DETAILED ACTION
Specification/Drawings
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: [0023] indicates that opening 82 extends through a back wall 88. [0024] indicates that hole 84 extends through the back wall 88, and the back wall is also the interface wall. [0061] indicates that 88 or 340 are the interface wall, and hole 84 is sized for a cutting tool. [0062] indicates that opening 82 is in the transverse wall 330. [0061]-[0062] further appear to indicate that a tool 400 inserted into opening 84 can be used to form opening 82 in transverse wall 330. As it does not seem reasonable that a tool inserted in opening 84 can be used to machine opening 82, as the openings are shown in figure 4. The opening 84 appears to be incorrectly identified. Also, figure 7 show the interface wall 340, and surface 301 which is machined to form opening 82 [0062]. However, the opening at 301 in figure 7 does not appear to correspond to opening 82 in figures 3-4. Instead, the opening at 301 in figure 7 appears to correspond to opening 84 in figures 3-4. The opening 82 in figures 9a-9b also appear to correspond to the opening 84 in figures 3-4. Interface wall 340 of figure 7 does not appear to correspond to back wall 88 of figure 3, despite what is stated in [0024] and [0061]. Instead, back wall 88 appears to correspond to the transverse wall 330.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klaas et al (US# 2020/0232527).
Klaas et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a first end wall; a second end wall disposed opposite the first end wall; a transverse wall that extends from the first end wall to the second end wall; an interface wall that extends from the first end wall to the second end wall, and opposite to the transverse wall, the interface wall cooperating with the first end wall, the second end wall, and the transverse wall to at least partially define a cavity, the interface wall defining a hole sized to receive a cutting tool adapted to machine a surface in the brake caliper housing ; and a roller seat 19/44 defined in the transverse wall adapted to support a roller 20 having a body with an end having a polygonal cross-section or an enlarged cross-section 40 relative to a diameter of the body, the roller seat having flat abutment surfaces 44 for accommodating the end of the roller.
Regarding claim 2, the brake caliper housing further comprises: an empty zone defined in the transverse wall between the roller seat and a respective end wall of the first and second end walls, the empty zone adapted to allow the cutting tool to run off the roller seat such that the end of the roller can be accommodated in the empty zone.
Regarding claim 3, an end stop protrudes from at least one wall of the first and second end walls.
Regarding claim 4, the end stop protrudes along an axis generally parallel to the transverse wall toward the other of the first and second walls. See the annotated figure above.
Regarding claim 6, the cross-section of the end 40 of the roller is circular, and a diameter of the end is larger than a diameter of a cross-section of the body.
Regarding claim 7, the hole sized such that it is capable of receiving a ball nose cutter.
Regarding claim 8, the hole sized such that it is capable of receiving a flat ended endmill.
Regarding claim 9, the housing further comprises at least one bearing protrusion 19/19a formed above the roller seat and defining a bearing surface 19 adapted to support an operating shaft.
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Antony (US# 7506732).
Antony discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a first end wall; a second end wall disposed opposite the first end wall; a transverse wall that extends from the first end wall to the second end wall; an interface wall that extends from the first end wall to the second end wall, and opposite to the transverse wall, the interface wall cooperating with the first end wall, the second end wall, and the transverse wall to at least partially define a cavity, the interface wall defining a hole sized to receive a cutting tool adapted to machine a surface in the brake caliper housing ; and a roller seat 10 defined in the transverse wall adapted to support a roller 16 having a body with an end 18 having a polygonal cross-section or an enlarged cross-section relative to a diameter of the body, the roller seat having flat abutment surfaces 10 for accommodating the end of the roller.
Regarding claim 5, note the seat 10 is adapted to support a roller having a body with an end having a square cross-section. The claims are directed towards a caliper housing and do not appear to specifically require a roller.
Regarding claim 7, the hole sized such that it is capable of receiving a ball nose cutter.
Regarding claim 8, the hole sized such that it is capable of receiving a flat ended endmill.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klaas et al (US# 2020/0232527) in view of Stumpf et al (US# 2011/0127120).
Regarding claim 10, Klaas et al disclose providing a brake caliper housing (1, cast [0041]), the brake caliper housing having a first end wall; a second end wall disposed opposite the first end wall; a transverse wall that extends from the first end wall to the second end wall; an interface wall that extends from the first end wall to the second end wall, opposite to the transverse wall, the interface wall cooperating with the first end wall, the second end wall, and the transverse wall to at least partially define a cavity, the interface wall defining a hole; and a roller seat 19 defined in the transverse wall adapted to support a roller 20. Klaas et al lack the disclosure of inserting a cutting tool through the hole in the interface wall, the cutting tool adapted to machine surfaces of the brake caliper housing; and machining the roller seat with the cutting tool such that flat abutment surfaces are formed to accommodate an end of the roller. Stumpf et al disclose a similar caliper and further teach the method of inserting a cutting tool 40 through the hole 10.2 in an interface wall, the cutting tool adapted to machine surfaces of the brake caliper housing, machining a roller seat 22.1/22.2 with the cutting tool such that flat abutment surfaces are formed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the machining method taught by Stumpf et al to form the seat of Klaas et al as an obvious means of manufacture which provides the necessary surface configurations without weakening the caliper.
Regarding claim 11, a roller is provided having a body with an end having an enlarged cross-section relative to a diameter of the body to be accommodated in the roller seat.
Regarding claim 12, Stumpf et al teach the cutting tool is a ball nose cutter or a flat ended endmill. [0044]
Regarding claim 15, the brake caliper housing further includes an empty zone defined in the transverse wall between the roller seat and a respective end wall of the first and second end walls, the empty zone corresponding to the end of the roller. Note the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 16, Stumpf et al teach the machining includes running the cutting tool off an end of the roller seat into the empty zone to form the flat abutment surfaces.
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antony (US# 7506732) in view of Stumpf et al (US# 2011/0127120).
Regarding claim 10, Antony discloses providing a brake caliper housing 1, the brake caliper housing having a first end wall; a second end wall disposed opposite the first end wall; a transverse wall that extends from the first end wall to the second end wall; an interface wall that extends from the first end wall to the second end wall, opposite to the transverse wall, the interface wall cooperating with the first end wall, the second end wall, and the transverse wall to at least partially define a cavity, the interface wall defining a hole; and a roller seat 10 defined in the transverse wall adapted to support a roller 16. Antony lacks the disclosure of inserting a cutting tool through the hole in the interface wall, the cutting tool adapted to machine surfaces of the brake caliper housing; and machining the roller seat with the cutting tool such that flat abutment surfaces are formed to accommodate an end of the roller. Stumpf et al disclose a similar caliper and further teach the method of inserting a cutting tool 40 through the hole 10.2 in an interface wall, the cutting tool adapted to machine surfaces of the brake caliper housing, machining a roller seat 22.1/22.2 with the cutting tool such that flat abutment surfaces are formed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the machining method taught by Stumpf et al to form the seat of Antony as an obvious means of manufacture which provides the necessary surface configurations without weakening the caliper.
Regarding claim 11, a roller is provided having a body with an end having an enlarged cross-section relative to a diameter of the body to be accommodated in the roller seat.
Regarding claim 12, Stumpf et al teach the cutting tool is a ball nose cutter or a flat ended endmill. [0044]
Regarding claim 13, the flat abutment surfaces are generally perpendicular to each other.
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klaas et al (US# 2020/0232527) and Stumpf et al (US# 2011/0127120), as applied to claim 10 above, in further view of DeMorais et al (US# 2017/0023079).
Klaas et al, as modified above, disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the machining further includes inserting a second cutting tool, after removal of the cutting tool, to complete formation of the flat abutment surfaces. DeMorais et al disclose a brake caliper structure and further teach further machining such as buffing or polishing to provide an appropriate surface finish. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second cutting tool to further refine the surface finish, such as taught by DeMorais et al, to provide accurate positioning of the rollers or reduce friction and wear in the guiding surfaces.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK