DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed 09/18/2026.
Newly submitted claims 33-41 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 33-38 drawn to a system for extracting carbon dioxide from a fluid and classified in B01D53/04 can be used to practice another and materially different process such as one for extracting a pollutant other than carbon dioxide. Claims 39-41 drawn to a reactor for extracting carbon dioxide from a fluid and classified in B01D53/0407 can be used to practice another and materially different process such as one for extracting a pollutant other than carbon dioxide.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
• The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification
• The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter
• The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes /subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 33-41 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claims 22-41 are pending. Claims 1-21 are canceled. Claims 22-32 are being examined. Claims 33-41 are withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to non-elected inventions. Claim 22 is amended and claims 23-41 are newly added.
New grounds of rejection are made in light of the amendments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-23, 25, 27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (Lee et al., "Carbon dioxide removal using carbon monolith as electric swing adsorption to improve indoor air quality, "Building and Environment, Vol. 92, October 2015; pp. 209-221).
Considering claim 22, Lee teaches a method for extracting carbon dioxide from a fluid (Judkins, abstract). Lee teaches flowing the fluid (i.e., Gas in) from a fluid source (i.e., air tank) to a first modular unit (i.e., Monolith Bed A) comprising a first sorbent (i.e., activated carbon), contacting the fluid with the first sorbent such that the first sorbent adsorbs carbon dioxide from the fluid; flowing the fluid (i.e., Gas in) from the fluid source (i.e., air tank) to a second modular unit (i.e., Monolith Bed B) comprising a second sorbent (i.e., activated carbon) (Lee, abstract, Fig. 5, section 2.3, section 3.3).
Lee teaches heating the first sorbent by applying electric current to the first sorbent to extract carbon dioxide from the first sorbent (Lee, section 5.2).
Lee teaches the second modular unit is removably coupled to the first modular unit by teaching that they are separate beds that are attached gas tubes and electrical wires (Lee, section 3.3).
Considering claim 23, Lee teaches heating the first sorbent comprises joule heating (Lee, section 2.3).
Considering claim 25, Lee teaches the fluid source is ambient air by teaching CO2 removal from living spaces (i.e., ambient air) (Lee, abstract).
Considering claim 27, Lee teaches the first sorbent comprises a monolith (Lee, abstract and section 3.3).
Considering claim 31, Lee teaches the first sorbent is disposed in the first modular unit during the contacting and heating steps (Lee, section 3.2-3.3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24, 26 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (Lee et al., "Carbon dioxide removal using carbon monolith as electric swing adsorption to improve indoor air quality, "Building and Environment, Vol. 92, October 2015; pp. 209-221).
Considering claims 24 and 26, Lee teaches raising the monolith temperature to 80°C and teaches that heating voltage, heating time, cooling flow rate, and cooling time are variables that determine intended temperature swing (Lee, last two paragraphs on 1st column on page 215).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to vary the heating time and the electric current including less than 10 seconds and an alternating current with a frequency in a range of 2 kHz to 200 kHz. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so in order to regenerate the sorbent at the intended temperature swing including to at least 80°C with a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claim 32, Lee teaches before heating the first sorbent, stopping the flow of the fluid into the first modular unit (Lee, last paragraph of 2nd column on page 212).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to stop the flow of the fluid with any known means including sliding a closure to stop the flow of the fluid. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so in order to stop the flow of air during the heating step and regenerate the sorbent with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed regarding Judkins does not disclose first and second modular units have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration and in light of the amendments, new grounds of rejection are made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734