DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “the power device is configured to slide over and cover a front side and a back side of the display frame when connected to the AR glasses.” However, it is unclear how the power device can be “configured to slide over…when connected to the AR glasses.” Specifically, if the power device is connected to the AR glasses, it is unclear how it could slide over the display frame. Moreover, it is unclear what structure of the power device is required such that it can be “configured to slide over and cover a front side and a back side of the display frame” as it is unclear what structures would “slide over” the display frame. For the purposes of examination, any power device that covers a portion of a front side and a back side of the display frame when connected to the AR glasses will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claims 12-17 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 11 and failing to cure the deficiencies of the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yahagi et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2020/0343775).
Regarding claim 11, Yahagi teaches an apparatus, comprising:
augmented reality (AR) glasses (100) (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0046-0048) comprising:
a display (119) (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0046-0048);
a display frame (100) housing the display (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0046-0048 and 0052);
a first arm and a second arm (114) each rotatably connected to the display frame (See e.g. Figs. 1, 13, 16, and 19; Paragraphs 0047, 0111-0113, and 0116-0120);
a processor disposed in the first arm (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0046-0058);
a battery (201, 213) electrically coupled to the processor, the battery being disposed in the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 13-19; Paragraphs 0046-0052 and 0111-0120); and
a power device (300, 400) connectable to the AR glasses (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 13-19; Paragraphs 0046-0052 and 0108-0120), wherein:
the power device is configured to slide over and cover a front side and a back side of the display frame when connected to the AR glasses (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120);
the first and second arms are at least partially exposed when the power device is connected to the AR glasses (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120); and
the power device is a rechargeable power device or an inductive power device (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Regarding claim 12, Yahagi teaches the apparatus of claim 11, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that the power device comprises a rechargeable case (400), the rechargeable case comprising: a charging interface; an exterior portion (402); and an interior portion (401) sized shaped to receive the display frame and the display, the first arm and the second arm extendable out from the interior portion and foldable against the exterior portion (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Regarding claim 13, Yahagi teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that the charging interface is positioned inside the rechargeable case (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Regarding claim 14, Yahagi teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that the display frame comprises a nose bridge; and the charging interface comprises a conductive charging interface engageable with the nose bridge (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Regarding claim 15, Yahagi teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that at least one of the display or the display frame comprises charging coils (203); and the charging interface comprises an inductive charging interface engageable with the charging coils (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Regarding claim 16, Yahagi teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that the charging interface is positioned outside the rechargeable case, the charging interface comprising a power connection between the exterior portion and at least one of the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Regarding claim 17, Yahagi teaches the apparatus of claim 11, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that the power device comprises an inductive charging dock, the inductive charging dock comprising a docking station, a wireless charging pad, a mobile phone device, a tablet, or a laptop (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Regarding claim 18, Yahagi teaches a system, comprising:
augmented reality (AR) glasses (100) (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0046-0048) comprising:
a display (119) (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0046-0048);
a display frame (100) housing the display (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0046-0048 and 0052);
a first arm and a second arm (114) each connected to the display frame, the first arm comprising a detachable portion (214) (See e.g. Figs. 1, 13, 16, and 19; Paragraphs 0047, 0111-0113, and 0116-0120);
a battery (201, 213) disposed inside the detachable portion (214) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 13-19; Paragraphs 0046-0052 and 0111-0120); and
a charging device (300, 400) comprising a charging interface sized and shaped to receive the detachable portion when the detachable portion is detached from the first arm (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 13-19; Paragraphs 0046-0052 and 0108-0120).
Regarding claim 19, Yahagi teaches the system of claim 18, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that the second arm comprises: an additional detachable portion; and an additional battery disposed inside the additional detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 13-19; Paragraphs 0046-0052 and 0108-0120).
Regarding claim 20, Yahagi teaches the apparatus of claim 18, as above.
Yahagi further teaches an additional detachable portion interchangeable with the detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 13-19; Paragraphs 0046-0052 and 0108-0120).
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2023/0361601; hereinafter – “Chen”)
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches an apparatus, comprising:
augmented reality (AR) glasses (100, 520) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, and 0057-0059) comprising:
a display (110) (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0018-0021 and 0023-0026);
a display frame (105) housing the display (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0018-0021 and 0023-0026);
a first arm and a second arm (106), each rotatably connected to the display frame (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0018-0021 and 0023-0026);
a processor (not shown) disposed in the first arm (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 5; Paragraphs 0020, 0023, and 0069); and
a battery (not shown) electrically coupled to the processor, the battery being disposed in the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061); and
a power device (340, 378, 402, 404, 406, 504, 506, 522, 524, 530) connectable to the AR glasses (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061), wherein:
the power device is configured to slide over and cover a front side and a back side of the display frame when connected to the AR glasses (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061);
the first and second arms are at least partially exposed when the power device is connected to the AR glasses (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061); and
the power device is a rechargeable power device or an inductive power device (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0048, 0052, 0057, 0059-0060, 0062, and 0064-0066).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 11, as above.
Chen further teaches that the power device comprises a rechargeable case (502, 530), the rechargeable case comprising: a charging interface; an exterior portion; and an interior portion (504) sized shaped to receive the display frame and the display, the first arm and the second arm extendable out from the interior portion and foldable against the exterior portion (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055, 0057-0060, and 0067).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Chen further teaches that the charging interface is positioned inside the rechargeable case (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055, 0057-0060, and 0067).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as above.
Chen further teaches that the display frame comprises a nose bridge; and the charging interface comprises a conductive charging interface engageable with the nose bridge (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055, 0057-0060, and 0067).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as above.
Chen further teaches that at least one of the display or the display frame comprises charging coils (406, 506, 508, 510); and the charging interface comprises an inductive charging interface engageable with the charging coils (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055, 0057-0060, and 0067).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Chen further teaches that the charging interface is positioned outside the rechargeable case, the charging interface comprising a power connection between the exterior portion and at least one of the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055, 0057-0060, and 0067).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 11, as above.
Chen further teaches that the power device comprises an inductive charging dock, the inductive charging dock comprising a docking station, a wireless charging pad, a mobile phone device, a tablet, or a laptop (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055, 0057-0060, and 0067).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches a system, comprising:
augmented reality (AR) glasses (100, 520) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, and 0057-0059) comprising:
a display (110) (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0018-0021 and 0023-0026);
a display frame (105) housing the display (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0018-0021 and 0023-0026);
a first arm and a second arm (106) each connected to the display frame, the first arm comprising a detachable portion (101, 526, 530) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061);
a battery disposed inside the detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061); and
a charging device (340, 378, 402, 404, 406, 504, 506, 522, 524, 530) comprising a charging interface sized and shaped to receive the detachable portion when the detachable portion is detached from the first arm (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches the system of claim 18, as above.
Chen further teaches that the second arm comprises: an additional detachable portion; and an additional battery disposed inside the additional detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 18, as above.
Chen further teaches an additional detachable portion interchangeable with the detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061).
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kan et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2021/0389605; hereinafter – “Kan”).
Regarding claim 11, Kan teaches an apparatus, comprising:
augmented reality (AR) glasses (100, 520) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraph 0028) comprising:
a display (111) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraph 0030);
a display frame (130) housing the display (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraphs 0032-0034);
a first arm and a second arm (140), each rotatably connected to the display frame (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraphs 0036-0044);
a processor (170) disposed in the first arm (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraphs 0039, 0048, and 0050-0053); and
a battery (150) electrically coupled to the processor, the battery being disposed in the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraphs 0039-0040 and 0052); and
a power device (160, 20) connectable to the AR glasses (See e.g. Figs. 1-13; Paragraphs 0040-0047, 0052-0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101), wherein:
the power device is configured to slide over and cover a front side and a back side of the display frame when connected to the AR glasses (See e.g. Figs. 1-13; Paragraphs 0040-0047, 0052-0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101);
the first and second arms are at least partially exposed when the power device is connected to the AR glasses (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061); and
the power device is a rechargeable power device or an inductive power device (See e.g. Figs. 1-13; Paragraphs 0040-0047, 0052-0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 12, Kan teaches the apparatus of claim 11, as above.
Kan further teaches that power device comprises a rechargeable case (20) comprising a charging interface (230); an exterior portion (212A); and an interior portion (212B) sized shaped to receive a display frame (130) and a display (110), a first arm (140L) and a second arm (140R) extendable out from the interior portion (212B) and foldable against the exterior portion (212A) (See e.g. Figs. 4-13; Paragraphs 0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 13, Kan teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Kan further teaches that the charging interface is positioned inside the rechargeable case (See e.g. Figs. 4-13; Paragraphs 0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 14, Kan teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as above.
Kan further teaches that the display frame comprises a nose bridge (84); and the charging interface comprises a conductive charging interface engageable with the nose bridge (See e.g. Figs. 4-13; Paragraphs 0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 15, Kan teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as above.
Kan further teaches that at least one of the display or the display frame comprises charging coils (230); and the charging interface comprises an inductive charging interface engageable with the charging coils (See e.g. Figs. 4-13; Paragraphs 0040, 0061-0062, 0096, and 0108-0109).
Regarding claim 16, Kan teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Kan further teaches that the charging interface is positioned outside the rechargeable case, the charging interface comprising a power connection between the exterior portion and at least one of the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Figs. 4-13; Paragraphs 0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 17, Kan teaches the apparatus of claim 11, as above.
Kan further teaches that the power device comprises an inductive charging dock, the inductive charging dock comprising a docking station, a wireless charging pad, a mobile phone device, a tablet, or a laptop (See e.g. Figs. 4-13; Paragraphs 0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 18, Kan teaches a system, comprising:
augmented reality (AR) glasses (100, 520) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraph 0028) comprising:
a display (111) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraph 0030);
a display frame (130) housing the display (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraphs 0032-0034);
a first arm and a second arm (140) each connected to the display frame, the first arm comprising a detachable portion (150) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061);
a battery (150) disposed inside the detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraphs 0039-0040 and 0052); and
a charging device (160) comprising a charging interface sized and shaped to receive the detachable portion when the detachable portion is detached from the first arm (See e.g. Figs. 1-13; Paragraphs 0040-0047, 0052-0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 19, Kan teaches the system of claim 18, as above.
Kan further teaches that the second arm comprises: an additional detachable portion; and an additional battery disposed inside the additional detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-13; Paragraphs 0040-0047, 0052-0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 20, Kan teaches the apparatus of claim 18, as above.
Kan further teaches an additional detachable portion interchangeable with the detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-13; Paragraphs 0040-0047, 0052-0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Claim(s) 11-14 and 16-20 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kallman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,900,720; hereinafter – “Kallman”).
Regarding claim 11, Kallman teaches an apparatus, comprising:
augmented reality (AR) glasses (38) (See e.g. Fig. 4; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22) comprising:
a display (32, 34) (See e.g. Fig. 4; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22);
a display frame (58, 60, 90) housing the display (See e.g. Fig. 4; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22);
a first arm (44) and a second arm (46), each rotatably connected to the display frame (See e.g. Fig. 4; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22);
a processor (12, 20, 30) disposed in the first arm (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 4; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 20; C. 6, L. 7-62; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22); and
a battery (16, 18) electrically coupled to the processor, the battery being disposed in the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Figs. 1-4; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62); and
a power device (26, 124) connectable to the AR glasses (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67), wherein:
the power device is configured to slide over and cover a front side and a back side of the display frame when connected to the AR glasses (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67);
the first and second arms are at least partially exposed when the power device is connected to the AR glasses (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67); and
the power device is a rechargeable power device or an inductive power device (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67).
Regarding claim 12, Kallman teaches the apparatus of claim 11, as above.
Kallman further teaches that the power device comprises a rechargeable case (110), the rechargeable case comprising: a charging interface (116, 118); an exterior portion; and an interior portion sized shaped to receive the display frame and the display, the first arm and the second arm extendable out from the interior portion and foldable against the exterior portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67).
Regarding claim 13, Kallman teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Kallman further teaches that the charging interface is positioned inside the rechargeable case (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67).
Regarding claim 14, Kallman teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as above.
Kallman further teaches that the display frame comprises a nose bridge (84); and the charging interface comprises a conductive charging interface (106, 108, 116, 118) engageable with the nose bridge (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67).
Regarding claim 16, Kallman teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Kallman further teaches that the charging interface (124) is positioned outside the rechargeable case, the charging interface comprising a power connection between the exterior portion and at least one of the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67).
Regarding claim 17, Kallman teaches the apparatus of claim 11, as above.
Kallman further teaches that the power device comprises an inductive charging dock (112), the inductive charging dock comprising a docking station, a wireless charging pad, a mobile phone device, a tablet, or a laptop (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67).
Regarding claim 18, Kallman teaches a system, comprising:
augmented reality (AR) glasses (38) (See e.g. Fig. 4; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22) comprising:
a display (32, 34) (See e.g. Fig. 4; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22);
a display frame (58, 60, 90) housing the display (See e.g. Fig. 4; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22);
a first arm (44) and a second arm (46), each connected to the display frame, the first arm comprising a detachable portion (16, 18, 44a, 46a) (See e.g. Fig. 4; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22);
a battery (16, 18) disposed inside the detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-4; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22); and
a charging device (26, 124) comprising a charging interface sized and shaped to receive the detachable portion when the detachable portion is detached from the first arm (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67).
Regarding claim 19, Kallman teaches the system of claim 18, as above.
Kallman further teaches that the second arm comprises: an additional detachable portion; and an additional battery disposed inside the additional detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-4; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22).
Regarding claim 20, Kallman teaches the apparatus of claim 18, as above.
Kallman further teaches an additional detachable portion interchangeable with the detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-4; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 9, L. 12 – C. 11, L. 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2023/0361601; hereinafter – “Chen”) in view of Tussy (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2015/0016035).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a wearable system, comprising:
a head-mountable device (HMD) (100, 520) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, and 0057-0059) comprising:
a display (110) (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0018-0021 and 0023-0026);
a display frame (105) housing the display (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0018-0021 and 0023-0026);
an arm (106) connected to the display frame (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0018-0021 and 0023-0026), wherein the arm comprises a detachable portion (530) (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraph 0059);
a processor (not shown) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 5; Paragraphs 0020, 0023, and 0069); and
a battery (not shown) electrically coupled to the processor (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061); and
a power supply (340, 378, 402, 404, 406, 504, 506, 522, 524, 530) connectable to the battery of the HMD when the HMD is worn, wherein the power supply is connectable to the battery of the HMD via a magnetic attachment interface (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0053, 0057, and 0059-0068).
Chen further teaches that the battery can be detached from the arm (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061), but fails to explicitly disclose that the battery is disposed in the detachable portion.
However, Tussy teaches an accessory for a wearable computer comprising a head-mountable device (200) comprising a display (210) in a display frame, an arm (220) connected to the display frame, wherein the arm comprises a detachable portion (100), a processor (502), and a battery (116) electrically coupled to the processor, the battery disposed in the detachable portion, and a power supply (133, 135) connectable to the battery of the HMD when the HMD is worn (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0030-0031, 0037-0043, 0048-0050, and 0053-0062).
Tussy teaches this battery disposed in the detachable portion “to provide an ability to extend the battery life of a wearable computer without degrading comfort” (Paragraph 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable system of Chen such that the battery is disposed in the detachable portion as in Tussy “to provide an ability to extend the battery life of a wearable computer without degrading comfort,” as taught by Tussy (Paragraph 0010), since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various, separable elements involves only routine skill in the art, In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961); Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 1, as above.
Chen further teaches that the magnetic attachment interface is position in at least one of the arm (106) or a nose bridge (105) of the display frame (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, and 0057-0059).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 1, as above.
Chen further teaches a power connection (101, 526) positioned at an arm tip region of the arm (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 5; Paragraphs 0025 and 0059).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 3, as above.
Chen further teaches that the power supply comprises a clip-on battery connectable to the power connection (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 3, as above.
Chen further teaches that the power supply comprises: a rechargeable battery (524, 526, 530) positionable against a neck or head of a user; and a lanyard (530) connecting the rechargeable battery to the power connection (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 3, as above.
Chen further teaches that the arm comprises a first arm, the power connection comprises a first power connection (101, 526), and the arm tip comprises a first arm tip, the wearable system further comprising: a second arm connected to the display frame; and a second power connection (101, 526) positioned at a second arm tip region of the second arm, wherein: the power connection comprises a first conductive power connection on the arm; and the second power connection comprises a second conductive power connection on the second arm (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 5; Paragraphs 0025 and 0059).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 1, as above.
Chen further teaches that the magnetic attachment interface comprises a first magnet positioned on or within the arm; and a second magnet positioned on or within the power supply (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0030-0053, 0057, and 0060-0061).
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 7, as above.
Chen further teaches that the second magnet mates with the first magnet when the arm is folded against the power supply (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0036 and 0057-0058).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 8, as above.
Chen further teaches that the first magnet and the second magnet are configured to secure an article of clothing between the first magnet and the second magnet when the first magnet mates with the second magnet (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0036 and 0057-0058).
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 6, as above.
Chen further teaches that the power supply further comprises: a rechargeable battery pack (524, 526, 530); and a tether (530) electrically coupling the rechargeable battery pack to the first arm and the second arm (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraph 0059).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yahagi.
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches a system, comprising:
augmented reality (AR) glasses (100, 520) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, and 0057-0059) comprising:
a display (110) (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0018-0021 and 0023-0026);
a display frame (105) housing the display (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0018-0021 and 0023-0026);
a first arm and a second arm (106) each connected to the display frame, the first arm comprising a detachable portion (101, 526, 530) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061);
a battery disposed inside the detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061); and
a charging device (340, 378, 402, 404, 406, 504, 506, 522, 524, 530) comprising a charging interface sized and shaped to receive the detachable portion when the detachable portion is detached from the first arm (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061).
In the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner notes that while Chen teaches a charging device sized and shaped to receive the detachable portion, Chen fails to explicitly disclose that the charging device receives only the detachable portion when it is detached from the first arm.
However, Yahagi teaches a wearable device comprising an augmented reality (AR) glasses (100) (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0046-0048) comprising: a display (119) (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0046-0048); a display frame (100) housing the display (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0046-0048 and 0052); a first arm and a second arm (114) each connected to the display frame, the first arm comprising a detachable portion (214) (See e.g. Figs. 1, 13, 16, and 19; Paragraphs 0047, 0111-0113, and 0116-0120); a battery (201, 213) disposed inside the detachable portion (214) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 13-19; Paragraphs 0046-0052 and 0111-0120); and a charging device (300, 400) comprising a charging interface sized and shaped to receive the detachable portion when the detachable portion is detached from the first arm (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 13-19; Paragraphs 0046-0052 and 0108-0120).
Yahagi teaches this charging device that receives only the detachable portion when it is detached from the first arm “to provide a wearable device that can receive a supply of power required for driving the device in a state in which the wearable device is worn and used, and therefore, causes less trouble for a user when using the wearable device” (Paragraph 0015).
Therefore, even if Chen did not disclose a system reading on the claims, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen such that the charging device receives only the detachable portion when it is detached as in Yahagi “to provide a wearable device that can receive a supply of power required for driving the device in a state in which the wearable device is worn and used, and therefore, causes less trouble for a user when using the wearable device,” as taught by Yahagi (Paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 19, Chen in view of Yahagi teaches the system of claim 18, as above.
Chen further teaches that the second arm comprises: an additional detachable portion; and an additional battery disposed inside the additional detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061).
Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of Yahagi teaches the apparatus of claim 18, as above.
Chen further teaches an additional detachable portion interchangeable with the detachable portion (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0018-0021, 0023-0026, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kan in view of Tussy.
Regarding claim 1, Kan teaches a wearable system, comprising:
a head-mountable device (HMD) (10) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraph 0028) comprising:
a display (111) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraph 0030);
a display frame (130) housing the display (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraphs 0032-0034);
an arm (140) connected to the display frame (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraphs 0036-0044);
a processor (170) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraphs 0039, 0048, and 0050-0053); and
a battery (150) electrically coupled to the processor (See e.g. Figs. 1-3; Paragraphs 0039-0040 and 0052); and
a power supply (160, 20) connectable to the battery of the HMD when the HMD is worn, wherein the power supply is connectable to the battery of the HMD via a magnetic attachment interface (See e.g. Figs. 1-13; Paragraphs 0040-0047, 0052-0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Kan fails to explicitly disclose that the arm comprises a detachable portion and the battery is disposed in the detachable portion.
However, Tussy teaches an accessory for a wearable computer comprising a head-mountable device (200) comprising a display (210) in a display frame, an arm (220) connected to the display frame, wherein the arm comprises a detachable portion (100), a processor (502), and a battery (116) electrically coupled to the processor, the battery disposed in the detachable portion, and a power supply (133, 135) connectable to the battery of the HMD when the HMD is worn (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0030-0031, 0037-0043, 0048-0050, and 0053-0062).
Tussy teaches this battery disposed in the detachable portion “to provide an ability to extend the battery life of a wearable computer without degrading comfort” (Paragraph 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable system of Kan such that the battery is disposed in the detachable portion as in Tussy “to provide an ability to extend the battery life of a wearable computer without degrading comfort,” as taught by Tussy (Paragraph 0010), since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various, separable elements involves only routine skill in the art, In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961); Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 2, Kan in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 1, as above.
Kan further teaches that the power supply is attachable to at least one of the arm (140) or a nose bridge (132) of the display frame (See e.g. Figs. 1-13; Paragraphs 0040-0047, 0052-0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 3, Kan in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 1, as above.
Kan further teaches a power connection (160, 20) positioned at an arm tip region of the arm (See e.g. Figs. 1-13; Paragraphs 0040-0047, 0052-0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 4, Kan in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 3, as above.
Kan further teaches that the power supply comprises a clip-on battery connectable to the power connection (See e.g. Figs. 1-13; Paragraphs 0040-0047, 0052-0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 6, Kan in view of Tussy teaches the wearable system of claim 3, as above.
Kan further teaches that the arm comprises a first arm, the power connection comprises a first power connection (160), and the arm tip comprises a first arm tip, the wearable system further comprising: a second arm connected to the display frame; and a second power connection (160) positioned at a second arm tip region of the second arm, wherein: the power connection comprises a first conductive power connection on the arm; and the second power connection comprises a second conductive power connection on the second arm (See e.g. Figs. 1-13; Paragraphs 0040-0047, 0052-0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahagi, Chen, or Kallman, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kan.
Regarding claim 12, Yahagi, Chen, and Kallman each teaches the apparatus of claim 11, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that the power device comprises a rechargeable case (400), the rechargeable case comprising: a charging interface; an exterior portion (402); and an interior portion (401) sized shaped to receive the display frame and the display, the first arm and the second arm extendable out from the interior portion and foldable against the exterior portion (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Chen further teaches that the power device comprises a rechargeable case (502, 530), the rechargeable case comprising: a charging interface; an exterior portion; and an interior portion (504) sized shaped to receive the display frame and the display, the first arm and the second arm extendable out from the interior portion and foldable against the exterior portion (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055, 0057-0060, and 0067).
Additionally, Kallman further teaches that the power device comprises a rechargeable case (110), the rechargeable case comprising: a charging interface (116, 118); an exterior portion; and an interior portion sized shaped to receive the display frame and the display, the first arm and the second arm extendable out from the interior portion and foldable against the exterior portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67).
While Chen and Kallman each teaches a rechargeable case reading on the claimed invention, in the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner further submits reference Kan.
Kan teaches eyewear, an electricity supply device for eyewear, and an eyewear set comprising a power device comprising a rechargeable case (20) comprising a charging interface (230); an exterior portion (212A); and an interior portion (212B) sized shaped to receive a display frame (130) and a display (110), a first arm (140L) and a second arm (140R) extendable out from the interior portion (212B) and foldable against the exterior portion (212A) (See e.g. Figs. 4-13; Paragraphs 0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Kan teaches this case as it “eliminates design constraints on electronic glasses” (Paragraph 0075) and “eliminates design constraints on eyewear power feeding apparatus” (Paragraph 0076) to “provide an eyewear power feeding apparatus capable of feeding electric power to an eyewear having a relatively small contactless power receiving section” (Paragraph 0010).
Therefore, even if Yahagi, Chen, and Kallman did not disclose the claimed case, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yahagi, Chen, or Kallman with the case of Kan as it “eliminates design constraints on electronic glasses” and “eliminates design constraints on eyewear power feeding apparatus” to “provide an eyewear power feeding apparatus capable of feeding electric power to an eyewear having a relatively small contactless power receiving section,” as taught by Kan (Paragraphs 0010 and 0075-0076).
Regarding claim 13, Yahagi in view of Kan, Chen in view of Kan, and Kallman in view of Kan each teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that the charging interface is positioned inside the rechargeable case (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Chen further teaches that the charging interface is positioned inside the rechargeable case (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055, 0057-0060, and 0067).
Additionally, Kallman further teaches that the charging interface is positioned inside the rechargeable case (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67).
Additionally, Kan further teaches that the charging interface is positioned inside the rechargeable case (See e.g. Figs. 4-13; Paragraphs 0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 14, Yahagi in view of Kan, Chen in view of Kan, and Kallman in view of Kan each teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that the display frame comprises a nose bridge; and the charging interface comprises a conductive charging interface engageable with the nose bridge (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Chen further teaches that the display frame comprises a nose bridge; and the charging interface comprises a conductive charging interface engageable with the nose bridge (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055, 0057-0060, and 0067).
Additionally, Kallman further teaches that the display frame comprises a nose bridge (84); and the charging interface comprises a conductive charging interface (106, 108, 116, 118) engageable with the nose bridge (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67).
Additionally Kan further teaches that the display frame comprises a nose bridge (84); and the charging interface comprises a conductive charging interface engageable with the nose bridge (See e.g. Figs. 4-13; Paragraphs 0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Regarding claim 15, Yahagi in view of Kan, Chen in view of Kan, and Kallman in view of Kan each teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that at least one of the display or the display frame comprises charging coils (203); and the charging interface comprises an inductive charging interface engageable with the charging coils (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Chen further teaches that at least one of the display or the display frame comprises charging coils (406, 506, 508, 510); and the charging interface comprises an inductive charging interface engageable with the charging coils (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055, 0057-0060, and 0067).
Additionally, Kan further teaches that at least one of the display or the display frame comprises charging coils (230); and the charging interface comprises an inductive charging interface engageable with the charging coils (See e.g. Figs. 4-13; Paragraphs 0040, 0061-0062, 0096, and 0108-0109).
Kan teaches these coils as it “eliminates design constraints on electronic glasses” (Paragraph 0075) and “eliminates design constraints on eyewear power feeding apparatus” (Paragraph 0076) to “provide an eyewear power feeding apparatus capable of feeding electric power to an eyewear having a relatively small contactless power receiving section” (Paragraph 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yahagi, Chen, or Kallman with the coils of Kan as it “eliminates design constraints on electronic glasses” and “eliminates design constraints on eyewear power feeding apparatus” to “provide an eyewear power feeding apparatus capable of feeding electric power to an eyewear having a relatively small contactless power receiving section,” as taught by Kan (Paragraphs 0010 and 0075-0076).
Regarding claim 16, Yahagi in view of Kan, Chen in view of Kan, and Kallman in view of Kan each teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as above.
Yahagi further teaches that the charging interface is positioned outside the rechargeable case, the charging interface comprising a power connection between the exterior portion and at least one of the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Fig. 19; Paragraphs 0116-0120).
Chen further teaches that the charging interface is positioned outside the rechargeable case, the charging interface comprising a power connection between the exterior portion and at least one of the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055, 0057-0060, and 0067).
Additionally, Kallman further teaches that the charging interface (124) is positioned outside the rechargeable case, the charging interface comprising a power connection between the exterior portion and at least one of the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 3, L. 50 – C. 4, L. 19; C. 6, L. 20 – C. 7, L. 8; C. 7, L. 66 – C. 8, L. 62; C. 13, L. 13-51; C. 17, L. 33-67).
Moreover, Kan further teaches that the charging interface is positioned outside the rechargeable case, the charging interface comprising a power connection between the exterior portion and at least one of the first arm or the second arm (See e.g. Figs. 4-13; Paragraphs 0054, 0056-0066, 0068-0072, 0074, 0080-0092, and 0095-0101).
Kan teaches this case as it “eliminates design constraints on electronic glasses” (Paragraph 0075) and “eliminates design constraints on eyewear power feeding apparatus” (Paragraph 0076) to “provide an eyewear power feeding apparatus capable of feeding electric power to an eyewear having a relatively small contactless power receiving section” (Paragraph 0010).
Therefore, even if Yahagi, Chen, and Kallman did not disclose the claimed case, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yahagi, Chen, or Kallman with the case having a charging interface on the outside as taught by Kan as it “eliminates design constraints on electronic glasses” and “eliminates design constraints on eyewear power feeding apparatus” to “provide an eyewear power feeding apparatus capable of feeding electric power to an eyewear having a relatively small contactless power receiving section,” as taught by Kan (Paragraphs 0010 and 0075-0076), and since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but are moot upon further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made in view of Tussy, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments and detailed above.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 11-12, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Chen, Applicant argues that “Chen is silent regarding a power device that slides over and covers the display frame, or the lenses, of the AR glasses while leaving the arms of the glasses exposed” because “the case 502 of Chen includes a portion for the nose of the glasses to rest on, which would not enable the case 502 to ‘slide over’ the display frame as described in claim 11 of the current application.” However, Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the claim limitation is indefinite, but merely requires a power device configured to slide over. The presence of a nose rest does not prevent the AR glasses from sliding into the case and then resting on the nose rest. Thus, the case of Chen would be configured to slide over the display, as the glasses are slid into the nose rest.
Applicant further argues that since the tip portion is within the case, the arms of the glasses muse be contained within the case without being exposed. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that given the structure of the transmitter coil and the charging structure the arms could be on the outside of the structure. Further, any partially open case would leave the arms exposed, and thus a case that is not closed would read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language.
Regarding Kan, Applicant argues that “the power feeding apparatus 20 only attaches, and covers, a small portion of the intersection between the display frame and an arm of the electronic glasses 10, thus leaving the display frame almost entirely exposed” and as such “Kan does not teach or suggest all the elements of claim 11.” However, Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Kan clearly describes that “casing 220” of the power feeding apparatus includes flat plates forming a groove that cover the “front 130,” reading on the broadest reasonable interpretation of a power device “configured to slide over and cover a front side and a back side of the display frame when connected to the AR glasses.” Specifically, Examiner respectfully notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitation encompasses any power device that overlaps any portion of a front and back side of the display frame. The casing 220 of the power feeding apparatus is clearly shown to have such a structure in, e.g. Figs. 4-5, and described in Paragraphs 0057-0067 (see e.g. Paragraph 0067: “a case in which during positioning, positioning strip 212B, second flat plate 212, or the like abuts one end portion of front 130, one end portion of temple 140, or hinge 145, and then the abutment is released”). Thus, Kan teaches a structure reading on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Regarding Kallman, Applicant argues that “Kallman’s case 110 is merely a generic eyeglass case with charging capabilities” and “does not ‘slide over and cover’ the display frame of the electronic glasses.” However, Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that a generic eyeglass case with charging capabilities reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations, as one would slide the eyeglasses into the case, which would cover the frame. Moreover, Kallman’s “mechanical bridge gripping structure 114” alone has a structure that is clearly configured to slide over and cover a front side and a back side of the display frame while leaving the arms extended out from the structure 114, as can be seen in, e.g., Fig. 5 and described in C. 17, L. 47-59. Thus, Examiner maintains that Kallman’s structure reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Nevertheless, Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-12, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but are moot upon further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made in view of Yahagi, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments and detailed above.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 13-14, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Chen, Applicant argues that “the Chen reference does not teach a battery disposed within a detachable portion of a first or second arm of an HMD.” However, Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the battery itself is detachable from the first or second arm of the HMD and is therefore disposed in a “detachable portion” (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 3-5; Paragraphs 0025, 0045-0047, 0057, 0059, and 0061). Moreover, in the embodiment of Fig. 5C, the battery is disposed within a detachable lanyard 530, reading on the claimed configuration (See e.g. Fig. 5C; Paragraph 0059).
Regarding Kan and Kallman, Applicant argues that “Kan never teaches that the portion of the temple/arm that includes the battery can be removed and placed into a charging interface sized and shaped to receive such a detached portion” and that “the case 110 of Kallman is configured to receive the glasses as a whole, rather than being sized and shaped to receive detachable portions of the arms that hold batteries.” However, Examiner respectfully notes that the claim never requires a battery to be removed and placed into a charging interface. Rather, the claim merely requires that the charging interface is sized and shaped to receive the detachable portion. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a detachable portion that is positively removed and placed into a charging device) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Rather, the structure of a battery in the arm in Kan and Kallman, which could necessarily be removed, and can fit within the charging device, reads on the claimed structure. Furthermore, any charging interface that is sized and shaped to receive the entire glasses would also be sized and shaped to receive a detachable portion of the glasses.
Nevertheless, Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-14, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but are moot upon further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made in view of Yahagi, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments and detailed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2015/0268475) teaches a glass type terminal with a battery in a detachable portion of a temple arm.
Blum et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2013/0250135) teaches eyewear including a remote control camera comprising a battery in a detachable portion.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896