DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ filing on 02/20/2026. Claims 1, 4-10, and 13-20 were previously pending, of which claims 1, 5, 7, 10, 14, 16, and 19-20 have been amended, and no claims have been cancelled or newly added. Accordingly, claims 1, 4-10, and 13-20 are currently pending and are being examined below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant's remarks, see pages 10-14, filed 02/20/2026; Applicant’s “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
With respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, applicant’s “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Further consideration of the prior art of record determined that Yeh does appear to disclose the various temperatures taken at the time of ignition on and ignition off, as amended in claim 1. Also, the argument that a slope consideration is not given by Yeh is not persuasive. As described in paragraph [0068], the temperature change for a given time step is a slope that is created in the motor temperature model. This in combination with the temperature differential causing a cooling/heating rate change, as mapped using Farnsworth, provides the complete invention as claimed. Due to the nature of the applicant’s amendments, the scope of the applicant’s invention has changed. New application of prior art addresses the amended language, as mapped below. Therefore, the amended claims are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, and have been updated in the final office action below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “the at least on electrical component and a sensor” should be “the at least one electrical component and a sensor.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim language makes it unclear as to whether the second and third temperature values are based on signals from the claim temperature sensor or the sensor in the model, and whether these are the same or different sensors. For the purposes of this examination it will be interpreted that the second and third temperature values are derived from the newly claimed sensor and not the ambient temperature sensor.
Claims 4-9, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being dependent on rejected claims 1, 10, and 19 and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 2013/0090791 A1), hereinafter Yeh, in view of Farnsworth et al. (US 2019/0165396 A1), hereinafter Farnsworth.
With respect to claim 1, Yeh discloses a method for electrical component temperature control, the method comprising: in response to an ignition on signal indicating an ignition is in an on position, receiving a plurality of temperature values from a temperature sensor over a period, the temperature sensor being associated with at least one electrical component, (see at least [0033-0037] “As depicted in FIG. 3, the process 300 begins when a determination is that an ignition of the vehicle has been turned on (step 302)… the stator and rotor initialization equations use motor coolant temperature as a boundary condition… the motor coolant temperature is a measured value obtained via a temperature sensor.” [0068] “The system of differential equations is solved, to thereby generate a temperature change at each node for a given time step.”
wherein the plurality of temperature values includes at least a first temperature value indicating an ambient temperature associated with an objective lumped model that includes the at least on electrical component and a sensor, a second temperature value indicating a first temperature of the at least one electrical component at a first time corresponding to an ignition off signal indicating the ignition is in an off position, and a third temperature value indicating a second temperature of the at least one electrical component at a second time corresponding to the ignition on signal indicating that the ignition is in the on position;
(see at least [0023] “The ambient temperature sensor 214 measures an ambient temperature” [0063] “The inputs for the motor thermal model may include the inputs 313” [0044] “the inputs 313… may include the following… a motor coolant temperature at ignition key-off 322 during an immediately prior ignition cycle, a motor coolant temperature at ignition key-on 324 during the current ignition cycle, an ambient temperature”)
determining a slope of a change in temperature over the period based on the plurality of temperature values; ([0023] “The motor coolant temperature sensor 216 measures a temperature of the motor coolant… for use in determining temperature values for the motor 204.” [0068] “The motor temperature model utilizes heat transfer coefficients and power dissipation loss calculations, along with the motor geometry, as inputs in creating a system of differential equations for each node 401-407. The system of differential equations is solved, to thereby generate a temperature change at each node for a given time step.”)
Yeh discloses a temperature estimation of a motor with respect to the ignition being turned on, but does not explicitly disclose cooling functions being initiated based on the value of the slope.
However, Farnsworth teaches in response to an absolute value of the slope being less than or equal to a threshold, initiating a first cooling function, wherein the first cooling function is configured to cool the at least one electrical component based on a first cooling rate; (Fig. 6, [0085-0086] “The Y axis of the lookup table 600 corresponds to the target fuel cell outlet temperature and the X axis corresponds to the temperature differential… As shown, the lookup table 600 includes a plurality of regions. The regions include a rapid temperature decrease region 602, a reduced energy temperature decrease region 604” [0098] “Furthermore, the temperature differential has decreased after the period of time 720 due to the decreased current fuel cell outlet temperature 704. Thus, the temperature rate of change may change to the reduced energy temperature decrease region in order to conserve energy.” Note: It is understood that sampling done at the period of time is representative of the sampling that would be done throughout the temperature monitoring to determine whether the temperature differential had dropped fast enough to justify the reduced energy setting. Also, that the rapid decrease setting would be used until that decrease in differential was reached.)
and in response to the absolute value of the slope being greater than the threshold, initiating a second cooling function, wherein the second cooling function is configured to cool the at least one electrical component based on a second cooling rate different from the first cooling rate. (Fig. 6, [0085-0086] “The Y axis of the lookup table 600 corresponds to the target fuel cell outlet temperature and the X axis corresponds to the temperature differential… As shown, the lookup table 600 includes a plurality of regions. The regions include a rapid temperature decrease region 602, a reduced energy temperature decrease region 604” [0098] “Furthermore, the temperature differential has decreased after the period of time 720 due to the decreased current fuel cell outlet temperature 704. Thus, the temperature rate of change may change to the reduced energy temperature decrease region in order to conserve energy.”)
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the temperature model of Yeh to include the adjusting the cooling to meet a desired rate of temperature change as disclosed in Farnsworth, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide variable cooling levels to account for the variable levels of use causing the electronic component to become heated, see Farnsworth [0041].
With respect to claim 4, Yeh discloses the period includes a period that starts at the ignition on signal indicating that the ignition is on and ends at a predetermined time. ([0004] “The method comprises the steps of determining an amount of time for which the ignition has been turned on and determining the temperature of the motor using a function if the amount of time for which the ignition has been turned on is less than a predetermined threshold.”)
With respect to claim 5, Yeh discloses the period includes a period that starts at the ignition off signal indicating the ignition is off and ends a predetermined time after the ignition on signal indicates that the ignition is on. ([0004] “a method is provided for determining a temperature of a motor of a vehicle having an ignition when the ignition is turned on following a period of time in which the ignition had been turned off… determining the temperature of the motor using a function if the amount of time for which the ignition has been turned on is less than a predetermined threshold.”)
With respect to claim 6, Yeh discloses determining a time associated with the ignition off signal and a time associated with the ignition on signal; and estimating an ignition off period associated based on the time associated with the ignition off signal and the time associated with the ignition on signal. ([0034] “the processor 222 controls the timer 210 to run once the ignition 208 is turned on, to determine a first amount of time for which the ignition 208 has been turned on during the current ignition or drive cycle.” [0040] “The amount of time that the engine has been turned off (also referenced herein as the second amount of time) is determined based on a timer (preferably, the timer 210 of FIG. 2) that began running when the ignition was turned off”)
With respect to claim 7, Yeh discloses determining the slope of the change in temperature over the period based on the plurality of temperature values includes: determining the first temperature value associated with the at least one electrical component at the time associated with the ignition off signal; ([0037] “use ambient temperature as a boundary condition, and include the following inputs: an estimated stator temperature at ignition key-off, an estimated rotor temperature at ignition key-off, an ambient temperature at ignition key-off”)
determining the second temperature value associated with the at least one electrical component at the time associated with the ignition on signal; ([0044] “a motor coolant temperature at ignition key-on 324 during the current ignition cycle”)
determining a slope of change in temperature over the ignition off period based on the estimated ignition off period, the first temperature value, and the second temperature value; ([0040] “The predetermined threshold of step 310 comprises a predetermined amount of time such that, if the ignition is not turned off for at least this predetermined amount of time, the motor temperature is not likely to have cooled enough to approach the motor coolant temperature.” Note: It is understood there would be a calculated rate of change to determine if the motor temperature has cooled enough.)
and determining the slope of the change in temperature over the period based on the plurality of temperature values and the slope of change in temperature over the ignition off period. ([0041] “If it is determined in step 310 that the amount of time that the ignition has been turned off exceeds the predetermined threshold of step 310, then the motor temperature is assumed to have converged to the motor coolant temperature. The motor coolant temperature is then measured (step 312), preferably by the motor coolant temperature sensor 216 of FIG. 2, for use as an initial temperature condition for the motor.”)
With respect to claims 10 and 19, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 1, and it has been determined that claims 10 and 19 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 1; therefore, claims 11 and 12 are also rejected over the same rationale as claim 1.
With respect to claim 13, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 4, and it has been determined that claim 13 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 4; therefore, claim 13 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 4.
With respect to claim 14, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 5, and it has been determined that claim 14 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 5; therefore, claim 14 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 5.
With respect to claim 15, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 6, and it has been determined that claim 15 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 6; therefore, claim 15 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 6.
With respect to claim 16, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 7, and it has been determined that claim 16 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 7; therefore, claim 16 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 7.
With respect to claim 20, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claims 6 and 7, and it has been determined that claim 20 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claims 6 and 7; therefore, claim 20 is also rejected over the same rationale as claims 6 and 7.
Claims 8, 9, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Farnsworth as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Berroth et al. (DE 10 2018 205 129 A1), hereinafter Berroth.
With respect to claim 8, Yeh discloses a temperature estimation of a motor with respect to the ignition being turned on, but does not explicitly disclose the motor being an electric component of a steering system.
However, Berroth teaches the at least one electrical component is associated with a steering system of a vehicle. ([0020] “The method can be used in particular with an electric motor for electric power steering systems”)
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the motor of Yeh to include the electric motor for electric power steering systems disclosed in Berroth, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide cooling to electric power steering systems exposed to high temperature loads due to the frequently changing steering movements that occur at very different steering speeds and the associated power peaks, see Berroth [0002].
With respect to claim 9, Yeh discloses a temperature estimation of a motor with respect to the ignition being turned on, but does not explicitly disclose the motor being an electric component of an electric power steering system.
However, Berroth teaches the steering system includes an electronic power steering system. ([0020] “The method can be used in particular with an electric motor for electric power steering systems”)
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the motor of Yeh to include the electric motor for electric power steering systems disclosed in Berroth, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide cooling to electric power steering systems exposed to high temperature loads due to the frequently changing steering movements that occur at very different steering speeds and the associated power peaks, see Berroth [0002].
With respect to claim 17, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 8, and it has been determined that claim 17 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 8; therefore, claim 17 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 8.
With respect to claim 18, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 9, and it has been determined that claim 18 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 9; therefore, claim 18 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 9.
Conclusion
/S.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669