DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 24 February 2026 in which claims 1, 8, 17, and 32 are amended. Claims 1-40 are currently pending and an office action on the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9-12 and 15 recite the limitation "the joint" in multiple instance of claims 9-12 and 15. These claims depend upon independent claim 8 which was amended to recite “a first joint” and “a second joint”. There is no recitation of “a joint” in claim 8 of the cited dependent claims 9-12 and 15. In these dependent claims there is no clear indication of which joint is intended to be recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Office will interpret “the joint” as intending to recite “the first joint”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0233453 by Hatfield et al. (“Hatfield”).
As to claim 17, Hatfield discloses a wearable apparatus (Hatfield, head-mounted display 100 (HMD), Figure 1A) comprising:
a display (Hatfield, display unit 110, Figure 1A);
a facial interface (Hatfield, facial interface 530 which includes the peripheral structure 536 and head support 120, Figures 5A-5D) comprising a flexure portion (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]) and a solid portion (Hatfield, The head support 120 is coupled to the display unit 110 to support the display unit 110 on the head H of the user. Figure 1A, ¶ [0043]), the flexure portion having a different flexibility than the solid portion (Hatfield, The head support 120 may be adjustable in size, so as to accommodate to different sizes and/or shapes of heads H of users, for example, including elastically and/or mechanically expanding bands or other structures. ¶ [0043]); and
a connector (Hatfield, supports 538, Figures 5A-5D) between the display and the facial interface, the facial interface being translatable and rotatable via the connector and the flexure portion (Hatfield, The supports 538 couple the peripheral structure 536 to the chassis 114 of the display unit 110, such that the peripheral structure 536 is spaced apart from the chassis 114 to be movable (e.g., pivotable) relative thereto. The supports 538 may include or form a pivot joint with the peripheral structure 536 and/or the chassis 114 of the display unit 110, such as a pivot hinge, a living hinge, a ball and socket joint, or other suitable pivoting mechanism. Figures 5A-5D, ¶ [0060]).
As to claim 18, Hatfield discloses the wearable apparatus wherein the facial interface comprises an elastomer material (Hatfield, For example, the peripheral structure 536 may be formed from metal, polymer, or combination thereof (e.g., elastomer or plastic overmolded or coupled to one or more thin metal components). ¶ [0059]).
As to claim 19, Hatfield discloses the wearable apparatus wherein the facial interface comprises:
a first shot composed of a first material; and
a second shot composed of a second material that differs from the first material, wherein the first material comprises the elastomer material (Hatfield, For example, the peripheral structure 536 may be formed from metal, polymer, or combination thereof (e.g., elastomer or plastic overmolded or coupled to one or more thin metal components). ¶ [0059]). Hatfield teaches an elastomer overmolded with a thin metal for the peripheral structure 536. The first shot is the elastomer overmold and the second shot is the thin metal component.
As to claim 20, Hatfield discloses the wearable apparatus wherein the connector comprises a compliant mechanism (Hatfield, The supports 538 are coupled the peripheral structure 536 to the display unit 110 and form joints about which the internal force distributor 534 (e.g., the peripheral structure 536) is pivotable to convert the forward
F
f
o
r
w
a
r
d
into the inward force
F
i
n
w
a
r
d
and to convert the forward movement into the inward movement. Figures 5A-5C, ¶ [0057]).
As to claim 21, Hatfield discloses a head-mountable device (Hatfield, head-mounted display 100 (HMD), Figure 1A), comprising:
a display (Hatfield, display unit 110, Figure 1A) comprising a display frame, the display frame defining a relief (Hatfield, display unit 110 may also include lenses 116, Figure 5A); The lenses are in relief holes of the display unit (frame).
a facial interface (Hatfield, facial interface 530 which includes the peripheral structure 536, Figures 5A-5D); and
a connector (Hatfield, supports 538, Figures 5A-5D) positioned between the display frame and the facial interface (Hatfield, The supports 538 couple the peripheral structure 536 to the chassis 114 of the display unit 110, such that the peripheral structure 536 is spaced apart from the chassis 114 to be movable (e.g., pivotable) relative thereto. The supports 538 may include or form a pivot joint with the peripheral structure 536 and/or the chassis 114 of the display unit 110, such as a pivot hinge, a living hinge, a ball and socket joint, or other suitable pivoting mechanism. Figures 5A-5D, ¶ [0060]).
As to claim 22, Hatfield discloses the head-mountable device wherein the relief comprises a lozenge-shaped thru-hole in the display frame. As shown in figure 5A of Hatfield, the lenses 116 are lozenge-shaped (cylindrical shaped) holes in the display unit.
As to claim 23, Hatfield discloses the head-mountable device wherein the relief comprises a cored-out portion of the display frame. As shown in figure 5A of Hatfield, the lenses 116 are cored-out portions in the display unit.
As to claim 24, Hatfield discloses the head-mountable device wherein the relief comprises an array of dimples or thru-holes. As shown in figure 5A of Hatfield, the lenses 116 are array of thru-holes in the display unit.
As to claim 25, Hatfield discloses the head-mountable device further comprising a stiffener member (Hatfield, lateral stabilizers 540, Figure 5A-5C) positioned between the display frame and the facial interface (Hatfield, The lateral stabilizers 540 (depicted schematically) transfer force between the side segments 536b of the peripheral structure 536 and the display unit 110 directly or indirectly (e.g., via intervening structure, such as a backing plate of the facial interface 530). Figures 5A-5C, ¶ [0063]).
As to claim 26, Hatfield discloses the head-mountable device wherein the connector (Hatfield, supports 538, Figures 5A-5D) couples the display frame and the stiffener member to the facial interface (Hatfield, the lateral stabilizer 540 may be provided with or otherwise incorporated into the supports 538 to controlling angular displacement between the side portion 130b and the display unit 110. ¶ [0063]).
As to claim 27, Hatfield discloses the head-mountable device wherein the display frame comprises:
a first frame shell (Hatfield, thin metal component) comprising a first material defining a pocket in a first surface (Hatfield, For example, the peripheral structure 536 may be formed from metal, polymer, or combination thereof (e.g., elastomer or plastic overmolded or coupled to one or more thin metal components). ¶ [0059]); and
a second frame shell (Hatfield, elastomer overmold) comprising a second material, the second frame shell being coupled to the first frame shell over the pocket, and the second material being different than the first material (Hatfield, For example, the peripheral structure 536 may be formed from metal, polymer, or combination thereof (e.g., elastomer or plastic overmolded or coupled to one or more thin metal components). ¶ [0059]). Hatfield teaches an elastomer overmolded with a thin metal for the peripheral structure 536. The first frame shell is the thin metal component and the second frame shell is the elastomer overmold.
As to claim 28, Hatfield discloses the head-mountable device wherein the display frame comprises:
a metal portion (Hatfield, thin metal component); and
an overmolding that envelops the metal portion (Hatfield, For example, the peripheral structure 536 may be formed from metal, polymer, or combination thereof (e.g., elastomer or plastic overmolded or coupled to one or more thin metal components). ¶ [0059]). Hatfield teaches an elastomer overmolded with a thin metal for the peripheral structure 536.
As to claim 29, Hatfield discloses the head-mountable device further comprising a connector support area of the display frame, the connector support area comprising a reinforcement material (Hatfield, For example, the peripheral structure 536 may be formed from metal, polymer, or combination thereof (e.g., elastomer or plastic overmolded or coupled to one or more thin metal components). ¶ [0059]). The connector support area is the peripheral structure 536 which includes a thing metal component and elastomer overmold as the reinforcement material.
As to claim 30, Hatfield discloses the head-mountable device wherein the connector support area is devoid of the relief (Hatfield, For example, the peripheral structure 536 may be formed from metal, polymer, or combination thereof (e.g., elastomer or plastic overmolded or coupled to one or more thin metal components). ¶ [0059]). As shown in figures 5A-5C of Hatfield, there are no relief areas in the peripheral structure 536.
As to claim 31, Hatfield discloses the head-mountable device wherein the connector (Hatfield, supports 538, Figures 5A-5D) includes at least one of a zygoma connector positioned at a zygoma location on a face, a maxilla connector positioned at a maxilla location on the face, and a forehead connector positioned at a forehead location on the face (Hatfield, The supports 538 generally include two upper supports 538a and two lower supports 538b, which are spaced apart laterally. Figure 5A, ¶ [0058]). As shown in figures 1A and 5A of Hatfield, the supports 538 are at the zygoma, maxilla, and forehead locations of the face.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0233453 by Hatfield et al. (“Hatfield”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,228,727 by Pickett (“Pickett”).
As to claim 1, Hatfield discloses an apparatus (Hatfield, head-mounted display 100 (HMD), Figure 1A), comprising:
a display (Hatfield, display unit 110, Figure 1A);
a facial interface (Hatfield, facial interface 530 which includes the peripheral structure 536, Figures 5A-5D);
a moveable connector (Hatfield, supports 538, Figures 5A-5D) disposed between the display and the facial interface, the facial interface being translatable and rotatable relative to the display via the connector (Hatfield, The supports 538 couple the peripheral structure 536 to the chassis 114 of the display unit 110, such that the peripheral structure 536 is spaced apart from the chassis 114 to be movable (e.g., pivotable) relative thereto. The supports 538 may include or form a pivot joint with the peripheral structure 536 and/or the chassis 114 of the display unit 110, such as a pivot hinge, a living hinge, a ball and socket joint, or other suitable pivoting mechanism. Figures 5A-5D, ¶ [0060]); and
a strap (Hatfield, head support 120, Figure 1A) connected to the apparatus (Hatfield, head-mounted display 100 (HMD), Figure 1A).
Hatfield does not expressly disclose
a moveable connector disposed between the display and the facial interface, the facial interface being translatable and rotatable relative to the display via the connector;
Pickett teaches adjustable arms in a head-mounted display system including
a moveable connector (Pickett, As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interlink 201 of the adjustable arm 205 is attached at its back end to the front end of the back end assembly link 203 of the adjustable arm 205 in a rotatable manner, allowing the interlink 201 to rotate about a center of the bolt 112 as its fixed axis. Figure 3, Column 3, Rows 5-10) disposed between the display and the facial interface, the facial interface being translatable and rotatable relative to the display via the connector (Pickett, The front end assembly 115 comprises the front portion of the HMD 100 and includes cameras 101, a front visor 103, and two eye cones 107… The eye cones 107 are configured with two lenses positioned in front of the viewing user's eyes allowing the user to view through the eye cones 107 at two display panels located on the back of the front visor 103. Figure 1, Column 2, Rows 29-46);
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hatfield’s head-mounted display to include Pickett’s HMD adjustable arm because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Hatfield to include Pickett is expressly provided by Pickett, stating that the adjustable arm allows the user to adjust the front end assembly into a position that provides the greatest degree of eye relief (Picket, Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hatfield’s head-mounted display to include Pickett’s HMD adjustable arm with the motivation of improving the user comfort while using the HMD. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of providing eye relief to the user.
Thus, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the adjustable arm which may translate and rotate the display in relation to the facial interface.
As to claim 2, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the apparatus wherein the connector (Pickett, As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interlink 201 of the adjustable arm 205 is attached at its back end to the front end of the back end assembly link 203 of the adjustable arm 205 in a rotatable manner, allowing the interlink 201 to rotate about a center of the bolt 112 as its fixed axis. Figure 3, Column 3, Rows 5-10) constrains motion of the facial interface relative to the display at a forehead location or a zygoma location of a face. As shown in figures 1A and 5A of Hatfield, the supports 538 are at the forehead and zygoma locations of the face. Figures 1A and 5A shows the facial interface 130 around the eyes E on all sides which includes the forehead and zygoma. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 3, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the apparatus wherein:
the apparatus comprises an additional connector between the display and the facial interface (Hatfield, The supports 538 generally include two upper supports 538a and two lower supports 538b, which are spaced apart laterally. Figure 5A, ¶ [0058]);
the additional connector comprises a first joint positioned at the forehead location (Hatfield, upper support 538a, Figure 5A); and
the connector comprises a second joint different than the first joint, the second joint being positioned at the zygoma location (Pickett, As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interlink 201 of the adjustable arm 205 is attached at its back end to the front end of the back end assembly link 203 of the adjustable arm 205 in a rotatable manner, allowing the interlink 201 to rotate about a center of the bolt 112 as its fixed axis. Figure 3, Column 3, Rows 5-10). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 4, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the apparatus wherein the connector comprises a pivot joint, a soft joint, a flexure joint, or a spring joint (Pickett, As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interlink 201 of the adjustable arm 205 is attached at its back end to the front end of the back end assembly link 203 of the adjustable arm 205 in a rotatable manner, allowing the interlink 201 to rotate about a center of the bolt 112 as its fixed axis. Figure 3, Column 3, Rows 5-10). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 5, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the apparatus wherein the facial interface comprises a flexure portion (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]).
As to claim 6, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the apparatus wherein the flexure portion comprises a serpentine pattern (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]). As shown in figure 5B of Hatfield, the peripheral structure 536 flexes along a curvature (serpentine pattern).
As to claim 7, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the apparatus wherein the flexure portion is positioned at a top corner region, a bottom corner region, a forehead region, or a temple region of the facial interface. As shown in figure 5A of Hatfield, the peripheral structure 536 is positioned at all the regions around the users eyes.
As to claim 8, Hatfield discloses a head-mountable device (Hatfield, head-mounted display 100 (HMD), Figure 1A), comprising:
a display (Hatfield, display unit 110, Figure 1A);
a facial interface (Hatfield, facial interface 530 which includes the peripheral structure 536, Figures 5A-5D); and
a first joint (Hatfield, supports 538, Figures 5A-5D) movably constraining the facial interface to the display at a forehead region on a face (Hatfield, The supports 538 couple the peripheral structure 536 to the chassis 114 of the display unit 110, such that the peripheral structure 536 is spaced apart from the chassis 114 to be movable (e.g., pivotable) relative thereto. The supports 538 may include or form a pivot joint with the peripheral structure 536 and/or the chassis 114 of the display unit 110, such as a pivot hinge, a living hinge, a ball and socket joint, or other suitable pivoting mechanism. Figures 5A-5D, ¶ [0060]); and
Hatfield does not expressly disclose
a second joint movably constraining the facial interface to the display at a zygoma region on the face, the second joint being of a different type than the first joint.
Pickett teaches adjustable arms in a head-mounted display system including
a second joint (Pickett, As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interlink 201 of the adjustable arm 205 is attached at its back end to the front end of the back end assembly link 203 of the adjustable arm 205 in a rotatable manner, allowing the interlink 201 to rotate about a center of the bolt 112 as its fixed axis. Figure 3, Column 3, Rows 5-10) movably constraining the facial interface to the display at a zygoma region on the face, the second joint being of a different type than the first joint (Pickett, The front end assembly 115 comprises the front portion of the HMD 100 and includes cameras 101, a front visor 103, and two eye cones 107… The eye cones 107 are configured with two lenses positioned in front of the viewing user's eyes allowing the user to view through the eye cones 107 at two display panels located on the back of the front visor 103. Figure 1, Column 2, Rows 29-46).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hatfield’s head-mounted display to include Pickett’s HMD adjustable arm because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Hatfield to include Pickett is expressly provided by Pickett, stating that the adjustable arm allows the user to adjust the front end assembly into a position that provides the greatest degree of eye relief (Picket, Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hatfield’s head-mounted display to include Pickett’s HMD adjustable arm with the motivation of improving the user comfort while using the HMD. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of providing eye relief to the user.
Thus, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the adjustable arm which may be a connecting joint to the display in relation to the facial interface.
As to claim 9, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the head-mounted device further comprising:
a display frame housing the display (Hatfield, The chassis 114 forms a primary structure that supports the displays 112 in proper position relative to eyes E of the user. Figure 1A, ¶ [0041]);
a strap (Hatfield, head support 120, Figure 1A) connected to at least one of the display frame or the facial interface (Hatfield, The head support 120 is coupled to the display unit 110 to support the display unit 110 on the head H of the user. ¶ [0043]); and
an additional joint, wherein the joint movably constrains the facial interface to the display at the forehead region and the additional joint movably constraints the facial interface to the display at the zygoma region (Hatfield, The supports 538 generally include two upper supports 538a and two lower supports 538b, which are spaced apart laterally. Figure 5A, ¶ [0058]). As shown in figures 1A and 5A of Hatfield, the supports 538 are at the forehead and zygoma locations of the face. Figures 1A and 5A shows the facial interface 130 around the eyes E on all sides which includes the forehead and zygoma.
As to claim 10, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the head-mounted device further comprising:
a flexure portion adjacent to the joint (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]); and
an additional joint, wherein the flexure portion is positioned in between the joint and the additional joint (Hatfield, The supports 538 generally include two upper supports 538a and two lower supports 538b, which are spaced apart laterally. Figure 5A, ¶ [0058]).
As to claim 11, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the head-mounted device wherein the facial interface further comprises a solid portion (Hatfield, lateral stabilizers 540, Figures 5A-5C), the flexure portion (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]) and the solid portion both positioned between the joint (Hatfield, supports 538, Figures 5A-5D) and the additional joint (Hatfield, supports 538, Figures 5A-5D). As shown in figure 5A of Hatfield, the lateral stabilizer 540 and a portion of the peripheral structure 536 are between the supports 538.
As to claim 12, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the head-mounted device wherein the facial interface comprises an additional flexure portion, the flexure portion being positioned on a first side of the joint, and the additional flexure portion being positioned on a second side of the joint (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]). The peripheral structure 536 is on multiple sides of the supports 538.
As to claim 13, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the head-mounted device wherein:
the flexure portion is positioned at the forehead region (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]); and
the additional flexure portion is positioned at a temple region (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]). As shown in figure 5A of Hatfield, the peripheral structure 536 is around the user’s eyes at the forehead and temple regions.
As to claim 14, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the head-mounted device wherein:
the flexure portion is positioned at a temple region (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]); and
the additional flexure portion is positioned at a zygoma-maxilla region (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]). As shown in figure 5A of Hatfield, the peripheral structure 536 is around the user’s eyes at the temple and zygoma regions.
As to claim 15, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the head-mounted device wherein the facial interface comprises:
a solid portion (Hatfield, lateral stabilizers 540, Figures 5A-5C) on a first side of the joint(Hatfield, supports 538, Figures 5A-5D); and
a flexure portion (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]) on a second side of the joint (Hatfield, supports 538, Figures 5A-5D). A portion of the peripheral structure 536 is on each side of the supports 538.
As to claim 16, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the head-mounted device wherein the facial interface comprises:
a first flexure portion at a first facial position (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]); and
a second flexure portion at a second facial position mirroring the first facial position (Hatfield, The peripheral structure 536 may be a singular structure, which is configured to flex about the supports 538. ¶ [0059]). As shown in figure 5A of Hatfield, the peripheral structure 536 is around the user’s eyes and the left and right side are mirrored positions.
As to claim 32, Hatfield discloses a wearable apparatus (Hatfield, head-mounted display 100 (HMD), Figure 1A) comprising:
a display frame (Hatfield, display unit 110, Figure 1A);
a facial interface (Hatfield, facial interface 530 which includes the peripheral structure 536, Figures 5A-5D);
a stiffener member (Hatfield, lateral stabilizers 540, Figure 5A-5C) positioned between the display frame and the facial interface (Hatfield, The lateral stabilizers 540 (depicted schematically) transfer force between the side segments 536b of the peripheral structure 536 and the display unit 110 directly or indirectly (e.g., via intervening structure, such as a backing plate of the facial interface 530). Figures 5A-5C, ¶ [0063]);
Hatfield does not expressly disclose
a connector, disposed between the stiffener member and the display frame and coupling the display frame and the stiffener member to the facial interface.
Pickett teaches adjustable arms in a head-mounted display system including
a connector (Pickett, As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interlink 201 of the adjustable arm 205 is attached at its back end to the front end of the back end assembly link 203 of the adjustable arm 205 in a rotatable manner, allowing the interlink 201 to rotate about a center of the bolt 112 as its fixed axis. Figure 3, Column 3, Rows 5-10), disposed between the stiffener member and the display frame and coupling the display frame and the stiffener member to the facial interface (Pickett, The front end assembly 115 comprises the front portion of the HMD 100 and includes cameras 101, a front visor 103, and two eye cones 107… The eye cones 107 are configured with two lenses positioned in front of the viewing user's eyes allowing the user to view through the eye cones 107 at two display panels located on the back of the front visor 103. Figure 1, Column 2, Rows 29-46).
The combination of Hatfield and Pickett teaches the lateral stabilizers (stiffener member) on the facial interface and adjustable arms (connector) between the lateral stabilizers and the display frame.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hatfield’s head-mounted display to include Pickett’s HMD adjustable arm because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Hatfield to include Pickett is expressly provided by Pickett, stating that the adjustable arm allows the user to adjust the front end assembly into a position that provides the greatest degree of eye relief (Picket, Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hatfield’s head-mounted display to include Pickett’s HMD adjustable arm with the motivation of improving the user comfort while using the HMD. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of providing eye relief to the user.
Thus, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the adjustable arm which may be a connecting joint between the display and the facial interface.
As to claim 33, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the wearable apparatus wherein the display frame and the stiffener member (Hatfield, lateral stabilizers 540, Figure 5A-5C) define a gap. As shown in figure 1 of Picket, the facial interface is separated, by a gap, from the display frame by the adjustable arms. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 32.
As to claim 34, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the wearable apparatus wherein the connector (Pickett, adjustable arms 205, Figure 1) bridges the gap between the display frame the stiffener member. As shown in figure 1 of Picket, the facial interface is separated, by a gap, from the display frame by the adjustable arms. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 32.
As to claim 35, Hatfield, as modified by Pickett, teaches the wearable apparatus further comprising an additional connector (Pickett, a second arm of the adjustable arms 205, Figure 1) coupling the display frame and the stiffener member to the facial interface. As shown in figure 1 of Picket, the facial interface is separated, by a gap, from the display frame by the two adjustable arms. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 32.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36-40 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 36, Hatfield discloses an apparatus (Hatfield, head-mounted display 100 (HMD), Figure 1A) comprising:
a wearable display (Hatfield, head-mounted display 100 (HMD), Figure 1A);
a display frame (Hatfield, display unit 110, Figure 1A) attached to the wearable display (Hatfield, head-mounted display 100 (HMD), Figure 1A),
Hatfield does not expressly disclose
the display frame comprising:
a first frame shell comprising a first material defining a pocket in a first surface; and
a second frame shell comprising a second material, the second frame shell being coupled to the first frame shell over the pocket, and the second material being different than the first material.
Examiner found the remarks, filed on 24 February 2026, persuasive. Applicant’s representative asserts that the cited prior art of Hatfield does not expressly disclose the pockets and the frame shells as claimed. Examiner agreed and withdraws the rejection for these limitations.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to dependent claims 37-40, these claims are allowable as they depend upon allowable independent claim 36.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 and 32-35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 24 February 2026 in regards to claims 17-31 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative asserts, in regards to claim 17, Hatfield does not teach the amended limitations which require the facial interface with different regions having different flexibilities.
The Office respectfully disagrees with this assertion and submits that Hatfield teaches the facial interface including the head support. The head support is a solid element which attaches to the adjustable straps to mount to the user’s head and therefore must be solid, and therefore having a different flexibility than the interface, in order to maintain the position and tension of the straps. Thus, Hatfield does teach the amended limitations.
Applicant’s representative asserts, in regards to claim 21, Hatfield does not teach the display frame with a relief in the display frame body.
The Office respectfully disagrees with this assertion and submits that Hatfield teaches the lens holes as being the relief in the display frame body. The claim merely recites “a relief” which is interpreted as any hole in the frame. The hole for the lenses satisfy this limitation as it is currently recited as no additional limitations are required for this relief.
Applicant’s representative asserts in pages 18 and 19 of remarks, the claims are allowable and a notice of allowance should be sent.
The Office respectfully disagrees with this assertion and submits the rejection and response above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0349322 by Harris et al. teaches a wearable near-to-eye vision system which includes an upper cover of the frame which has vented openings.
U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0239151 by Chang et al. teaches a head-mounted display device which includes a honeycomb compression structure between the facial interface and the display.
U.S. Patent No. 10,863,637 by Pickett et al. teaches a head-mounted display device which includes a facial interface and display housing.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623