DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hammack et al. US 2009/0217200 (“Hammack”).
Hammack discloses:
1. An industrial motor drive for controlling operation of a motor in an industrial operation (e.g., Fig. 1 #112), the industrial motor drive comprising:
a human interface module comprising a display (e.g., Figs. 3-4) and a keypad (e.g., [0061]: “characters typed by a user”); and
processing circuitry (e.g., Fig. 20) configured to:
receive a first input entered by a human via the keypad of the human interface module, the first input comprising a first alphanumeric character (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402”);
cause a first list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module based on the first alphanumeric character, the first list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive comprising a first number of control parameters (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402, an auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 is displayed including suggestions or binding hints of identifiers corresponding to control module that can be bound to the pump graphic 202b”, [0074]: “in response to the user typing the character ‘F’, the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 presents control module identifier values beginning with the character ‘F’”);
receive a second input entered by the human via the keypad of the human interface module, the second input comprising a second alphanumeric character (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402”, “when a user begins typing” connotes multiple character inputs by the user);
cause a second list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module based on the second alphanumeric character, the second list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive comprising a second number of control parameters that is less than the first number of control parameters (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402, an auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 is displayed including suggestions or binding hints of identifiers corresponding to control module that can be bound to the pump graphic 202b”, [0061]: “generating auto-suggestion listings of items that are progressively filtered based on characters typed by a user”, [0074]: “For example, as shown in Fig. 4, in response to the user typing the character ‘F’, the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 presents control module identifier values beginning with the character ‘F’”, when the user types in a second character, for example ‘I’, the list presented in drop-down list 406 will be narrowed down to display only those values beginning with the characters ‘FI’);
cause a suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module based on both the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3);
receive a third input entered by the human via the keypad of the human interface module, the third input selecting the suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then receives a user-selected control module identifier value in response to the user selecting one of the values in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406”);
receive a fourth input entered by the human via the keypad of the human interface module, the fourth input comprising a modification of the suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Figs. 5-6, [0046]-[0051]: “In the illustrated example of Fig. 6, a user uses the explorer user interface 506 to rename the control module identifier value from the FIC101 identifier to LI444 to rename the control module 120 to LI444”); and
control operation of the motor in the industrial operation in accordance with the modification of the suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., [0034]-[0035]).
2. The industrial motor drive of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to identify the suggested control parameter based on the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character by accessing an electronic data sheet associated with the industrial motor drive and comparing the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character to an available set of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive as defined by the electronic data sheet associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3, [0004]: “A plurality of values for the property are then retrieved based on the plurality of values being associated with the binding type”).
3. The industrial motor drive of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to identify the suggested control parameter based on the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character by accessing a namespace and comparing the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character to an available set of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive as defined by the namespace (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3, [0004]: “A plurality of values for the property are then retrieved based on the plurality of values being associated with the binding type”).
4. The industrial motor drive of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause a second suggested control parameter (e.g., Figs. 3-4, multiple suggested values are listed in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406) associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module based on both the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3).
6. The industrial motor drive of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause a modifications menu associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module, the modifications menu comprising a fourth list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive that have previously been modified via the human interface module (e.g., [0026]: “track changes to property values of configuration elements (e.g., graphic elements)..any subsequent instantiation of those configuration elements or methods will include the updated property values”).
8. A device for interfacing with an industrial motor drive that controls operation of a motor in an industrial operation (e.g., Fig. 1 #112), the device comprising:
a display (e.g., Figs. 3-4);
a keypad (e.g., [0061]: “characters typed by a user”);
a communications interface (e.g., Fig. 1); and
processing circuitry (e.g., Fig. 20) configured to:
receive a first input entered by a human via the keypad, the first input comprising a first alphanumeric character (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402”);
cause a first list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display based on the first alphanumeric character, the first list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive comprising a first number of control parameters (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402, an auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 is displayed including suggestions or binding hints of identifiers corresponding to control module that can be bound to the pump graphic 202b”, [0074]: “in response to the user typing the character ‘F’, the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 presents control module identifier values beginning with the character ‘F’”);
receive a second input entered by the human via the keypad, the second input comprising a second alphanumeric character (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402”, “when a user begins typing” connotes multiple character inputs by the user);
cause a second list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display based on the second alphanumeric character, the second list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive comprising a second number of control parameters that is less than the first number of control parameters (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402, an auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 is displayed including suggestions or binding hints of identifiers corresponding to control module that can be bound to the pump graphic 202b”, [0061]: “generating auto-suggestion listings of items that are progressively filtered based on characters typed by a user”, [0074]: “For example, as shown in Fig. 4, in response to the user typing the character ‘F’, the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 presents control module identifier values beginning with the character ‘F’”, when the user types in a second character, for example ‘I’, the list presented in drop-down list 406 will be narrowed down to display only those values beginning with the characters ‘FI’);
cause a suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display based on both the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3);
receive a third input entered by the human via the keypad, the third input selecting the suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then receives a user-selected control module identifier value in response to the user selecting one of the values in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406”);
receive a fourth input entered by the human via the keypad, the fourth input comprising a modification of the suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Figs. 5-6, [0046]-[0051]: “In the illustrated example of Fig. 6, a user uses the explorer user interface 506 to rename the control module identifier value from the FIC101 identifier to LI444 to rename the control module 120 to LI444”); and
send the modification of the suggested control parameter to the industrial motor drive via the communications interface such that the industrial motor drive controls operation of the motor in the industrial operation in accordance with the modification of the suggested control parameter (e.g., [0034]-[0035]).
9. The device of claim 8, wherein the device for interfacing with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Fig. 1 #112) is connectable to and removable from the industrial motor drive (e.g., Fig. 1 #102).
11. The device of claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to identify the suggested control parameter based on the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character by:
accessing an electronic data sheet associated with the industrial motor drive and comparing the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character to an available set of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive as defined by the electronic data sheet associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3, [0004]: “A plurality of values for the property are then retrieved based on the plurality of values being associated with the binding type”); or
accessing a namespace and comparing the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character to an available set of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive as defined by the namespace (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3, [0004]: “A plurality of values for the property are then retrieved based on the plurality of values being associated with the binding type”).
12. The device of claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause a second suggested control parameter (e.g., Figs. 3-4, multiple suggested values are listed in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406) associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module based on both the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3).
15. A method for controlling a motor in an industrial operation, the method comprising:
receiving a first input entered by a human via a keypad (e.g., [0061]: “characters typed by a user”) of a human interface module that interfaces with an industrial motor drive that controls operation of the motor in the industrial operation, the first input comprising a first alphanumeric character (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402”);
causing a first list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via a display of the human interface module based on the first alphanumeric character, the first list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive comprising a first number of control parameters (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402, an auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 is displayed including suggestions or binding hints of identifiers corresponding to control module that can be bound to the pump graphic 202b”, [0074]: “in response to the user typing the character ‘F’, the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 presents control module identifier values beginning with the character ‘F’”);
receiving a second input entered by the human via the keypad of the human interface module, the second input comprising a second alphanumeric character (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402”, “when a user begins typing” connotes multiple character inputs by the user);
causing a second list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module based on the second alphanumeric character, the second list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive comprising a second number of control parameters that is less than the first number of control parameters (e.g., [0044]: “As shown in Fig. 4, when a user begins typing in the control module identifier field 402, an auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 is displayed including suggestions or binding hints of identifiers corresponding to control module that can be bound to the pump graphic 202b”, [0061]: “generating auto-suggestion listings of items that are progressively filtered based on characters typed by a user”, [0074]: “For example, as shown in Fig. 4, in response to the user typing the character ‘F’, the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 presents control module identifier values beginning with the character ‘F’”, when the user types in a second character, for example ‘I’, the list presented in drop-down list 406 will be narrowed down to display only those values beginning with the characters ‘FI’);
causing a suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module based on both the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3);
receiving a third input entered by the human via the keypad of the human interface module, the third input selecting the suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then receives a user-selected control module identifier value in response to the user selecting one of the values in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406”);
receiving a fourth input entered by the human via the keypad of the human interface module, the fourth input comprising a modification of the suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Figs. 5-6, [0046]-[0051]: “In the illustrated example of Fig. 6, a user uses the explorer user interface 506 to rename the control module identifier value from the FIC101 identifier to LI444 to rename the control module 120 to LI444”); and
controlling operation of the motor in accordance with the modification of the suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., [0034]-[0035]).
16. The method of claim 15, comprising identifying the suggested control parameter based on the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character by:
accessing an electronic data sheet associated with the industrial motor drive; and comparing the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character to an available set of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive as defined by the electronic data sheet associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3, [0004]: “A plurality of values for the property are then retrieved based on the plurality of values being associated with the binding type”).
17. The method of claim 15, comprising identifying the suggested control parameter based on the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character by accessing a namespace and comparing the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character to an available set of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive as defined by the namespace (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3, [0004]: “A plurality of values for the property are then retrieved based on the plurality of values being associated with the binding type”).
18. The method of claim 15, comprising causing a second suggested control parameter (e.g., Figs. 3-4, multiple suggested values are listed in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406) associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module based on both the first alphanumeric character and the second alphanumeric character (e.g., Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammack in view of Swarappa IN 1279/CHE/2014 A.
While Hammack discloses the modification menu of claim 19 as noted above with respect to claim 6, Hammack does not explicitly disclose a favorites menu as recited in claims 5 and 19.
Swarappa (in combination with Hammack) discloses:
5. The industrial motor drive of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause a favorites menu associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module, the favorites menu comprising a third list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive that have been selected via the keypad more than a threshold number of times (e.g., pg. 7 of Swarappa: “said display control module configured to identify a user-interest-screen as a user-favorite-screen only when said number of times a particular user-interest-screen is viewed by the user exceeds a predefined threshold value”).
19. The method of claim 15, comprising:
causing a favorites menu associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module, the favorites menu comprising a third list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive that have been selected via the keypad more than a threshold number of times (e.g., pg. 7 of Swarappa: “said display control module configured to identify a user-interest-screen as a user-favorite-screen only when said number of times a particular user-interest-screen is viewed by the user exceeds a predefined threshold value”); and
causing a modifications menu associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module, the modifications menu comprising a fourth list of control parameters associated with the industrial motor drive that have previously been modified via the human interface module (e.g., [0026] of Hammack: “track changes to property values of configuration elements (e.g., graphic elements)..any subsequent instantiation of those configuration elements or methods will include the updated property values”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammack with Swarappa in order to save the operator time and energy by presenting only those menu options which have a high likelihood of being selected again due to their previous selection by the operator.
Claims 7, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammack in view of Usui US 11,947,338.
Hammack does not explicitly disclose receiving a voice command from a mobile device associated with the human and then causing a second suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface based on the voice command. However, this claimed voice command input function is just considered to be an extension of the keypad input function recited in claim 1. A voice input is considered to be an obvious variation of a keypad input, and is ubiquitous in the arts. The remainder of the features recited in claim 7 are identical to those recited in claim 1, with the exception that they are derived from a voice input versus a keypad input.
Usui discloses a user entering textual data using a keyboard, touchscreen, or speech-to-text program in the context of an industrial automation device (e.g., col. 22 lines 37-67).
In total, Usui (in combination with Hammack) discloses:
7. The industrial motor drive of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive a voice command from a mobile device associated with the human (e.g., col. 22 lines 37-67 of Usui);
cause a second suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human via the display of the human interface module based on the voice command (e.g., Hammack: Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3);
receive a fifth input entered by the human via the keypad of the human interface module, the fifth input selecting the second suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then receives a user-selected control module identifier value in response to the user selecting one of the values in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406”);
receive a sixth input entered by the human via the keypad of the human interface module, the sixth input comprising a modification of the second suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Hammack: Figs. 5-6, [0046]-[0051]: “In the illustrated example of Fig. 6, a user uses the explorer user interface 506 to rename the control module identifier value from the FIC101 identifier to LI444 to rename the control module 120 to LI444”); and
control operation of the motor in the industrial operation in accordance with the modification of the second suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Hammack: [0034]-[0035]).
13. The device of claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive a voice command from a mobile device associated with the human (e.g., col. 22 lines 37-67 of Usui);
cause a second suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human based on the voice command (e.g., Hammack: Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3);
receive a second voice command from the mobile device associated with the human, the second voice command (e.g., col. 22 lines 37-67 of Usui) comprising a modification of the second suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Hammack: Figs. 5-6, [0046]-[0051]: “In the illustrated example of Fig. 6, a user uses the explorer user interface 506 to rename the control module identifier value from the FIC101 identifier to LI444 to rename the control module 120 to LI444”); and
control operation of the motor in the industrial operation in accordance with the modification of the second suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Hammack: [0034]-[0035]).
20. The method of claim 15, comprising:
receiving a voice command from a mobile device associated with the human (e.g., col. 22 lines 37-67 of Usui);
causing a second suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive to be presented to the human based on the voice command (e.g., Hammack: Figs. 3-4, [0044]: “The control module identifiers in the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 are filtered and provided based on the binding type specified in the binding type field 306 of Fig. 3”, [0074]: “The graphic editor 1006 then presents the filtered control module identifier values via the auto-suggestion drop-down list 406 of Fig. 4”, in addition to the alphanumeric characters input by the user, the suggested values in the list are on the binding type specified in Fig. 3);
receiving a second voice command from the mobile device associated with the human, the second voice command (e.g., col. 22 lines 37-67 of Usui) comprising a modification of the second suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Hammack: Figs. 5-6, [0046]-[0051]: “In the illustrated example of Fig. 6, a user uses the explorer user interface 506 to rename the control module identifier value from the FIC101 identifier to LI444 to rename the control module 120 to LI444”); and
controlling operation of the motor in the industrial operation in accordance with the modification of the second suggested control parameter associated with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Hammack: [0034]-[0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammack with Usui to allow for voice input in addition to keypad input, since voice input is easier for the operator and also more efficient, compared to having to type something in on a keypad.
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammack in view of Braun US 2006/0026672.
Although Hammack discloses a workstation 102 functioning as the interface device for connecting to the motor drive 112 (Fig. 1), and although USB interfaces are ubiquitous to workstations, Hammack nevertheless does not explicitly disclose a USB interface for connecting the interface device with the motor drive per claim 10, or that the device for interfacing with the industrial motor drive is integral to the industrial motor drive per claim 14.
Braun (in combination with Hammack) discloses:
10. The device of claim 9, wherein the device for interfacing with the industrial motor drive (e.g., Fig. 5 #68) is connectable to and removable from the industrial motor drive (e.g., Fig. 5 #12,62) via a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface (e.g., [0031], [0052]).
14. The device of claim 8, wherein the device for interfacing with the industrial motor drive is integral to the industrial motor drive (e.g., Fig. 5 #62,70, [0036], [0049]: “user interfaces 70 that are integrally provided with the motor drives 62”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammack with Braun in order to be able to provide a ready-to-use, integral motor drive interface that does not required the use of external cabling or connections.
Conclusion
/RYAN A JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116
01/27/26