DEAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-10 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG Pub No. 20230035364 to Lipka et al. (hereinafter, “Lipka at __”).
Regarding claim 1, Lipka discloses a method of making activated carbon (Lipka at “Abstract”) comprising:
Impregnating a carbonaceous material (stillage comprising corn, whisky stillage, [0014]) with carbonated water (carbonated water is added to the solution or carbon dioxide is bubbled into the solution which given dwelling would implicitly result in impregnation of the particles within the solution, Id.); and
Exposing the carbonaceous material to microwave radiation to produce carbon which is further heated to produce activated carbon (Id.).
As to claim 6, ~5 min is the microwave time ([0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipka as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of “The effects of a microwave heating method on the production of activated carbon from agricultural waste: A review” to Hesas et al. (hereinafter, “Hesas at __”).
As to claim 5, Lipka does not expressly state a microwave power.
Hesas in a review of literature involving microwave heating of carbonaceous material to form AC discloses 360 W can be utilized (Hesas at 5 L col).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to perform the method of Lipka in view of the microwave power of Hesas. The teaching or suggested motivation in doing so being increase in iodine and MB numbers (Id.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 2, Lipka is the closest piece of prior art and it fails to disclose usage of charcoal as the carbonaceous material.
As to claim 3, Lipka dis the closest piece of prior art and it does not expressly state nor imply removal of the impregnated carbonated water from the carbonaceous material.
As to claim 4, the particles in Lipka are nanoscale and as such cannot meet ~25~297 microns.
As to claims 7 and 8, Lipka does not disclose a volume ratio of carbon dioxide to water in the carbonated water and nor is one implied.
As to claim 9, Lipka does not disclose a residence time for the impregnation step and nor is one suggested.
As to claim 10, Lipka discloses the pressure is 110-250 psi which is >7.5 atm which is not a vacuum.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN112194130 to Pan et al., discloses exposing corn to a gaseous mixture of water vapor and carbon dioxide (this is not the same as carbonated water as the steam does not become H2CO3) and activating such with microwave radiation. “Ultrahigh surface area carbon from carbonated beverages: Combining self-templating process and in situ activation” to Zhang et al., discloses usage of carbonated soft drinks as a source for activated carbon by turning the carbonated soft drink into carbon and then activating it.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 5 and 6 are rejected. Claims 2-4 and 7-10 are objected to.
RICHARD M. RUMP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/RICHARD M RUMP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759