DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felton et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0119210) in view of Lintz (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0179150).
Regarding claim 1: Felton discloses a vehicle comprising:
a grid of a plurality of motorized tiles configured to enable movement of a plurality of bins within the vehicle, see for example (Figs. 6, 8-14, 45, & 68; via shown different arranged bins in sections 1200), wherein each of the motorized tiles is configured to support one of the bins (Figs. 6-10; via the shown arranged and secured bins), and
a robotic arm disposed at a vehicle, wherein the robotic arm is configured to load or unload a bin of the plurality of bins to or from the grid of the plurality of motorized tiles, and wherein the robotic arm is attached to a linear actuator that is configured to move the robotic arm in a linear direction relative to the grid of the motorized tiles and within a vehicle interior portion, see for example (Figs. 6, 14, 21, & 25; via 1400 moving in linear actuator across the vehicle; further intended use limitations of the “robotic arm” not given much patentable weight).
Felton does not disclose the robotic arm to be positioned at the vehicle rear portion. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Felton’s robotic arm position to be at the rear portion of the vehicle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Felton does not suggest the amended claims filed on 11/10/2025 referring to the tiles to comprise a plurality of rollers configured to facilitate movement of the bins and gates configured to open and close to allow movement or prevent movement of the bins. However, Lintz discloses similar vehicle with tiles comprising gates to hold the bins securely in place along with similar rolling mechanism to facilitate movement of the bins, see for example (Figs. 1-5; via locking device 21; “each pallet 9 is equipped with a locking device 21” and “coupling elements 20 are provided in each loading plane 7, 8…is coupled temporarily to the pallets 9 located on the corresponding loading plane 7, 8”; noting rotating chains are holding and coupled to the pallets 9; “outer chain strand in each case is coupled temporarily to the pallets 9”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Felton’s tiles/pallets by having gripping and rolling mechanism, as suggested by Lintz, in order to come up with an improvement in the transport vehicle with ballets full of loads, see for example (paragraphs 0005-0009).
Regarding claim 2: wherein the robotic arm comprises a plurality of movable elements coupled to one another via one or more joints defining one or more degrees of freedom of movement for each of the plurality of movable elements, see for example (Figs. 14, 25-29 & 43-44; via the shown moving and pivoting members 1132, 1133, 1135).
Regarding claim 3: wherein the robotic arm exhibits seven degrees of freedom of movement (Figs. 43-44; via the shown different pivoting points 132, 1133, and 1135 will result on pivoting the moving arm in multiple degrees).
Regarding claim 4: wherein a movable element of the plurality of movable elements comprises an end effector that is configured to engage with the bin to load or unload the bin, see for example (Figs. 43-44 & 63; via the shown end portion of the pivoting elements).
Regarding claim 5: wherein the end effector comprises a gripper (Figs.14, 17, 19 & 42-45; the bins appear to be gripped and moved).
Regarding claim 6: wherein the robotic arm further comprises a proximal end and a distal end, and wherein the end effector is disposed at the distal end, see for example (Figs.14, 17, 19 & 42-45; the gripping or pushing member located at the distal ends).
Regarding claim 7: wherein the proximal end is attached to the linear actuator (Figs. 6, 14, 21, & 25, the ends of the moving mechanisms attached to the linear actuator to be able to move across the vehicle).
Regarding claim 8: Felton may not suggest that the linear actuator is disposed at the vehicle rear portion. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Felton’s linear actuator to be disposed at the rear portion of the vehicle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 9: further comprising a processor configured to provide first instructions to the robotic arm to load or unload the bin, see for example (Fig. 4; via processor 215).
Regarding claim 10: wherein the first instructions comprise an engagement instruction to engage with the bin, and wherein the robotic arm is configured to receive the engagement instruction from the processor and engage with the bin, see for example (Fig. 4; via processors 2015, 1015, and 9015; further, intended use limitations of the claimed processor not given much patentable weight).
Regarding claim 11: wherein the first instructions comprise a bin location and a predetermined path on the grid of the plurality of motorized tiles to load or unload the bin, see for example, (Fig. 4; inherently bin location and paths and distances controlled via sensors 9025, 1025, and 2025).
Regarding claim 12: wherein the processor is further configured to provide second instructions to one or more motorized tiles of the plurality of motorized tiles to open or close tile gates associated with the one or more motorized tiles to enable loading or unloading of the bin (intended use limitations of the claimed processor, not given much patentable weight; it is though noted that Fig. 4 shows multiple instructions to one or more moving bins via network 230).
Regarding claim 13: wherein the processor is configured to provide the second instructions when the robotic arm engages with the bin, (intended use limitations of the claimed processor, not given much patentable weight; Figs. 5-9).
Regarding claim 14: wherein the first instructions further comprise a slide instruction to slide the bin on the one or more motorized tiles to load or unload the bin, and wherein the robotic arm is configured to receive the slide instruction and slide the bin on the one or more motorized tiles (intended use limitations of the processor and/or robotic arm; not given much patentable weight).
Regarding claim 15: Felton discloses a method comprising:
obtaining, by a processor, a movement plan to move a bin from a source location to a destination location in a vehicle, see for example (Fig. 4; via processor 215, 9015, 1015, and 2015 to control the movements of the bins);
generating, by the processor, first instructions for one or more motorized tiles of a plurality of motorized tiles based on the movement plan, wherein a grid of the plurality of motorized tiles is configured to enable movement of a plurality of bins within the vehicle based on the first instructions, see for example (Fig. 36; via controller 1005 to identify and move containers); and
generating, by the processor, second instructions for a robotic arm based on the movement plan, wherein the robotic arm is disposed at a vehicle rear portion, wherein the robotic arm is configured to move the bin from the source location to the destination location on the grid of the plurality of motorized tiles based on the second instructions, and wherein the robotic arm is attached to a linear actuator that is configured to move the robotic arm in a linear direction relative to the grid of the motorized tiles and within a vehicle interior portion, see for example (Fig. 36; via controller 1005 to identify and move different containers equivalent to the claimed “second instructions”); and
transmitting, by the processor, the first instructions and the second instructions to the one or more motorized tiles and the robotic arm to move the bin from the source location to the destination location, see for example (Fig. 54; via the shown different operated positions 1504).
Felton does not suggest the amended claims filed on 11/10/2025 referring to the tiles to comprise a plurality of rollers configured to facilitate movement of the bins and gates configured to open and close to allow movement or prevent movement of the bins. However, Lintz discloses similar vehicle with tiles comprising gates to hold the bins securely in place along with similar rolling mechanism to facilitate movement of the bins, see for example (Figs. 1-5; via locking device 21; “each pallet 9 is equipped with a locking device 21” and “coupling elements 20 are provided in each loading plane 7, 8…is coupled temporarily to the pallets 9 located on the corresponding loading plane 7, 8”; noting rotating chains are holding and coupled to the pallets 9; “outer chain strand in each case is coupled temporarily to the pallets 9”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Felton’s tiles/pallets by having gripping and rolling mechanism, as suggested by Lintz, in order to come up with an improvement in the transport vehicle with ballets full of loads, see for example (paragraphs 0005-0009).
Regarding claim 16: wherein the second instructions comprise an engagement instruction to engage with the bin, and wherein the robotic arm is configured to receive the engagement instruction from the processor and engage with the bin, see for example (Figs. 36-44; via the shown process of moving the containers across the vehicle).
Regarding claim 17: wherein the second instructions comprise a bin location and a predetermined path on the grid of the plurality of motorized tiles to load or unload the bin (Fig. 36; via 1061 “container identification sensor(s)).
Regarding claim 18: wherein the first instructions comprise instructions to open or close tile gates associated with the one or more motorized tiles to enable loading or unloading of the bin, see for example (Fig. 30; via S1920 & S1930 open/close stop gates).
Regarding claim 19: wherein the second instructions further comprise a slide instruction to slide the bin on the one or more motorized tiles to load or unload the bin, and wherein the robotic arm is configured to receive the slide instruction and slide the bin on the one or more motorized tiles (Figs. 30-36; inherently the moved bins across the vehicle are due to instructions form the controller).
Regarding claim 20: Felton discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in a distributed computing system, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereupon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:
obtain a movement plan to move a bin from a source location to a destination location in a vehicle, see for example (Fig. 4; via processor 215, 9015, 1015, and 2015 to control the movements of the bins);
generate first instructions for one or more motorized tiles of a plurality of motorized tiles based on the movement plan based on the movement plan, wherein a grid of the plurality of motorized tiles is configured to enable movement of a plurality of bins within the vehicle based on the first instructions, see for example (Fig. 36; via controller 1005 to identify and move containers); and
generate second instructions for a robotic arm based on the movement plan, wherein the robotic arm is disposed at a vehicle rear portion, wherein the robotic arm is configured to move the bin from the source location to the destination location on the grid of the plurality of the motorized tiles, and wherein the robotic arm is attached to a linear actuator that is configured to move the robotic arm in a linear direction relative to the grid of the motorized tiles and within a vehicle interior portion, see for example (Fig. 36; via controller 1005 to identify and move different containers equivalent to the claimed “second instructions”; further intended use limitations of the “robotic arm” not given much patentable weight); and
transmit the first instructions and the second instructions to the one or more motorized tiles and the robotic arm to move the bin from the source location to the destination location, see for example (Fig. 54; via the shown different operated positions 1504).
Felton does not suggest the amended claims filed on 11/10/2025 referring to the tiles to comprise a plurality of rollers configured to facilitate movement of the bins and gates configured to open and close to allow movement or prevent movement of the bins. However, Lintz discloses similar vehicle with tiles comprising gates to hold the bins securely in place along with similar rolling mechanism to facilitate movement of the bins, see for example (Figs. 1-5; via locking device 21; “each pallet 9 is equipped with a locking device 21” and “coupling elements 20 are provided in each loading plane 7, 8…is coupled temporarily to the pallets 9 located on the corresponding loading plane 7, 8”; noting rotating chains are holding and coupled to the pallets 9; “outer chain strand in each case is coupled temporarily to the pallets 9”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Felton’s tiles/pallets by having gripping and rolling mechanism, as suggested by Lintz, in order to come up with an improvement in the transport vehicle with ballets full of loads, see for example (paragraphs 0005-0009).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely sole on the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As set forth above the Office believes that the amended claims of using tiles “configured to” support bins using plurality of gates and rollers is old and know in the art as suggested by Lintz ‘150 (Figs. 1-5; via locking device 21; “each pallet 9 is equipped with a locking device 21” and “coupling elements 20 are provided in each loading plane 7, 8…is coupled temporarily to the pallets 9 located on the corresponding loading plane 7, 8”; noting rotating chains are holding and coupled to the pallets 9; “outer chain strand in each case is coupled temporarily to the pallets 9”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731