DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as indefinite because a term of degree is used without sufficient certainty to measure the degree.
Claims 11-12 and 14 recite a “relatively large width.” MPEP 2173.05(b) indicates, “f the specification does not provide some standard for measuring that degree, a determination must be made as to whether one of ordinary skill in the art could nevertheless ascertain the scope of the claim (e.g., a standard that is recognized in the art for measuring the meaning of the term of degree) . . . the phrase[]s “relatively shallow,”. . [was] held to be indefinite because the specification lacked some standard for measuring the degrees intended.” Here, the use of relatively large is not given additional description within the specification, and as such does not provide sufficient certainty to determine the scope of this claim term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morton, et. al. (US2023261331A1), in view of Takase, et. al. (US2021148766A1), and Yasuda, et. al. (US2020395589A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Morton teaches a battery module (high voltage battery module 100, shortened to HVBM) comprising: a plurality of battery cells arranged in a first direction (a plurality of cells 166); a plate member provided on a first side of the plurality of battery cells (upper cell carrier 165); and a flexible printed board (PCB 161). Morton at [0109 – 118], Fig. 1C. Morton teaches a control 153, but not that this control unit is a separate portion of the battery pack. Id.
Fig. 1c of Morton.
Morton also teaches this upper cell carrier 165, upon which the PCB, upper flex board 164, balancing flex 163, and dielectric separator 162 are disposed, comprises a recess which accepts a protruding portion of the PCB 161; however, PCB does not teach a control board “on the plate member” per se, because this control component 153 is disposed within the PCB 161 (even if this appears to contact the upper cell carrier 165).
Morton does not teach “a control board provided on the plate member, wherein the control board has a connector portion, the flexible printed board has a connection portion, and the flexible printed board and the control board are electrically connected to each other when the connection portion is connected to the connector portion, in a state in which the connection portion is not connected to the connector portion, at least a portion of the connection portion of the flexible printed board is located between the control board and the plate member at a region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side, and the flexible printed board further has a tab that is provided in a vicinity of the connection portion and that protrudes from the region overlapping with the control board.”
Takase teaches a device 10, having a housing section 14 on an upper surface 12A, having a flexible printed circuit board 30, wherein the FPC is provided with a detection lines 33 which connect to a control unit, wherein “[0059] On the other hand, the pair of detection lines 33 are connected to a control unit, which controls the device 10 and is not illustrated, at a rear end portion (not illustrated) of the FPC 30. Takase at [0053 59]. The FPC is fixed by an upper member (an elastic member 50) that maintains a distance of the FPC from the control unit and the sensor unit 20, wherein “[0004] In this type of device, the distance between the temperature sensor and the secondary battery is likely to vary due to the distance tolerance between the temperature detecting plate and the secondary battery. In some cases, the temperature sensor may not be located near the secondary battery and the temperature cannot be detected or the temperature sensor may be compressed between the temperature detecting plate and the secondary battery. [0005] A technology for suppressing a decrease in detection accuracy of a sensor by contact between the sensor and a detection target with an appropriate pressure is disclosed herein.” This stability of the connection is demonstrated by the pathway between the control unit, via the FPC 30, and the sensor suite 40. Id. at [0059], Fig. 1.
This indicates that Takase reads upon “wherein the control board has a connector portion [the detection lines 33 in the vicinity of the control board, and an implied connection portion; see below discussion], the flexible printed board has a connection portion [connection portions 37], and the flexible printed board and the control board are electrically connected to each other [“[0060] the temperature sensor 40 is electrically connected to the pair of detection lines 33 by connecting the pair of lead members 42 to the pair of connection portions 37 on the FPC 30 , respectively, with soldering,” indicating the connection portions 37, detection lines 33 carry electric current] when the connection portion is connected to the connector portion, in a state in which the connection portion is not connected to the connector portion [this is met by any electrical connection port, given this describes how, for example, a 2-pin connector functions], at least a portion of the connection portion of the flexible printed board is located between the control board and the plate member at a region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side [while this is not directly shown, because the connection is described it is strongly implied a connection portion similar to that of the connection portions 37 is present].”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery module of Morton, such that it comprises the control board separate from the flexible printed board as in Takase, and the connection portion of Takase, such that “the control board has a connector portion, the flexible printed board has a connection portion, and the flexible printed board and the control board are electrically connected to each other when the connection portion is connected to the connector portion, in a state in which the connection portion is not connected to the connector portion, at least a portion of the connection portion of the flexible printed board is located between the control board and the plate member at a region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side,” because Takase teaches this provides a stable connection pathway between the control unit, the sensors, and the FPC itself. Takase at [0059].
However, modified Morton is silent as to “and the flexible printed board further has a tab that is provided in a vicinity of the connection portion and that protrudes from the region overlapping with the control board.”
Yasuda teaches a busbar module comprising a main flexible printed board 21, wherein branch portions 22 extend from the longitudinal edges of the main strip along the stacking direction, wherein a 212 connector is attached to an end portions of the main strip 21 via voltage detection lines 211. Yasuda at [0034 – 37, 43 - 48]. Yasuda teaches power cable housing portions 36. Id. These housing portions, alongside the housing spaces 33, permit the branch portions to act as tabs which connect with electrodes, and the power cables to connect to the FPC. See id. This indicates a benefit to utilizing
This reads upon “and the flexible printed board further has a tab that is provided in a vicinity of the connection portion and that protrudes from the region overlapping with the control board” because this structure “suppress[es] peeling,” as well as allowing the branch portions to allow the circuit bodies 20 to be either self-supported or supported, preventing disconnection and ensuring stable connection. See id. at [0042].
Fig. 1, 6, 8A of Yasuda.
Yasuda teaches “The invention can provide a circuit body capable of suppressing peeling between a conductor layer of a wiring pattern and a protective layer, a connection structure of such a circuit body and a board, and a busbar module using such a circuit body.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery module of Morton such that the flexible printed board further has a tab that is provided in a vicinity of the connection portion and that protrudes from the region overlapping with the control board as in Yasuda, such that the plate member of modified battery module of Morton comprises housing spaces 33, cable housing portions 36, and such that these contain the extending branches 22 and cables therein formed as projecting portions partially recessed (as in Takase) to accept the FPC, because Yasuda teaches this interconnect structure allows for the stable fixation of the branch members to additional components, allows for power cables and/or busbars to meet additional components like busbars, and prevents peeling of the wiring patterns.
Claim 1 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda,.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
Yasuda teaches “In general, flexible circuit boards have a structure that a thin-film conductor layer having prescribed wiring patterns (i.e., circuits) is sandwiched between insulating films and have, in particular, a feature that they can be deformed (e.g., curved) flexibly while their electric characteristics are maintained.” Yasuda at [0003]. Further, Yasuda teaches “[0058] The top metal layer 203 a consists of top wiring patterns 204 a which are part of the above-mentioned plural wiring patterns, top dummy patterns 205 a which are independent of the top wiring patterns 204 a , and the above-mentioned connection portions 24 which are independent of the top wiring patterns 204 a.” This reads upon “wherein the flexible printed board has a film layer and a conductor portion formed on the film layer, and the conductor portion includes a wiring portion electrically connected to the control board, and a dummy portion that is formed on or in a vicinity of the tab and that is not electrically connected to the control board”
Claim 2 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
Takase teaches the plate member (upper cell carrier 165) is provided with a recess (see Fig. 1C) that accepts a protrusion of the PCB. However, this is not guiding a folding line of the flexible printed board.
Yasuda teaches housing spaces 33, and power cable housing portions 36, wherein these housing sections contain the branch portions 22, each having a folding line in the forms of voltage detection lines 211). Yasuda at Fig. 1, 10A-B.
Fig. 10A – B of Yasuda.
These read upon “wherein the plate member is provided with a recess or a projection that is each formed in a vicinity of the tab and that each guides a folding line of the flexible printed board [as previously modified, the .”
Claim 3 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
Takase teaches “[0129] (2) In the above embodiments, the first plate member 60 is mounted on the back surface of the FPC 30 , 330 . However, the configuration is not limited thereto and a protection film may be bonded to the back surface 30 B of the FPC 30 or an insulating film disposed on a lower surface of the FPC may be increased in a thickness thereof.”
Takase teaches the plate member (upper cell carrier 165) is provided with a recess (see Fig. 1C) that accepts a protrusion of the PCB. However, this is not guiding a folding line of the flexible printed board.
Yasuda teaches housing spaces 33, and power cable housing portions 36, wherein these housing sections contain the branch portions 22, each having a folding line in the forms of voltage detection lines 211). Yasuda at Fig. 1, 10A-B.
Yasuda teaches “In general, flexible circuit boards have a structure that a thin-film conductor layer having prescribed wiring patterns (i.e., circuits) is sandwiched between insulating films and have, in particular, a feature that they can be deformed (e.g., curved) flexibly while their electric characteristics are maintained.” Yasuda at [0003]. Further, Yasuda teaches “[0058] top dummy patterns 205 a which are independent of the top wiring patterns 204 a , and the above-mentioned connection portions 24 which are independent of the top wiring patterns 204 a. The bottom metal layer 203 b consists of bottom wiring patterns 204 b which are the remaining part of the above-mentioned plural wiring patterns and bottom dummy patterns 205 b which are independent of the bottom wiring patterns 204 b . Corresponding ones of the top wiring patterns 204 a and the bottom wiring patterns 204 b are electrically connected to each other in the thickness direction of the circuit body 20 through a corresponding via hole 206.”
These together within modified Morton read upon “the flexible printed board has a film layer (a lower insulating film / protection film) and a conductor portion (“thin film conductor layer”) formed on the film layer, the conductor portion includes a wiring portion electrically connected to the control board (top wiring patterns 204 a), and a dummy portion that is formed on or in a vicinity of the tab and that is not electrically connected to the control board (top dummy patterns 205 which are independent of the top wiring patterns), and the plate member is provided with a recess or a projection that is each formed in a vicinity of the tab and that each guides a folding line of the flexible printed board (as previously modified, the FPC is disposed within a projecting portion).
Claim 4 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
Yasuda teaches a branch portion 22, having a notch portion (see the notch formed by the gap between the branch and the main boards). Yasuda at Fig. 10A. This reads upon “wherein the flexible printed board is provided with a notch portion that is formed in a vicinity of a root of the tab and that guides a cutting line [interpreted as including a general direction of extension, given that the line in which the PCB is cut is arbitrary” of the flexible printed board.”
Claim 5 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
Takase teaches “[0129] (2) In the above embodiments, the first plate member 60 is mounted on the back surface of the FPC 30 , 330 . However, the configuration is not limited thereto and a protection film may be bonded to the back surface 30 B of the FPC 30 or an insulating film disposed on a lower surface of the FPC may be increased in a thickness thereof.”
Takase teaches the plate member (upper cell carrier 165) is provided with a recess (see Fig. 1C) that accepts a protrusion of the PCB. However, this is not guiding a folding line of the flexible printed board.
Yasuda teaches housing spaces 33, and power cable housing portions 36, wherein these housing sections contain the branch portions 22, each having a folding line in the forms of voltage detection lines 211). Yasuda at Fig. 1, 10A-B.
Yasuda teaches “In general, flexible circuit boards have a structure that a thin-film conductor layer having prescribed wiring patterns (i.e., circuits) is sandwiched between insulating films and have, in particular, a feature that they can be deformed (e.g., curved) flexibly while their electric characteristics are maintained.” Yasuda at [0003]. Further, Yasuda teaches “[0057] top dummy patterns 205 a which are independent of the top wiring patterns 204 a , and the above-mentioned connection portions 24 which are independent of the top wiring patterns 204 a. The bottom metal layer 203 b consists of bottom wiring patterns 204 b which are the remaining part of the above-mentioned plural wiring patterns and bottom dummy patterns 205 b which are independent of the bottom wiring patterns 204 b . Corresponding ones of the top wiring patterns 204 a and the bottom wiring patterns 204 b are electrically connected to each other in the thickness direction of the circuit body 20 through a corresponding via hole 206.”
These together within modified Morton read upon “the flexible printed board has a film layer (a lower insulating film / protection film) and a conductor portion (“thin film conductor layer”) formed on the film layer, the conductor portion includes a wiring portion electrically connected to the control board (top wiring patterns 204 a), and a dummy portion that is formed on or in a vicinity of the tab and that is not electrically connected to the control board (top dummy patterns 205 which are independent of the top wiring patterns).”
Yasuda teaches a branch portion 22, having a notch portion (see the notch formed by the gap between the branch and the main boards). Yasuda at Fig. 10A. This reads upon “wherein the flexible printed board is provided with a notch portion that is formed in a vicinity of a root of the tab and that guides a cutting line [interpreted as including a general direction of extension, given that the line in which the PCB is cut is arbitrary] of the flexible printed board.”
Claim 6 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
As previously discussed, Yasuda teaches a branch portion 22, having a notch portion (see the notch formed by the gap between the branch and the main boards). Yasuda at Fig. 10A. Takase teaches the plate member (upper cell carrier 165) is provided with a recess (see Fig. 1C) that accepts a protrusion of the PCB. However, this is not guiding a folding line of the flexible printed board.
Yasuda teaches housing spaces 33, and power cable housing portions 36, wherein these housing sections contain the branch portions 22, each having a folding line in the forms of voltage detection lines 211). Yasuda at Fig. 1, 10A-B.
This reads upon “wherein the plate member is provided with a recess or a projection that is each formed in a vicinity of the tab and that each guides a folding line of the flexible printed board, the flexible printed board is provided with a notch portion that is formed in a vicinity of a root of the tab and that guides a cutting line [interpreted as including a general direction of extension, given that the line in which the PCB is cut is arbitrary] of the flexible printed board.”
Claim 7 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
As previously discussed, Yasuda teaches a branch portion 22, having a notch portion (see the notch formed by the gap between the branch and the main boards). Yasuda at Fig. 10A. Takase teaches the plate member (upper cell carrier 165) is provided with a recess (see Fig. 1C) that accepts a protrusion of the PCB. However, this is not guiding a folding line of the flexible printed board.
Yasuda teaches housing spaces 33, and power cable housing portions 36, wherein these housing sections contain the branch portions 22, each having a folding line in the forms of voltage detection lines 211). Yasuda at Fig. 1, 10A-B.
These teach “the flexible printed board has a film layer (protective film) and a conductor portion (the conductors described by Yasuda) formed on the film layer, the conductor portion includes a wiring portion electrically connected to the control board (top wiring patterns 204), and a dummy portion (dummy patterns 205 a, b) that is formed on or in a vicinity of the tab and that is not electrically connected to the control board, the plate member is provided with a recess or a projection that is each formed in a vicinity of the tab (as modified, the housing spaces 33, power cable housing portions 36 protrude at the connecting portions, and are recessed as in Takase) and that each guides a folding line of the flexible printed board, and the flexible printed board is provided with a notch portion that is formed in a vicinity of a root of the tab and that guides a cutting line of the flexible printed board (the notch as shown in Fig. 10A)”
Claim 8 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
Modified Morton teaches the flexible printed board includes a first portion (e.g. the main strip 22 of Yasuda) and a second portion that branches from the first portion (branch portion 22 of Yasuda) and that includes the connection portion (connection portions 37 of Takase, as applied to modified Morton), and the second portion is connected to the control board in an extending direction of the first portion (see Fig. 10A of Yasuda shown above).
Claim 9 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Morton.
Modified Morton teaches a cut-in portion (the gap portion between the branch portion 22, shown in Fig. 10A, and the main strip 21) along the extending direction of the first portion is formed between the first portion and the second portion of the flexible printed board.
Claim 10 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Morton.
Modified Morton teaches the second portion of the flexible printed board has an increased-width portion at a side portion contiguous to the connection portion (this includes the widening portion shown in Fig. 8A above, wherein a thin portion of the branch 22 widens), the increased-width portion having a relatively large width.
Claim 11 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Morton.
Modified Morton teaches a cut-in portion along the extending direction of the first portion is formed between the first portion and the second portion of the flexible printed board (the space formed between main strip 21 and branch 22 shown in Fig. 10A), and the second portion of the flexible printed board has an increased-width portion at a side portion contiguous to the connection portion (see Fig. 8A, wherein a thin portion of branch 22 widens), the increased-width portion having a relatively large width.
Claim 12 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Morton.
Modified Morton teaches the second portion of the flexible printed board includes a first side portion (connection portion 24 of Yasuda) formed along the extending direction of the first portion and a second side portion substantially orthogonal to the first side portion (busbar 25 of Yasuda, extending in a right angle direction and in the extending direction).
Fig. 8A of Yasuda.
Claim 13 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
Modified Morton teaches a cut-in portion along the extending direction of the first portion is formed between the first portion and the second portion of the flexible printed board (the space formed between main strip 21 and branch 22 shown in Fig. 10A), and the second portion of the flexible printed board has an increased-width portion at a side portion contiguous to the connection portion (see Fig. 8A, wherein a thin portion of branch 22 widens), the increased-width portion having a relatively large width.
Modified Morton teaches the second portion of the flexible printed board includes a first side portion (connection portion 24 of Yasuda) formed along the extending direction of the first portion and a second side portion substantially orthogonal to the first side portion (busbar 25 of Yasuda, extending in a right angle direction and in the extending direction).
Fig. 8A of Yasuda.
Claim 14 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
Modified Morton teaches the flexible printed board has a film layer (insulating film of Yasuda) and a conductor portion formed on the film layer (the conductive portion as described in Yasuda), the conductor portion includes a wiring portion electrically connected to the control board (voltage detection lines 211 of Yasuda, see also voltage detection lines 33 of Takas), and a dummy portion (dummy patterns 205 a, b) that is formed on or in a vicinity of the tab and that is not electrically connected to the control board, the flexible printed board includes a first portion (main strip 21) and a second portion that branches from the first portion (branch portion 22) and that includes the connection portion (see, e.g., connection portion 24). However, modified Morton does not teach the control board is connected to the branch portion 22.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify the battery module of modified Morton, such that the second portion is connected to the control board in an extending direction of the first portion (see Fig. 8A, 10A-B), because Takase teaches this control board is at the rear end of an extending FPC 30, and this modification is consistent with the prior modification disposing the tab such that it is overlapping with the control board.
Claim 15 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
Modified Morton teaches the plate member (upper cell carrier 165 of Takase) is provided with a recess or a projection (as modified, this is within the housing spaces 33 of Yasuda, recessed as in Takase) that is each formed in a vicinity of the tab and that each guides a folding line of the flexible printed board (guides a folding line here being an arbitrary direction), the flexible printed board includes a first portion (main strip 21 of Yasuda) and a second portion (branch portion 22 of Yasuda) that branches from the first portion and that includes the connection portion (e.g., connection portion 24 of Yasuda, connection portion 37 of Takase). However, modified Morton does not teach the control board is connected to the branch portion 22.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify the battery module of modified Morton, such that the second portion is connected to the control board in an extending direction of the first portion (see Fig. 8A, 10A-B), because Takase teaches this control board is at the rear end of an extending FPC 30, and this modification is consistent with the prior modification disposing the tab such that it is overlapping with the control board.
Claim 16 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
Modified Morton teaches the flexible printed board is provided with a notch portion that is formed in a vicinity of a root of the tab (the gap between main strip 21 and branch portion 22 shown in Fig. 10A) and that guides a cutting line of the flexible printed board, the flexible printed board includes a first portion (main strip 21) and a second portion that branches from the first portion (branch portion 22) and that includes the connection portion (connection portion 24; see also the relative location of the connection portion 37). However, modified Morton does not teach the control board is connected to the branch portion 22.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify the battery module of modified Morton, such that the second portion is connected to the control board in an extending direction of the first portion (see Fig. 8A, 10A-B), because Takase teaches this control board is at the rear end of an extending FPC 30, and this modification is consistent with the prior modification disposing the tab such that it is overlapping with the control board.
Claim 17 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Morton.
Modified Morton teaches the flexible printed board has a film (protective film, insulating film of Yasuda) layer and a conductor portion (conductive portion of Yasuda) formed on the film layer, the conductor portion includes a wiring portion electrically connected to the control board (voltage detection portions of 211, see also voltage detection lines 33 of Takase), and a dummy portion (dummy portions 205 a, b of Yasuda) that is formed on or in a vicinity of the tab and that is not electrically connected to the control board, the plate member (upper cell carrier 165 of Takase) is provided with a recess or a projection that is each formed in a vicinity of the tab (as modified, this is the housing spaces 33 of Yasuda, with a recessed portion as in Takase) and that each guides a folding line of the flexible printed board, the flexible printed board is provided with a notch portion that is formed in a vicinity of a root of the tab (the space between main strip 21, branch 22) and that guides a cutting line of the flexible printed board, the flexible printed board includes a first portion (main strip 21) and a second portion that branches from the first portion (branch 22) and that includes the connection portion (see, e.g. connection portion 24, see also connection portions 37 of Takase). However, modified Morton does not teach the control board is connected to the branch portion 22.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify the battery module of modified Morton, such that the second portion is connected to the control board in an extending direction of the first portion (see Fig. 8A, 10A-B), because Takase teaches this control board is at the rear end of an extending FPC 30, and this modification is consistent with the prior modification disposing the tab such that it is overlapping with the control board.
Claim 18 is obvious over Morton, in view of Takase and Yasuda.
Conclusion
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725