at least one of the following by using a neural network: predict a load value of the first network device based on the current MLB policy, to obtain the first predicted load value at the first time; or predict a load value of the second network device based on the current MLB policy, to obtain the second predicted load value at the first time, wherein an input of the neural network comprises the first network status information of the first network device, the information indicating the a-network status of the second network device, and the current MLB policy, and an output of the first neural network comprises at least one of the first predicted load value or the second predicted load value (resource adjustments are based on predicted load values for the respective RATs using load metric inputs from different RATs into deep neural networks, see paragraphs 51, 93 and 101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia over US 2020/0260324 (Byun et al.).
As to claims 2 and 9, Garcia further teaches wherein the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to; and receiveleast one of the following: current network status information of the second network device, network status information predicted by the second network device, or a predicted load value of the second network device (load metrics collected by load balancer [LB] from multiple radio resource managers [RRMs] for multiple RATs, see figures 2 and 10 and paragraphs 41 and 109).
What is lacking from Garcia is send query information to the second network device, wherein the query information is used to request the information indicating the network status of the second network device; wherein the acknowledgement information responds to the query information.
In analogous art, Byun teaches a load balancing entity receiving load metrics in response to sending a request for said load metrics (see Byun, figure 14).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Garcia so as to provide the load metrics as needed by the load balancer.
As to claim 16, Garcia further teaches wherein the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: send acknowledgement information, wherein the acknowledgement information and comprises the information indicating the network status of the second network device, wherein the information indicating the network status of the second network device comprises at least one of the following: current network status information of the second network device, network status information predicted by the second network device, or aload metrics collected by load balancer [LB] from multiple radio resource managers [RRMs] for multiple RATs, see figures 2 and 10 and paragraphs 41 and 109).
What is lacking from Garcia is receive query information, and wherein the acknowledgement information responds to the query information.
In analogous art, Byun teaches a load balancing entity receiving load metrics in response to sending a request for said load metrics (see Byun, figure 14).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Garcia so as to provide the load metrics as needed by the load balancer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0368393 (Kotecha et al.).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641