Application Status
In response to Non-Final Office Action mailed on 02/12/2026, applicants' response, arguments and amendments filed on dated 08/12/2026 is acknowledged; in said response applicants’ have amended claims 15 and 24. Thus, amended claims 1-24 are pending in this application; elected Group II, corresponding to claims 15-22 and 24 is now under consideration for examination; and claims 1-14 and 23 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office action are hereby withdrawn.
Withdrawn-Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 102/§ 103
Previous rejection of claims 15-18, 20-22 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Kansoh et al., (Polymer Degradation and Stability, 1999, Vol. 63: 273-278), and as evidenced by or in view of Jun et al., (Indian J. Microbiol., 2009, Vol. 49:188-195) and Weissenberger et al., (US 11,982,051 B2; priority 06/18/2021), is being withdrawn due to claim amendments.
Withdrawn-Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 103
Previous rejection of claims 15-22 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over 15-18, 20-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Kansoh et al., (Polymer Degradation and Stability, 1999, Vol. 63: 273-278), and as evidenced by or in view of Jun et al., (Indian J. Microbiol., 2009, Vol. 49:188-195) and Weissenberger et al., (US 11,982,051 B2; priority 06/18/2021) and further in view of Ghosh et al., (Green Chem., 2019, Vol. 21: 1648-1659) and Narendranath NV., (US 2019/0062791 A1), is being withdrawn due to claim amendments.
Maintained-Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 112(b)
II. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential active method steps, such omission amounting to incomplete method steps in the claim. See MPEP § 2172.01 and being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. Claim 24 recites “…use…”, since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method, it is unclear what method applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd.App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966).
Applicants have traversed the above 35 USC § 112(b) rejection with the following arguments: (see page 7 of Applicants’ REMARKS dated 08/12/2026).
Applicants argue: “…Each of the points raised by the Examiner under Section 112 have been addressed with appropriate claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection should be withdrawn.
Reply: Applicants' arguments have been considered but are found to be non-persuasive for the following reasons. Examiner continues to maintain the rejection for reasons stated on record (dated 02/12/2026) and additionally for the following reasons. Contrary to applicants’ argument, claim 24 continues to recite “Use of a source of cellulose…” and therefore the rejection is maintained.
Maintained-Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 102 (AIA )
Claims 15-17, 20-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Enriquez A., (US 2023/0279453 A1, priority 03/04/2022; the priority date for instant claims under consideration is deemed 03/03/2023).
Claims 15-17, 20-22 and 24 as interpreted are directed to a process to hydrolyze cellulose into glucose, said process comprising the following steps:- providing a reaction vessel; - providing a source of cellulose into said reaction vessel; wherein said source of cellulose having has a kappa number of less than 10…- providing an inoculum of an organism capable of expressing b-glucanase and b-glucosidase…recovering the supernatant comprising glucose; and wherein delignification results in a cellulose with less than 1% lignin (as in claims 15-17 and 24; also see 112(b) rejections above for claims interpretation); in said process wherein said cellulose source is exposed to an organism at a temperature between 30°C to 40°C (as in claim 20); in said process organism is incubated with said cellulose source for a period of time ranging from 1 to 30 days (as in claim 21); and in said process aqueous medium has a pH of about 5.0 to 9.0 (as in claim 22).
Enriquez A., (US 2023/0279453 A1, priority 03/04/2022) disclose a process to hydrolyze cellulose into glucose (¶ [0052]) and exposing cell supernatant to a bacterium or fungi or yeast or combinations, which converts cellobiose to glucose or ethanol (¶ [0094]), said process comprising the following steps: providing a reaction vessel; providing a source of cellulose into said reaction vessel; wherein said source of cellulose has a kappa number of less than 10 (¶ [0029-0034]), providing an inoculum of an organism capable of expressing b-glucanase and b-glucosidase (Abstract; Fig. 1-6; Fig. 4-5 depicts organism capable of expressing b-glucanase and b-glucosidase; and entire document); in said process wherein said cellulose source is exposed to an organism at a temperature between 30°C to 35°C (¶ [0029-0034]); in said process organism is incubated with said cellulose source for a period of time ranging from 14 to 42 days (¶ [0029-0034]); and in said process aqueous medium has a pH of about 8.0 (¶ [0029-0034]).
Examiner below has reproduced relevant sections from Enriquez A., (US 2023/0279453 A1, priority 03/0/4/2022):
Therefore, the disclosure of Enriquez A., (US 2023/0279453 A1, priority 03/04/2022) anticipate the instant claims 15-17, 20-22 and 24 as written/interpreted.
The applied reference has a common inventors (Enriquez A., Greer J., Weissenberger M., and Ostaszewaski A.,) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Applicants’ have traversed the above 35 USC § 102 (AIA ) with the following arguments: (see page 8 of Applicants’ REMARKS dated 08/12/2026).
Applicants’ argue: “Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. § 102 Claim 15-17, 20-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2023/0279453 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Enriquez A). The Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection.”
Reply: Applicants' arguments have been considered but are found to be non-persuasive for the following reasons. Examiner continues to maintain the rejection for reasons stated on record (dated 02/12/2026) and additionally for the following reasons. Contrary to applicants’ argument, applicants’ have not provided any reason/substantial arguments for the traversal of the rejection. Examiner continues to maintain that the source of cellulose in the cited reference and the instant invention are one and the same. Enriquez A., (US 2023/0279453 A1, priority 03/04/2022) also discloses use of “MCA cellulose” with low Kappa number and low lignin content and b-glucosidase enzyme activity in the claimed process (¶ [0050-0052], [0069] & Fig. 5; reproduced below):
New-Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 103
Necessitated by claim amendments
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 15-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable and as obvious over Kansoh et al., (Polymer Degradation and Stability, 1999, Vol. 63: 273-278), and as evidenced by or in view of Jun et al., (Indian J. Microbiol., 2009, Vol. 49:188-195) and Weissenberger et al., (US 11,982,051 B2; priority 06/18/2021) and further in view of Ghosh et al., (Green Chem., 2019, Vol. 21: 1648-1659) and Narendranath NV., (US 2019/0062791 A1).
Regarding Claims 15-18, 20-22 and 24 Kansoh et al., (Polymer Degradation and Stability, 1999, Vol. 63: 273-278) disclose a process to hydrolyze cellulose into glucose, said process comprising the following steps:- providing a reaction vessel; providing a source of cellulose into said reaction vessel; wherein said cellulose is a delignified cellulosic pulp obtained from bagasse by chemical treatment and reference source of cellulose having has a kappa number 8.9 and 8.2, (Exp no. IV and V; see Table 2, page 275); providing an inoculum of an organism capable of expressing b-glucanase and b-glucosidase and said reference organism capable of expressing b-glucanase and b-glucosidase is Trichoderma reesei (Col. 2, 2. Materials and Methods, 2.1; Table Cellulase activity, in the art cellulases obtained from Trichoderma reesei, comprises b-glucanase and b-glucosidase; see evidentiary reference Jun et al., provided below); in said process wherein said reference cellulose source is exposed to an organism at a temperature between 25°C to 40°C and pH 4.0-8.0, and enzyme activity (Table 5, page 276; effect of pH Fig, 2, page 277; temperature range and enzyme activity Fig. 3, page 278; b-glucosidase activity ¶ 3.5, page 277; Enzyme assay for determination of reducing sugars in the supernatants produced from cellulose hydrolysis, ¶ 2.7, page 274); in said process the reference organism is incubated with said cellulose source for a period of time of 6 days/~196 hours (Fig. 1, page 276); and in said reference process aqueous medium has a pH of about 4.0 to 8.0 (effect of pH Fig, 2, page 277).
Jun et al., (Indian J. Microbiol., 2009, Vol. 49:188-195) disclose and provide evidence that Trichoderma reesei produced cellulases are composed of different groups of enzymes which act together in a synergistic fashion to solubilize/hydrolyze cellulose to cellobiose and further to monomers/glucose; and is a mixture of b-glucanase and b-glucosidase (see Introduction, ¶ 2 page 188; Determination of enzyme activities, ¶ 3, page 189; Fig. 1-3, pages 192-193; and entire document).
Weissenberger et al., (US 11,982,051 B2; priority 06/18/2021) disclose and provide evidence that delignification process of cellulose fibres results in removal of greater than 90 wt% of lignin and hemicellulose and cellulose with Kappa number ranging from 1-3.5 (see Abstract; Fig. 7; and entire document); the kappa number of the resulting cellulose is below 10, preferably the kappa number of the resulting cellulose is below 4.2 (col. 7, lines 20-23) and thus provide teaching, suggestion and motivation for the use of cellulose having a kappa number of less than 10 as a suitable and preferred substrate.
The disclosures of Kansoh et al., (Polymer Degradation and Stability, 1999, Vol. 63: 273-278), and as evidenced by or in view of Jun et al., (Indian J. Microbiol., 2009, Vol. 49:188-195) and Weissenberger et al., (US 11,982,051 B2; priority 06/18/2021) as applied to claims 15-18, 20-22 and 24 is described in the rejection above. However, Kansoh et al., Jun et al., and Weissenberger et al., are silent regarding wherein said an organism capable of expressing one or more b-glucanases and b-glucosidase is Pseudomonas protegens (as in claim 19).
Regarding claim 19, the following reference, Ghosh et al., (Green Chem., 2019, Vol. 21: 1648-1659), discloses a non-pathogenic Pseudomonas fluorescens; in the art Pseudomonas fluorescens is also known as Pseudomonas protegens; said reference discloses non-pathogenic Pseudomonas fluorescens is able degrade/hydrolyze cellulose and hemicellulose in lignin biomass by producing cellulase and generating glucose including having the activities of endoglucanase and b-glucosidase (see Abstract; Fig. 1, page 1652; col. 1, ¶ 2, page 1656; Conclusions; and entire document), and thus said reference provides teaching, suggestion and motivation to skilled artisan for the use of non-pathogenic Pseudomonas fluorescens able to produce cellulases having the activities of endoglucanase and b-glucosidase in the claimed process of hydrolyzing cellulose.
Regarding claim 15-18 and 24, the following reference Narendranath NV., (US 2019/0062791 A1) also provides teaching, suggestion and motivation for production of ethanol from cellulosic pulp having a Kappa number 15-100, preferably 35-75 (¶ [0016]) by enzymatic hydrolysis of polysaccharides and oligosaccharides in cellulose pulp to monosaccharides/glucose; said enzymes are of b-glucanase and b-glucosidase (¶ [0036]) and microbial biomass comprising Trichoderma sp., (¶ [0050-0052]; also see Abstract; Fig. 1-6; Claims; and entire document).
As such, disclosure of strategy and methods for the use of “non-pathogenic Pseudomonas fluorescens that is able degrade/hydrolyze cellulose and hemicellulose in lignin biomass by producing cellulases and generating glucose including having the activities of endoglucanase and b-glucosidase”; as in claim 19 of the instant invention and production of ethanol, such as that of references of Ghosh et al., and Narendranath NV., teaching the advantages of said modifications, clearly suggests to a skilled artisan to modify the teachings of Kansoh et al., Jun et al., and Weissenberger et al., and incorporate the structural and functional elements of Ghosh et al., and Narendranath NV., in the claimed method for increased production of glucose and ethanol as claimed in the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success, since the use of organisms producing b-glucanase and b-glucosidase and method of use for the production of ethanol are well known in the art.
Regarding specific choice of temperature, pH, incubation time are also provided/suggested in the combination of references, and examiner also takes the position the following position; optimization of known variables, and the examiner finds support in: MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]: A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation Generally, differences in temperature, pH, incubation time optimizing temperature, pH, incubation time etc., will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation". As to optimization results, a patent will not be granted based upon the optimization of result effective variables when the optimization is obtained through routine experimentation unless there is a showing of unexpected results which properly rebuts the prima facie case of obviousness. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,276,205 USPQ 215,219 (CCPA 1980). See also In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990), and In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more methods each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition or third method to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980)”. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Therefore, claims 15-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable and as obvious over Kansoh et al., (Polymer Degradation and Stability, 1999, Vol. 63: 273-278), and as evidenced by or in view of Jun et al., (Indian J. Microbiol., 2009, Vol. 49:188-195) and Weissenberger et al., (US 11,982,051 B2; priority 06/18/2021) and further in view of Ghosh et al., (Green Chem., 2019, Vol. 21: 1648-1659) and Narendranath NV., (US 2019/0062791 A1).
Applicants’ have traversed the above 35 USC § 103 following claim amendments with the following arguments (see page 9 of Applicants’ REMARKS dated 08/12/2026).
Applicants’ argue: “…Independent claims 15 and 24 are amended herein to further recite that delignification results in a cellulose with less than 1% lignin. Support for this amendment is found on page 21 of the specification.
Reply: Applicants' arguments have been considered but are found to be non-persuasive for the following reasons. Examiner continues to maintain the rejection for reasons stated on record (dated 02/12/2026) and additionally for the following reasons. Contrary to applicants’ argument, Narendranath NV., (US 2019/0062791 A1) also provides teaching, suggestion and motivation for production of ethanol from cellulosic pulp having a lignin content 0.1% (¶ [0059] TABLE 1; reproduced below) and enzymatic hydrolysis of polysaccharides and oligosaccharides in cellulose pulp to monosaccharides/glucose; said enzymes are of b-glucanase and b-glucosidase (¶ [0036]) and microbial biomass comprising Trichoderma sp., (¶ [0050-0052]; also see Abstract; Fig. 1-6; Claims; and entire document):
Furthermore, Abou-Yousef et al., (Industrial Crops and Products, 2005, Vol. 21: 337-341) provide evidence that multi-stage bagasse pulping by using alkali/Caro’s acid method results in significantly higher delignification (see Abstract; Fig. 1-3, page 339; and entire document). Examiner also notes that the instant invention utilizes “MCA cellulose” obtained by Caro’s acid method (see Fig. 2-3; pages 15-17, Detailed Description of the Invention of the instant specification).
Summary of Pending Issues
The following is a summary of issues pending in the instant application.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 15-17, 20-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Enriquez A., (US 2023/0279453 A1, priority 03/04/2022; the priority date for instant claims under consideration is deemed 03/03/2023).
Claims 15-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable and as obvious over Kansoh et al., (Polymer Degradation and Stability, 1999, Vol. 63: 273-278), and as evidenced by or in view of Jun et al., (Indian J. Microbiol., 2009, Vol. 49:188-195) and Weissenberger et al., (US 11,982,051 B2; priority 06/18/2021) and further in view of Ghosh et al., (Green Chem., 2019, Vol. 21: 1648-1659) and Narendranath NV., (US 2019/0062791 A1).
Claims 1-14 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions.
Conclusion
None of the claims are allowable. Claims 15-22 and 24 are rejected for the reasons identified in the Rejections and Summary sections of this Office Action. Applicants must respond to the rejections in each of the sections in this Office Action to be fully responsive for prosecution.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Regarding filing an After Final amendment, Applicants are directed to MPEP 714.13, which states:
II. ENTRY NOT A MATTER OF RIGHT
It should be kept in mind that applicant cannot, as a matter of right, amend any finally rejected claims, add new claims after a final rejection (see 37 CFR 1.116) or reinstate previously canceled claims. Except where an amendment merely cancels claims, adopts examiner suggestions, removes issues for appeal, or in some other way requires ONLY A CURSORY REVIEW by the examiner (e.g., typographical errors), compliance with the requirement of a showing under 37 CFR 1.116(b)(3) is expected in all amendments after final rejection. An affidavit or other evidence filed after a final rejection, but before or on the same date of filing an appeal, may be entered upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why the affidavit or other evidence is necessary and was not earlier presented in compliance with 37 CFR 1.116(e). See 37 CFR 41.33 and MPEP § 1206 for information on affidavit or other evidence filed after appeal. (Examiner's emphasis) If more than a cursory review is required, Applicants are referred to CFR §1.114.
/GANAPATHIRAMA RAGHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652