Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims have been amended to recite “perform asynchronous space-warp (ASW) on the first frame on a block based on the granularities associated with the screen-space image”. Applicant’s amendment removed “basis” from the previously recited “on a block basis”, such that the process is recited as being performed on a single block, but retains plural granularities. ASW can only be performed at a single granularity on a single block, such that the amended terms are in contradiction, leaving the claim indefinite. Depending claims do not clarify this issue and are rejected under the same rationale.
For purposes of applying prior art, the claims will be read as still reciting “on a block basis”, i.e. plural blocks and plural granularities.
Depending claims 2, 9, and 15 refer to “performing the ASW comprises performing the ASW on areas of the first frame with different granularities determined from the content and focusing related information” but Applicant’s amended independent claims no longer introduce the content and focusing related information, leaving the depending claims indefinite. Further, Applicant’s amendment to refer to “the content and related information” is similarly indefinite, i.e. the content and “related” information is also not previously introduced, and it is indefinite whether these terms refer to the same or different information. Therefore claims 2, 9, and 15 are indefinite due to “the content and focusing related information” and “the content and related information” lacking antecedent basis and having an indefinite relationship to each other. Depending claims do not clarify this issue and are therefore rejected under the same rationale.
For purposes of applying prior art, the claims will be interpreted as introducing the content and focusing related information, i.e. “from information”, and as referring to the same information in all instances, i.e. “content and focusing related information”.
Depending claims 2, 9, and 15, further recite that the pre-processing component is to (claim 2 language) “generate a screen-space image based on the granularities”. Applicant’s amended independent claims also introduce a screen-space image generated based on the granularities, such that the depending claim screen-space image is indefinite, i.e. it is unclear whether it is the same screen space image as in the independent claim or a different screen space image. Depending claims do not clarify this issue and are rejected under the same rationale.
For purposes of applying prior art, the second screen-space image limitation will be interpreted as indicating the pre-processing component generates the same screen-space image introduced in the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 12-15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0213388 A1 (hereinafter Margolis) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/004985 A1 (hereinafter Melkote) in view of “Perceptual Model for Adaptive Local Shading and Refresh Rate” by Ashkay Jindal, et al. (hereinafter Jindal) in view of U.S. Patent 10,785,471 B1 (hereinafter Hunt).
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “An apparatus for graphics processing, the apparatus comprising: processing circuitry having a pipeline at least partially implemented by processing resources, the pipeline as facilitated by the processing circuitry to: render input data to generate a first frame” are taught by Margolis (Margolis, e.g. abstract, paragraphs 20-104 describes a system for performing rendering for an HMD using a combination of conventional frame rendering and frame reprojection in order to generate display frames/fields at a higher rate than the conventional frame rendering pipeline renders frames, e.g. paragraphs 20-25. Margolis, e.g. figure 3, paragraphs 47-54, teaches that the system relies on a processing pipeline, modules 302-310, including rendering module 302 generating pre-rendered images that are displayed on the HMD, i.e. the claimed generated first frame based on rendering input data. Margolis, e.g. paragraphs 31, 46, indicates that the modules 302-310 may be part of the HMD, and rely on processing resources, or with respect to claim 14, execute stored computer readable instructions.)
The limitations (addressed out of order) “perform asynchronous space-warp (ASW) on the first frame on a block [basis] … to generate a second frame” are taught by Margolis (Margolis, e.g. paragraphs 20-25, 47-54, teaches that the late stage reprojection (LSR) module generates one or more adjusted images from the pre-rendered image, where both the pre-rendered and adjusted images are displayed using the HMD, i.e. the LSR process generates the claimed second frame from the first frame, and both images are output on the HMD. Further, Margolis, e.g. paragraphs 60, 69, 82-84, teaches that the LSR process operates by determining motion vectors for each block of one or more pixels, and displacing/projecting each block using it’s motion vector to generate the adjusted image(s), i.e. the LSR process corresponds to the claimed asynchronous space warp performed on the first frame on a block basis. Finally, Margolis, e.g. paragraphs 25, 92-95, teaches that the LSR process is performed based on the content being focused on by the user, i.e. regions containing focus areas/objects are forward projected for every frame generated by the LSR process, whereas other regions may be forward projected at a lower rate as in paragraph 25.)
The limitations “determine granularities for areas of the first frame … perform asynchronous space-warp (ASW) on the first frame on a block [basis] based on the granularities …wherein the granularities are determined prior to performing the ASW associated with the first frame to generate a second frame” are partially taught by Margolis (Margolis, e.g. paragraph 47, teaches that the LSR/ASW pipeline of figure 3 includes a pre-processing component, module 302, used to pre-render images, i.e. rendering the first frame on which the LSR/ASW process is performed, and Margolis, e.g. paragraphs 92-95, teaches that the LSR/ASW process may be selectively applied to plural areas of interest determined based on the content of the first image and the area(s) where the user is focused. While Margolis’ pre-processing component determines the content and focusing related information for the first frame, Margolis does not explicitly teach that the LSR/ASW process is performed with different granularities for the different areas of focus.) However, this limitation is taught by Melkote (Melkote, e.g. abstract, paragraphs 23-98, discloses a split-rendering virtual reality system including a host device performing rendering of images and a client/display device performing asynchronous time and space warping to correct for a user’s changing head position and/or scene motion from the last fully rendered frame, e.g. paragraphs 23-29. Further, Melkote, e.g. paragraphs 29, 66, 72-85, 90-98, further teaches that the ROI may be determined based on the content of the rendered image and/or the foveal region, where, e.g. paragraphs 29, 73, 76-78, 80-82, the motion vector grid size/granularity and motion vector filter kernel size/granularity are determined for the ROI based on said content/foveal region information within the ROI, i.e. as claimed granularities for areas of the first/rendered frame are determined prior to performing the ASW using the determined granularities. Finally, Melkote, e.g. paragraphs 83-85, teaches that the ASW process is performed by performing extrapolations on the vertices in the ROI using the determined size/granularity.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Margolis’ late stage reprojection system to use Melkote’s per-ROI motion vector grid/filter size/granularity determination technique in order to select an appropriate size/granularity for each ROI based on the content of the rendered image and the location where the user is focusing, thereby reducing apparent artifacts from the reprojection/warping process as taught by Melkote. In Margolis’ modified system, each area of interest, e.g. Margolis, paragraphs 92-95, corresponds to one of Melkote’s ROI, and as taught by Melkote with respect to the game engine/render side component, e.g. paragraphs 74-80, Margolis’ rendering module 302 would additionally determine the size/granularities for each area of interest based on the determined content and focusing information for the frame, and provide said size/granularities to the LSR module 308 for controlling the size/granularity of the motion vector filter kernel used for performing the reprojection/warping for each respective area of interest/ROI. Margolis, e.g. paragraph 69, teaches that the blocks used for reprojection can be any size, i.e. one or more pixels, and although Margolis does not indicate a basis for selecting a block size for reprojection, in the modified system Melkote’s per-ROI size/granularity for the motion vector grid/filter kernel corresponds to a selection of block size, i.e. a fine grid size corresponds to a smaller number of pixels per block whereas a coarser grid size corresponds to a larger number of pixels per block.
The limitations “determine granularities for areas of the first frame and generate a screen-space image based on the granularities; perform asynchronous space-warp (ASW) on the first frame on a block [basis] based on the granularities associated with the screen-space image, wherein the granularities are determined prior to performing the ASW” is not explicitly taught by Margolis in view of Melkote (As discussed above, in Margolis’ modified system, each area of interest, e.g. Margolis, paragraphs 92-95, corresponds to one of Melkote’s ROI, and as taught by Melkote with respect to the game engine/render side component, e.g. paragraphs 74-80, Margolis’ rendering module 302 would additionally determine the size/granularities for each area of interest based on the determined content and focusing information for the frame, and provide said size/granularities to the LSR module 308 for controlling the size/granularity of the motion vector filter kernel used for performing the reprojection/warping for each respective area of interest/ROI. While this corresponds to the claimed determining granularities for areas prior to performing the ASW, Melkote does not explicitly teach the format for providing the size/granularities from the game engine/render side 10 to the display side 16.) However, this limitation is taught by Jindal (Jindal, abstract, sections 1, 4-7, discloses a variable rate shading (VRS) system using a perceptual model to adaptively control shading rates for regions of a rendered image according to the content of the rendered scene and a model of eye motion blur. Jindal, e.g. sections 1, 2.3, 5, 5.5, figures 1 middle, 10, 13, teaches that conventional VRS systems use a VRS state map which is a screen space image representing the shading rate of each tile, whereas the perceptual VRS system uses input auxiliary buffers rendered at the resolution of the VRS state map, and uses the CaMoJAB model described in section 4 to select a shading rate for each tile of the VRS map used to control the shading rates of the rendered image. Jindal, e.g. sections 4, 5.3, 5.4, teaches that the CaMoJAB model uses determined scene content information, i.e. motion vectors, texture IDs, mipmap levels, luminance, and focus information, i.e. conservative assumptions of eye movement for each tile, to determine the shading rate for each tile in order to meet a rendering budget. That is, Jindal teaches performing rendering by determining granularities, i.e. shading rates, for areas of the rendered frame based on determined content and focusing related information for each respective area, where a screen-space image based on the granularities is generated, i.e. the VRS state map. It is noted that Jindal’s shading rates/granularities are analogous to Melkote’s size/granularities for each area of interest based on the determined content and focusing information for the frame, i.e. both are used to quantify a rate of sample points, shading points for Jindal and motion vector vertices for Melkote, for a given area of the rendered image, and both are determined based on the scene content and user focusing information, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that if the rendered image generated by Margolis’ module 302, analogous to Melkote’s game engine/render side 10, were rendered using Jindal’s perceptual VRS system, the VRS state map generated for controlling the shading rates of the rendered frame could be used to select the size/granularities for each area of interest/ROI as taught by Melkote, thereby avoiding a second analysis of the scene content/focusing information.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Margolis’ late stage reprojection system, using Melkote’s per-ROI motion vector grid/filter size/granularity determination technique, to use Jindal’s perceptual VRS system for rendering the images in Margolis’ rendering module 302 in order to maximize rendering quality for a given budget, e.g. Jindal, section 1, and further, as noted above, to use Jindal’s VRS state maps to select the size/granularities for each area of interest/ROI to avoid performing a second analysis of the scene content/focusing information. Margolis’ modified system using Jindal’s VRS state maps to select size/granularities for each area of interest/ROI in performing the reprojection/warping on the first frame corresponds to the claimed pre-determined granularities used to generate a screen space image, i.e. the VRS state maps, which specify the granularities used for each block for performing the ASW.
The limitation “output to a display device the first frame without an ASW adjustment and the second frame with the ASW adjustment” is implicitly taught by Margolis (As noted above, Margolis, e.g. paragraphs 20-25, 47-54, teaches that the late stage reprojection (LSR) module generates one or more adjusted images from the pre-rendered image, where both the pre-rendered and adjusted images are displayed using the HMD, i.e. the LSR process generates the claimed second frame from the first frame, and both images are output on the HMD. While Margolis does not explicitly state that the pre-rendered images, i.e. the first frame without ASW adjustments, are displayed along with the LSR adjusted images, i.e. the second frame with the ASW adjustment, are both displayed on the same display in sequence, i.e. the pre-rendered image being displayed followed by the one or more adjusted images from the pre-rendered image being displayed, followed by the next pre-rendered image, etc., one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the implicit teaching that Margolis’ system operated this way based on Margolis’ description, e.g. paragraph 47, explicitly states that the pre-rendered images are “referred to as pre-rendered imaged because they are rendered prior to be[ing] displayed” (emphasis added), and the temporally appropriate display sequence is to display the pre-rendered image prior to the LSR adjusted images generated based thereon. While Margolis does teach the claim limitation, in the interest of compact prosecution Hunt is cited for explicitly teaching what one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood Margolis’ disclosure to implicitly teach, i.e. that frame rate upsampling is performed by displaying the lower frame rate/rendered frames in sequence with the higher frame rate/adjusted frames in order to achieve the increased effective display frame rate.) However this limitation is taught by Hunt (Hunt, e.g. abstract, cols 1-13, describes an HMD system performing frame rate upsampling on content rendered by a console using warping operations. Hunt, e.g. col 3, lines 37-63, col 7, lines 4-44, teaches that the synthetic frames generated by the upsampling module may be generated using any warping technique, including asynchronous space warping based on motion vectors calculated between blocks of current and previous frames, analogous to Margolis’ LSR adjusted images. Further, Hunt, e.g. col 3, lines 6-28, col 6, line 14 - col 7, line 3, describes how the upsampling module determines the number of synthetic frames to generate based on the console rendering/low frame rate and the target/high frame rate by generating one or more synthetic frames to be displayed in sequence with the original/rendered frame used to generate the synthetic frames. In Hunt’s example of upsampling a 100 fps console rendering/low frame rate to a target/high frame rate of 500 fps, frames must be displayed every 2ms using console rendered frames produced every 10ms, requiring 4 additional synthetic frames to be generated/displayed subsequent to the console rendered frame from which the synthetic frames are generated, using the formula of (10ms/2ms - 1), i.e. 10/2 = 5 frames are displayed for the 10ms period using 1 console rendered frame and (5-1) = 4 synthetic frames. That is, as noted above, Hunt explicitly teaches what one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood Margolis’ disclosure to implicitly teach, i.e. that frame rate upsampling is performed by displaying the lower frame rate/rendered frames in sequence with the higher frame rate/adjusted frames in order to achieve the increased effective display frame rate.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Margolis’ late stage reprojection system, using Melkote’s per-ROI motion vector grid/filter size/granularity determination technique, using Jindal’s perceptual VRS system for rendering the images in Margolis’ rendering module, using Jindal’s VRS state maps to select the size/granularities for each area of interest/ROI, by displaying the pre-rendered frames and the LSR adjusted frames in sequence because Margolis teaches that the pre-rendered frames are displayed and Hunt explicitly teaches what one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood Margolis’ disclosure to implicitly teach. It is noted that this does not necessarily constitute any actual modification to Margolis’ system, i.e. as noted above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the implicit teaching that Margolis’ system operated this way based on Margolis’ description, e.g. paragraph 47. However, in the interest of compact prosecution, even if Applicant were able to persuasively demonstrate that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have interpreted Margolis’ description as teaching that both the pre-rendered and LSR adjusted frames are displayed, Hunt explicitly teaches that frame rate upsampling in HMD systems using ASW/LSR can be performed by displaying the rendered/low frame rate images in sequence with the generated/ASW adjusted images to achieve the higher frame rate, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would also have found it obvious to implement Margolis’ system to display the rendered/low frame rate images in sequence with the generated/ASW adjusted images to achieve the higher frame rate in view of Hunt’s explicit teaching to use the claimed display sequencing.
Regarding claim 2, the limitations “perform the ASW on areas of the first frame with different granularities determined from the content and focusing related information wherein the pipeline comprises an ASW pipeline to perform the ASW on the first frame, the ASW pipeline comprising: a pre-processing component to: determine the content and [focusing] related information; wherein the granularities for the areas of the first frame are based on the content and focusing related information; and generate a screen-space image based on the granularities” are taught by Margolis in view of Melkote and Jindal (As discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, in Margolis’ modified system, each area of interest, e.g. Margolis, paragraphs 92-95, corresponds to one of Melkote’s ROI, and as taught by Melkote with respect to the game engine/render side component, e.g. paragraphs 74-80, Margolis’ rendering module 302 would additionally determine the size/granularities for each area of interest based on the determined content and focusing information for the frame, and provide said size/granularities to the LSR module 308 for controlling the size/granularity of the motion vector filter kernel used for performing the reprojection/warping for each respective area of interest/ROI, corresponding to the claimed pre-processing component determining granularities for areas based on determined content and focusing related information. Also as discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, Margolis’ modified system using Jindal’s VRS state maps to select size/granularities for each area of interest/ROI in performing the reprojection/warping on the first frame corresponds to the claimed pre-determined granularities used to generate a screen space image, i.e. the VRS state maps, which specify the granularities used for each block for performing the ASW.)
Regarding claim 5, the limitations “wherein the ASW pipeline is further to: split the first frame into segmentations based on the granularities defined in the screen space image, wherein the ASW pipeline comprises a motion estimation component to: perform motion search on the segmentations; get segmentations in the first frame based on the screen-space image; get blocks in one or more segmentations; and perform a per-block motion search on the first frame” are taught by Margolis in view of Melkote and Jindal (Margolis, e.g. paragraphs 69, 82-85, teaches that the motion vector module 304 of the LSR module 308 performs a motion search for every block of the rendered image, where the motion vector estimation may be based on block matching, i.e. as claimed each valid block of the first/rendered image is used to perform a per-block motion search. Further, as discussed in the claim 2 rejection above, in Margolis’ modified system, using Melkote’s per-ROI motion vector grid/filter size/granularity determination technique, and using Jindal’s perceptual VRS system for rendering images, Jindal’s VRS state maps would be used to select the size/granularities for each area of interest/ROI to avoid performing a second analysis of the scene content/focusing information, such that each block of each area of interest/ROI corresponds to one of the granularities defined in the VRS state map, analogous to Jindal, figure 13. Finally, the areas of interest/ROIs determined from the VRS state maps correspond to the claimed segmentations based on granularities defined in the screen-space image, e.g. as noted by Margolis, paragraph 94, the separate areas of interest/ROIs correspond to a segmentation of the rendered image, i.e. as in Jindal, figure 13, VRS tiles having the highest 4x4 shading rate correspond to a first segment having the highest granularity, followed by the 2x4 and 4x2 shading rate segments, etc. It is noted that Applicant’s disclosure, e.g. paragraphs 281, 284, indicates that the motion search on the segmentations is performed by performing the per-block motion search on the blocks of each segmentation, and does not require otherwise evaluating and/or using the segmentations determined from the screen-space image, such that the scope of claim 5 is met by Margolis’ modified system, having Melkote’s sizes/granularities for each block determined using Jindal’s VRS state map, performing the per-block motion search for every block in the rendered image, i.e. performing the per-block motion search for all blocks is performing the motion search for all segmentations comprising said blocks, where blocks are associated with different segmentations based on the granularities as defined in the screen-space image.)
Regarding claim 6, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 5 above, except that claim 6 requires performing segmentation/per-block extrapolation for the blocks of the segmentations, rather the segmentation/per-block motion search for the blocks of the segmentation, which is also taught by Margolis’ modified system, e.g. Margolis, paragraphs 24, 61, 70-74, 86-88, teaches that the determined motion vector for each block is used to project the block to generate the display field for a target time after the current rendered frame, i.e. the claimed per-block extrapolation for the blocks of each segmentation. It is noted that Melkote, e.g. paragraph 84, analogously teaches that the warping based on the motion vectors corresponds to an extrapolation.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations “wherein the processing circuitry comprises graphics processing circuitry and wherein the processing resources comprise one or more of graphics processing resources associated with the graphics processing circuitry, programmable hardware, or fixed function hardware, wherein the apparatus includes a virtual reality (VR) device, wherein the pipeline comprises a VR pipeline” are taught by Margolis (Margolis, e.g. paragraphs 31, 35, teaches that the HMD device includes processors executing computer readable instructions, i.e. the claimed graphics processing circuitry/programmable hardware, and is used for displaying augmented/mixed reality images, i.e. Margolis’ device is a virtual reality device, and the pipeline is a virtual reality pipeline.)
Regarding claims 8 and 14, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claims 12, 13, 18, and 19, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claims 5 and 6 above.
Claims 3, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0213388 A1 (hereinafter Margolis) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/004985 A1 (hereinafter Melkote) in view of “Perceptual Model for Adaptive Local Shading and Refresh Rate” by Ashkay Jindal, et al. (hereinafter Jindal) in view of U.S. Patent 10,785,471 B1 (hereinafter Hunt) as applied to claims 2, 9, and 15 above, and further in view of “Luminance-Contrast-Aware Foveated Rendering” by Okan Tarhan Tursun, et al. (hereinafter Tursun).
Regarding claim 3, the limitations “wherein the content and focusing related information comprises a foveated area associated with the first frame, and wherein the pre-processing component is further to: determine the foveated area based on head pose/motions information collected from a head-mounted display (HMD) communicatively coupled with the apparatus; and assigning a finest granularity to the foveated area” are partially taught by Margolis in view of Melkote and Jindal (Margolis, e.g. paragraphs 25, 45, 47, 92-94, teaches that the system includes an HMD, determining the pose/motions of the HMD, and determining the areas of interest based on where the user’s gaze is focused, but does not address foveation, per se. Melkote, e.g. paragraphs 28, 41, 66, 77, similarly indicates the use of HMD/eye tracking for determining ROIs, and indicates that the ROI may be used for foveated rendering, but does not discuss the foveated area with respect to the determining the size/granularities for each area of interest, i.e. the claimed assigning a finest granularity to the foveated area. As discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, in Margolis’ modified system, using Melkote’s per-ROI motion vector grid/filter size/granularity determination technique, and using Jindal’s perceptual VRS system for rendering images, Jindal’s VRS state maps would be used to select the size/granularities for each area of interest/ROI to avoid performing a second analysis of the scene content/focusing information. Jindal, e.g. sections 5.4, 6, teaches that the perceptual VRS system does not rely on eye tracking or model foveation, but teaches that if gaze location were known, the allocation of the rendering budget would be improved, and foveated rendering could be performed to further increase quality, referring to the Tursun reference for details of modeling foveation using gaze location in a VRS based rendering system. That is, Margolis’ modified system of the claim 1 rejection uses Jindal’s unmodified perceptual VRS system for rendering and VRS state map for selecting the size/granularities for each area of interest/ROI, and therefore does not use the tracked HMD/eye gaze location for determining a foveated area and assigning a finest granularity to the foveated areas.) However, this limitation is taught by Jindal in view of Tursun (As noted above, Jindal, e.g. section 6, suggests combining the perceptual VRS system with Tursun’s foveated rendering when gaze location is available. Tursun, e.g. abstract, sections 1, 3-7, describes a system for luminance-contrast-aware foveated rendering which, analogous to Jindal’s perceptual VRS system, relies on a perceptual model to evaluate scene content and focusing information for each patch of an image to be rendered in order to select a VRS shading rate for the patch in a VRS state map, e.g. sections 4, 6.2, figure 3. Tursun, e.g. section 4.1, subsection Contrast sensitivity and retinal eccentricity, section 5, indicates that the eccentricity measured relative to a gaze position is used to control the foveation region and resolution reduction, where, e.g. section 7.2, in the implementation using an HMD the gaze position is defined using the eye tracking results, i.e. Tursun’s foveated VRS rendering system uses the gaze position determined from the HMD pose/motions to determine a foveated rendering region having higher shading/resolution rates selected closer to the gaze point and lower shading/resolution rates selected further from the gaze point, corresponding to the claimed assignation of finest granularity to the foveated area, e.g. as shown in the figure 3 example, where the gaze location is defined at the center of the image, the highest rates/granularities are assigned to the patches nearest the center.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Margolis’ late stage reprojection system, using Melkote’s per-ROI motion vector grid/filter size/granularity determination technique, using Jindal’s perceptual VRS system for rendering the images in Margolis’ rendering module, using Jindal’s VRS state maps to select the size/granularities for each area of interest/ROI, displaying the pre-rendered frames and the LSR adjusted frames in sequence as implicitly taught by Margolis and explicitly taught by Hunt, to modify Jindal’s perceptual VRS system to use the gaze position determined by Margolis’ HMD to include Tursun’s foveated VRS rendering technique because Jindal teaches that if the gaze position were known, Jindal’s perceptual VRS system could be improved by performing foveated rendering as taught by Tursun, both to improve the allocation of the rendering budget and the rendering quality. In the modified system, Margolis’ rendering module renders the first image using Jindal’s perceptual VRS system combined with Tursun’s foveated rendering, i.e. using the determined gaze point to evaluate eccentricity for each VRS tile/patch as in Tursun, section 4.1, and adjust the shading rates as in section 5, i.e. as claimed the pre-processing component determines the foveated area based on head pose/motions collected from the HMD, and assigns the finest granularity to the foveated area, analogous to Tursun, figure 3. Further, as discussed in the claim 1 modification, Jindal’s VRS state map for selecting the size/granularities for each area of interest/ROI, such that in the modified system using Jindal’s perceptual VRS system combined with Tursun’s foveated rendering, the areas of interest/ROIs which are located within the fovea, i.e. closest to the gaze point, will be assigned the highest shading rate, and by extension, the finest motion vector grid size/granularity.
Regarding claims 10 and 16, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claims 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0213388 A1 (hereinafter Margolis) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/004985 A1 (hereinafter Melkote) in view of “Perceptual Model for Adaptive Local Shading and Refresh Rate” by Ashkay Jindal, et al. (hereinafter Jindal) in view of U.S. Patent 10,785,471 B1 (hereinafter Hunt) in view of “Luminance-Contrast-Aware Foveated Rendering” by Okan Tarhan Tursun, et al. (hereinafter Tursun) as applied to claims 3, 10, and 16 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0005714 A1 (hereinafter Fuller).
Regarding claim 4, the limitations “wherein the content and focusing related information comprises information related to degree of detail associated with the first frame, and the pre-processing component is further to: determine the information related to degree of details of areas of the first frame based on sampler/shader output from rendering of the input data; and assign finer granularity to areas with more details” are taught by Margolis in view of Jindal (It is noted that Applicant’s disclosure, e.g. paragraph 249, gives the example of determining detail information by collecting LOD or Mipmap information from the shader to determine the claimed degree of detail of areas. Jindal, e.g. section 5, 5.1, 5.3 teaches that the input comprises a plurality of auxiliary buffers rendered at the VRS state map resolution, including texture IDs and mipmap levels, where the quality metric is dependent on said texture IDs and mipmap levels, i.e. as claimed, the pre-processing component performing Jindal’s perceptual VRS rendering determines degree of detail information for the first frame based on shader/sampler output from rendering the input data, where higher resolution mipmap levels require higher shading rates such that the ratio of pixel-to-texel area is close to 1:1, e.g. section 4.1, subsection Variable rate shading, i.e. finer shading rates/granularities are assigned to areas with higher resolution mipmap levels.)
The limitations “wherein the content and focusing related information comprises edge areas associated with the first frame; determine the edge areas based on edge information from an edge detector; and increase fineness of granularity to be assigned to the edge areas” are partially taught by Margolis in view of Jindal (Margolis, e.g. paragraph 82, teaches that edge detection may be performed for feature matching between frames in order to determine motion vectors. Further, Jindal, e.g. sections 4, 4.1, subsection Contrast sensitivity and energy pooling, describing the CaMoJAB model, and in particular the contrast sensitivity function based on the luminance, indicates that the function is based on spatial frequencies, i.e. as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand, the human visual system has increased sensitivity to distortions of image regions having higher intensity spatial frequency changes, i.e. highly textured regions including those containing edges, in comparison to distortions of image regions having lower intensity spatial frequency changes, i.e. regions which are relatively uniformly colored, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that distortions caused by lower shading rates would be more noticeable for regions containing edges than mostly uniform regions. While Jindal, e.g. section 5.1, teaches using the previously rendered frame to approximate the luminance for a VRS tile, Jindal does not explicitly teach using the results of edge detection for a VRS tile to assign increased quality/shading rates to a VRS tile, i.e. the claimed increased fineness of granularity for areas determined to comprise edges using the edge detector.) However, this limitation is taught by Fuller (Fuller, e.g. abstract, paragraphs 18-67, describes a VRS rendering system which uses temporal reprojection to determine shading rates. Fuller, e.g. 18, 19, 50-60, teaches that the shading rate values (SRP) specified in the coarse SRP map, corresponding to Jindal’s VRS state map, may be increased or decreased depending on whether the corresponding area has high frequency details, and in particular, paragraph 57, applying an edge detection algorithm to identify areas having edges in order to increase the shading rate for that area, i.e. as claimed, increasing fineness of granularity assigned to areas which are determined to have edges based on an edge detector.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Margolis’ late stage reprojection system, using Melkote’s per-ROI motion vector grid/filter size/granularity determination technique, using Jindal’s perceptual VRS system for rendering the images in Margolis’ rendering module, using Jindal’s VRS state maps to select the size/granularities for each area of interest/ROI, displaying the pre-rendered frames and the LSR adjusted frames in sequence as implicitly taught by Margolis and explicitly taught by Hunt, with Jindal’s perceptual VRS system modified to use the gaze position determined by Margolis’ HMD to include Tursun’s foveated VRS rendering technique, to include Fuller’s VRS shading rate parameter adjustment based on performing edge detection on the corresponding areas of the previously rendered frame. As noted above, Jindal teaches that the perceptual VRS system already relies on rendering results from the previous frame, i.e. the luminance values, such that modifying the system to include Fuller’s edge detection VRS rate parameter adjustment would merely require additionally performing Fuller’s edge detection, and using the results to increase or decrease the VRS shading rate value for each area, where as noted above, areas comprising detected edges would have increased adjusted shading rates, corresponding to the claimed increasing fineness of granularity assigned to areas determined to have edges using the edge detector.
Regarding claims 14 and 17, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 4 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant’s remarks, pages 12-13, only address Margolis and Hunt, and address each reference separately, rather than addressing the combination thereof. Applicant is reminded that the previous rejection was based on Margolis, Melkote, and Hunt, and Applicant’s remarks do not address Melkote at all. Applicant is further reminded that the amended limitation was previously addressed in the rejection of depending claim 2 in view of Jindal, and Applicant has not discussed Jindal or provided any rationale contradicting the mapping of claim 2. Therefore this arguments cannot be considered persuasive as they do not address the relevant combination.
Applicant further asserts that the combination of Margolis and Hunt lacks the required articulated reasoning with rational underpinning. Applicant’s remarks are addressing a hypothetical combination which does not correspond to the actual combination of the rejection. That is, the rejection does not propose to “combine Hunt’s technique with Margolis’ ASW block basis across areas of the first frame”, and indeed Hunt is merely cited for teaching what one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized to be taught by Margolis’ unmodified system. As noted in the combination, it does not necessarily constitute any actual modification to Margolis’ system. Further, Hunt is merely cited for teaching that both the original and warped frames are displayed in proper sequence when increasing a display framerate, such that Applicant’s commentary regarding the use of a pre-generated per-area screen-space granularity image is entirely irrelevant. Similarly, Applicant’s assertion regarding hindsight reconstruction regarding treating “sampling vertices, filtering kernels, and ASW block granularities, as interchangeable” is lacking both citation to the actual combination of Margolis and Hunt in the rejection and citation to the rejection which does equate these elements. Therefore this argument cannot be considered persuasive.
Conclusion
/ROBERT BADER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611