DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Arguments /Remarks filed on 01/06/2026.
In the instant Amendment, claims 19 is a new claim; claims 1-9 were cancelled; claim 10 has been amended; and claims 10 and 19 are independent claims. Claims 10-19 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mary et al. (hereinafter Mary), Application No.; AU 2017225254 in view of Kravitz et al. (Kravitz), Pub. No.: US 2017/0324717.
Referring to claim 10, Mary teaches a method of securing communication between a first domestic appliance and a second domestic appliance through a remote server, the method comprising:
receiving a first appliance ID and a first public key of the first domestic appliance (abstract, Detailed Description on pgs. 4-5, lines 17, first device 1 is sending key);
receiving a second appliance ID and a second public key of the second domestic
appliance (abstract, detail description on pgs. 4-5; claim 1);
transmitting the first appliance ID and the first public key to the second domestic appliance (page 5, line 26-37, bidirectional communication processes);
transmitting the second appliance ID and the second public key to the first domestic appliance (page 5, line 26-37, bidirectional communication processes).
Mary does not explicitly disclose generating an encryption key at the first and second appliances using the first and second public keys; and directing use of the encryption key in intra-appliance communication over a secondary connection wherein the encryption key is generated independently at both the first appliance and the second appliance.
However, in an analogous art, Kravitz discloses generating an encryption key at the first and second appliances using the first and second public keys; and directing use of the encryption key in intra-appliance communication over a secondary connection wherein the encryption key is generated independently at both the first appliance and the second appliance (claims 1, 7 and 12, secure communication between a first electronic device and a second electronic device, each electronic device including a hardware processor and associated memory, the method comprising: creating, by the first electronic device, a first set of encryption keys including a first public encryption key, a first private encryption key and a first digital token; creating, by the second electronic device, a second set of encryption keys including a second public encryption key, a second private encryption key and a second digital token).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to combine the teachings of Mary with the method and system of Kravitz, wherein generating an encryption key at the first and second appliances using the first and second public keys; and directing use of the encryption key in intra-appliance communication over a secondary connection wherein the encryption key is generated independently at both the first appliance and the second appliance to provide users/enable with a means for field of enabling security based communication lines established between users when using X.509-compatible PKI and PMI and related tools (see FIG. 1 “High-Level Depiction of Component- and Functional-Relationships in Combined Service Provider Model”) (para. 0002).
Referring to claims 11, Mary and Kravitz teach the method of claim 10. Mary further teaches wherein the secondary connection channel is a direct wireless connection channel (Mary: Detail Description, page 4-6; pages 9-12, type of connections).
Referring to claims 12, Mary and Kravitz teach the method of claim 11. Mary further teaches wherein directing use of the encryption key in intra-appliance communication comprises establishing a direct connection between the first and second domestic appliances, and encrypting messages between the first and second domestic appliances according to the encryption key (Mary: abstract, detail description on pgs. 4-5; claim 1;).
Referring to claims 13, Mary and Kravitz teach the method of claim 12. Mary further teaches wherein directing use of the encryption key is automatic in response to transmitting the first appliance ID and the first public key to the second domestic appliance and transmitting the second appliance ID and the second public key to the first domestic appliance (Mary: page 5, line 26-37).
Referring to claims 14, Mary and Kravitz teach the method of claim 10. Mary further teaches wherein the first appliance ID and the first public key of the first domestic appliance are received through a local wireless network, and wherein the second appliance ID and the second public key of the second domestic appliance are received through the local wireless network (Mary: abstract, detail description on pgs. 4-5; claim 1;).
Referring to claims 15, Mary and Kravitz teach the method of claim 10. Mary further teaches wherein the first appliance ID comprises a MAC address of the first domestic appliance (Mary: page 8, 4-6, MAC).
Referring to claims 16, Mary and Kravitz teach the method of claim 10. Mary further teaches wherein the first appliance ID identifier comprises a device-model descriptor (Mary: abstract, detail description on pgs. 4-5).
Referring to claims 17, Mary and Kravitz teach the method of claim 10. Mary further teaches wherein the first appliance ID comprises a serial number of the first domestic appliance (Mary: abstract, detail description on pgs. 4-5).
Referring to claims 18, Mary and Kravitz teach the method of claim 10. Mary further teaches comprising: identifying the first domestic appliance as a first commissioned appliance previously associated with a user account, and identifying the second domestic appliance as a second commissioned appliance previously associated with the user account (Mary: abstract, detail description on pgs. 4-5; claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONAS A BAYOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499 03/10/2026