DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 0 7/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested applicant insert a comma, “,” after “claim #”. Appropriate correction is required. Specification Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure. A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives. Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps. Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1 -15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 FILLIN "Insert either \“(a)(1)\” or \“(a)(2)\” or both. If paragraph (a)(2) of 35 U.S.C. 102 is applicable, use form paragraph 7.15.01.aia, 7.15.02.aia or 7.15.03.aia where applicable." \d "[ 2 ]" (a)(1) as being FILLIN "Insert either—clearly anticipated—or—anticipated—with an explanation at the end of the paragraph." \d "[ 3 ]" anticipated by DE102008031379A1 -Schmitt (hereinafter “Schmitt). Regarding claim 1 , Schmitt discloses a method of detecting faulty sample cartridges ( elates to a method and a device for welding a closure device onto the spout of a container using ultrasound , para. [0001]; a ny major defects on the edge of the canister are detected and the canister is treated as reject , para. [0009], lines 6-7; t his ensures that the containers that have successfully passed the welding process and subsequent inspection can be delivered , para. [0014], lines 7-8) , the method comprising: obtaining one or more data sets of one or more monitored operational parameters during a manufacturing process of a sample cartridge ( the distance traveled by the sonotrode during the welding process is recorded using a displacement measuring system and compared with specified target values. The starting position of the sonotrode or ultrasonic welder is recorded before the welding process, and the final position is measured after the specified welding time has elapsed. The waypoint for activating the welding device is set to zero as the starting point , para. [0012]; t he result of the comparison is usually that the sonotrode has traveled a distance within a defined upper and lower limit during the welding process and has therefore complied with a tolerance value, and the weld can be considered successful and tight within the specified parameters , para. [0013]; and the device includes measuring elements and evaluation and control electronics to carry out the welding process in a defined manner and to check the result in relation to the welding path , para. [0021], lines 1-3 ) , wherein the operational parameters are associated with operation of manufacturing equipment performing the manufacturing process; Schmitt discloses: comparing the one or more data sets to a baseline data set of corresponding parameters of the manufacturing process associated with acceptable sample cartridges ( the container can be appropriately marked in a suitable form of procedure, whereby the recorded distance of the welding process is linked with further information, for example the time of the welding process and the specified welding parameters, and printed on the container. This allows for automated and reliable recording that the container marked in this way has been correctly welded to the closure device after completion of the welding process. This ensures that the containers that have successfully passed the welding process and subsequent inspection can be delivered. Any defects in the weld that may be detected later cannot be attributed to the welding process itself, but must have arisen during the subsequent transport or use of the containers , para. [0014], lines 1-10) ; Schmitt discloses: and identifying a faulty sample cartridge based on a variance of the one or more data sets of the monitored operational parameters from the baseline data set ( the container can be appropriately marked in a suitable form of procedure, whereby the recorded distance of the welding process is linked with further information, for example the time of the welding process and the specified welding parameters, and printed on the container. This allows for automated and reliable recording that the container marked in this way has been correctly welded to the closure device after completion of the welding process. This ensures that the containers that have successfully passed the welding process and subsequent inspection can be delivered. Any defects in the weld that may be detected later cannot be attributed to the welding process itself, but must have arisen during the subsequent transport or use of the containers , para. [0014], lines 1-10) . Regarding claim 2 , Schmitt discloses wherein identifying a faulty sample cartridge is based on the monitored operational parameters being outside a range of acceptable operational values of the parameter associated with approved sample cartridges ( the container can be appropriately marked in a suitable form of procedure, whereby the recorded distance of the welding process is linked with further information, for example the time of the welding process and the specified welding parameters, and printed on the container ; automated and reliable recording that the container marked in this way has been correctly welded to the closure device after completion of the welding process. This ensures that the containers that have successfully passed the welding process and subsequent inspection can be delivered. Any defects in the weld that may be detected later cannot be attributed to the welding process itself, but must have arisen during the subsequent transport or use of the containers , para. [0014], lines 1-10) . Regarding claim 3 , Schmitt discloses wherein the range of acceptable values varies with respect to time during the manufacturing process ( the most favorable setting ranges for welding parameters such as contact pressure, amplitude of the ultrasonic waves and welding time for each welding process are determined through elaborate welding tests , para. [0003], lines 6-8 ; he container can be appropriately marked in a suitable form of procedure, whereby the recorded distance of the welding process is linked with further information, for example the time of the welding process and the specified welding parameters , para. [0014], lines 1-4 ) . Regarding claim 4 , Schmitt discloses wherein identifying a faulty sample cartridge is based on the monitored operational parameter diverging from a characteristic profile of the operational parameters associated with approved sample cartridges (a ny major defects on the edge of the canister are detected and the canister is treated as reject , para. [0009], lines 6-7; the most favorable setting ranges for welding parameters such as contact pressure, amplitude of the ultrasonic waves and welding time for each welding process are determined through elaborate welding tests , para. [0003], lines 6-8; the container can be appropriately marked in a suitable form of procedure, whereby the recorded distance of the welding process is linked with further information, for example the time of the welding process and the specified welding parameters, and printed on the container , para. [0014], lines 1-4 ) . Regarding claim 5 , Schmitt discloses wherein the manufacturing process is welding of cartridge components by a welder that engages forcibly against the cartridge components and applies ultrasonic energy to form a weld that seals the components together ( the device includes measuring elements and evaluation and control electronics to carry out the welding process in a defined manner and to check the result in relation to the welding path ; these components should also be designed to be usable in an explosive atmosphere , para. [0021]; the inventive method for welding a closure device onto the spout of a container using ultrasound is implemented here by an advantageous device which is formed on the one hand from the device for fixing the spout and on the other hand from the ultrasonic welder , para. [0018], lines 1-3) . Regarding claim 6 , Schmitt discloses wherein the manufacturing process is welding of a lid apparatus to a cartridge body to form a weld that seals the lid apparatus to the cartridge body (a method for welding a closure device onto the spout of a container using ultrasound , para. [0009], lines 1-2; a canister filled with methanol is to be welded shut with a sealing device, para. [0016], line 4 ) . Regarding claim 7 , Schmitt discloses wherein the operational parameters comprise any of : power, travel, distance, force, amplitude, frequency, or any combination thereof (to check the welding result, the distance traveled by the sonotrode during the welding process is recorded using a displacement measuring system and compared with specified target values , para. [0012], lines 1-3) . Regarding claim 8 , Schmitt discloses wherein the operational parameter comprise power supplied to the welder during welding (t he device includes measuring elements and evaluation and control electronics to carry out the welding process in a defined manner and to check the result in relation to the welding path , para. [0021], lines 1-3; only the equipment and electrical operating resources required for the execution of the process need to be selected . Para. [0017], lines 3-4; that is, the energy used for the device from electricity can generate the rate of the energy transferred or used ; also, Schmitt discloses a motor-driven gear, para. [0028], line 3 ) . Regarding claim 9 , Schmitt discloses wherein the operational parameter comprises a travel distance of the welder during welding ( the distance traveled by the sonotrode during the welding process is recorded using a displacement measuring system and compared with specified target values , para. [0012], lines 1-3) . Regarding claim 10 , Schmitt discloses wherein the operational parameter comprises a force applied by the welder during welding ( the ultrasonic welding device is applied under defined pressur e, para. [0010], line 1; the contact pressure used, the amplitude of the ultrasonic waves and the time of the welding process are determined in advanc e, para. [0010], lines 4-5 ; further, Schmitt discloses the screwing process is carried out with a set torque , para. [0009], line 5 ) . Regarding claim 11 , Schmitt discloses wherein the operational parameter comprises an amplitude of ultrasound applied during welding (t he contact pressure used, the amplitude of the ultrasonic waves and the time of the welding process are determined in advanc e, para. [0010], lines 4-5) . Regarding claim 12 , Schmitt discloses wherein the operational parameter comprises a frequency of ultrasound applied during welding ( a high-frequency generator to produce the ultrasonic frequency is required, para. [0003], line 1; also, Schmitt discloses a motor-driven gear, para. [0028], line 3) . Regarding claim 13 , Schmitt discloses wherein the manufacturing process is heat sealing of the cartridge lid by a heat-sealing mechanism that presses a film across the lid and applies heat thereby heat sealing the film atop the lid (I t is known to use ultrasonic welding for joining plastics, whereby the heat required for the welding process , para. [0002], lines 1-2; a method for welding a closure device onto the spout of a container using ultrasound , para. [0009], lines 1-2; a canister filled with methanol is to be welded shut with a sealing device , para. [0016], line 4) . Regarding claim 14 , Schmitt discloses wherein identifying faulty cartridges comprises automatically identifying faulty cartridges based on the one or more data sets obtained from an automated control unit controlling operation of the manufacturing equipment, and the method further comprises automatically discarding any faulty cartridge identified (a ny major defects on the edge of the canister are detected and the canister is treated as reject , para. [0009], lines 6-7; f ollowing this inspection, the container can be appropriately marked in a suitable form of procedure, whereby the recorded distance of the welding process is linked with further information, for example the time of the welding process and the specified welding parameters, and printed on the container. This allows for automated and reliable recording that the container marked in this way has been correctly welded to the closure device after completion of the welding process , para. [0014], lines 1-6) . Regarding claim 15 , Schmitt discloses wherein comparing utilizes an algorithm developed from a supervised model of corresponding operational parameters associated with a plurality of acceptable sample cartridges and corresponding operational parameters associated with a plurality of faulty cartridges (a ny major defects on the edge of the canister are detected and the canister is treated as reject , para. [0009], lines 6-7; f ollowing this inspection, the container can be appropriately marked in a suitable form of procedure, whereby the recorded distance of the welding process is linked with further information, for example the time of the welding process and the specified welding parameters, and printed on the container. This allows for automated and reliable recording that the container marked in this way has been correctly welded to the closure device after completion of the welding process , para. [0014], lines 1-6 ; further, t his ensures that the containers that have successfully passed the welding process and subsequent inspection can be delivered , para. [0014], lines 7-8 ) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT LENORA A. ABEL whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8270 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 7:00am-4:00pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael Marcheschi can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-1374 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /L.A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1799 /MICHAEL L HOBBS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799