DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokimatsu (US 2019/0143709 A1) in view of Kuramochi (WO 2018/225333 A1) and Sasada (US 2013/0050366 A1). All textual references to Kuramochi herein are drawn from the attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Tokimatsu teaches a recording method comprising conveying a recording medium (fig. 1, feeding board 12, image forming drum 281, second delivery unit 29, ¶[0047]-[0052]); and performing recording by ejecting droplets of an inkjet ink from nozzles in an inkjet head onto the recording medium while conveying the recording medium (fig. 1, head units 282, ¶[0047]-[0052]); supplying inkjet ink to pressure chambers in the inkjet head from an ink storage, the pressure chambers being connected to respective nozzles for selectively ejecting the inkjet ink (figs. 2-3, subtanks 21 and 23, inlet 241, common ink chamber 245, flowpaths 2471, nozzles 2472, ¶[0067]-[0072]); and discharging the inkjet ink from the pressure chambers through discharge paths that are separate from the respective nozzles (figs. 2-3, reflux unit 25, outlets 242 and 243, ¶[0072]).
Tokimatsu fails to teach or fairly suggest the pressure chambers having lower ends connected to respective nozzles for selectively ejecting the inkjet ink, wherein the inkjet ink is discharged from the lower ends of the pressure chambers to the discharge paths. Further, Tokimatsu fails to teach or fairly suggest a conveyance speed of the recording medium is 500 mm/s or more, the inkjet ink contains at least water and a pigment, the content of the pigment is 5 % by mass or more with respect to a total amount of the inkjet ink, and one droplet of the inkjet ink has a volume of 3pL or less.
Kuramochi teaches an inkjet head and inkjet recording device wherein the inkjet head comprises pressure chambers having lower ends connected to respective nozzles for selectively ejecting an inkjet ink, wherein the inkjet ink is discharged from the lower ends of the pressure chambers to discharge paths (figs. 1-6; inkjet head 1, nozzle 22, ink channels 23, individual ink discharge paths 26a, common ink discharge path 421, ink tank 101, ink discharge chamber 412; ¶[0047], [0053], [0064]).
Sasada teaches a conveyance speed of the recording medium is 500 mm/s or more, an inkjet ink contains at least water and a pigment, the content of the pigment is 5% by mass or more with respect to a total amount of the inkjet ink, and one droplet of the inkjet ink has a volume of 3pL or less are well known in the art (¶[0318], [0358]-[0359], table of paragraph [0343]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the structure and operation of the inkjet head of Kuramochi into the recording method of Tokimatsu in order to prevent air bubbles from clogging the ink circulation system, and then to incorporate the ink composition and the recording method of Sasada in order to produce a more scratch-resistant and color-uniform image that dries quickly.
Regarding claim 3, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording method of claim 1. Kuramochi further teaches the droplets are ejected while the inkjet ink is circulated by an ink circulator (figs. 4, 6; ink channel 23, piezoelectric elements 24, , individual ink discharge paths 26a, common ink discharge path 421, ink tank 101, ink discharge chamber 412; ¶[0036], [0047], [0053]-[0054], [0064]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 5, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording method of claim 1. Sasada further teaches the content of the water is 40% by mass or more with respect to the total amount of the inkjet ink (see table of paragraph [0343]).
Regarding claim 6, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording method according to claim 1. Sasada further teaches a liquid droplet volume ejected from the ink jet head being within 1 to 5 pL and 2 to 4 pL (¶[0318], [0358]-[0359], table of paragraph [0343]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the method of Tokimatsu in view of Sasada to produce droplet volumes within the range of 1 to 2 pL in order to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 7, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording method according to claim 1. Additionally, the claimed range of the conveyance speed being 1000 mm/s or more is merely an optimum or workable range discoverable through routine experimentation while attempting to optimize throughput of the medium and image quality of the printed dots while performing the method of Tokimatsu. See MPEP § 2144.05(ii)(a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the method of Tokimatsu to produce the conveyance speed of Sasada in order to print scratch-resistant and color-fast images at a high throughput rate.
Regarding claim 10, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording method according to claim 1. Tokimatsu further teaches the recording medium is conveyed in a flat sheet-fed manner (fig. 1, feeder board 12, second delivery unit 29, ¶[0047], [0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Tokimatsu teaches a recording system comprising: a conveyor that conveys a recording medium (fig. 1, feeding board 12, image forming drum 281, second delivery unit 29, ¶[0047]-[0052]); and an inkjet ink ejector including an inkjet head with a plurality of nozzles that performs recording by ejecting a droplet of an inkjet ink from a nozzle of the plurality of nozzles onto the recording medium while conveying the recording medium (fig. 1, head units 282, ¶[0047]-[0052]), wherein, the inkjet head includes pressure chambers configured to receive the inkjet ink from an ink storage, the pressure chambers being connected to respective nozzles for selectively ejecting the inkjet ink (figs. 2-3, subtanks 21 and 23, inlet 241, common ink chamber 245, flowpaths 2471, nozzles 2472, ¶[0067]-[0072]), and the pressure chambers are configured to discharge the inkjet ink from the pressure chambers through discharge paths that are separate from the respective nozzles (figs. 2-3, reflux unit 25, outlets 242 and 243, ¶[0072]).
Tokimatsu fails to teach or fairly suggest the pressure chambers having lower ends connected to respective nozzles for selectively ejecting the inkjet ink, wherein the inkjet ink is discharged from the lower ends of the pressure chambers to the discharge paths. Further, Tokimatsu fails to teach or fairly suggest a conveyance speed of the recording medium is 500 mm/s or more, the inkjet ink contains at least water and a pigment, the content of the pigment is 5 % by mass or more with respect to a total amount of the inkjet ink, and one droplet of the inkjet ink has a volume of 3pL or less.
Kuramochi teaches an inkjet head and inkjet recording device wherein the inkjet head comprises pressure chambers having lower ends connected to respective nozzles for selectively ejecting an inkjet ink, wherein the inkjet ink is discharged from the lower ends of the pressure chambers to discharge paths (figs. 1-6; inkjet head 1, nozzle 22, ink channels 23, individual ink discharge paths 26a, common ink discharge path 421, ink tank 101, ink discharge chamber 412; ¶[0047], [0053], [0064]).
Sasada teaches a conveyance speed of the recording medium is 500 mm/s or more, an inkjet ink contains at least water and a pigment, the content of the pigment is 5% by mass or more with respect to a total amount of the inkjet ink, and one droplet of the inkjet ink has a volume of 3pL or less are well known in the art (¶[0318], [0358]-[0359], table of paragraph [0343]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the inkjet head of Kuramochi into the recording system of Tokimatsu in order to prevent air bubbles from clogging the ink circulation system, and then to operate the recording system of Tokimatsu as modified by Kuramochi using the ink composition and according to the operational parameters of Sasada in order to produce a more scratch-resistant and color-uniform image that dries quickly.
Regarding claim 12, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording method according to claim 1. Tokimatsu further teaches circulating the inkjet ink from a supply tank, through the inkjet head that performs the recording, and back to the supply tank during the ejecting of droplets (fig. 2, second sub tank 23, ¶[0066], [0068]).
Regarding claim 13, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording method according to claim 12. Tokimatsu further teaches the step of circulating the inkjet ink includes discharging the inkjet ink from the inkjet head to a circulation subtank and returning the inkjet ink from the circulation subtank to the supply tank (fig. 2, first sub tank 21, second sub tank 23, ¶[0066], [0068], [0070]).
Regarding claim 14, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording system according to claim 11. Tokimatsu further teaches an ink circulation system including a supply tank and configured to circulate the inkjet ink from a supply tank, through the inkjet head that performs the recording, and back to the supply tank during the ejecting of droplets (fig. 2, second sub tank 23, ¶[0066], [0068]).
Regarding claim 15, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording system according to claim 14. Tokimatsu further teaches the ink circulation system further comprises a circulation subtank, and the ink circulation system is configured to discharge the inkjet ink from the inkjet head to the circulating subtank and return the inkjet ink from the circulation subtank to the supply tank (fig. 2, first sub tank 21, second sub tank 23, ¶[0066], [0068], [0070]).
Claims 2, 4, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yahiro (US 2007/0229639 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording method according to claim 1, but fails to teach or fairly suggest a dot enlargement rate of one droplet of the inkjet ink landed on the recording medium is within a range of 2.2 to 3.5 times.
However, Yahiro teaches a desirable dot enlargement rate of 1.5 to 4.0 times is known in the art (fig. 7, paragraph [0075)]). Additionally, the claimed range of 2.2 to 3.5 times lacks criticality and is merely an optimum or workable range discoverable through routine experimentation while attempting to optimize image quality of the printed dots when performing the method of Tokimatsu. See MPEP § 2144.05(ii)(a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yahiro into the method of Tokimatsu as modified by Kuramochi and Sasada to produce a desired range of dot enlargement values for the purpose of optimizing image quality.
Regarding claim 4, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording method according to claim 1, but fails to teach or fairly suggest the inkjet ink further contains an organic solvent, and a content of the organic solvent is in a range of 0.1 to 25% by mass with respect to the total amount of the inkjet ink. However, Yahiro teaches an inkjet ink further contains an organic solvent, and a content of the organic solvent is in a range of 0.1 to 25% by mass with respect to the total amount of the inkjet ink is known in the art (¶[0093]). Additionally, the claimed range of the organic solvent comprising 0.1 to 25% by mass with respect to the total amount the inkjet ink is merely an optimum or workable range discoverable through routine experimentation while attempting to optimize image quality and drying performance of the printed dots when performing the method of Tokimatsu. See MPEP § 2144.05(ii)(a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yahiro into the method of Tokimatsu as modified by Kuramochi and Sasada in order to produce a desired range of dot enlargement values for the purpose of optimizing image quality.
Regarding claim 9, Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada teaches the recording method of claim 1, but fails to teach or fairly suggest drying time until 80% by mass or more of the inkjet ink landed on the recording medium is evaporated is 1 second or less.
However, Yahiro teaches drying time until 80% by mass or more of the inkjet ink landed on the recording medium is evaporated is 1 second or less (¶[0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yahiro into the method of Tokimatsu as modified by Kuramochi and Sasada in order to produce a desired range of dot enlargement values for the purpose of optimizing image quality and throughput.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Araki et al. (US 2010/0091064 A1), hereinafter Araki.
Tokimatsu in view of Sasada teaches the recording method according to claim 1, but fails to teach or fairly suggest a minimum dot diameter of one droplet of the inkjet ink landed on the recording medium is 45 micrometers or less.
However, Araki teaches a minimum dot diameter of one droplet of the inkjet ink landed on the recording medium is 45 micrometers or less is known in the art (fig. 10, ¶[0135]-[0138]). Additionally, the claimed range of dot diameter being 45 micrometers or less lacks criticality and is merely an optimum or workable range discoverable through routine experimentation while attempting to optimize image quality of the printed dots when performing the method of Tokimatsu. See MPEP § 2144.05(ii)(a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Araki into the method of Tokimatsu as modified by Kuramochi and Sasada in order to produce a desired range of dot diameters for the purpose of optimizing image quality and ink drying.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokimatsu in view of Kuramochi and Sasada as applied to claims 11 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Asami et al. (US 2010/0103208 A1), hereinafter Asami.
Tokimatsu teaches the recording system according to claim 15, but fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the supply tank is disposed above a nozzle surface of the nozzles such that a first pressure is generated due to a head difference between the supply tank and the nozzle surface, and the circulation subtank is disposed below the nozzle surface such that a second pressure is generated due to a head difference between the nozzle surface and the circulation subtank.
However, Asami teaches an inkjet printing apparatus comprising a supply tank disposed above a nozzle surface of the nozzles such that a first pressure is generated due to a head difference between the supply tank and the nozzle surface, and a circulation subtank is disposed below the nozzle surface such that a second pressure is generated due to a head difference between the nozzle surface and the circulation subtank (fig. 2, image recording unit 3, upper tank 6, lower tank 7, ¶[0038]-[0039], [0049], [0066], [0136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement of the supply tank, circulation subtank, and nozzle surface of Asami into the inkjet recording system of Tokimatsu as modified by Kuramochi and Sasada in order to provide an ink-filling system and method that eliminates air bubbles in the ink flowing between the tanks and the printhead.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 6-9 of Remarks, filed January 16, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Kuramochi (WO 2018/225333 A1) detailed above in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hamano (WO 2018/008397 A1) teaches a printhead and ink circulation system comprising several ink sub-tanks, and discharge paths connected to lower ends of pressure chambers.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853